Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

HMV going into administration

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,705 ✭✭✭Mr Trade In

books4sale wrote: »
    Wow! Do you pay full money up front for a pre-order?

Reminds me of, people who pay for an houses / apartment off a set of plans.

Who does that like?

Hell No did I pay for them in full let alone put a deposit down on them, the writing has been on the wall for months on HMV regardless of any issues I have had with them myself they will be missed, I hope something does pull through for them even if it is only a couple of stores still remaining open,good luck to the staff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

TheUsual wrote: »
    I was in Manchester over Christmas and the HMV there was full of people all week but nobody buying stuff.

That's it. Money is so tight for many people and spending is limited.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭languagenerd

murpho999 wrote: »
    You can still download albums.

If iTunes still closed down you'd still have your downloads, like you still your CD if the record company closed down, don't see your point.

Your comparison of a music file to a console format is poor as the game issue was a hardware compatibility one.

Anyhow, I'm very happy with my discless, coverless, broken plastic case worl d and the ability to get music whenever I want and listen to it how I want and I'm never going to win the discussion.

What I meant was, what if Apple started bringing out iPod/iPad/iPhones that required a different format?

I wasn't trying to argue with you, or convince you to buy CDs or anything. You said you didn't get why people bought CDs and gave reasons against it, I was just showing why and gave reasons for it. I'm happy with my CDs, you're happy with your downloads, all is well!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

ilovesleep wrote: »
    I remember a fews years ago returning something to a shop right before chrirstmas and getting a credit note. Then after christmas the shop went into liquidation and was going to close. I meant to go in with the credit note but never bothered in the end and let the 20 euro slide. The way I saw it was there's no point chasing up on the 20 euro when they are clearly fcuked and in trouble.

Unless if all your vouchers are for much more, could ye not just let it slide if it's for a small amount.

I mean like, here's another business going down the drain and what like approximately 300 lay offs and more unemployment. 10 or 20 euro isn't much in the grand scheme of things when there's so much more at play.

Going out of business does not give any company the right to steal from people. A gift voucher is essentially a pre-payment on goods from the shop, to not hand over the goods subsequently is probably illegal, and if not it certainly should be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,656 ✭✭✭C14N

I'm happy with my CDs, you're happy with your downloads, all is well!

Not so much for us CD folk though as we are going out with the ark and stuff like the closure of HMV is an additional nail in the coffin. I just hope that a major download site starts offering lossless downloads before CDs are completely gone.
    Going out of business does not give any company the right to steal from people.

Actually it kind of does. If you loan money to a company who then go broke (which is what vouchers are doing), it's a bad debt and there's nothing you can do about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

books4sale wrote: »
    So on the money.

Kindles suck!
    Hmmm....
    Username: books4sale

No conflict of interest there. Kindles rule btw! :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭books4sale

....and all these 10 and 20 euros add up, to line some fat cat's pocket!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,975 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

I was in Manchester over Christmas and the HMV there was full of people all week but nobody buying stuff.

Probably just lookin at what albums they could download when they got home ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,773 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

What I meant was, what if Apple started bringing out iPod/iPad/iPhones that required a different format?

I wasn't trying to argue with you, or convince you to buy CDs or anything. You said you didn't get why people bought CDs and gave reasons against it, I was just showing why and gave reasons for it. I'm happy with my CDs, you're happy with your downloads, all is well!

That happened with microsoft zune stuff. I can't remember what happened. I think they gave everyone access to a separate library of stuff.

Personally, if I'd paid for something online and then couldn't access it because the company changed formats or went out of business, I'd just torrent the stuff. I mean, I'd have paid for it, in no way could it morally be considered stealing.
    Going out of business does not give any company the right to steal from people. A gift voucher is essentially a pre-payment on goods from the shop, to not hand over the goods subsequently is probably illegal, and if not it certainly should be.

As many have said, a voucher is essentially a credit note. The bearer is technically a creditor. And all creditors legally have to get in line. If HMV changed that, they'd be breaking the law. It's not their decision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,195 ✭✭✭Corruptedmorals

Oh, should they honour gift vouchers before they pay their taxes or their staff the outstanding wages due to them? A gift voucher paid for by card will be honoured via a bank chargeback. Paid for by cash, it becomes an unsecured debtor and is end of the line after the much more important concerns. You could always read the thread before you declare something as theft and illegal, when they are actually going by the book. This happens every single time a company goes into admin.

There were queues in blanch. But most of their stuff has feck all mark up.

