Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Galway GAA discussion thread

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭statesaver

Is Meehan wearing a Lance Armstrong Livestrong wristband :rolleyes:

Just wondering

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Looks like a Ballinasloe GAA wristband.

They're in the All Ireland Junior Football final on Saturday week in Croker.

Throw in 17.30.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭statesaver

Congrats Ballinasloe.
    Do they still call the football team St Grellans these days ?

5.30 ?? Very late throw in for this time of year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

statesaver wrote: »

Just wondering

That's not even the smuggest thing relating to Meehan in that pic :pac: Look at that face.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Congrats Ballinasloe.
    Do they still call the football team St Grellans these days ?

5.30 ?? Very late throw in for this time of year

Yep. The hurling and football clubs merged a couple of years ago to form Ballinasloe GAA, but the footballers are still called St Grellan's.

5.30 throw in.

It is late although I've just heard that could change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭Stanza2

Just wondering

The aim of that band was to show support for cancer sufferers, not for Armstrong himself........ Should not be labeled incorrectly !

Fair play to Michael

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭nootroc

Michael's sister died from cancer a few years ago sadly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 780 ✭✭✭jossnjuice

any idea when its on sale lads?

Also, are club jerseys widely available? have been looking for a Bsloe one, but seeing as im located in Dublin, finiding it quite tricky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭antoobrien

jossnjuice wrote: »
    any idea when its on sale lads?

Ask in one of the Elvery's shops, they should be able to get you one - i'd be very surprised if the one in Croke Park doesn't have them when they do go on sale.
    Also, are club jerseys widely available? have been looking for a Bsloe one, but seeing as im located in Dublin, finiding it quite tricky.

Most clubs wouldn't have jerseys for sale that often, your best bet is to try contact the club directly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

Was just having a look through the National League prediction thread and of the posters that have replied so far (around 13 or 14) about three quarters of them are tipping Galway to win promotion from Division 2, and not a single one is tipping us for relegation.

I know Div2 this year isn't the strongest it's ever been but this surprises me. Personally I think we'd struggle to win promotion from Div3 let alone Div2. That said, we're probably about on a par with the likes of Westmeath, Wexford, Laois and Longford and those games could all go either way, as could Sunday's game against Derry (who are no great shakes themselves). Be a tight division I reckon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

Galway are always better in the league than the championship, though.

Well, unless they play us.. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 780 ✭✭✭jossnjuice

aidan24326 wrote: »
    Was just having a look through the National League prediction thread and of the posters that have replied so far (around 13 or 14) about three quarters of them are tipping Galway to win promotion from Division 2, and not a single one is tipping us for relegation.

I know Div2 this year isn't the strongest it's ever been but this surprises me. Personally I think we'd struggle to win promotion from Div3 let alone Div2. That said, we're probably about on a par with the likes of Westmeath, Wexford, Laois and Longford and those games could all go either way, as could Sunday's game against Derry (who are no great shakes themselves). Be a tight division I reckon.

TBH, after last year, id be happy with consolidation.........I think theres a serious amount of work to be done, and getting promoted this season could be a bad thing, if theres no progress over the summer, then become whipping boys in next years league.

It's possibly a blessing in disguise that Kildare pipped us for promotion last year, because going into a strong Division 1 now with what we have would have been very difficult. Galway would have struggled to win a game in that division and might well have finished bottom. I'd agree that as far as the league goes a respectable mid-table consolodation would do for now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,582 ✭✭✭MfMan

If the recent Sligo performance was any barometer then a hard league followed by a very truncated championship season awaits I'm afraid. The 11-year famine looks to be deepening ever further if anything. The county is shockingly bereft of any players of proven, genuine class.

I can't see any signs of promotion TBH. That said they've lost Joyce and Bergin so they'll obviously need time to adjust to that. Just hope Meehan stays fit and the likes of Cummins and PÓG are blooded in.

