Current wisdom on sum of money found

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

The actual law is a year and a day.

That is, just because you find something, doesn't make it yours. You need to make a reasonable effort to try and establish who owns it, and if it's not claimed in a year and a day, it's yours.

If it was less than €100 and there doesn't seem to be any simple way of figuring out who lost it, I'd pocket it. Any more than that and in the interests of not being an asshole, I'd be inclined to report it to the nearest Garda station.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,202 ✭✭✭Rabidlamb

girl2 wrote: »
    I'm glad your conscience is clear. Now - the next time you lose a wad of money…remember keepin this money. You have no idea how much someone may have been relying on that money and the difficulty they might have around having lost it.

Just think about it again. And if you still have a clear conscience, then do your own do.

And we wonder why we're living in a world as it is :rolleyes:

(For good measure - "be the change you wish to see in the world")

You sound like you're full of jesus, go away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 654 ✭✭✭girl2

Rabidlamb wrote: »
    You sound like you're full of jesus, go away.

I am just as entitled to an opinion as the next man…and what I have said has obviously stuck a chord with you.

Remember - you will lose money (probably at a time when you do need it) and you will remember that you were not very kind in this instance. And I don't mean keeping the money - I just mean, you're not even making a effort here to justify any reason for keeping it.

(And just cos I've already quote one very good man, I'll quote another "no good deed goes unpunished"). ;)

And for the record - I'm not religious in any way whatsoever, just trying to let you see the difference in being "that person" and not being "that person".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,363 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

Or the shop assistant tells their mate to ring the Guards and say they lost x amount of money, did anyone hand it in? Then they go drinking and generally making merry like the OP should have in the first case!

That's a whole trail of false representations to the establishment. That's far more risk than most people would take, I dare say. What happens when Mrs Murphy goes to the guards claiming the same thing. Plus, you don't give it to the checkout girl, you give it to a manager. Nothing's fool-proof. It's just a reasonable step.

I am just as entitled to an opinion as the next man…and what I have said has obviously stuck a chord with you.

Remember - you will lose money (probably at a time when you do need it) and you will remember that you were not very kind in this instance. And I don't mean keeping the money - I just mean, you're not even making a effort here to justify any reason for keeping it.

(And just cos I've already quote one very good man, I'll quote another "no good deed goes unpunished"). ;)

And for the record - I'm not religious in any way whatsoever, just trying to let you see the difference in being "that person" and not being "that person".

Sound, I follow you but there's times the karma wheel doesn't go full circle.
    I've lost money & phones before, never saw them again.

Anyway, the forum came to a consensus which I agreed with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,236 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Thanks for the feedback.

I went with the majority of the forum's advice & kept it.
    I've already lodged it against my Christmas Credit Card bill.

It was nearly €300 but I couldn't put up with the hassle of advertising the find then having to listen to gougers for the next week.

My conscience is at ease as I know now it's what the majority of the forum would have done.

Seriously?

Your conscience is clear because if this thread?

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,035 ✭✭✭uch

Me hole does it not, I returned a lost wallet in Schiphol Airport, Amsterdam years ago, the miserable Fuker gave me nothing, not even the price of a cup of tea, despite the fact that I was (very obviously) Homeless at the time.

22/25

Sound, I follow you but there's times the karma wheel doesn't go full circle.
    I've lost money & phones before, never saw them again.

Anyway, the forum came to a consensus which I agreed with.

It didn't really though!

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,236 ✭✭✭Panrich

I found a purse outside Liffey Valley a couple of weeks before Christmas. It was at the trolley bay of M&S. Handed it in to the manager but was a little uncomfortable as they never took any details or anything, just thank you, we'll look after that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭Motopepe

If you found an arguably significant sum of money lying on the ground, would you....
    a. endeavour to return it to the party that lost it.
    b. take the sum of money as your own.
    c. base the decision on considering 25 comments, over a 3 hr. period, in an online forum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

^^ Well said, can't believe somebody would just pocket that amount of money in such a callous, unfeeling way and be so roundly supported for doing it. 300 euros is a lot of money to most people. It's not 'cool' to point out the sadness of it, but well done for being brave enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,236 ✭✭✭Panrich

Motopepe wrote: »
    If you found an arguably significant sum of money lying on the ground, would you....
    a. endeavour to return it to the party that lost it.
    b. take the sum of money as your own.
    c. base the decision on considering 25 comments, over a 3 hr. period, in an online forum.

You're right. We really need a poll for this. C

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭Real Life

its funny how so many people were saying to keep it until the OP said he was keeping it then the people pop up complaining.
    OP did the right thing imo, i would have done the same. the only way id be giving it back was if i saw someone drop it.

