Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Larry Murphy Interview TV3 10pm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 931 ✭✭✭periodictable

Seaneh wrote: »
    The fact that he was only sentenced to 15 years and was released after just 10 years shows what an absolute joke of our judicial system is.

Psychopaths like him should be locked up for the rest of their natural lives.
    I think it's about time sentencing is looked at. For certain crimes, there should be no remission. For others, judges should be able to set a minimum time served before someone is eligible for parole, as they can do in the UK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 456 ✭✭The Little Fella

What a steaming pile of ****e

TV3 & Paul Williams = car crash television, cringe...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

Great investigative journalism there by Paul Williams. Stalk a fella around a city that we all know he's in, then the closest you get to talking to him is roaring at his window from outside. What a fool.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 135 ✭✭Knockout_91

"Larry Murphy's first interview since his release".

This isn't an interview?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 298 ✭✭Tony Soprano.

Oh god, not Paul Williams.

The man who glorified all the big criminals in this country, by writing books and giving them names like The Viper, The Penguin, Mr. Big etc. etc.

Williams has benefited more from crime, than any of those criminals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 378 ✭✭I_smell_fear

TWIST: Larry Murphy is the presenter in disguise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭ryan84

That was painful to watch. Larry Murphy is living somewhere and Paul Williams took a few holidays there. They are really clutching at straws for a new story here.

Insulting to the victim really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭yeahimhere

I'm ashamed that that made me laugh :o

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,838 ✭✭✭midlandsmissus

what happened in the beginning. did it show him at all. this right now is fairly boring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

or

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,838 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

This entire programme is just a marketing stunt for TV3s new sitcom about two sex offenders who move to a flat in Amsterdam, all the adventures they have and their social faux pas in this strange and foreign land. Everybody Hates Larry. New to TV 3.

Yeah, that was shite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

Not only did he move to another city, he had the audacity to set up a pub there.

Don't believe me?

http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y229/dieseltrout/larry3.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,157 ✭✭✭keithclancy

"The most shocking thing was that they didn't interact with the community"

Yeh .. everyone that moves to Amsterdam is mad for the interacting with the neighbours.

What a stupid observation, you could say the same about anyone living in Amsterdam.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭Max Power

The most disturbing thing about the whole programme was the fact that Nora Owen used to be our Minister of Justice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,937 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

The most disturbing thing about the whole programme was the fact that Nora Owen used to be our Minister of Justice.

So was there even a word from Murphy? got bored and switched over

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,005 ✭✭✭Ann22

In 2001, Larry Murphy was sentenced to a 15 year prison sentence for the rape and attempted murder of a Carlow businesswoman in her mid 20s. It is believed that he had stalked the woman for over a month before following her into a secluded car park after she had finished work in February, 2000. Murphy punched the woman and forced her into the boot of his car.

He stripped her and drove nine miles out of Carlow. The victim recalls how he had music blasting from the radio in a bid to drown out her screams.
    He stopped the car on a dirt track in Beaconstown where he raped the young woman. Murphy then put her back into the car and proceeded to drive another 14 miles into the Wicklow Mountains where he brutally beat and repeatedly raped her again.

---Wouldn't your heart just break for her. I wonder how she's doing now. My prayers are with her anyway.

I remember well reading a book on this. It described what the poor girl went through in great detail. The pitch dark, the sounds...everything. It was a nightmare the poor girl was through. Her poor face was dripping cos of the blood and mucus pouring from her eyes and nose from the beatings as he was repeatedly raping her. He surely was trying to kill her, she described the petrol or thinners type smell of the bag he was putting over her head ffs. It really pisses me off when folk say 'how do you know he was going to kill her, he's served his sentence'-no he fcukin' well hasn't:mad:

God bless the poor girl, if her or her family is reading this, I'd like her to know there are many of us out there that think of her every so often and wish her many years of happiness and peace of mind.

fullstop wrote: »
    So was there even a word from Murphy? got bored and switched over
    Nope not a peep.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,702 ✭✭✭squod

Nora Owen, dislike.

llll

Larry Murphy has 2 children as well. Not nice for them either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 922 ✭✭✭MyBrokenKnees

So who was the other person he was with that would shock us?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 550 ✭✭✭Gauss

Jesus that was terrible, reminded me of the documentary of Homer when he took the Venus gummy da milo off the woman's arse. Insert evil music and away you go...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭sfwcork

what a stupid programme that was

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Pj!

Larry Murphy has 2 children as well. Not nice for them either.

Didn't know that. God that must be really horrible on them.