To be fair Joyce was barely part of Mulholland's plans last year and Bergin.. well, let's just say the opinion of his play for years has been mixed. I'd definitely expect Galway to be challenging for promotion, none of the teams could really hang with Meehan and Armstrong on form except maybe Armagh with Jamie Clarke back. Barden being out is a big blow for Longford, I'd have fancied them to make some noise with him fit. A lot of tight games, as has been said, but no sharks like Kildare or Tyrone to worry about either.

When do you play Armagh, actually? If Brigid's beat Cross in the AISF in two weeks (and I very much believe they will) Clarke et al could well be back for most of the league so when you play them could have a big bearing in how much of a challenge they will.

And once again best wishes to Meehan, a wonderful talent and by any account one of the most selfless 'stars' in the sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 741 ✭✭✭fearruanua

When is the football team for sunday due to be announced?

fearruanua wrote: »
    When is the football team for sunday due to be announced?

Teams being announced. That's a good one.

Half the time the announced teams tend to be dummy line-ups anyways, it's really gotten to a ridiculous level of paranoia in the sport now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭RobbieRuns

Syferus wrote: »
    Teams being announced. That's a good one.

Half the time the announced teams tend to be dummy line-ups anyways, it's really gotten to a ridiculous level of paranoia in the sport now.

I agree, it has gotten stupid. I am also amazes that the certain player, A. N. Other has not been given an all star ! He seems to line out at midfield or full forward on most county teams these days..........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭nootroc

RobbieRuns wrote: »
    I agree, it has gotten stupid. I am also amazes that the certain player, A. N. Other has not been given an all star ! He seems to line out at midfield or full forward on most county teams these days..........

His adaptability has always told against him, never settling into one position but the go to man in a crisis.

I think A.N Other needs to retire. This isn't 2001 anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 741 ✭✭✭fearruanua

Galway team for Sunday NFL V Derry

1. Manús Breathnach
    2. Donal Ó Neill 3. Finian Hanley 4. Johnny Duane
    5. Cathal Sweeney 6. Gary Sice 7. Gary Sweeney
    8. Niall Coleman 9. Fiontán Ó Curraoin
    10. John Ó Brien 11. Michael Martin 12. Seán Denvir
    13. Sean Armstrong 14. Michael Meehan 15. Danny Cummins

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭InchicoreDude

That does not look like a good Galway side.

I would have major doubts about Sice at no. 6. I felt he did very well at wing forward last year and should be left there. Duane at number 4 is another player I still have reservations about.
    However, I think M. Martin at 11 is a good move. He needs a few games in the league there to see if he can offer something....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,582 ✭✭✭MfMan

That does not look like a good Galway side.

I would have major doubts about Sice at no. 6. I felt he did very well at wing forward last year and should be left there. Duane at number 4 is another player I still have reservations about.
    However, I think M. Martin at 11 is a good move. He needs a few games in the league there to see if he can offer something....

No, Sice is not a forward.

It pains me greatly to say, but it's one of the poorest teams, albeit on paper, I've ever seen. O'Neill at corner-back is an unknown quantity. Duane should be no. 6, our only realistic option for this position. Gary Sweeney, though slight of stature, is a good footballer, unsure about his namesake Cathal. Hopefully Niall Coleman will have improved on his distribution in this his latest coming. Martin has a lot of ability, but I'm not sure if 11 is his position. (Where is Paul Conroy?) Denvir thrown totally in the deep end, but I hope O'Brien gives a good account of himself, always impressed at underage level. FF line is where things are really bad. I fear that the great M Meehan may never be able to shake off his injury concerns and recover his former potency. Cummins is hit but mostly miss and whatever chance Armstrong had of being an effective county footballer evaporated in the defeat to Sligo last year at the same venue.

It's not totally Mulholland and his selectors' fault that things are so bad, but Galway fans, no more or less fickle than any others, won't have as much patience this year if no discernible progress is made. I hope I'm being way over-pesimistic and I'll be there on Sunday to shout the team on, but the portents don't look good unfortunately.

MfMan wrote: »
    No, Sice is not a forward.

