Has anything genuinely creepy or unnerving ever happened to you?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Yeah when I was eight I found a half dead bloke who had decided to commit suicide who was a dead ringer for someone my parents knew

Then I'd an ex who stalked me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 142 ✭✭Eden3

A story I'd like to share is when I hosted an after wedding-party-"party". It was a neighbour of mine's wedding and they had a lot of guests from England over. I said I'd put some of them up for the night in my house.

Turned out one of the guests was a relatively famous clairvoyant(?)/psychic etc. I laughed + thought nothing of it. She turned out to be one of the people at my (very late) party. Anyway we were all having a few drinks and I was chatting with everyone, when suddenly she spoke, everyone went quiet .... and she was staring at me (seriously staring). She asked me across the room "Would that be your grandfather?"

I said "Would who be my grandfather?". She said "The man standing beside you all evening with his hand on your shoulder". I said "Both my grandfathers are dead, and so is my father". "Ah, that's who it is", she said. "He's been there all night, and he doesn't look old enough to be your grandfather". (My Dad died in his early 40's).

Any weird as that was (and in a way kind of comforting), a few months later a friend of mine was waiting for me at my house before I got home. When I was driving around the turn into our estate, she was wondering who the man in the car was beside me (????). And when I pulled up, she was a bit pale in the face, because she DEFINITELY saw a man in the passenger seat!!!!

Don't know what it all meant, but having said that I was going through a very tough time during that period. My Dad died when I was 2 yrs old, so it wasn't a recent bereavement. Maybe our lost ones help us out in times of need? Maybe that's just what we want to believe .... before all that I would have been the biggest sceptic of all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭mud

Just back from a funeral. The deceased died in his home with only the dog for company. When the neighbours found him they took the dog home with them. He wouldn't eat for two days. He ran off towards his old home and when the neighbour went up to get him the dog was dead on the front door-step of the house. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 142 ✭✭Eden3

mud wrote: »
    Just back from a funeral. The deceased died in his home with only the dog for company. When the neighbours found him they took the dog home with them. He wouldn't eat for two days. He ran off towards his old home and when the neighbour went up to get him the dog was dead on the front door-step of the house. :(

Ah that's made me very sad - dogs are so devoted, loyal and loving! Cracks me up to hear that story:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭mud

Eden3 wrote: »
    Ah that's made me very sad - dogs are so devoted, loyal and loving! Cracks me up to hear that story:(

I know. The poor thing died of a broken heart :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭seven_eleven

I also have a few experiences with predator/abduction like behaviour.
    When my elder brother was 13 and in first year of secondary school, he was walking down a narrow busy street in the town. The traffic was busy and the path was very narrow so cars drove by pretty close and slowly. A van pulled up along side him while he was walking and the side door slid open. A man very aggresively tried to drag him into the side of the van while roaring at him to get in. My brother managed to run and escaped while the van tore off. The gardai were notified.

Another time back when I was about 11 there was a "pedophile on the loose". Apparently this lad had been let out of a mental institution, but for several months he terrified the whole village's kids. He used to drive around slowly staring at kids with this malicious smile on his face, and used to stop the car and observe. Several people confronted him about it but he wasnt right in the head.
    Me and my other friend were standing outside the shop one day eating jellies when he pulled up along side us, and just rolled down the window and stared at us breathing heavily, with this evil smile on his face. We just ran away terrified.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,786 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

Walking to work one day and I noticed a car on the side of the road had mounted a grass verge, two old people had stopped walking and were staring horrifically at it, as I approached I noticed the car was still running but someone was slumped over the steering wheel, some poor guy had just randomly died of a heart attack, felt really horrible for a long time after that as he was fairly young and heard later he had a young family etc..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

It's incredibly disconcerting to see such an amount of stories detailing encounters with predators, chiefly due to their similarities to my most unsettling memory... a memory which I'm sure will be most vivid until my dying day.

I grew up in Meath, in a small bungalow on a hill that overlooked Trim. Though it faced directly onto a relatively well travelled road, as it had no street lamps when our home was in darkness so too was that entire hill.

As a child I would often leave my bed during the early hours for ten to twenty-minute periods, sleepwalking, yet sessions where I remained highly functioning. Usually I would trounce across our hall to the kitchen and pour myself some cereal, I could even ready myself some toast at times... my mother even told me that on one such occasion she found me sweeping the floor in the living room for reasons unknown. The memories of all these moments are not my own however, their recollections formed from what my mother recalled the mornings following.

