Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Man pushed under Dublin Bus and decapitated

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

dd972 wrote: »
    just guessing that it may have been junkie types fighting among themselves as the most likely scenario, apparently there was some altercation prior to the incident, certainly hope it wasn't a tourist
    Ya wah? I presume I'm about poster 98 to say that, but jasus, what's the difference? Are some people disposable-er?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 521 ✭✭✭Isolt

On any other day I could have been there. I am so thankful I wasn't there today, I am so sorry this happened. I would have fallen apart had I seen this happen to the poor man. RIP. I hope his loved ones find peace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭Ishmael

Wow, glad i didn't cycle today as i usually go past that junction on the way home. I feel sorry for anyone that was witness to this as it is something that will stay with you forever. It turns my stomach to think about it so i can't imagine how bad it must be for anyone who was there or worse yet, the bus driver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭rainbowdrop

Laneyh wrote: »
    I guess it's possible and just symptomatic of modern times it is a bit sad that upon witnessing something like that they reach for their phone not to call for assistance but to take a photo.

I can see how it would happen in some situations but I think people should still be able to regulate themselves a bit or will we have hospital staff tweeting from A&E before too long ?

It's already happening!

I actually blocked a guy I went to school with from my facebook over this. He is a doctor in an A+E department over in the UK, and was constantly putting up status updates about patients he was treating. Things like 'Oh God, Friday night shift, all night dealing with drunken fights and stupid girls who have sprained their ankles cos they are too drunk to walk in heels' or 'stupid bitch of an old woman whining at me because of waiting times. Not my fault ffs'

Now, fair enough he is human and is entitled to an opinion, but it's HIGHLY unprofessional of him to be posting on social media about it. He's supposed to be a doctor!

Back on topic, I don't usually post in these 'RIP' threads, but that guy this evening must have died a horrible death and the media were all over it before his family were probably even informed. Vultures!

And the nit-picking/point scoring/thanks whoring going on in this thread is a disgrace.The poor guys body is barely cold ffs

RIP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭Madam_X

Taco Chips wrote: »
    The traffic coming down Dame St at that junction is definitely not slow. It's a sharp turn that many cars and buses seem to always take at speed. Standing at the pedestrian crossing on the footpath, buses often come with inches of making contact.
    I was on Dame Street once opposite the Central Bank when this idiot who was walking backwards (it's unbelievable how some people are self absorbed enough to do that in a busy area) knocked me onto the street into the path of a bus that was absolutely bombing it. I got out of the way thankfully but was stunned at the speed of the bus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,062 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

Ye this caused chaos in town traffic wise.

I would have been at the scene at about the time it happened if I wasn't delayed leaving work.

jesus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Laneyh

It's already happening!

I actually blocked a guy I went to school with from my facebook over this. He is a doctor in an A+E department over in the UK, and was constantly putting up status updates about patients he was treating. Things like 'Oh God, Friday night shift, all night dealing with drunken fights and stupid girls who have sprained their ankles cos they are too drunk to walk in heels' or 'stupid bitch of an old woman whining at me because of waiting times. Not my fault ffs'

Now, fair enough he is human and is entitled to an opinion, but it's HIGHLY unprofessional of him to be posting on social media about it. He's supposed to be a doctor!

Back on topic, I don't usually post in these 'RIP' threads, but that guy this evening must have died a horrible death and the media were all over it before his family were probably even informed. Vultures!

And the nit-picking/point scoring/thanks whoring going on in this thread is a disgrace.The poor guys body is barely cold ffs

RIP

Wow! That is unprofessional in the extreme I shouldn't be surprised by this but I am a little bit. Thoroughly depressing really.

As to today's tragedy maybe the media would claim they reported it so quickly becauseof the immediacy of social media etc. but you're absolutely right we should all be respectful of the fact that someone has died.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

Madam_X wrote: »
    I was on Dame Street once opposite the Central Bank when this idiot who was walking backwards (it's unbelievable how some people are self absorbed enough to do that in a busy area) knocked me onto the street into the path of a bus that was absolutely bombing it. I got out of the way thankfully but was stunned at the speed of the bus.
    That's within the 30kph zone too. I wonder do the buses adhere to it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭robluvshandegg

As someone who gets that bus everyday, crosses that junction everyday, this is absolutely shocking. I have the hugest amount of sympathy for the bus driver, bus passengers and the pedestrians who were literally only a metre away in full view of the event and aftermath. Witnessing this tragic event will undoubtedly have a huge effect on all of the unsuspecting people involved and I hope that they will eventually be able to achieve some sort of recovery in the future.