It pains me greatly to say, but it's one of the poorest teams, albeit on paper, I've ever seen. O'Neill at corner-back is an unknown quantity. Duane should be no. 6, our only realistic option for this position. Gary Sweeney, though slight of stature, is a good footballer, unsure about his namesake Cathal. Hopefully Niall Coleman will have improved on his distribution in this his latest coming. Martin has a lot of ability, but I'm not sure if 11 is his position. (Where is Paul Conroy?) Denvir thrown totally in the deep end, but I hope O'Brien gives a good account of himself, always impressed at underage level. FF line is where things are really bad. I fear that the great M Meehan may never be able to shake off his injury concerns and recover his former potency. Cummins is hit but mostly miss and whatever chance Armstrong had of being an effective county footballer evaporated in the defeat to Sligo last year at the same venue.

It's not totally Mulholland and his selectors' fault that things are so bad, but Galway fans, no more or less fickle than any others, won't have as much patience this year if no discernible progress is made. I hope I'm being way over-pesimistic and I'll be there on Sunday to shout the team on, but the portents don't look good unfortunately.

To be honest, I felt the same about Sice up until last years league. I felt he really did give a good account of himself at number 10 in the league last year. I concede though that he did not bring that form into the championship. I feel he has more to offer at no.10 than no. 6.

In saying that, I was impressed with John O'Brien in the FBD, less so with Denvir. But its early days for those guys....

It is hard to be optimistic alright.....But then nobody was optimistic back in 1995 and Galway won Connacht!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,024 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

I can't see any signs of promotion TBH. That said they've lost Joyce and Bergin so they'll obviously need time to adjust to that. Just hope Meehan stays fit and the likes of Cummins and PÓG are blooded in.

In fairness both PJ and Bergin played a very limited role (if any) in the league last year and they were still very close to promotion but that guarantees nothing this year.

Looking at the first team selected it is a very young side bar a few lads. There are some good young players coming through but they don't have the same experienced backbone to fall back on. Seems like a Galway side full of boys but not many men.

Hard to disagree though that it is a very uninspiring team on paper. I don't think the spirit of Galway football has been this low in a long long time. Will be there on Sunday though. A win is needed with 4 away games to come.

Promotion for this team would be a huge achievement.

Staying in the division should be considered a successful campaign this year.

Where are Bradshaw & Conroy? Are they injured???

Bradshaw is injured, having surgery soon I think. Be back for the latter stages of the league hopefully.

Conroy is in the subs. Not sure why he hasn't been selected. Either he's not going well in training or it's just a case of Mulholland wanting to look at other options. He will almost certainly be in the starting 15 against Mayo, one of the better players we have.

I'd agree with the general consensus that it's a very uninspiring team selection. Probably the weakest Galway team in a long time if we're being honest. I hate to be so negative but there's some pretty average footballers on that team. Hopefully Peadar O'Griofa will progress (a real talent) and the likes of Michael Boyle aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭Stanza2

I think that you are all being way too pessimistic. Remember that Galway were U21 champions but two years ago. They are not as bad as some of you are making out.

The full forward line interests me the most. Danny Cummins for me has the potential to be a real star but has never been given a full run out. He is genuinely two footed and has speed to burn. He did really well in the FBD games but even then was subbed. Armstrong has to start showing that he is the player of old and that he has come back from his injuries, the same applies to Meehan, I like to go along with the "class is permanent" scenario. If those 3 click and play off each other then I see lots of scores and that's what wins games. Coleman has to show his strength and skills to be more than he has to date.

You could go through the lot of them making cases for them. I am optimistic for the future, just time for the management to show faith in who they believe in, stick with them and most of all time for the players to seize the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

aidan24326 wrote: »
    Hopefully Peadar O'Griofa will progress (a real talent) and the likes of Michael Boyle aswell.
    Don't see the PÓG hype, seen him plenty of times for club and quite a few of those times he has been nullified by the opposition, at under-age and senior, most recently of which was the U-21 match vs Salthill last week. Galway are at an all time low at the minute, Mulholland doesn't have much to work with unfortunately. Doesn't look like it will change any time soon either. Best underage forward I've seen in the past few years has been Conor Rabbitte, anyone know what his story is?