Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

HMV going into administration

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 188 ✭✭Rory1

Allyall wrote: »
    Yeah, but if they found out it wasn't worth it...

Yeah, they probably did try and do something yesterday, but they should've put voucher sales on hold or something.

They may pull out of it, and plan on remaining online. But they were daft not to enter more markets in the last few years. Namely digital.

As long as you didn't mislead, you are fine. Yesterday morning, HMV believed they could trade there way out of problems. Now, they cant with out maybe through appointment of administrator. If it can be proven otherwise, directors would be in serious trouble, they would be personably liable for debts of company.

If they had put voucher sales on hold, this would have done serious damage to company. From legal perspective, they could be in more trouble. Why stop accepting credit from joe public but yet you continued to accept credit from music companies?

I agree with you re new business plans, there business plan was terrible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 983 ✭✭✭CiaranK

murpho999 wrote: »
    All these people who say they prefer CD & DVD over digital media make me wonder if people over 100 years ago refused to use new fangled electric light bulbs and would stick with their candles and oil lamps as:

They never broke down
    Gave nicer quality light
    Did not need wires and switches.
    Could be carried anywhere.
    Could be paid for as you went along.
    Also it was nicer going around putting candles out rather than hitting a switch.
    You can't light a cigarette off a light bulb.

I'm sure people said this at the time but we all know what happened in the end.

But the truth is in the sound file that the quality is actually better on Vinyl than MP3

The integral difference between vinyl and CD or MP3 is that a vinyl record is an analogue recording -- that is, the physical recording is made to vary in correspondence to the variations in air pressure of the original sound. Put simply, the groove that is cut into the vinyl by the cutting lathe mirrors the original sound wave.
    Digital sound, meanwhile, is produced by changing the physical properties of the original sound into a sequence of numbers, which can then be stored and read back for reproduction. In practical terms, you’re getting a representation of the sound – the CD taking a snapshot of the analogue signal at a specific rate (44,100 times per second, to be exact).
    But what of the fabled ‘warmth’ attributed to vinyl? Christoph Grote-Beverborg has processed thousands of records across the electronic spectrum (and far beyond) for labels such as Tresor, Honest Jons and Ostgut Ton:
    "In terms of uncompressed digital audio vs vinyl, I can only repeat what has been said before: with digital audio the resolution is more limited than with analogue audio. The same goes for frequency range. But the real thing is what you hear. With vinyl you get a certain kind of saturation and added harmonics that you don’t have with digital. The sound has a body;' it’s just more physical."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Thwip!

For anyone wondering about their vouchers and faulty items etc, please read this before you go in and rip some employee's head off who doesnt deserve it.

http://www.moneysavingexpert.com/news/shopping/2013/01/hmv-to-go-into-administration-your-rights

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭selephonic

CiaranK wrote: »
    But the truth is in the sound file that the quality is actually better on Vinyl than MP3

This is true for older recordings, although there's not that many records these days that don't go through a digital process before they get to vinyl, whether during recording, mixing or mastering.

Although I do prefer to buy a physical copy of an album regardless of format.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

All these people who say they prefer CD & DVD over digital media make me wonder if people over 100 years ago refused to use new fangled electric light bulbs and would stick with their candles and oil lamps as:

They never broke down
    Gave nicer quality light
    Also it was nicer going around putting candles out rather than hitting a switch.

Get over it.
    Some of us prefer physical formats like LPs, 7"s, 10", 12"s, CDs and DVDs. It's not an EITHER/OR situation. There's room in the market for both to co-exist for some time.

Collecting mp3s is like collecting farts in a jar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 297 ✭✭RossyG

All these people who say they prefer CD & DVD over digital media...

Are seriously confused as CDs and DVDs are digital media.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭books4sale

Can't understand why consumers buy vouchers / token 'fancy words for IOU', the loo roll is worth more and softer on the ass.

nlgbbbblth wrote: »
    Collecting mp3s is like collecting farts in a jar.

Doing anything is 'like collecting farts in a jar', your gonna die anyway so whats the point in leaving all this stuff sitting around when your gone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

I liked to browse through my local my HMV large store collection of CD's/DVDs in their bargains section but just a half mile away and about 6 months ago , an independent company opened up a store selling cut price second hand CD's/DVDs for £3 which in these hard times are going to sell in thousands and only contributes to HMV's downfall .

AhahaHAHHHAAA:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

hellboy99 wrote: »
    The question that needs to be asked is why HMV were still selling gift vouchers up until yesterday, they knew this was coming.

easy credit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭Custardpi

selephonic wrote: »
    This is true for older recordings, although there's not that many records these days that don't go through a digital process before they get to vinyl, whether during recording, mixing or mastering.

Not all digital mastering is equal though. Vinyl pressings from 16-44 (i.e. CD quality sources) aren't much better than the CD. However, once you use the full potential of digital sampling techniques & use 24-96 or 24-192 masters it's virtually indistinguishable from an analogue source (at least to anyone with a less than €10k turntable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,773 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Allyall wrote: »
    Whatever about the legality of it all, The Company must have known they were F**ked at Christmas, and they Definitely would've known yesterday, and were still selling vouchers. That has to be some sort of theft. Getting the general public to pay off their debts..

Christmas is the busiest trading season. They weren't fecked until after a slow Christmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭languagenerd

I am amazed at the amount of people who have computers and internet but still buy CD's and DVD's?

On Sky News last week they covered the same item and people were saying 'Oh I prefer to have the physical device' or what if your hard disc gets damaged or what if you delete by accident.

Well apart from undelete, everything can be backed up in the cloud and retrieved anytime.

