Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Larry Murphy Interview TV3 10pm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

I heard that TV3 will be doing a line of Larry Murphy merchandise.

T-shirts, hats, mugs, figurines, key rings etc.

shovels, bags of lime...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭Squ

He served his time for it
    Thats the fee? If you're willing to spend ten years inside, go find yourself a woman?

The fact that he isn't remorseful, shows that he has not, in fact, "served his time" for "it".

One of the main problems (imo) with modern society is the presumption of the right to life. Having these people walking our streets does not, in any way, benefit the greater good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

miamee wrote: »
    The only "good" thing about this is that people will now know what he sounds like and properly looks like rather than a 2D shot in the paper or him running from cameras on the news. All the easier to spot him if you ever came across him and give you a better chance to get the feck out of there.

Still find it appalling that TV3 are doing it though.

Yes. A good thing too that Larry Murphy is the only rapist ever released in Irish history, and there aren't hundreds of others in every corner of the country.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 12,989 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

goose2005 wrote: »
    Yes. A good thing too that Larry Murphy is the only rapist ever released in Irish history, and there aren't hundreds of others in every corner of the country.

If I knew what they looked like, I'd be avoiding them too.

The fact that the vast majority of victims know their attacker shows how many rapists there are.

But lets pick on this one, cause he has a hood up and looks scary on the front page of the indo.. And when tv3 show the add, they'll have menacing music.. And people who read tabloid crap will watch just so they can be told what they should think of larry.
    And after that, we can all watch some family airing their disfunctional wares on 'telly till some bint shows us how it should be done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭Caveman1

I for one won't be watching this ****, what could he possibly have to say that would be of interest to anyone, I'm sure he'll be
    saying how horrible his life is he cant go anywhere anymore and has no friends etc looking for sympathy, my heart bleeds for the scumbag :mad:

Come back to me when theres a a programme about him being tortured, I'll even pay to watch that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭Gee_G

Squ wrote: »
    The fact that the vast majority of victims know their attacker shows how many rapists there are.

But lets pick on this one, cause he has a hood up and looks scary on the front page of the indo.. And when tv3 show the add, they'll have menacing music.. And people who read tabloid crap will watch just so they can be told what they should think of larry.
    And after that, we can all watch some family airing their disfunctional wares on 'telly till some bint shows us how it should be done.
    I think people will watch it to see what he has to say for himself. I don't think anybody needs to be told what to think of him, as far as I know, the whole country has very strong views on him. You're obviously not a fan of Nanny 911?:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,161 ✭✭✭frag420

I heard Louis Walsh is managing him now.

Gee_G wrote: »
    You're obviously not a fan of Nanny 911?:D
    I was on about Supernanny, i've not had the pleasure of Nanny911 (praise the lord!) :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭Gee_G

I was on about Supernanny, i've not had the pleasure of Nanny911 (praise the lord!) :)
    They are two of a kind!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 653 ✭✭✭girl in the striped socks

He's being picked due to his alleged involvement with several missing women.
    Would you like if he was living next door to you or your mother or sister? I wouldn't wish for him to be living near my worst enemy.

And his name & face are so recognisable that of course tv3 are going to look for an interview. How many people would tune into such a programme about someone they never heard of? Tv3 are doing this to generate viewers.

So don't insult people by saying that by watching this we can be told what to think. Its something people will watch just to see how he is in the interview & quite possible rip the piss out of tv3s interviewing skills. Many of us are capable of forming opinions without the help of a newspaper or tv.

He's being picked due to his alleged involvement with several missing women.
    Would you like if he was living next door to you or your mother or sister? I wouldn't wish for him to be living near my worst enemy.

I have as much interest living near him as any rapist. None.
    And his name & face are so recognisable that of course tv3 are going to look for an interview. How many people would tune into such a programme about someone they never heard of? Tv3 are doing this to generate viewers.
    I wholeheartedly agree.
    Its something people will watch just to see how he is in the interview & quite possible rip the piss out of tv3s interviewing skills. Many of us are capable of forming opinions without the help of a newspaper or tv.
    Fill your boots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

He served his time for it, should he not be allowed to get on with his life?

Yeah, let poor Larry out and make way for those vicious criminals that have'nt paid their tv licence. :mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

anhedonia wrote: »

lol, then why would he agree to it ?

there is defo a cash incentive for him, he must be skint, cant imagine its easy to find work when you're a convicted psychopath.

The same reason why every murdering psychopath has gone on telly to do interviews when possible, sure Ian Huntley doing one a couple of hours before he was charged.There are still numerous unsolved cases with his name linked. Maybe he wants to deny that to the public. Maybe for the first time show some remorse. There are lots of focked up reason as to why he'd want to. Don't ever forget what this kant is capable of.