In regards to the details of who this man was, it doesn't matter, tourist, "junkie" or normal commuter, this was an absolutely deplorable way to die and the proper respect needs to be shown to the human being who has just died.

The Gardai will catch the 2 other people involved, the place is littered with cameras, and sadly a huge number of witnesses.

Is there any way this could have been avoided? Sadly I don't think so. If someone pushes another human being in front of a moving bus, whether by mistake or on purpose, no amount of speed limits or pedestrianisation will prevent it from happening.

Ultimately this event has ruined or at least scarred many ordinary people and man has tragically lost his life. RIP. Nothing else to say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Hippies! wrote: »
    The people that take photos of such tragedies have absolutely no respect whatsoever, disgusting scummers as far as I'm concerned with the sole intention of showing it to their mates for a laugh and a shock most likely :mad:

Only this Monday one of Rupert Murdoch’s sensationalist rags flaunted a shocking front page picture with the headline "Pushed on the subway tracks this man is about to die.... DOOMED".

NY Post report.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭Aciiiiiiiiiiid

Doubt it, I've personally come close to getting a smack from the bus at those exact 2 locations. Many others on this thread have also witnessed the danger and problems with traffic on nassau st/suffolk st and that hill leading down to dame st from suffolk st. I actually saw a bus smash into another bus on that hill earlier this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Taking pictures of the scene is a morbid thing you'd normally find in the likes of Asia or South America where they deal with death differently, there's a million and one videos like that uploaded from people's cell phones on the web.

Somebody will think it's a bright enough idea to put up somewhere like LiveLeak.

Horrible thing to happen and to witness, too. Hopefully, there should be more than enough CCTV from surrounding buildings and from the bus itself as well as the witnesses to identify who the 2 guys were.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭ellinguistico

WindSock wrote: »
    People taking pictures at the scene apparently. Ffs, what are they going to do...put them on Facebook and Twitter.
    If someone like representatives of Storyful do that in a different country they are féted as 'citizen journalists' so I don't know if criticism of that is just.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 555 ✭✭✭Hippies!

Only this Monday one of Rupert Murdoch’s sensationalist rags flaunted a shocking front page picture with the headline "Pushed on the subway tracks this man is about to die.... DOOMED".

NY Post report.

I know, I remember an incident in London a few years back where a guy was under a bus dying with people around him taken pictures instead of phoning for an ambulance. :mad: It's one thing I really hate about technology.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

NY Post report.
    What happened?? Was he ok?? Did Rupert himself decide to publish it??? Will the world end soon?????? Do you have a big axe to grind????????:D

Banned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

I highly doubt it. Used to cycle down Dame Street daily and the buses wizz right past you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,669 ✭✭✭✭Mental Mickey

Pottler wrote: »
    What happened?? Was he ok?? Did Rupert himself decide to publish it??? Will the world end soon?????? Do you have a big axe to grind????????:D

Go away!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 743 ✭✭✭TroutMask

pithater1 wrote: »
    I highly doubt it. Used to cycle down Dame Street daily and the buses wizz right past you

They don't - because i do, and they tailgate me all the way down Dawson St trying to make me break the speed limit.

Conchir wrote: »
    I think it might have something to do with the Bystander Effect: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bystander_effect

Basically, it's the theory that a passerby is unlikely to offer help in an emergency if there are other passersby present. So, most people there would have just froze, until this one person thought to cover up the body.

