Prison as a lifestyle choice.

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭johnny-grunge

Forgive me for asking, but isn't all rape 'free'? I mean, is there anybody on earth deranged enough to pay for it?

I reckon there's a vast number of people out there that would pay for some sort of rape scenario.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭JonEBGud

it is not 1:1. I'm a son of a prison officer and throughout my life I have had to deal with my fathers life being threatened and hearing about his friends being stabbed etc in work. I honesly hope no prison oficer gets money docked much more. They do a **** job and deserve what they are paid

He's getting very well paid by comparison to the Gardai or the army.
    And if he goes on strike who carries the can?

JonEBGud wrote: »

Very well paid? Well my friend, you could do with speaking to a few of the newer recruits who've come in during the last 2 or 3 years. They are not very well paid I can assure you. 500 beans a week is in around what an officer will be taking home. That's without considering that all Recruits must start off in a Dublin prison, which entails upping sticks/long commute/renting an additional house. It's not a cash cow by any means.

Oh and if Prison Officers go on strike, the general law-abiding public don't give a rats, so it never garners any sympathy/support. As far as jails and their environs go, out of sight, out of mind. i.e. Behind the 15 foot wall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,794 ✭✭✭raze_them_all_

how much do you reckon you are worth that you are regurally threataned to be stabbed and have it attempted occasionally?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Ruudi_Mentari

If lifestyle had the option they would set up shop there, for sure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,188 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

I think I will Pack it in, the hole lot, job family mortgage bills pressure stress and the two week holidays to distress from the other 50 weeks in the year.
    What will I get if I break the law?

You'll be getting a hole lot of that. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 lil_pip

You might need to see the free doctor and dentist frequently and spend time in the free hospital bed too.If your in mount joy you can share your room with two other inmates and watch them ****ting in buckets while you eat your tea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,442 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Omackeral wrote: »
    Very well paid? Well my friend, you could do with speaking to a few of the newer recruits who've come in during the last 2 or 3 years. They are not very well paid I can assure you. 500 beans a week is in around what an officer will be taking home. That's without considering that all Recruits must start off in a Dublin prison, which entails upping sticks/long commute/renting an additional house. It's not a cash cow by any means.

Oh and if Prison Officers go on strike, the general law-abiding public don't give a rats, so it never garners any sympathy/support. As far as jails and their environs go, out of sight, out of mind. i.e. Behind the 15 foot wall.

I ahve to agree with all of this. I might go on about how we have a messed up prison system that does very little to stop reoffending, but the officers themselves to a fecking horrible job (I mean the job is horrible, not them).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,188 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

The guards should outsource their jobs to the prisoners. It's not like they're doing anything and they need money to spend in that shop. The guards get their cut and can work another job and the government save on overtime and uniforms. Everyone wins.

Boombastic wrote: »
    Do they cater for vegetarians does anyone know?

OP just buy a telly without getting a licence if you want to get inside for research purposes

But make sure not to attempte to steal games from HMV. Cos apparently that's not a crime

Oh, and say hi to your new best friend.

kowloon wrote: »
    The guards should outsource their jobs to the prisoners. It's not like they're doing anything and they need money to spend in that shop.

Like the bolivian prison?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,250 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Just post in the prison forum in boards OP.....give you an idea of what it's like...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭blindside88

tdv123 wrote: »
    It’s day one, and I’m in the mess.

I look around, and I spot the Biggest, Blackest, Mother****er that I can find.
    Everbody’s lookin’ at me, I walk up to him, and I say “What the **** are you lookin’ at?” He says, “Wut?”, I say, “You heard me mother****er, What the **** are you lookin’ at?”
    With that I hit him, BAM! BAM! Right across the ****in’ skull! He goes down - I’m on top of him - Everybody’s around him, he’s getting some shots in, everybody’s going ****ing crazy - the screws, this guy, everybody! MOTHER****ER!

Can't beat a bit of sopranos. On a serious note, a neighbour of mine served 7.5 years of a 10 year sentence, while the state did pay for his incarceration (so it was free as such) a couple of things he said to me that you would immediately think of really stick out. His feet hadnt touched grass for over 7 years, he had missed the christening a of 4 of his grandchildren, he didn't get to teach his son to drive, his wife left him. I'll take freedom thanks. I'm sure 99% of prisoners would swap places with you in a heart beat op

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,156 ✭✭✭✭28064212

no cleaning staff, no nurses, no orderlies, no psychologists
    If you look at the 2010 Annual Report for the Prison Service, you'll see they recruited 7 new nurses, and 2 new psychologists (on top of the ones that were already there). And if you check the HSE's report on Nursing in Irish Prisons, you'll see that they do hire nurses, orderlies, and psychologists. Oh and I forgot GPs, they hire them too
    If you disagree with my posts thats ok but stop calling them bull****.
    Why? They are bullshit. If you believe your stats are not bullshit, post the source of them. I've posted the actual figures, which show you were talking through your hoop, and have no real knowledge on the subject.