Pj! wrote: »
    Didn't know that. God that must be really horrible on them.
    Didn't realise that myself until it was mentioned tonight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 967 ✭✭✭HeyThereDeliah

Did not see the programme but will watch it later.

He also had a wife, brothers, sisters, which must be terrible for them, they can never escape his crime.
    I seen in today's paper where his brother has had to move his kids from three different schools because of abuse from other children.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,393 ✭✭✭MonkieSocks

Wattle wrote: »
    I'd like to see Larry in 'I'm A Celebrity Get Me Out Of Here'. Larry eats all the other contestants.

TV3 would probably have it as a "Pay Per Chew" event

=(:-) Me? I know who I am. I'm a dude playing a dude disguised as another dude (-:)=

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭Mikko Mallikas

I will state I do not condone in any way what Murphy did in any way but there are some things that the news never tells you and that are often overlooked when it comes to this particular story.

I was born and raised in Baltinglass and have had some direct and indirect dealings with him and his family and general acquaintances before he was ever convicted or suspected of any crime. All the books and news articles state that the disappearance of women stopped when he went to prison, this is untrue. I just quickly checked on the Garda website and counted approx. 20 women who went missing in Ireland (mostly in Dublin) during the time he was in prison. There is no connection to him in any of the cases of missing women with whom he is expected to be associated, and here is the crux, even if their was evidence to be found in any of the missing women cases He would never stand trial for them anyway because he been tried by the press in in all of those cases and would never receive a fair trial.

When it is stated that he was going to murder that poor Carlow woman who he was caught raping, this cannot be proven and it is pure speculation, and in fact he tried to rape his own sister in law many years before and she escaped from him and he convinced her to say nothing to the Guards.

There are many other anecdotal stories about attempted rapes by him in the local area of Baltinglass some of which I have heard first hand from the victims themselves or their families.

I went to school with the two guys who rescued the woman on the night he was caught and the have experienced other incidents locally where Murphy was generally creeping out women, mostly in one particular pub he used to frequent.

" Larry´s Lair" which was supposedly discovered by the Sunday World in recent times was as far as can be told never acessed by anyone apart from the builder and owner who is a friend of mine.

The greatest clues as to whether Larry Murphy was involved in any of the women's disappearances allegadly lie in one of the illegal dumps in a sandpit only a hundred yards from the house he grew up in which were uncovered in Whitestown in Baltinglass where Murphy was on several occasions believed to have dumped cars which were apparently in perfect working order. this fact is known by the Guards and they state that the funds are not there to excavate the whole area which covers many acres, however the illegal medical waste is supposed to be removed from there by Wicklow Co. Council for proper disposal and who knows what that will uncover.

I never heard that he had any shovels with him on that night, this may be wrong so correct if you know better.

His brother who is so often on TV stating how hard his life is, should by all accounts be taken with a pinch of salt. There are many stories of his claiming the discrimination card because of who he is when there really is no background to it, but this is his brother not him so I will say no more.

His connection with John Craer has more substance than might seem at first glance, They have been seen together on at least one occasion and although Murphy was only a child in 1979 when Phylis Murphy was murdered, a family member of mine who was involved in the recovery of her body from the mountain where it was found and the subsequent trial 20 years later states that Murphy and Craer revolved in the same circle on many occasions in the early ´90´s

I would like to stress that I believe Murphy should be rotting in jail for the rest of his life and not swanning around Europe having a good time, but the fact remains that he committed a crime, served the time he had to by Irish law and is a free man who has paid his debt for that crime. He has not and in my opinion will not ever be convicted of any other crime in Ireland. There are hundreds of other vicious murderer´s and rapists roaming the country who are more to be feared in my opinion.

The Lady whom he was convicted of raping did indeed get married a few years ago and the 2 hunters who rescued her were guests at her wedding. I hope she can recover from the ordeal as I know it affected the hunters who found her very badly for many years.

I know this is after hours so I wont be paying much attention to the people who want to nit pick what I wrote or jump to any conclusions from this. they are just some of the things I know about this case and have never put them all down together before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭meath12

im glad hes not in ireland, but i think its wrong that hes allowed walk around holland and women over there are unaware who he is and what he has done and is still capable of, and it makes it even worse that his friend is also a sex offender.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,604 ✭✭✭dave1982

Had pity on his brother and family having to go on TV to tell the country he had nothing to do with Larry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,005 ✭✭✭Ann22

There is no connection to him in any of the cases of missing women with whom he is expected to be associated, and here is the crux, even if their was evidence to be found in any of the missing women cases

He was working in Newbridge on the day that Deirdre Jacob went missing:(.