Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Larry Murphy Interview TV3 10pm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

This should be interesting as its his first interview since leaving prison.

"The convicted rapist has been moving around since he was released from prison in August 2010 after serving 10 years of a 15-year term.

The 46-year-old monster has never expressed any remorse for his crimes and shunned rehab treatment while serving time for his heinous crimes.

TV3’s Midweek producer Patrick Kinsella told The Star: “It will be compelling viewing as it’s the first encounter with him since he fled the country around two years ago.”

http://www.google.ie/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=larry%20murphy%20interview%20midweek&source=web&cd=6&ved=0CEIQFjAF&url=http%3A%2F%2Fthestar.ie%2Fstar%2Frapist-breaks-silence-from-hideout%2F&ei=0aW1UMuYJYaZhQeflIHIBQ&usg=AFQjCNFhQWKSsBwozX9NOI-Apa_V9mUK2Q

He agreed to be interviewed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

This should be interesting as its his first interview since leaving prison.

his first interview? You make it sound as if he's a celebrity.

He shouldn't be given the time of day, let alone air time. Imagine how his victim will feel with that dickhead being beamed into her livingroom.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

The fact that he was only sentenced to 15 years and was released after just 10 years shows what an absolute joke of our judicial system is.

Psychopaths like him should be locked up for the rest of their natural lives.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 967 ✭✭✭HeyThereDeliah

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    his first interview? You make it sound as if he's a celebrity.

He shouldn't be given the time of day, let alone air time. Imagine how his victim will feel with that dickhead being beamed into her livingroom.

I'm not saying he is a celebrity but I think a lot of people will watch the interview, he is mentioned often enough here to merit interest.

He agreed to be interviewed?

Looks that way, how long the interview is I don't know, not expecting him to say much, wonder why he has decided to agree to the interview now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭meoklmrk91

I hear he has been touring every single town in ireland over the last couple of years in anticipation of the interview:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

It's important to remember he was only ever convicted of one crime.

He served his time for it, should he not be allowed to get on with his life?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭wyndham

It's not the first interview, I have seen at least one other somewhere.

Basically, 'I didn't do it, nobody saw me do it, you can't prove anything, I've served my time and should be left alone, etc, etc'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 460 ✭✭murraykil

wonder why he has decided to agree to the interview now.

I wonder why TV 3 are giving this prik a voice; fuppin scumbag of a tv station so I guess they are well suited to eachother.

When a criminal scars their victim for life, the criminal deserves a similar scar on the rest of their own life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

Thats not the way society works.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,002 ✭✭✭Seedy Arling

There's something wrong with that statement. Makes it seem like it's ok to do what he did and also what he has allegedly done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,779 ✭✭✭up for anything

Yep, just so long as he's living next door to you, and not to me or mine. :rolleyes:

He wasn't convicted for stealing a few gummy bears. He put his victim through a nightmare few hours and was in the process of killing her when interrupted and has never shown the slightest bit of of remorse. In other countries he'd still be serving a life sentence without parole.

Nah I'm just questioning the way things are supposed to work.
    Personally I think he should be castrated and locked up for life. Even if just for the crime he was convicted for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭upstairs for coffee

If what it says on wikipedia about what he did to his poor poor victim is true, then there is no way this man should have any freedom.

The sentence handed down to him is shameful, absolutely shameful.

My question is who does this guy afford to travel to Spain, Holland etc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

Tasteless TV from TV3 yet again.

This kant shouldn't be given the time of day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,779 ✭✭✭up for anything

However, Murphy was sentenced before the Sex offenders Act was introduced in 2001 so he is not subject to post-release supervision order.

If I knew this, I'd forgotten it. FFS! That is criminal and even if the Gardaí are keeping an unofficial eye on him, how long before their budget doesn't cover it or cover it fully? :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,299 ✭✭✭hairyprincess

TV3 proving yet again what a scumbag tv station they are. Absolutely disgraceful that they are giving this vile piece of **** airtime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

There's something wrong with that statement. Makes it seem like it's ok to do what he did and also what he has allegedly done.

Its not OK what he did, thats why he was sentenced to 15 years in prison.

As far as I know, the other crimes in which he may be a suspect are still very much live cases.

I'll be watching I have to say.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 12,526 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

The only "good" thing about this is that people will now know what he sounds like and properly looks like rather than a 2D shot in the paper or him running from cameras on the news. All the easier to spot him if you ever came across him and give you a better chance to get the feck out of there.