Happyman42 wrote: »
    ^^ Well said, can't believe somebody would just pocket that amount of money in such a callous, unfeeling way and be so roundly supported for doing it. 300 euros is a lot of money to most people. It's not 'cool' to point out the sadness of it, but well done for being brave enough.

Agreed. I can't believe that so many people have horribly reccomended the OP keep it with no attempt at all to return it.

Frankly that's a shameful thing to do.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 921 ✭✭✭delta36

Where did you find it? Roughly €300? That sounds like it could have been someones rent for the month.

Real Life wrote: »
    its funny how so many people were saying to keep it until the OP said he was keeping it then the people pop up complaining.
    OP did the right thing imo, i would have done the same. the only way id be giving it back was if i saw someone drop it.

Taking money that doesn't belong to you is wrong, walk past it if you can't be arsed finding the rightful owner. Give the loser (in this case. victim) a fair chance of finding somebody decent < old fashioned word that, but I like it)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

So- sequence of events as I see it:

OP spends money for Cristmas on his credit card that he probably couldn't afford.

Finds nearly €300 belonging to someone else.

Won't do what he is legally obliged to do as he thinks the guards will keep it themselves.

Asks a bunch of anonymous posters for advice.

Proceeds to do exactly what he was afraid the guards would do.

Justifies this by claiming a non existent consensus on this forum.

Mind boggles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 416 ✭✭Hamiltonion

At some point we all lose a ph / money or have it robbed. As I posted previously I've returned 3 iPhones last year and would do it again as I can prove who owns it by contacting their home number.

I had my iPhone nicked in NYC last Sept so the whole karma thing didn't really work out did it?

Unidentified cash is yours to keep, consider it cosmic payback for the **** you've lost before and will lose in future :cool:

delta36 wrote: »
    Where did you find it? Roughly €300? That sounds like it could have been someones rent for the month.

Or maybe proceeds from dealing drugs, seriously, could be anything.

At some point we all lose a ph / money or have it robbed. As I posted previously I've returned 3 iPhones last year and would do it again as I can prove who owns it by contacting their home number.

I had my iPhone nicked in NYC last Sept so the whole karma thing didn't really work out did it?

Unidentified cash is yours to keep, consider it cosmic payback for the **** you've lost before and will lose in future :cool:

Maybe someone by some karma decided not to rob your house or your sister, or mum because you had those returned iPhone credits?? Bull**** argument to cover doing something inherently wrong imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 416 ✭✭Hamiltonion

Happyman42 wrote: »
    Maybe someone by some karma decided not to rob your house or your sister, or mum because you had those returned iPhone credits?? Bull**** argument to cover doing something inherently wrong imo.

Lads, there's being decent and doing the right thing when you can, and there's being sanctimonious when someone gets lucky.

Or maybe proceeds from dealing drugs, seriously, could be anything.

It's still wrong and still unjustifiable and still not legal

Terry Pratchet

Well if the newly vocal moral majority had spoken up earlier in the thread this money may have been back with the rightful owner.
    Instead you lay silent as pragmatic greed spread it's virtues.

Consider yourself as much to blame here as I am.

Lads, there's being decent and doing the right thing when you can, and there's being sanctimonious when someone gets lucky.

No sanctimony or luck here

Terry Pratchet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭Madam_X

300 euro is a lot of money, could be somebody's wages - effort should be made to find out who it belongs to, no question about it.
    OP probably on a wind-up though - he does that.

Well if the newly vocal moral majority had spoken up earlier in the thread this money may have been back with the rightful owner.
    Instead you lay silent as pragmatic greed spread it's virtues.

Consider yourself as much to blame here as I am.

Nope

Blame lies squarely with you!

Terry Pratchet

Madam_X wrote: »
    300 euro is a lot of money, could be somebody's wages - effort should be made to find out who it belongs too, no question about it.
    OP probably on a wind-up though - he does that.

I have previous granted but not in this case.
    Either way it's a mute point as the money is already lodged.

I'd rather risk being labelled sanctimonious any day of the week so than being labelled a thief, which is what this person is if they did as they say they did. It's really very simple, somebody is down 300 euro, we know not who or in what circumstances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭Motopepe

I read this thread for the humour really but the facts here are also intriguing...
    see, the way I read it, the first 25 posts were discernably 8 people recommending trying to find the owner and 8 people recommending keeping it. There were 5 posts that offered only humour and the rest were non specific ,
    However, this post
    if its LOADS of money keep it, if its not a lot of money, keep it, if it looks like a weeks wages, maybe try find the owner

comes down in favour of trying to find the owner in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭hawkelady

It's still wrong and still unjustifiable and still not legal

Are you really committing a crime when you find money on the street and pocket it ??
    Are you telling me I should run to the local cop shop next time I find €1 ??