Boardsie Enhancement Suite - a browser extension to make using Boards on desktop a better experience (includes full-width display, keyboard shortcuts, dark mode, and more). Now available through your browser's extension store.

Firefox: https://addons.mozilla.org/addon/boardsie-enhancement-suite/

Chrome/Edge/Opera: https://chromewebstore.google.com/detail/boardsie-enhancement-suit/bbgnmnfagihoohjkofdnofcfmkpdmmce

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,752 ✭✭✭Odysseus

Its a great choice but the long term prospects aren't great. Once you have it on your record you are limited to only criminal career choices in future... although they are better paid and the only risk is... going back to prison!

Its a good choice if you don't mind staying single and taking the odd bumming... now we know why no one chooses the priesthood!

No not really, it can happen. However, I know lots of lads, some with serious criminal histories who are working in some very good jobs. Some of these are even state jobs, however, it can be very difficult to to get that inital start.

That is one area where we need to do some work. As I said it is very difficult to get a start; a lot of the lads I know would have spent the first few years either in college or doing sh!te jobs while they get some space between their last conviction and where they are now. However, for those will to make this move we should be doing more.

Those who claim that they would go inside, I don't think you would have the happy time you think you would have, I doubt it very much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 683 ✭✭✭starlings

You'd really have to question the "lifestyle" of people at liberty who think prison is easy. Fair play to prisoners who make the best of things by learning, training and participating in arts, sports and socially beneficial activities inside. Rehabilitation, rather than revenge, should be the goal of punishing someone by taking away their liberty.

This young man in the RTE news article below asked for and got a longer sentence so he could concentrate on his Leaving Cert as his life is too chaotic and he has no decent support at large. Sensible kid, hope he does well.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2013/0124/364344-youth-jailed-in-order-to-complete-leaving-cert/

starlings wrote: »
    You'd really have to question the "lifestyle" of people at liberty who think prison is easy. Fair play to prisoners who make the best of things by learning, training and participating in arts, sports and socially beneficial activities inside. Rehabilitation, rather than revenge, should be the goal of punishing someone by taking away their liberty.

This young man in the RTE news article below asked for and got a longer sentence so he could concentrate on his Leaving Cert as his life is too chaotic and he has no decent support at large. Sensible kid, hope he does well.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2013/0124/364344-youth-jailed-in-order-to-complete-leaving-cert/

Wasn't it Stephen Fry who was convicted of credit card fraud but managed to secure a place in college?

The kind in that article was a bit nuts. One day stealing a bottle of deoderant and the next day stealing aftershave (Must have smelled nice though). Or maybe he didn't and that's why he stole them.

Grayson wrote: »
    Wasn't it Stephen Fry who was convicted of credit card fraud but managed to secure a place in college?

The kind in that article was a bit nuts. One day stealing a bottle of deoderant and the next day stealing aftershave (Must have smelled nice though). Or maybe he didn't and that's why he stole them.

Yep, Stephen Fry spent three months in prison at the age of 17, after which he went on to Cambridge. Seems he was as all over the place at the time as the kid in the RTE article. It's a shame that the options available for such young people are prison or back to chaotic lives with dodgy peers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,273 ✭✭✭twowheelsonly

TO twowheelsonly

Prisoners in Portloise prison and other category A prisoners around the country can sent out for takeaways each evening and have them delivered
    to their cells.

Is this pub talk.
    Tell the truth now.

Good morning Celtic - hope the hangover isn't too bad :D

What's a category A Prisoner? We don't have any of them!!
    I've never worked in Portlaoise so can't truthfully answer that but it used to be the case that Political Prisoners were able to do this - but they paid for it themselves. Not sure about now though. That was one of many concessions given to Political Prisoners that didn't apply to ordinary prisoners. Where I'm working now the night Staff can't even send out for food FFS!!
    The list of free stuff is true.

Source: brother

As I said earlier, the option is???? Turn off the lights and heating? Don't feed them? Don't allow Doctors/Dentists etc in?
    Ok i will tell you, an old mate of mine is after getting out after 4 years for drug dealing. He is out only 8 months and he was caught with another load of drugs. I taught he would be gutted. Guess what hes not. He looks on it the way it is on the OP.