Really can't see him getting paid for it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 735 ✭✭✭joydivision

I wanna hear his views on the bank bailout . Itd be funny asking him what hed do If he got Brian Cowen alone in a room .
    I wanna hear his views on religion . Id love to know what hed do if he got god alone in a room .
    Hes stuck for cash . So hes getting paid . He left jail with 10000 that couldnt have lasted this long .
    I wanna hear his views on dole scroungers . And what hed do if he got one of them alone in a room .

Most of all I wana know what he thinks about them scientologists and if he wants to take a personality test .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Father Damo

I'm not saying he is a celebrity but I think a lot of people will watch the interview, he is mentioned often enough here to merit interest.

Good point.

And you can bet most of those who thanked the post you replied to will watch the interview.

For example, Johnny Adair is a hateful scumbag. I would burn him alive with a can of petrol if the law would let me. Doesnt mean I didnt read his book and found it interesting and sickening at the same time (like most autos he was paid an advance so I wasnt contributing to his coffers as such). If we couldnt study monsters, history would be an obsolete subject.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭leonidas83

Taking a rusty blade to some of this guys parts would be too easy a punishment.

His freedom today is another damning indictment of our judicial system

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,727 ✭✭✭flutered

a while back he was staying in one of the lodges of aherlow house,driving down to tipp town backing a few horses and playing pool in kielys pub, then attending the disco at the weekends, aherlow house was not the cheapest spot in ireland, with a special branch minder not too far away, i assume the tax payer is funding this lifestyle, we have people on here mouthing about some misfortune doing a nixer to pay a bill or cloth a child, nothing about this scum living the life of reilly with a garda minder on his heels in case he required protection from the public,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭thebigbiffo

Maybe he's watched Dexter, turned over a clean sheet and wants to make up for the damage he's caused society? Could be in Amsterdam on some secret radical psychotherapy course that will direct his murderous compulsions to evil people?

Or maybe he's just a devious little b'astard who sees this as his chance to wield more power his 'alleged' victims, real victims and their families.

Shame on TV3 for this - but it's going to be interesting nonetheless.

frag420 wrote: »
    I heard Louis Walsh is managing him now.

Larry is nearly a step down from the weirdness of Jedward . Publically and proudly asexual, fanatical younger crowd following, with a taste for unfashionable clothing, pop cheese, and an arrogant sense of ones self righteousness and importance......hasnt there been a bloke in the news the last while a bit like that?:eek:

Not saying they are any way inclined like him of course, but they are bona fide fcukin weirdos, and I would be very, very suprised if in 10 years time they are leading a regular lifestyle. Parents fault mainly IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

xzanti wrote: »

Yeah, cause he's just so selfless is our Larry.

He doesn't get a say about the cash. He talks about his innocence in other cases, TV3 get the viewers and say they've donated money to a good case so they don't feel guilty about giving this scumbag airtime.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,650 ✭✭✭ssaye

Paul Williams says no interview just chasing him around Amsterdam

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/rapist-larry-murphy-caught-on-camera-talking-to-women-3309279.html?start=1

When our documentary crew asked him for an interview he ran off. He later returned to his apartment and ignored repeated efforts to be interviewed.

The documentary is broadcast tonight on TV3’s ‘Midweek’, 10pm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,513 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

The fact is we go mental when other countries use the tactics required to extract information form the likes of Larry Murphy, so 10 years in jail is all that's available. If that was 10 years of waterboarding we would know all his crimes.

Even the UK does indefinate sentences for sex offenders who cant prove to be rehabillated. We are duty bound to let out early for good behviour. As in, he never smuggled drugs, spat at an officer or started fights. Which generally are not the typcal behaviours of a jailed, terrified, socially reclusive pervert anyway. He was judged by the same parole laws as the regular skangers who would rack up the above offences. Unreal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 653 ✭✭✭girl in the striped socks

I have as much interest living near him as any rapist. None.

I wholeheartedly agree.

Fill your boots.
    Sorry but what does fill your boots mean?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

It's important to remember he was only ever convicted of one crime.

....Hmmmmmmmmmmmm..........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,850 ✭✭✭FouxDaFaFa

It's important to remember he was only ever convicted of one crime.

He served his time for it, should he not be allowed to get on with his life?
    Are you kidding? "Only ever"? He didn't get a speeding ticket, he raped and attempted to kill a woman and is suspected of being involved in the murders of several other women.
    ssaye wrote: »
    Paul Williams says no interview just chasing him around Amsterdam.
    I was thinking it was unlikely he'd sit down in front of a camera and do an interview.
    I've never been a huge fan of tv3 but this is such a crass, scummy move on their part. His victim still lives in Ireland and will have to put up with this crap for the next few days. As if she hasn't suffered enough.

FouxDaFaFa wrote: »
    I was thinking it was unlikely he'd sit down in front of a camera and do an interview.
    I've never been a huge fan of tv3 but this is such a crass, scummy move on their part. His victim still lives in Ireland and will have to put up with this crap for the next few days. As if she hasn't suffered enough.

The fact they call it a documentary is laughable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,062 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    his first interview? You make it sound as if he's a celebrity.

Get down! Most people will want to watch this