She told me that at times she would often hear me from her bed, mumbling nonsensically down the hall. Usually, she would leave me to my own devices, I never hurt myself nor threaten to set our home alight, and on the occasions she did try to wake me I became agitated, belligerent. Yes, usually she left me alone to wander, that was until the night that changed how we treated my sleepwalking.

It wasn't long after 1pm, and my mother's bed had yet to be warmed by her body, as she stared at the ceiling from beyond the wall which separated our rooms she heard my usual indistinct mutterings, white noise ushering her to a sleep. That was until she heard a more clear utterance, a voice that was not mine, a man's voice that caused her to bolt from her bed. Sprinting along the hall she burst into my room to find me standing by my bedroom window, curtains pulled wide, one hand resting on the latch. Outside my window, silent, motionless, stood a tall and narrow silhouette, a man whose features came to life as she flicked the room's light switch.

He wasn't your stereotypical boogie man, bearded and scraggy, he was clean shaven, hair neatly cropped, and though it was dark my mother later told the Gardai that there was nothing about his clothing to make him appear destitute. Seeing my mother he didn't stay by my window for long, rushing for the end of the garden never to again be seen, all that he left behind was a leather satchel that got caught in the hedges.

I't wasn't until my late teens when my mother believed I was adult enough to hear what was found in that satchel, what the Gardai brought her to the station to see. Dozens upon dozens of Polaroid pictures bound in an elastic band, photos of me. Taken over a period of some months judging by my changing pyjamas and lengthening hair, they were all taken of me as I sleepwalked, eyes half open, head hanging forward. They were taken from behind the glass of my bedroom window, from the same spot where the silhouette had stood. It took me a while to register the absolute horror of the situation, of just how close I had come to... well, thankfully I'll now never know.

I asked her what it was she had heard him say to me, she almost chocked, swept the tears from her eyes, then said, she heard him say, "That's right, just turn the latch a little more to your right!"

So this fella was standing in your garden at night snapping away through a window on a f***king polaroid? was he waving the photo around to develop the pictures as well?

Gerrrupourofityechancer :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 555 ✭✭✭Hippies!

If the housemates found him dead in the wardrobe, how was he able to tell them what happened that night?

He was tweeting :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

Zillah wrote: »
    This whole child-abduction near-miss thing is always prevalent in these sort of threads. Each one might be a bit creepy and unnerving, but the sheer quantity of stories like this, here and on other forums, is probably the most unsettling thing.

Every kid knew about THAT priest yet had no one to tell. No one who would listen. Sickening!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

Bambi wrote: »
    So this fella was standing in your garden at night snapping away through a window on a f***king polaroid? was he waving the photo around to develop the pictures as well?

:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭nice_very

I would agree with the people on this thread who have either explained logically, or called BS on the stories told. I went to bed last night having read all but the last 2 pages, and had a great sleep, same as I will have tonight. It is this innocence that I love about us Irish, but find very funny.. look at the 2013 car registration debate ffs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

Nobody came on and told their story to be called innocent. Some people even stated it was hard for them to tell it because it was so personal.

If you don't believe it, that's your choice

Remember some if these stories are told through the eyes and fear of a child.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭padi89

hada wrote: »
    By way of example, if any of you have visited the concentration camps in Germany or Austria, it's a well established fact that the birds simply DO NOT fly in or around the camp (despite being in their hundreds in the relatively close proximity). The minute you walk in, it's as if the mute button is pressed and you go from hearing the loud chirping of the birds to silence. Regardless of the wildlife, the place actually reeks of death.

Come on now that's well known as a myth. Fewer birds ? Possibly, but that is very easy to explain. Look at Auschwitz for example it's a big open space with little or no trees not exactly ideal habit or corridor for many species. As you said yourself "hundreds in the relatively close proximity" and what do we have here ? Wooded areas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 204 ✭✭wclarke20

Bambi wrote: »

Well if you think about it, no such thing as digital cameras back then and all photos would have been developed by the local pharmacy which would have raised suspicions over what this guy was doing.

Polaroid was instant and untraceable so I disagree with your 'Gerrrupourofityechancer' remark.... :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

Holy f*ck!!!

Now that's not something you'd see every day. Glad the kid is ok.

