If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Larry Murphy Interview TV3 10pm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,557 ✭✭✭JoeA3

Was Barry Cummins there?

Jaysus... ffs...

The man is a respected crime journalist, who has written extensively on this case and on many other ones like it (all the missing women in Leinster). Of course he wasn't there but much of what he writes is based on direct Garda / court evidence and testimony.

We cannot know for 100% certainty that he definitely was going to kill her, of course not. But the Gardai gathered enough evidence to conclude that this is exactly what he was going to do. He didn't bring her into the woods in the middle of the night with a shovel to play sand castles...

There is certainly more physical evidence on Murphy than there ever was on O'Reilly, and O'Reilly was convicted of murder - mostly based on his mobile phone records!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 967 ✭✭✭HeyThereDeliah

I am certainly not dismissing what he done. All I'm saying is I don't get the obsession with him since other people have actually murdered their victims.

I agree with you on this, some of the reactions on here are laughable, he is of interest to some people.
    TV three are showing this programme, if rte could get him on the late late show they would and everyone would watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,230 ✭✭✭Leftist

Accidentally killing a child? He was a grown man who strangled an 11 year old boy to death then put his body into a binbag and dumped it into a drain. He then went along with a huge search party all the while knowing where the body was.

"she's lucky to be alive"? Where did I say that?
    Build a sand castle maybe? :rolleyes: How would I know, I know as much as anyone on here.

I am certainly not dismissing what he done. All I'm saying is I don't get the obsession with him since other people have actually murdered their victims.

Perhaps the torture and abduction is what has people 'over' reacting? or the serious consideration given by police to the cases of various other women who have gone missing in and around the area of his home over an 8 year period?

women who were very likely abducted and murdered.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭Max Power

JoeA3 wrote: »
    Jaysus... ffs...

The man is a respected crime journalist, who has written extensively on this case and on many other ones like it (all the missing women in Leinster). Of course he wasn't there but much of what he writes is based on direct Garda / court evidence and testimony.

We cannot know for 100% certainty that he definitely was going to kill her, of course not. But the Gardai gathered enough evidence to conclude that this is exactly what he was going to do. He didn't bring her into the woods in the middle of the night with a shovel to play sand castles...
    It's just another person's opinion at the end of the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,534 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Larry Murphy stalked his victim, tied her up, drove her in her car to where he parked his car and set off for the hills. That to me sounds very planned.

If anyone knows what tools or items he brought with him, it might shed more light on what he intended?

Leftist wrote: »
    Perhaps the torture and abduction is what has people 'over' reacting? or the serious consideration given by police to the cases of various other women who have gone missing in and around the area of his home over an 8 year period?

women who were very likely abducted and murdered.
    I don't know whether he was involved in them abductions either, people seem to forget that John Crerar an army seargent from Kildare was imprisoned for the abduction, rape and murder of Phyllis Murphy in 1972. He wasn't jailed until 2002. IMO he could have abducted Jo Jo Dollard, Fiona Pender, Deirdre Jacob, etc, as much as Murphy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,534 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

I don't know whether he was involved in them abductions either, people seem to forget that John Crerar an army seargent from Kildare was imprisoned for the abduction, rape and murder of Phyllis Murphy in 1972. He wasn't jailed until 2002. IMO he could have abducted Jo Jo Dollard, Fiona Pender, Deirdre Jacob, etc, as much as Murphy.
    We can discount Fiona Pender, locally i believe it's no secret what happened there. Same with the Sinnott girl from wexford.

Yes but yet she is always mentioned. How many women are missing presumed killed by Larry Murphy?

'Without Trace - Ireland's Missing'. Is a good read.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭StephenHendry

there was an opinion that crerar and murphy were allegedly together on some of those abductions such as the case of jo jo dullard ,

That was just idol gossip IMO.

Yes but yet she is always mentioned. How many women are missing presumed killed by Larry Murphy?

'Without Trace - Ireland's Missing'. Is a good read.
    annie, jojo and deirdre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭StephenHendry

I don't think he was going to dress her and drop her home, the girl suffered a horrific ordeal for hours and I'm sure she wished for death sometimes during it.

but for murphy was disturbed, there's every chance she would have been another of the missing women, there is so much circumstancial evidence pointing to murphy and journos like barry cummings and many gardai strongly suspect , they can't all be wrong in believing him to be responsible for some of those missing women, imo i would say he is the one responsible for the dissappearance of jo jo, annie mccarrick, deirdre jacob,

im not sure about fiona pender or fiona sinnott and i think its very likely may have had an accomplice with him in some of those crimes.

but for murphy was disturbed, there's every chance she would have been another of the missing women, there is so much circumstancial evidence pointing to murphy and journos like barry cummings and many gardai strongly suspect , they can't all be wrong in believing him to be responsible for some of those missing women, imo i would say he is the one responsible for the dissappearance of jo jo, annie mccarrick, deirdre jacob,

im not sure about fiona pender or fiona sinnott and i think its very likely may have had an accomplice with him in some of those crimes.
    i think the latter two were murdered by someone local to them

Fiona Sinnott and Fiona pender are believed to be murdered by people known to them.

"Frozen blood" by Michael Sheridan, he puts Murphy and Crearer together, conspiracy or not I dunno, he said a woman seen them together at a disused quarry but still Gardai cannot get any proof, unless one of them talks we may never know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,393 ✭✭✭MonkieSocks

Some gardai have been convinced for some time that Murphy should be questioned about the murder of Antoinette Smith, a 27-year-old mother of two, who disappeared in July 1987. Her body was discovered near Kilakee in the Dublin Mountains in June 1988. She had been strangled with her own bra.