Still find it appalling that TV3 are doing it though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,230 ✭✭✭Merkin

He deserves to have his balls cut off, fried up in front of him and then made eat them. Great work TV3, tabloid journalism at its worst no doubt....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭areyawell

probably got 100k for doing the interview

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭Gee_G

meoklmrk91 wrote: »
    I hear he has been touring every single town in ireland over the last couple of years in anticipation of the interview:rolleyes:
    I think he's that messed up that he's trying to f**k with peoples heads, by popping up in different places every few days!
    Also agree in a way that it will be good for people to know exactly what he looks like!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭symbolic

I imagine he'll get paid for it? Seems odd!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 550 ✭✭✭Gauss

I'd love it if he came across as a nice person in the interview.

symbolic wrote: »
    I imagine he'll get paid for it? Seems odd!

I doubt it, I'd say they'll say at the end that they gave some money to charity or something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 391 ✭✭anhedonia

I doubt it, I'd say they'll say at the end that they gave some money to charity or something.

lol, then why would he agree to it ?

there is defo a cash incentive for him, he must be skint, cant imagine its easy to find work when you're a convicted psychopath.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,002 ✭✭✭Seedy Arling

padd b1975 wrote: »

Its not OK what he did, thats why he was sentenced to 15 years in prison.

As far as I know, the other crimes in which he may be a suspect are still very much live cases.
    Do you know what a rhetorical question is?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭seven_eleven

Larry 4 president 2k12

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Yeah, cause he's just so selfless is our Larry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

I heard that TV3 will be doing a line of Larry Murphy merchandise.

T-shirts, hats, mugs, figurines, key rings etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

I heard that TV3 will be doing a line of Larry Murphy merchandise.

T-shirts, hats, mugs, figurines, key rings etc.

shovels, bags of lime...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭Squ

He served his time for it
    Thats the fee? If you're willing to spend ten years inside, go find yourself a woman?

The fact that he isn't remorseful, shows that he has not, in fact, "served his time" for "it".

One of the main problems (imo) with modern society is the presumption of the right to life. Having these people walking our streets does not, in any way, benefit the greater good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

miamee wrote: »
    The only "good" thing about this is that people will now know what he sounds like and properly looks like rather than a 2D shot in the paper or him running from cameras on the news. All the easier to spot him if you ever came across him and give you a better chance to get the feck out of there.

Still find it appalling that TV3 are doing it though.

Yes. A good thing too that Larry Murphy is the only rapist ever released in Irish history, and there aren't hundreds of others in every corner of the country.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 12,526 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

goose2005 wrote: »
    Yes. A good thing too that Larry Murphy is the only rapist ever released in Irish history, and there aren't hundreds of others in every corner of the country.

If I knew what they looked like, I'd be avoiding them too.

The fact that the vast majority of victims know their attacker shows how many rapists there are.

But lets pick on this one, cause he has a hood up and looks scary on the front page of the indo.. And when tv3 show the add, they'll have menacing music.. And people who read tabloid crap will watch just so they can be told what they should think of larry.
    And after that, we can all watch some family airing their disfunctional wares on 'telly till some bint shows us how it should be done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭Caveman1

I for one won't be watching this ****, what could he possibly have to say that would be of interest to anyone, I'm sure he'll be
    saying how horrible his life is he cant go anywhere anymore and has no friends etc looking for sympathy, my heart bleeds for the scumbag :mad:

Come back to me when theres a a programme about him being tortured, I'll even pay to watch that.

Squ wrote: »
    The fact that the vast majority of victims know their attacker shows how many rapists there are.

But lets pick on this one, cause he has a hood up and looks scary on the front page of the indo.. And when tv3 show the add, they'll have menacing music.. And people who read tabloid crap will watch just so they can be told what they should think of larry.
    And after that, we can all watch some family airing their disfunctional wares on 'telly till some bint shows us how it should be done.
    I think people will watch it to see what he has to say for himself. I don't think anybody needs to be told what to think of him, as far as I know, the whole country has very strong views on him. You're obviously not a fan of Nanny 911?:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,161 ✭✭✭frag420

I heard Louis Walsh is managing him now.

Gee_G wrote: »
    You're obviously not a fan of Nanny 911?:D
    I was on about Supernanny, i've not had the pleasure of Nanny911 (praise the lord!) :)

They are two of a kind!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 653 ✭✭✭girl in the striped socks

He's being picked due to his alleged involvement with several missing women.
    Would you like if he was living next door to you or your mother or sister? I wouldn't wish for him to be living near my worst enemy.