On second thought, it does remind me a little of Foghorn Leghorn and the Henery Hawk...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 548 ✭✭✭Roisy7

But I don't actually get why she was in danger. Makes no sense to me
    face1990 wrote: »
    There's a few bits of that don't make sense! I suppose the implication is that the men were going to kill her too?
    But how the doctor knew that, and how he could tell the woman was definitely dead and not just drunk requires a little suspension of disbelief.
    Also why a doctor in Paris would speak in English to a stranger instead of French seems just a little suspicious.

Haha I know, there's more holes in that story than Swiss Cheese, that's the way it was told to me tho :D
    L0ui5e wrote: »
    That story reminds me a little bit of Dunmharu ar An Dart.. anyone who did the Junior Cert circa 1996 knows what I'm talking about

Ooh elaborate? What is it with Irish an creepy stories? Our Irish teacher told us she had this "hilarious" story for the JC, turns out three kids drown at the end of it! :eek:
    yesno1234 wrote: »
    Paris story is definately not true, when I started reading this thread I remembered being told an almost exact story in primary school and thinking that's one for this thread. Difference in my story being that the woman had to get off at the next train station where the police were waiting for the twp men/

That actually makes more sense!
    It's incredibly disconcerting to see such an amount of stories detailing encounters with predators, chiefly due to their similarities to my most unsettling memory... a memory which I'm sure will be most vivid until my dying day.

I grew up in Meath, in a small bungalow on a hill that overlooked Trim. Though it faced directly onto a relatively well travelled road, as it had no street lamps when our home was in darkness so too was that entire hill.

As a child I would often leave my bed during the early hours for ten to twenty-minute periods, sleepwalking, yet sessions where I remained highly functioning. Usually I would trounce across our hall to the kitchen and pour myself some cereal, I could even ready myself some toast at times... my mother even told me that on one such occasion she found me sweeping the floor in the living room for reasons unknown. The memories of all these moments are not my own however, their recollections formed from what my mother recalled the mornings following.

She told me that at times she would often hear me from her bed, mumbling nonsensically down the hall. Usually, she would leave me to my own devices, I never hurt myself nor threaten to set our home alight, and on the occasions she did try to wake me I became agitated, belligerent. Yes, usually she left me alone to wander, that was until the night that changed how we treated my sleepwalking.

It wasn't long after 1pm, and my mother's bed had yet to be warmed by her body, as she stared at the ceiling from beyond the wall which separated our rooms she heard my usual indistinct mutterings, white noise ushering her to a sleep. That was until she heard a more clear utterance, a voice that was not mine, a man's voice that caused her to bolt from her bed. Sprinting along the hall she burst into my room to find me standing by my bedroom window, curtains pulled wide, one hand resting on the latch. Outside my window, silent, motionless, stood a tall and narrow silhouette, a man whose features came to life as she flicked the room's light switch.

He wasn't your stereotypical boogie man, bearded and scraggy, he was clean shaven, hair neatly cropped, and though it was dark my mother later told the Gardai that there was nothing about his clothing to make him appear destitute. Seeing my mother he didn't stay by my window for long, rushing for the end of the garden never to again be seen, all that he left behind was a leather satchel that got caught in the hedges.

I't wasn't until my late teens when my mother believed I was adult enough to hear what was found in that satchel, what the Gardai brought her to the station to see. Dozens upon dozens of Polaroid pictures bound in an elastic band, photos of me. Taken over a period of some months judging by my changing pyjamas and lengthening hair, they were all taken of me as I sleepwalked, eyes half open, head hanging forward. They were taken from behind the glass of my bedroom window, from the same spot where the silhouette had stood. It took me a while to register the absolute horror of the situation, of just how close I had come to... well, thankfully I'll now never know.

I asked her what it was she had heard him say to me, she almost chocked, swept the tears from her eyes, then said, she heard him say, "That's right, just turn the latch a little more to your right!"

HOLY S**T!! Did he get arrested?!!

I've a cute little co-incidence too. When I was in NUIG I had to do a photography project, and I spotted a mint green vintage car driving up past UHG. Very cute little car, so I snapped a pic of it and photoshopped the background into black and white and left the car in colour.

