If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Black ice everywhere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,581 ✭✭✭uberwolf

no shortage of people out this morning as I drove out of the city centre with the mtb on the back. temp was showing as zero, but frost didn't seem too bad on the trails. what were the roads like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,036 ✭✭✭Surveyor11

uberwolf wrote: »
    no shortage of people out this morning as I drove out of the city centre with the mtb on the back. temp was showing as zero, but frost didn't seem too bad on the trails. what were the roads like?

Roads were frosty with ice in places around co.meath, but not too bad once you took your time, headed out from clonee to kilcock, started snowing at one point, garmin showing a balmy 1.5 c! Turned to rain then, was pretty miserable. Got home having covered just 50km

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,271 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

Was meant to head to blessington today. Ended up in Greystones. Cold at about 2 degrees with rain on the way home

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 926 ✭✭✭G rock

Anyone riding in the morning? Not gonna be too bad right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭fletch

I will be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭colm_gti

Planning to get out in the late morning/early afternoon...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,131 ✭✭✭Dermot Illogical

Was nice enough out tonight, but roads felt a bit slippery around Baldoyle and Portmarnock. Not sure if it's starting to frost up or if they're just greasy, but it might be a good idea to take care in the morning...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,136 ✭✭✭del88

Lethal out there this morning out citywest way..I turned around and am taking the car..fist time I've had do this...be careful out there..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,299 ✭✭✭kenmc

Grand Goatstown -> Parkwest (D14-12). Sparkly underwheel, couple of frozen puddles, footpaths looked icy in places, but the winter-shod Kaffenback didn't notice anything slippy. Bring on tomorrow and the hopeful snow!!!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 237 ✭✭Muller_1

Ok Shankill to Kilmainham, very slippy on bridge over canal at Rialto

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭fletch

Okay D15 to Eastwall

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭NeedMoreGears

A lot of frost and the occasional frozen puddle along Clontarf cycle path otherwise fine

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,925 ✭✭✭RainyDay

I spotted one cyclist limping off after a fall this morning in Dundrum. He said he was OK, and it didn't look like there was serious damage to him or his bike. Footpaths and cycle paths looked frosty, so I stayed well out on the road this morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Sparkly roads in D16 this morning. A little slippy underfoot, but nothing crazy on the bike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,479 ✭✭✭rollingscone

Have yet to leave the house this morning but discovered that something about the consistency of the mud in Howth yesterday made it Loony Toons levels of slippy.

Go around any splotches you encounter.

All of this proves that it is UNSAFE for me not to own a crossbike/mtb...now who wants to try and convince my wife that I need another bike?

Anyone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭daragh_

Big patch of black ice at the bottom of Stradbrook Hill, just at the lights.

Was taking it handy and managed to brake before I hit it. Woman ahead of me took a tumble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭Undercover

Saw some guy sprawled with his head at an awkward angle over the kerb in Blackrock this morning. The Guards were with him and obviously weren't moving him until the ambulance arrived. Seemed to be conscious and thankfully had a helmet on. Fingers crossed that he is alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,387 ✭✭✭lennymc

chucked the oul winter tyres on the cross bike last night and cycled across from the park. They seem much heavier than normal road tyres! Anyway, lots and lots of grip (in fairness there wasnt much forst or ice but I did nearly slip when getting out of the car). I might try them on a full commute tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 377 ✭✭Jocry

Got the bike last week and hit for my first commute this morning from Howth to City Center at 6.30 - wasnt too bad, little patches of frozen puddles and a good bit of ice from Clontarf to Fairview but other than that just took it easy and arrived in in one piece!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 765 ✭✭✭oflahero

Came down on black ice on this bend on Sunday morning in Lucan, shortly before 10. Anything west of the Park seems to be hairy before 11 or 12 this weather.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 503 ✭✭✭davidsatelle100

Seen a couple of lads slipping in Ballyfermot (while i was on the bus) seemed to get up and moving ok. Its ropey out there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭Caroline_ie

Clonee to Navan road was bad. My estate was an ice rink, the Ongar road cycle path covered with frost and both cycle path and bus lane had frozen puddles. I have studded tires thank f*!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭irishmotorist

Had my first commute on ice on my winter tyres. They're bloody marvellous. My estate and then later through Ballyfermot looked treacherous at times but I felt none of it - even with some hard-ish test brakings in my estate. My confidence is now high on the ice. Pity they're on my old MTB which weighs about as much as I do. It turned my typical 52 minuter into just over 1 hour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,278 ✭✭✭MB Lacey

Had my first commute on ice on my winter tyres. They're bloody marvellous.

I still haven't had any ice on my commute to put my schwalbe winter tyres to the test, good to hear that you're liking them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,278 ✭✭✭MB Lacey

oflahero wrote: »
    Came down on black ice on this bend on Sunday morning in Lucan, shortly before 10. Anything west of the Park seems to be hairy before 11 or 12 this weather.

Someone posted about that exact bend on this thread last Fri, I was going to cycle it but saw the post and cycled along Laraghcon instead.
    Shame you didn't see that post too! Hope you're ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,036 ✭✭✭Surveyor11

MB Lacey wrote: »

Someone posted about that exact bend on this thread last Fri, I was going to cycle it but saw the post and cycled along Laraghcon instead.
    Shame you didn't see that post too! Hope you're ok.
    I'd say that was lethal this morning, hope you're ok, laraghon for me - would normally come down somerton or rugged lane from porterstown then along the strawberry beds, but happy to take the long way around westmanstown this morning. Roads weren't as bad as I thought they'd be, but took it handy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,299 ✭✭✭kenmc

MB Lacey wrote: »
    I still haven't had any ice on my commute to put my schwalbe winter tyres to the test, good to hear that you're liking them.

You need to run them for 40ish km without any ice first according to the instructions so get them on before you need them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,387 ✭✭✭lennymc

"In order to ensure that spikes are permanently fixed, tires should be run in for about 25 miles (40km) on asphalt, while avoiding any fast acceleration or heavy braking."

from website. I think you are ok using them on ice, just dont brake or accelerate too hard untilthe studs are bedded in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,450 ✭✭✭Harrybelafonte

Was about to take the cargo bike out this morning for the shopping. Slipped on the pavement and thought it may not be a great idea since the bike is still shod in slick Schwalbe Kojaks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭Zorba

I'm just wishing the frost and ice would feck off so I can justify buying normal marathon pluses instead of the winter studded ones.

Just keep telling myself get to Feb and I won't need them !

Actually are the normal marathons any good in the ice ?