One of 2 things - He's either one of those that genuinely don't mind Jail or he's 'Talking The Talk'. Generally speaking even the toughest of them would far prefer to be outside. It's particularly noticeable at times of Communions, Confirmations, Family bereavements etc when fellas are refused TR. All of a sudden Jail isn't so nice anymore despite the free food, heating et al.
    I changed my mind, I dont want to go to prison anymore.
    Because twowheelonly would be there and he would get me for whistleblowing on his easy highly overpaid job.

Lol...Ya, wouldn't want too many people trying to take my cushy high paid number off me. Ever have your family threatened because of your job or been assaulted or spat in the face by a virus ridden junkie?? I have, just like to know if you have....

Gardai, ball park on a par, a bit better than the Army but that's a completely different job.
    Hasn't been a strike in 20+years BTW.
    Can't beat a bit of sopranos. On a serious note, a neighbour of mine served 7.5 years of a 10 year sentence, while the state did pay for his incarceration (so it was free as such) a couple of things he said to me that you would immediately think of really stick out. His feet hadnt touched grass for over 7 years, he had missed the christening a of 4 of his grandchildren, he didn't get to teach his son to drive, his wife left him. I'll take freedom thanks. I'm sure 99% of prisoners would swap places with you in a heart beat op

^^^^ This ^^^^^

When people talk about losing your freedom it's not just being locked up. It's your freedom of choice that you lose. The freedom to go to the pub or a party tonight, the freedom to attend your own childs birthday/communion/confirmation party. The freedom to attend your mothers funeral. The freedom to go for a walk or to watch a football match in the local park. The list goes on and no amount of free food or bedding can replace that.
    Just walking on the grass is one that comes to mind. Another is when we changed over to the Euro. Life goes on while you're locked up and you can never buy that time back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭SuperGrover

I think I will Pack it in, the hole lot, job family mortgage bills pressure stress and the two week holidays to distress from the other 50 weeks in the year.
    What will I get if I break the law?
    A prison sentence as punishment not for punishment
    +free 24 hours heating
    +free electricity
    +free doctor who can be seen daily.
    +free perscriptions
    +free dentistry
    +free a choice of breakfast
    +free a choice of dinner
    +free a choice of lunch or tea
    +free a prison officer visits cell and takes order for shops, also prison officer delivers my goods into my hand.
    +free bed sheets cleaned once a week for me
    +free gym membership
    +free hospital bed
    +free alot more that I have not taught of.

Prisoners in Portloise prison and other category A prisoners around the country can sent out for takeaways each evening and have them delivered
    to their cells.

Our ratio for prison officer/prisoner in Ireland is 1/1
    In the USA its 1/50
    Yes thats right 50 times more prison officers in Ireland and very highly paid at that.
    Their official name is prison officer but their duty is more carer, that panders to the prisoners needs.

Yes prison seems to be a viable lifestyle choice.

Yeah, it's heaven. Ignore all the spoofers who actually work there or those pests and their so-called 'accurate and properly reasearched' facts.

Post on your free iPad about how great it is once you're there. That'll show them.

Don't let us down now. That would be cowardly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,752 ✭✭✭Odysseus

One of 2 things - He's either one of those that genuinely don't mind Jail or he's 'Talking The Talk'. Generally speaking even the toughest of them would far prefer to be outside. It's particularly noticeable at times of Communions, Confirmations, Family bereavements etc when fellas are refused TR. All of a sudden Jail isn't so nice anymore despite the free food, heating et al.

Lol...Ya, wouldn't want too many people trying to take my cushy high paid number off me. Ever have your family threatened because of your job or been assaulted or spat in the face by a virus ridden junkie?? I have, just like to know if you have....

When people talk about losing your freedom it's not just being locked up. It's your freedom of choice that you lose. The freedom to go to the pub or a party tonight, the freedom to attend your own childs birthday/communion/confirmation party. The freedom to attend your mothers funeral. The freedom to go for a walk or to watch a football match in the local park. The list goes on and no amount of free food or bedding can replace that.
    Just walking on the grass is one that comes to mind. Another is when we changed over to the Euro. Life goes on while you're locked up and you can never buy that time back.

Yeah, in my experience a lot of it is talk, you here guys mouthing off in the waiting room, when they are up in my office I gerenally get a different viewpoint.

Plenty of guys, who have been in before a number of times, don't want to be going back in. They will tell you that doing jail has changed a lot in the past 10-15 years, if you are on top of the food chain things will be a bit different, but only a few are at the top.

As you said all these guys have family, and missing out on the family milestones affect most people including criminals.

This reminds me of an interview with one of the Guildford Four after they were released. He said he was amazed at tv remote controls everyone was using. Funny how little things that we take for granted can be so significant to people who have been locked away from society.