Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Man pushed under Dublin Bus and decapitated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

The poor man. How awful. RIP.

And how awful for the people to witness that. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

That's awful. Condolences to those that knew him.

Independent being as classy as ever. They said on RTE that the body is still at the scene which is more than enough detail. Sounds like a horrible incident.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

Read that earlier, poor fella.

Just yesterday some other poor man was pushed in front of a train in New York too.:eek:

Oh, and in before someone insinuates it was a 'junkie'/scumbag etc.... Does it matter?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Jesus.

RIP. Now how long before the usual brigade call for the death penalty? They may have wanted to seriously hurt him, but shoving someone and them ending up in that sort of state can't be want they intended.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,606 ✭✭✭Carroller16

Ye this caused chaos in town traffic wise.

I would have been at the scene at about the time it happened if I wasn't delayed leaving work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

just guessing that it may have been junkie types fighting among themselves as the most likely scenario, apparently there was some altercation prior to the incident, certainly hope it wasn't a tourist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭micar

poor guy. RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,068 ✭✭✭yermandan

Jayzis. RIP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 382 ✭✭eire-kp

Poor bus driver.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Yeah I heard this earlier. People still complaining why the traffic was so bad.....

What a way to go, poor guy. R.I.P

That street is mental busy at the time it occurred - the path is usually packed with people waiting at bus stops and rushing home. There's also a lot of students along there with the occasional junkie looking for money. The buses fly down that road, all the Xpresso buses go down that way at that time. A simple shove out onto the road or a trip could have been all it took.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Jake Rugby Walrus666

I call for the Death Penalty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Jesus that's horrific :(

Traffic does seem to tear through that area for some reason though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 923 ✭✭✭markad1

eire-kp wrote: »
    Poor bus driver.

+1 and also anyone who seen it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Death and Taxes

dd972 wrote: »
    just guessing that it may have been junkie types fighting among themselves as the most likely scenario, apparently there was some altercation prior to the incident, certainly hope it wasn't a tourist
    Disgusting post!
    Would be ok if it was a tourist who was also a "Junkie"?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Neewbie_noob

Larianne wrote: »
    The poor man. How awful. RIP.

And how awful for the people to witness that. :(

I'd spare a thought for the poor driver too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

The poor man :( nobody should die like that.

Condolences to the family and friends of the deceased. My thoughts are also with the bus driver and the people who witnessed this incident, it must have been pretty horrific for them :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,911 ✭✭✭Zombienosh

surely there are loads of witnesses and it shouldn't really be much of a "hunt" for the pair that did it?

I'd spare a thought for the poor driver too.

Well yeah - bus driver, passengers on the bus, people on the footpath... Anyone who witnessed it..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,125 ✭✭✭westendgirlie

RIP

My thoughts are also with the driver and anyone else who witnessed this tragic event.

Disgusting post!

That's AH lately. For all the talk of scumbags there's a fair amount of them posting these days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 607 ✭✭✭Hurricane Carter

Zombienosh wrote: »
    surely there are loads of witnesses and it shouldn't really be much of a "hunt" for the pair that did it?

We're talking about the Gardai here...who, by the way, are 'treating it as suspicious.'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭tiny_penguin

I walked past this earlier today before they had a chance to properly seal the area - saw him covered by a piece of cardboard. I am shaken up enough and I literally just glanced before looking away as quickly as possible. I can only imagine that poor bus driver and anyone who witnessed it happen are going through. The independent should not have released so much detail so soon!

That street is mental busy at the time it occurred - the path is usually packed with people waiting at bus stops and rushing home. There's also a lot of students along there with the occasional junkie looking for money. The buses fly down that road, all the Xpresso buses go down that way at that time. A simple shove out onto the road or a trip could have been all it took.

That whole area within about 3 or 4 junctions is a disaster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,663 ✭✭✭✭Mental Mickey

I call for the Death Penalty.

WTF

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭kingtiger

was walking from work today down Dawson St at that time

didn't see the incident but saw far to much of the poor guy lying under the bus, going to to take a while to get over the shock of what I saw

People taking pictures at the scene apparently. Ffs, what are they going to do...put them on Facebook and Twitter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

Disgusting post!

was only hazarding a guess at what could have happened, certainly don't grade any human beings life as more or less valuable if that was the way it came across.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

Ghandee wrote: »
    Read that earlier, poor fella.

Just yesterday shine other poor man was pushed in front of a train in New York too.:eek:

Oh, and in before someone insinuates it was a 'junkie'/scumbag etc.... Does it matter?
    It was more likely that the guys doing the pushing were junkies/scumbags to be honest. I wonder will these guys be facing murder charges like the Chinese fella, or just affray or whatever it was that those D4 lads were charged with for kicking Brian Murphy to death outside Annabel's a few years ago?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

Yeah, I've always thought that that is the one junction in the city where a pedestrian could very easily get knocked down as the traffic zooms passed at a ferocious rate.

Terrible thing to happen.