And his name & face are so recognisable that of course tv3 are going to look for an interview. How many people would tune into such a programme about someone they never heard of? Tv3 are doing this to generate viewers.

So don't insult people by saying that by watching this we can be told what to think. Its something people will watch just to see how he is in the interview & quite possible rip the piss out of tv3s interviewing skills. Many of us are capable of forming opinions without the help of a newspaper or tv.

He's being picked due to his alleged involvement with several missing women.
    Would you like if he was living next door to you or your mother or sister? I wouldn't wish for him to be living near my worst enemy.

I have as much interest living near him as any rapist. None.
    And his name & face are so recognisable that of course tv3 are going to look for an interview. How many people would tune into such a programme about someone they never heard of? Tv3 are doing this to generate viewers.
    I wholeheartedly agree.
    Its something people will watch just to see how he is in the interview & quite possible rip the piss out of tv3s interviewing skills. Many of us are capable of forming opinions without the help of a newspaper or tv.
    Fill your boots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

Yeah, let poor Larry out and make way for those vicious criminals that have'nt paid their tv licence. :mad::mad:

anhedonia wrote: »

lol, then why would he agree to it ?

there is defo a cash incentive for him, he must be skint, cant imagine its easy to find work when you're a convicted psychopath.

The same reason why every murdering psychopath has gone on telly to do interviews when possible, sure Ian Huntley doing one a couple of hours before he was charged.There are still numerous unsolved cases with his name linked. Maybe he wants to deny that to the public. Maybe for the first time show some remorse. There are lots of focked up reason as to why he'd want to. Don't ever forget what this kant is capable of.

Really can't see him getting paid for it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 735 ✭✭✭joydivision

I wanna hear his views on the bank bailout . Itd be funny asking him what hed do If he got Brian Cowen alone in a room .
    I wanna hear his views on religion . Id love to know what hed do if he got god alone in a room .
    Hes stuck for cash . So hes getting paid . He left jail with 10000 that couldnt have lasted this long .
    I wanna hear his views on dole scroungers . And what hed do if he got one of them alone in a room .

Most of all I wana know what he thinks about them scientologists and if he wants to take a personality test .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Father Damo

I'm not saying he is a celebrity but I think a lot of people will watch the interview, he is mentioned often enough here to merit interest.

Good point.

And you can bet most of those who thanked the post you replied to will watch the interview.

For example, Johnny Adair is a hateful scumbag. I would burn him alive with a can of petrol if the law would let me. Doesnt mean I didnt read his book and found it interesting and sickening at the same time (like most autos he was paid an advance so I wasnt contributing to his coffers as such). If we couldnt study monsters, history would be an obsolete subject.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭leonidas83

Taking a rusty blade to some of this guys parts would be too easy a punishment.

His freedom today is another damning indictment of our judicial system

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,710 ✭✭✭flutered

a while back he was staying in one of the lodges of aherlow house,driving down to tipp town backing a few horses and playing pool in kielys pub, then attending the disco at the weekends, aherlow house was not the cheapest spot in ireland, with a special branch minder not too far away, i assume the tax payer is funding this lifestyle, we have people on here mouthing about some misfortune doing a nixer to pay a bill or cloth a child, nothing about this scum living the life of reilly with a garda minder on his heels in case he required protection from the public,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭thebigbiffo

Maybe he's watched Dexter, turned over a clean sheet and wants to make up for the damage he's caused society? Could be in Amsterdam on some secret radical psychotherapy course that will direct his murderous compulsions to evil people?

Or maybe he's just a devious little b'astard who sees this as his chance to wield more power his 'alleged' victims, real victims and their families.

Shame on TV3 for this - but it's going to be interesting nonetheless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Father Damo

frag420 wrote: »
    I heard Louis Walsh is managing him now.

Larry is nearly a step down from the weirdness of Jedward . Publically and proudly asexual, fanatical younger crowd following, with a taste for unfashionable clothing, pop cheese, and an arrogant sense of ones self righteousness and importance......hasnt there been a bloke in the news the last while a bit like that?:eek:

Not saying they are any way inclined like him of course, but they are bona fide fcukin weirdos, and I would be very, very suprised if in 10 years time they are leading a regular lifestyle. Parents fault mainly IMO.