Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Keep Calm And Discuss Retro Generally!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,602 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

Did you play the revised ending or the original? I was pretty indifferent to it, although did think it cheaped out on a series that tried to have a three game long player-led narrative with a silly 'red/green/blue' decision. But then again I thought Mass Effect 3 on the whole was a disappointing, mediocre game after the second promised and delivered a whole lot more.

Also, you'd swear the observation that many of the most vocal gamers on the Internet are a whiny bunch of entitled children is a new one :pac:

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,305 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Played the DLC enhanced endings, although I heard it doesn't change much about the endings anyway.

I wasn't expecting much from the ending, I didn't consider Mass Effect having anything approaching good 'player-led' narrative. If someone dies there was always someone else to replace them and no matter how you deal with a situation it ends up with pretty much the same result just a slightly different means of achieving it. No matter what your choice was, even in previous games you ended up doing the same mission anyway. It's hardly Fallout 2. Bioware wanted to tell their story and no matter how much you messed with it they were going to funnel you into that story and its missions regardless. It's like played DnD with a crap dungeon master.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,754 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

I enjoyed Mass Effect 2 but found Mass Effect 3 stilted and a bit boring.
    I have the poor title Binary Domain for the 360 and the combat in ME 3 feels very like that, to me anyway.
    So, ME3 forms one more game that'll never be finished, bummer!
    And, regarding the mention of the Fallout series, Fallout 3,that was time well spent.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 3,184 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dr Bob

nnngh my out of warranty , still in contract xperia play died, Anyone know where I'd get a cheapo unlocked android phone to cover me for the next few months?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 728 ✭✭✭Los Lobos

Dr Bob wrote: »
    nnngh my out of warranty , still in contract xperia play died, Anyone know where I'd get a cheapo unlocked android phone to cover me for the next few months?

where did ya buy it? There should be a two year warranty on them, at least that's what I was told in Meteor. Mine started freezing and I was able to send it back for repair for free, about 16 months old at the time.

Jaysus, if mine ever dies i don't know what I'll do, I play it every day!

Los Lobos wrote: »
    where did ya buy it? There should be a two year warranty on them, at least that's what I was told in Meteor. Mine started freezing and I was able to send it back for repair for free, about 16 months old at the time.

Jaysus, if mine ever dies i don't know what I'll do, I play it every day!
    hmm from Emobile, only problem is because there's so little internal memory , and it filled up with updates I had to root it to delete all the crap on it to free up space to actually stop it rebooting all the time.
    That was a few months back , no idea if that affects the warranty, or wethere its has 2 year one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 728 ✭✭✭Los Lobos

Dr Bob wrote: »
    hmm from Emobile, only problem is because there's so little internal memory , and it filled up with updates I had to root it to delete all the crap on it to free up space to actually stop it rebooting all the time.
    That was a few months back , no idea if that affects the warranty, or wethere its has 2 year one?

Ah crap, I'd say rooting it would void the warranty alright. Maybe have a look here to see if anyone has asked before:

http://androidforums.com/sony-ericsson-xperia-play/

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,754 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

You can't hand it back, all ignorant of the rooting, and just say "don't work, give me a new one" can you?
    Sounds like a pain.
    You wouldn't pick up something cheap and nasty from a chinese site would you?
    Also, there's a fair few of such phones on Adverts in the €50 to €100 range.
    I was in Meteor talking to a minion yesterday, I've 6 months to go before I can be rid of this Xperia Arc S albatross hanging around my neck.
    I must root and clean it, the official up to date OS is awful, very laggy, better off with a straight install of Cyanogen or something.

ah may be grand after all , turns out I was elegible for an upgrade as of about 2 or 3 days ago ;) new phone on the way and probably get this guy repaired in a backstreet shop somewhere and adverts/traded.
    as a gaming device the PLAY was decent , it was pretty bad as a phone .The lack of internal memory (which was filled with bloatware like that crap bruce lee fighter which could only be removed by rooting)was a killer though.Basically if you wanted twitter/google play /ebay maps on it , and let them update , after a while you so little internal memory that the phone would start switching itself off, then on , then staying at the pin screen..so you'd no idea you were missing calls.Will NEVER go near a sony phone again.
    Samsung phone on its way out to me tomorrow.