WindSock wrote: »
    People taking pictures at the scene apparently. Ffs, what are they going to do...put them on Facebook and Twitter.

I was afraid to click this til I remembered pics can't be posted on this forum. If anyone posts it on Facebook and it comes up on my feed they'll regret it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭Clarehobo

I Am Kong! wrote: »
    We're talking about the Gardai here...who, by the way, are 'treating it as suspicious.'

Well, they can't come out and say it was murder if they are unsure: everything is 'treated as suspicious' until they can confirm one way or another. Gardai are not omniscient: they will have to investigate and gather statements and evidence.
    Even the independant article states
    he was apparently pushed under a double decker
    ... No one knows for sure.

Dafuq??

Disgusting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,606 ✭✭✭Carroller16

This area is a disaster at rush hour. I get the 46A at Dawson Street most evenings and it is chaos. There does be people jams on the footpath with people waiting at bus stops, people getting off buses and people trying to navigate their way up the street.

Further to this there is about 25 different bus routes trying to stop at 2 stops, so you can see where the congestion is coming from.

Wind Sock is right though, traffic does seem to tear down Dawson St for some reason.

Wonder whats gonna happen with it when the street is closed for the Luas link up. They will probably make Kildare Street 2-way causing even more chaos.

RIP to the deceased and my thoughts are with anybody who had to witness this.

Edit: Just remembered a couple of weeks ago I was on a 145 coming into town and a guy with earphones in was looking the complete opposite way to the traffic literally directly across the road from where this incident happened. He stepped out onto the road oblivious to the oncoming traffic and missed the 145 by literally inches. My toes curled up witnessing that one.

It was more likely that the guys doing the pushing were junkies/scumbags to be honest. I wonder will these guys be facing murder charges like the Chinese fella, or just affray or whatever it was that those D4 lads were charged with for kicking Brian Murphy to death outside Annabel's a few years ago?

You're such a monotonous prick. Are you going to use Brian Murphy's murder as your own political football for all of December? Grow up ffs... that's what; 3 threads where you've mentioned the above tonight?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭wyndham

Is Nassau St 30km or 50km speed limit?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,315 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Regardless of who was involved in the barney, if it actually was as a result of a fight, I doubt they meant for the poor man to be killed. Horrific story for all involved.

Reading it might have been 2 homeless men fighting over a spot. There is a spot there just beside the Spar / Kilkenny Shop where they normally sit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,687 ✭✭✭✭jack presley

wyndham wrote: »
    Is Nassau St 30km or 50km speed limit?

30kmph

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 653 ✭✭✭girl in the striped socks

Is that all that's bothering you? Bringing up a case that happened years ago that has no relevance whatsoever to the incident this evening.
    Whoever is lying under that sheet could still be warm & all you have to question is what charges will be brought? I mean ffs...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 611 ✭✭✭Strawberry Fields

A conviction for murder requires an intention to kill or cause serious injury, a punch gone wrong would probably be manslaughter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

Heard this on the news earlier but reading the Indo's report there just made me so sad. RIP and feel so sorry for anyone who witnessed it and the poor bus driver. :-(

Mod

Quit the speculation on whether the man was a junkie or a tourist. It's irrelevant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,573 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

I find that fcuking revolting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭Ledger

B*stards.

Whether they meant to push him under the bus or not is irrelevant. The point is they were on the side of a horrendously busy and dangerous street and decided to push him.

They must accept the consequences of their actions.

RIP to the man and condolences to his family and friends.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,687 ✭✭✭✭jack presley

kowloon wrote: »
    I find that fcuking revolting.

There was a thread on here a while back about someone saying they were at a funeral and people were taking pictures and putting them on facebook etc. There's a lot of morons out there and places like facebook are places to show yourself as one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Laneyh

dd972 wrote: »

Why jump to conclusions then? We don't know any details really except a poor unfortunate man has died in quite horrible circumstances

At least they managed to cordon off the scene and hopefully no photos will surface.

On a side note are we becoming a bit obsessed by tourists? Are people that live here just supposed to run the gauntlet every day? It's sad that anyone would die

You're such a monotonous prick. Are you going to use Brian Murphy's murder as your own political football for all of December? Grow up ffs... that's what; 3 threads where you've mentioned the above tonight?
    What?? :confused:

The charges people face for causing violent death seems to be rather topical at the moment. I mentioned that case twice.

I've no idea why you have thrown your toys out of the pram, but I suggest you get out for a breath of air or something.

Edit: By the way, the way you are trolling my posts looking for a chance to leap down my throat suggests you should do us both a favour and just put me on ignore. It may help you deal with this odd obsession.

Is that all that's bothering you? Bringing up a case that happened years ago that has no relevance whatsoever to the incident this evening.
    Whoever is lying under that sheet could still be warm & all you have to question is what charges will be brought? I mean ffs...
    No, it's not all that's bothering me. But why don't you just assume that for the purposes of having a rant at someone to make you feel better about a horrible event outside your control?

People are f*cking strange.