Also the likes of iTunes, your purchases are their always and can be retrieved at any time. So you can never lose anything.
    Cheaper prices, good quality and instant delivery too. What more could you want?

The idea of having loads of space taken up by discs and the inability to play playlists that suit your own taste rather than being forced to listen to one disc at a time is awful to me now.

Embrace it people it's a great world once you go digital and it's not going to be stopped.

You're not taking into account that people have different tastes. Sure, it might be more "practical" to buy mp3 downloads, but some people just like CDs and DVDs. I love the experience of buying a CD, looking at album art, reading the album booklets, putting them all up on my shelves. I like picking one up and playing it. I appreciate the album as a format. Is that really so hard to understand?

And when you buy CDs, you're not forced to listen to one at a time - you can always load em to your mp3 and press shuffle/make a playlist.

What if iTunes closed down? Or Apple brought in a new format, rendering older tracks obsolete (like how you can't play old games on new consoles)?

If we took "practicality" as our main reason for doing anything... there'd be no art, no elaborate clothing or food, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,006 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Shame really as this affects local economies and towns/cities. Will only lead to more people shopping online and the decline of retail shopping but of course all this is understandable as goods are undoubtedly cheaper online however I think we are heading down a bad track both economically and socially in the long run as we become more detached as communities and continue to spend money abroad.

As High Street stores close don't worry the prices will rise online when they know there is less competition for the products they sell.

And to be honest the likes of Amazon isn't even that cheap anymore. Their prices have been steadily creeping up since years ago when you could say they were genuinely cheap compared to the High St.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

A HMV gift card isn't just for Christmas, Its for life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

galwayrush wrote: »
    A HMV gift card isn't just for Christmas, Its for life.
    You're not looking for a cute pup are ya by any chance ?...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,773 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

You're not taking into account that people have different tastes. Sure, it might be more "practical" to buy mp3 downloads, but some people just like CDs and DVDs. I love the experience of buying a CD, looking at album art, reading the album booklets, putting them all up on my shelves. I like picking one up and playing it. I appreciate the album as a format. Is that really so hard to understand?

And when you buy CDs, you're not forced to listen to one at a time - you can always load em to your mp3 and press shuffle/make a playlist.

What if iTunes closed down? Or Apple brought in a new format, rendering older tracks obsolete (like how you can't play old games on new consoles)?

If we took "practicality" as our main reason for doing anything... there'd be no art, no elaborate clothing or food, etc.

Honestly, I can't see why people buy CD's. But I find the idea of kindles horrible and I'm tripping over boxes of books here :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

Someone said that they were told in the Sligo store that they'll honour vouchers until tomorrow. Surely this is bull**** given that it's a nationwide policy?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

Rory1 wrote: »
    They have been in serious trouble for a long time, there had to have been a development yesterday that meant they had to call in administrator. HMV issued a public statement before Christmas to say that they may breach covenants in January. The company effectively told the public that they were a risk, some consumers decided to take risk and buy vouchers.

They were on the ropes for a long time. They lost the only profitable part of their business when Waterstones was sold to that Russian billionaire, Mahmut or something? And that was probably only because the banks said they had to. After that, they were screwed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭EoghanIRL

They're refusing gifts cards now ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,656 ✭✭✭C14N

They never broke down
    Gave nicer quality light

Yeah we all know how that worked out, now nobody uses fire for anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,544 ✭✭✭Hogzy

el dude wrote: »
    When are they going to close these tax loopholes that the likes of Amazon, Google etc. are exploiting?

They are UK tax loopholes. Not Irish ones. What you are reading on the news about that is entirely the United Kingdoms concern and not ours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,705 ✭✭✭Mr Trade In

EoghanIRL wrote: »
    They're refusing gifts cards now ....

Since yesterday evening as soon as it was known that the company was in administration. The **** will really hit the fan when people realise their preorders for Skyfall, GTA V etc won't be filled or refunded.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

Since yesterday evening as soon as it was known that the company was in administration. The **** will really hit the fan when people realise their preorders for Skyfall, GTA V etc won't be filled or refunded.

Fcuk fcuk fcuk fcuk!

Ok, I don't have anything ordered but where the hell will I go to buy these things. GTA is coming out and tomb raider and something else and skyfall. HMV is my shop.

Grayson wrote: »
    But I find the idea of kindles horrible and I'm tripping over boxes of books here :)

So on the money.

Kindles suck!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭TheUsual

Grayson wrote: »
    Christmas is the busiest trading season. They weren't fecked until after a slow Christmas.

I was in Manchester over Christmas and the HMV there was full of people all week but nobody buying stuff.

The **** will really hit the fan when people realise their preorders for Skyfall, GTA V etc won't be filled or refunded.

Wow! Do you pay full money up front for a pre-order?

Reminds me of, people who pay for an houses / apartment off a set of plans.

Who does that like?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

I remember a fews years ago returning something to a shop right before chrirstmas and getting a credit note. Then after christmas the shop went into liquidation and was going to close. I meant to go in with the credit note but never bothered in the end and let the 20 euro slide. The way I saw it was there's no point chasing up on the 20 euro when they are clearly fcuked and in trouble.

Unless if all your vouchers are for much more, could ye not just let it slide if it's for a small amount.

I mean like, here's another business going down the drain and what like approximately 300 lay offs and more unemployment. 10 or 20 euro isn't much in the grand scheme of things when there's so much more at play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,764 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

You can still download albums.

If iTunes still closed down you'd still have your downloads, like you still your CD if the record company closed down, don't see your point.

Your comparison of a music file to a console format is poor as the game issue was a hardware compatibility one.

Anyhow, I'm very happy with my discless, coverless, broken plastic case worl d and the ability to get music whenever I want and listen to it how I want and I'm never going to win the discussion.