Personally, I used to wander around a bit, but I gave up buying DVD's ages ago. And I never buy CD's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 779 ✭✭✭jaxdasher

Why isn't anyone mentioning anything about the staff who are going to lose their jobs? I feel bad for them more than my frustration on my useless giftcard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭TheUsual

Grayson wrote: »
    There were queues in blanch. But most of their stuff has feck all mark up.

Personally, I used to wander around a bit, but I gave up buying DVD's ages ago. And I never buy CD's.

I just like the option of a shop to wander around in.
    Not much of that on Amazon.

Plus they always made a suggestion if there was a directors cut or a 2 disc box for the same price.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

jaxdasher wrote: »
    Why isn't anyone mentioning anything about the staff who are going to lose their jobs? I feel bad for them more than my frustration on my useless giftcard.

Ah, I do. I don't like to see anybody out of a job tbh. Especially at the start of January.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭Sparks43

Dermot Jewell is the man to nail on this

Stupid arsehole saying you have no rights on vouchers unless you bought by credit card

This rule has been in law for years and its THIS Dickheads job to fight for a change.

Proactive is the way NOT Reactive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,238 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Its quite funny :P
    Alot of people have been saying how bad it is that hmv is going into administration. So many jobs lost, etc. But yet, also in the news the government is looking to cut the public sector.

So is the 'in thing' to care about joe-scruffy-hmv-guy but at the same time disawknowledge joe-road-sweeper? ;)

Or does this simply come down to "where will I buy my blu rays now?" ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

I haven't been reading through this thread so apologies if I post something thats been stated already - the general so called expert analysis is that top HMV management failed to move with the times and sadly they are now in the unfortunate situation that they are.

Maybe if they had created a more on-line presence to meet Amazon (not particularly out to beat them) in the web shopping market, they might have gained some more revenue to keep themselves out of trouble.
    Just a maybe...

I do hope a buyer comes a long and manages to save some of the jobs that are on the line right now.
    As one of the last large street shop-front music retailers around, it would be a sad day for them to eventually close.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Its quite funny :P
    Alot of people have been saying how bad it is that hmv is going into administration. So many jobs lost, etc. But yet, also in the news the government is looking to cut the public sector.

So is the 'in thing' to care about joe-scruffy-hmv-guy but at the same time disawknowledge joe-road-sweeper? ;)

Or does this simply come down to "where will I buy my blu rays now?" ;)

I don't think its a funny situation at all and also... the government is looking to make cuts to the public civil service sector if my understanding is correct - a totally different thing altogether?

Someone will rightly correct me if I am wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Dermighty

The store in Cork isn't taking gift vouchers or that sort of thing, afaik.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,975 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

Dermighty wrote: »
    The store in Cork isn't taking gift vouchers or that sort of thing, afaik.

But don't they still use the barter system in Cork???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

He stole those items, he didnt pay for them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

It is a failed business model.

http://www.deloitte.com/view/en_GB/uk/services/corporate-finance/93a34f0356f3c310VgnVCM3000003456f70aRCRD.htm
    Certain HMV Group plc subsidiaries including HMV Guernsey Ltd, HMV Hong Kong Ltd, HMV Ireland Ltd, HMV Singapore Ltd and 7Digital Group remain outside of an insolvency process.
    It seems I was wrong - the UK administration order does not cover Ireland.

It should be business as usual in Ireland. (until they appoint an examiner locally)

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Red Alert

People work hard in their own jobs to pay for "useless" gift cards - they've a perfect right to be annoyed. I doubt the staff are worrying about them.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Boombastic wrote: »
    Euro Truck Simulator 2, priced at €22.40; The Sims 3 Town Life, at €11.99; and Rail Simulator priced at €28,
    You'd think he'd at least taken some decent games

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 847 ✭✭✭Proxy

Just said on the Ray D'arcy show, the NCA have advised that HMV Ireland is a separate entity to HMV UK, and is not under administration, and will be having a meeting with HMV Ireland this afternoon. Apparently, they should be accepting the vouchers here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭DubOnHoliday

You'd think he'd at least taken some decent games
    Fair play to him, but no kid will want to play those games. No receipt now to return them!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,523 ✭✭✭✭Penn

It's perfectly natural to be concerned for your own loss more than another person's loss. I currently have a €40 voucher for Gamestop. I know if Gamestop went under, sure, I'd be sorry for all those who lost their jobs. But I'd also be thinking "That's now €40 just gone."

Again, I'd definitely feel bad for all those losing their jobs, but at the same time, their loss of jobs doesn't really affect me. Losing €40 does.

Boombastic wrote: »

He's from tyrellstown. It has nothing to do with HMV. They're just thieving gits :)