Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

HMV going into administration

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

HMV stores in Ireland should honour gift vouchers, says consumer agency
    THE NATIONAL CONSUMER Agency (NCA) has said that HMV stores in Ireland should accept gift vouchers having established that the company’s Irish operation has not entered administration or examinership in the Republic......................
    However, the NCA said today that it has now clarified that HMV in the Republic of Ireland is a separate corporate entity to the UK operation and HMV Ireland Ltd is not currently in administration or examinership.
    It is therefore calling on Irish stores to honour “contracts with consumers and accept all gift vouchers with immediate effect”.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭Custardpi

Correct me if I'm wrong but the NCA doesn't actually have the power to enforce that, do they?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,584 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Custardpi wrote: »
    Correct me if I'm wrong but the NCA doesn't actually have the power to enforce that, do they?
    I don't think so... they're simply a resource for consumer rights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

Whilst HMV and their security staff were not willing to pursue a grandad, I doubt they will apply that level of leniency to anyone else who tries this.

I notice grandad didn't hand over the voucher or pay the surplus - this is plainly and simply theft. A fine example to set for your grandkids.

Before I get shouted down from on high, I'm not excusing HMV for not honouring the gift tokens, but this is not the way to tackle this!

Custardpi wrote: »

They have zero legislative or enforcement powers. They are simply an advisory body.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭Custardpi

They have zero legislative or enforcement powers. They are simply an advisory body.

Yeah, that's what I thought. So the chances of HMV paying them any heed probably aren't the best, eh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,773 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Whilst HMV and their security staff were not willing to pursue a grandad, I doubt they will apply that level of leniency to anyone else who tries this.

I notice grandad didn't hand over the voucher or pay the surplus - this is plainly and simply theft. A fine example to set for your grandkids.

Before I get shouted down from on high, I'm not excusing HMV for not honouring the gift tokens, but this is not the way to tackle this!

Bet he was the kind of git that gives ordinary staff members abuse about things they have no control over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,016 ✭✭✭Plazaman

Whilst HMV and theior security staff were not willing to pursue a grandad, I doubt they will apply that level of leniency to anyone else who tries this.

This is exactly what I said in the Indos comment section, that the man is basically a thief and got called pedantic for my troubles (my second post in reply to that failed to make it past the moderators). Yes fúck off HMV for selling vouchers before Christmas with no intention of honouring them but walking into a shop, talking three or four items and walking out saying I'll post the money to ye is theivery. The staff said they wouldn't accept vouchers but if he said "Tough, here they are anyway with the balance of the money, what you do with them is your business", then at least he made a genuine effort to make a transaction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,415 ✭✭✭blackwhite

Boombastic wrote: »

Fair play to him? The man's an idiot.

Step 1 - Commit theft from a retail store.
    Step 2 - Confess to crime in national newspaper and pose for photographs with stolen goods.
    Step 3 - ??????

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,202 ✭✭✭Rabidlamb

efb wrote: »
    He stole those items, he didnt pay for them.

No, I believe he was perfectly within his rights.
    Pedantic shematics is thrumped by a good dollop of common sense.

I have a read of your post & consider it to be bollix of the highest order.
    Good day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Rabidlamb wrote: »

No, I believe he was perfectly within his rights.
    Pedantic shematics is thrumped by a good dollop of common sense.

No he isn't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

leader's questions in the Dail shortly, hopefully someone will raise the issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,221 ✭✭✭Tazz T

The man paid for the goods in advance. The company are trying to steal his money without giving him the goods.

The company is wrong. How can you steal something you've paid for?

blackwhite wrote: »

Step 2 - Confess to crime in national newspaper and pose for photographs with stolen goods.
    Step 3 - ??????

Step 3 post the vouchers and balance to HMV as stated

No he isn't.

Oh yes he is . . . .

You believe what you want.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Good day.

LOL

Fair play - at least you wished him "Good day". :D

You believe what you want.

You believe what you're told

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭Theta

You believe what you're told

I can understand you thining that if he left the vouchers in the shop with the 6 euro but he took them with him. He took the games and the vouchers. How is that different then someone with money in their wallet walking out with the items?

Biggins wrote: »
    LOL

Attacking the post but never the poster.
    We have rules god damn it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Penn

Man, I wish the games he stole were ones where they keep the discs in a draw behind the counter. That would have been f*cking brilliant :D

Biggins wrote: »

LOL

Oh the rabble rousing has arrived. I wonder how long before this gets blamed on FG and Labour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,718 ✭✭✭knucklehead6

granddad is still a thieving git.

your post is wrong.

Theta wrote: »
    I can understand you thining that if he left the vouchers in the shop with the 6 euro but he took them with him. He took the games and the vouchers. How is that different then someone with money in their wallet walking out with the items?

Heat of the moment, red mist descended, not thinking straight.
    I'll give him a pass on the voucher thing owing to the stress the staff put him under.
    Plus he gave an interview, heart was in the right place I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,584 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Just saw there that Grafton Street closed this morning..

.. and "will remain closed until an examiner is appointed" according to a source.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭Theta

Heat of the moment, red mist descended, not thinking straight.
    I'll give him a pass on the voucher thing owing to the stress the staff put him under.
    Plus he gave an interview, heart was in the right place I think.

Did he commit a crime? yes or no? regardless of if his heart is in the right place.

Did he take items from a shop without payment?

What legal right do HMV have for refusing to honor their vouchers in Ireland? They are breaking their own terms and conditions by not giving notice that the vouchers would cease to be honored. They are not in administration or examinership in ROI

Good day.

Wow. Intelligent debating of the facts there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,113 ✭✭✭SilverScreen

blackwhite wrote: »

Step 3 - ??????
    Step 4 - Profit