I'm going to go for the Nexus 4 or something insane from China, sick of crappy re skinned android versions

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,305 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Daikatana now available on GoG, which used to stand for 'Good' Old Games :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,183 ✭✭✭✭Atavan-Halen

Was daikatana on the n64 too?

Yes and it was even worse.

Retr0gamer wrote: »
    Yes and it was even worse.

Occasionally it can stand for God-awful Old Games

CiDeRmAn wrote: »
    You can't hand it back, all ignorant of the rooting, and just say "don't work, give me a new one" can you?
    Sounds like a pain.
    You wouldn't pick up something cheap and nasty from a chinese site would you?
    Also, there's a fair few of such phones on Adverts in the €50 to €100 range.
    I was in Meteor talking to a minion yesterday, I've 6 months to go before I can be rid of this Xperia Arc S albatross hanging around my neck.
    I must root and clean it, the official up to date OS is awful, very laggy, better off with a straight install of Cyanogen or something.
    right , after dodgy developer apps, 3 different recovery modes, SE's software and towards the end , prayer I was able to get it back to factory defaults.
    this is despite numptys on phone forums saying sage things like "dis phone is ded, hardward killed , get new one" when confronted with similar faults to the ones I was having.
    TBH new phone is arriving tomorrow anyway , its pretty much a wifi enabled emulator for me now...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Grrr, stuck a cps2 arcade emulator on my nexus but it doesnt support the ps3 pad, poop, and the IU for the games is cack. some of the games work on MAME anyway but it woulda been nice to have a collection of all the Capcom arcade games on one emulator

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,025 ✭✭✭Mr.Saturn

CoD of Duty: The Premier First Person Shooting Fish in a Barrel Simulator.

http://tinyurl.com/c69v5hr

tumblr_inline_mhat1gYBJ51qz4rgp.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,798 ✭✭✭Jack burton

Well I finally decided to have a bit of a clearout of my doubles and a few other things. I need to fund a new cab asap

Just uploading pictures now. I'll let everyone know when I have theses up....probably in the get city!

EDIT! Those are up now so go over and take a look :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,432 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

How many of you just got a text from Parcel Motel, got excited about a package, only to read it and see it was an update about the website makeover? :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭DinoRex

o1s1n wrote: »
    How many of you just got a text from Parcel Motel, got excited about a package, only to read it and see it was an update about the website makeover? :(

Yes. I thought my Victorian dandy shirt had finally arrived!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭Touch Fuzzy Get Dizzy

DinoRex wrote: »

Yes. I thought my Victorian dandy shirt had finally arrived!
    Is that for the Steampunk night

Sera wrote: »
    Is that for the Steampunk night

eh... uh... yeah... the steampunk night!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,798 ✭✭✭Jack burton

I just got that box I had to nightline down because it was too big to fit inside parcelmotel.

I really should get an award for pointing out a big flaw in their system

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

I charged the battery pack of my Nomad I'd say last summer at some stage. It took four & a half hours of the Nomad running constantly to flatten the battery today. I'm convinced there's a little nuclear reactor in those batteries

Master of the Universe

Not only do they last ages of play time, they hold a charge for an age too. Every time I test my one out there's always power in it. Have no clue when it was last charged.

Master of the Universe

Hah! Check this out, bizarre PS2 hacks on sale in Africa. GTA San Andreas Kirk Douglas edition? Check! The covers are amazing. Rainbows everywhere.

http://gameological.com/2013/02/the-pirate-hacks-of-africa/

Hahaha there's more

http://gameological.com/2013/02/the-art-of-syrian-games/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,790 ✭✭✭eddhorse

http://www.qwertee.com/

Nice Mario and Turtles inspired t-shirt over on Qwertee today.
    http://www.qwertee.com/last-chance/

Hah! Check this out, bizarre PS2 hacks on sale in Africa. GTA San Andreas Kirk Douglas edition? Check! The covers are amazing. Rainbows everywhere.

http://gameological.com/2013/02/the-pirate-hacks-of-africa/

Hahaha there's more

http://gameological.com/2013/02/the-art-of-syrian-games/

lol GTA:Dubai :D

Dammit, just got sniped, Tatsunoko vs Capcom with stick, went for £26, feck!