This theory I think is more to do with intervening in an assault or something, but I think the same principle might apply here - no one reacted because there were others around.
    I personally don't think the bystander effect applies. They're still chossing to interact with what happened on some level rather than leaving it as "other".
    Madam_X wrote: »
    Things tend to look a lot quicker from lower down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

Hippies! wrote: »
    I know, I remember an incident in London a few years back where a guy was under a bus dying with people around him taken pictures instead of phoning for an ambulance. :mad: It's one thing I really hate about technology.
    They bystander effect has already been mentioned - I guess when there's a crowd around, everybody always assumes that someone else will call the police, will do something. And probably the fear of doing the wrong thing is magnified if you are doing it in front of a crowd. Far easier to stand amidst the crowd at a safe distance and hope someone else takes control.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,711 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

Shocking news. RIP.

I walk that way each morning and always avoid that route in the evening as it is so busy with pedestrians and traffic. As busy as it is I never really considered how dangerous it could be.

In general I always seem to be rushing around and taking risks to get across the road a few seconds earlier and things like that. I will have to be more careful from now on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,572 ✭✭✭Canard

Jesus, I was in town and planned to leave at half 5 and I get my bus around there...left a little later and was wondering why it was so deserted around the road the buses normally come up and why there were so many gardai around! Horrific. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭sink

I walked by the scene approx 20 mins after it happened and I had more or less worked out that someone was knocked down and possibly killed, but I am shocked to hear the full nature of it. By the stage I got there Gardai had already erected the tent so you could not see much, they were only in the process of setting up a cordon so I walked right by the scene. I figured that the tent could only mean that they were preserving the scene and/or concealing the body from the public.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 963 ✭✭✭Conchir

I personally don't think the bystander effect applies. They're still chossing to interact with what happened on some level rather than leaving it as "other".
    That's a good point. If they hadn't taken photos at all, maybe it would apply. However, I think something along those lines would explain why it took as long as it did for a person to react and cover up the body. Not strictly the bystander effect, but the same thinking behind it - someone else will do it.

Conchir wrote: »
    That's a good point. If they hadn't taken photos at all, maybe it would apply. However, I think something along those lines would explain why it took as long as it did for a person to react and cover up the body. Not strictly the bystander effect, but the same thinking behind it - someone else will do it.

I can understand why it would be hard for someone to try to cover the body etc., wouldn't argue with that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Pottler wrote: »

No, if you read the article one of his ghoulish reporters took photographs (Instead of possibly saving the guy) and had them published.

Story did not go down to well.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-us-canada-20599224

• Closed Accounts Posts: 555 ✭✭✭Hippies!

They bystander effect has already been mentioned - I guess when there's a crowd around, everybody always assumes that someone else will call the police, will do something. And probably the fear of doing the wrong thing is magnified if you are doing it in front of a crowd. Far easier to stand amidst the crowd at a safe distance and hope someone else takes control.

I don't think it is bystander effect, not taking out the video camera anywhoo! :pac: and what's weird is I know if I was in a situation where lets say someone was getting beat up and I wanted to jump in and be the hero...I'd think twice if someone was videoing, have to make sure my hair was right first etc...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Laneyh

I wish I could believe that but sometimes people are just callous, selfish, ****ebags too.

Standing and doing nothing is normal enough
    Not knowing what to do also normal
    Looking in spite of your better judgement normal but filming / photographing is not normal to me anyway.

The bystander effect is more applicable to situations where it could help. Aside from maybe helping the bus passengers and witness who were in shock it doesn't sound like much could've been done here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

brummytom wrote: »
    Jesus.

RIP. Now how long before the usual brigade call for the death penalty? They may have wanted to seriously hurt him, but shoving someone and them ending up in that sort of state can't be want they intended.

It's pretty ****ing predictable. Push a guy onto a road as a bus is coming and there is really only one outcome.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,166 ✭✭✭Tasden

I can understand the bystander effect to an extent although the only time I experienced it I think it was more due to being in shock rather than waiting for someone else to react.
    I saw a woman be hit by a car, flung across the road into the opposite kerb and start fitting, it was horrific. It was lucky a woman there was a first aider and knew exactly what to do and took control of the situation but I have to admit if she wasn't there I have a feeling i would've just stood there in shock not knowing what to do. Hopefully I wouldn't obviously but sometimes it just happens, what you know you should do just goes out the window.
    But the one thing I do know is that when I witnessed it I did not for one second think about taking a picture of it. I would've given everything not to have seen it.