A month later I was in Cobh for all the Titanic stuff and had my camera with me (project still not finished lol). So we were walking up past St Colman's Cathedral and there was another mint green Hillman (I think, can't rem the make). So I take more photos of it thinking how cute it was and not even making the connection. Check it against the other photo from Galway and it had the same reg- same car, must be following me around! :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭saiint

RainyDay wrote: »
    That's one helluva taxi driver - one who collects injured waifs and strays, supplies and gives copious amounts of morphine, and does facial surgery on the side.

he knows were the moneys ah ;):pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,255 ✭✭✭getz

this was very unnerving to me,a few years ago my sister died i travelled down to her funeral and stayed over for a couple of days,when i arrived back home i noticed my answer phone blinking,when i turned on the message ,it was my sister asking me to get in touch,the message was dated a day after she died,when i pulled myself together i realized i had set the date wrong on the machine

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,393 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

Just back to our Parisian doctor friend. Maybe the doctor was an English tourist and knowing what a corpse looks like thought he might advise the girl to hop off at the next stop.

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

Roisy7 wrote: »

I've a cute little co-incidence too. When I was in NUIG I had to do a photography project, and I spotted a mint green vintage car driving up past UHG. Very cute little car, so I snapped a pic of it and photoshopped the background into black and white and left the car in colour.

A month later I was in Cobh for all the Titanic stuff and had my camera with me (project still not finished lol). So we were walking up past St Colman's Cathedral and there was another mint green Hillman (I think, can't rem the make). So I take more photos of it thinking how cute it was and not even making the connection. Check it against the other photo from Galway and it had the same reg- same car, must be following me around! :D

I live in Cobh, and I think I know which car you mean, a mint-green, two-seater with hinges on the boot an the frame of one headlight missing?
    I never knew what make it was, it's got no badge, but I would usually see it parked on the hill near the cathedral when I'm walking home from the train station.

They must have taken a trip to Galway where you saw it, because most of the time they'd be parked up in Cobh. :)

Just back to our Parisian doctor friend. Maybe the doctor was an English tourist and knowing what a corpse looks like thought he might advise the girl to hop off at the next stop.

But how would he have know that she speaks English rather than French?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭Stepping Stone

Shenshen wrote: »
    I live in Cobh, and I think I know which car you mean, a mint-green, two-seater with hinges on the boot an the frame of one headlight missing?
    I never knew what make it was, it's got no badge, but I would usually see it parked on the hill near the cathedral when I'm walking home from the train station.

They must have taken a trip to Galway where you saw it, because most of the time they'd be parked up in Cobh. :)

I think it is a Nissan Figaro?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 548 ✭✭✭Roisy7

That's the one! Ireland's such a small country. Such a cute car, I want it! :)

But how would he have know that she speaks English rather than French?

Apparently doctors are supposed to know by looking at someone whether they're dead or not. Or so my friend who told me the story says! I think more than she was in danger that the men were obvious covering up the girl's death/capable of murder hence the reason he told her to get off.

Idk Shenshen- maybe there was some clue or maybe she was wearing an Irish jersey?! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭padma

In relation to the train in paris story, I heard it slightly differently, Girl gets on the Dart late at night, two guys get on carrying what looks like a drunk girl sitting across from her only them on the train, next thing a guy hops on at dalkey sits behind your one, next thing she hears the guy behind her saying, you need to get off at the next stop, she says why secretly, he tells her he's a guard and the girl their carrying has just been murdered. Next stop she gets off, while a few guards jump on the train and arrest the two chaps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,230 ✭✭✭Merkin

OK this didn't happen to me (thank goodness) but a pretty unnerving story nonetheless!! :eek:

http://www.japanprobe.com/2008/05/30/woman-found-living-in-mans-closet/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

Merkin wrote: »
    OK this didn't happen to me (thank goodness) but a pretty unnerving story nonetheless!! :eek:

http://www.japanprobe.com/2008/05/30/woman-found-living-in-mans-closet/
    I heard one before about an old man who lived in someone roofspace in Japan. He was the previous tenant who hadnt paid the rent and was evicted... Or so they thought!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,626 ✭✭✭Dancor

My colleague is reading this thread now and just asked me have I ever seen a ghost.

It was years ago, I was staying with my great aunt in her house in Connemara. It was a big house miles from anywhere. Apparently during the great famine a cruel landlord and his beautiful daughter used to live there. The story is, he forbade the daughter from marrying a young soldier, it broke her heart and in her despair she hung herself in her bedroom. The room that I was staying in was that very bedroom, I remember it was icy cold and lit by a single candle. I was drifting off asleep when suddenly I heard a strange creaking noise from the far corner of the room.

Was it a ghost? Asked Dougle, No I said and No Ive never seen a ghost.

Yep, that's him all right.
    Cute little thing.
    My husband always thought it was a kit car.