Murphy was attempting to strangle the young Co Carlow businesswoman he had abducted and raped, with her bra, when he was spotted by two hunters in the Wicklow Mountains in February 2000.

Source: http://www.independent.ie/national-news/rapist-murphy-moves-to-france-2353418.html

=(:-) Me? I know who I am. I'm a dude playing a dude disguised as another dude (-:)=

• Closed Accounts Posts: 199 ✭✭thiarfearr

padd b1975 wrote: »
    Knowing the way TV3 operate, they probably have a text service set up so people can text in their questions for Larry.

They'll probably have him wishing people happy birthday

• Closed Accounts Posts: 199 ✭✭thiarfearr

I'll be tuning into to this tonight.

I never got the whole obsession with Larry Murphy. The man raped a woman but didn't actually kill her and before people say "but he would have if he wasn't caught" how do you know that? Were you there? Or are you just going on what The Star, The Sun, etc, say?

Joe O'Reilly brutally murdered his wife and even went on The Late Late Show with his victim's mother pretending he knew nothing. He has shown no remorse and to this day still denies murdering his wife. IMO it was a worse crime than Murphy's.

Wayne O'Donoghue murdered an 11 year old boy. He again denied it and even went to search for him while consoling Robert Holohan's distraught parents.

Only a few weeks ago we had a 30 year old women murdered by a 24 year old man in Co. Laois. He buried her body in his Mother's back garden.

The only consolation that poor girl can take from here experience with Murphy is that she is alive. Unfortunately Rachel Calally, Robert Holohan, etc, were not spared.

He stalked, raped and attempted to murder a random woman, has shown no remorse, is suspected of killing several other young women who went missing in the 90s and is back free again. Of course there's interest in him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,599 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

JJJJNR wrote: »
    Thats not the way society works.
    i wouldn't be so sure, i can't imagine most people would spend their time following the likes of Larry Murphy around everywhere, most of us have a life.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,599 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

Squ wrote: »
    The fact that he isn't remorseful, shows that he has not, in fact, "served his time" for "it".
    and if he was remorseful, he would have served his time? come off it. he was sentenced to 15 years, he didn't serve the full 15 years so that technically means he hasn't served his full time, nothing to do with remorse, however he was released so obviously the perol board (or whatever its called) has decided that he has served enough time, thats the way it is, of course its ridiculous, but until the law is changed thats how it is.
    One of the main problems (imo) with modern society is the presumption of the right to life.
    not really a problem
    Having these people walking our streets does not, in any way, benefit the greater good.
    nobody suggested it did, but under the current laws people including the likes of him can be released before their sentence is up, we don't have full life sentences in this country, we should but we don't.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

and if he was remorseful, he would have served his time? come off it. he was sentenced to 15 years, he didn't serve the full 15 years so that technically means he hasn't served his full time, nothing to do with remorse, however he was released so obviously the perol board (or whatever its called) has decided that he has served enough time, thats the way it is, of course its ridiculous, but until the law is changed thats how it is.

in Ireland you are automatically entitled to 25% off your sentence duration if you don't pop up above the radar.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭areyawell

I bet he's lonely :( Might visit him and go on the session with him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭yeahimhere

It's important to remember he was only ever convicted of one crime.

He served his time for it, should he not be allowed to get on with his life?

I usually believe this, however there are the odd cases that pop up that make me question that belief. Larry Murphy is one.
    miamee wrote: »
    The only "good" thing about this is that people will now know what he sounds like and properly looks like rather than a 2D shot in the paper or him running from cameras on the news. All the easier to spot him if you ever came across him and give you a better chance to get the feck out of there.

Still find it appalling that TV3 are doing it though.

This.

When he was released, I did Google an image of him just to make sure I knew what he looked like. Same with other released sex offenders that are still considered dangerous around the City. Might sound silly, but I'd like to have it on my radar of his body movement / voice sounds like just by any unfortunate chance I might encounter him - asking for directions or something in a town somewhere. Who knows? But it might save my life one day. Worse case scenario I never have to know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Why is he being turned into some sort of celebrity being thrown into the limelight every now and again?

Sightings and sh!te in the paper. Who cares, he's not the Loch Ness Monster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

areyawell wrote: »
    I bet he's lonely :( Might visit him and go on the session with him

You're not well anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

I don't think it's going to be an interview with the man.

I really don't see the point, he's living in Amsterdam, seemly working a job and not causing trouble for anyone, why bother?

I'm sure there are a lot more dangerous people walking around our streets every day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 491 ✭✭Spiritual

Holsten wrote: »

I'm sure there are a lot more dangerous people walking around our streets every day.

Yes, but at least they have the decency to kill each other eventually.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,838 ✭✭✭midlandsmissus

Show Time wrote: »
    The fact he undertook no rehabilitation treatment when he was locked up should set a lot of alarm bells ringing and should have been enough to make sure he served the full fifteen years.

I'd say it'd be very hard to admit to yourself that you're a horrible rapist if you are one. You'd probably have a million excuses in your head. Going to rehabilitation would make him have to admit to what he is.

I'll be tuning into to this tonight.

I never got the whole obsession with Larry Murphy. The man raped a woman but didn't actually kill her and before people say "but he would have if he wasn't caught" how do you know that? Were you there? Or are you just going on what The Star, The Sun, etc, say?

Joe O'Reilly brutally murdered his wife and even went on The Late Late Show with his victim's mother pretending he knew nothing. He has shown no remorse and to this day still denies murdering his wife. IMO it was a worse crime than Murphy's.

Wayne O'Donoghue murdered an 11 year old boy. He again denied it and even went to search for him while consoling Robert Holohan's distraught parents.

Only a few weeks ago we had a 30 year old women murdered by a 24 year old man in Co. Laois. He buried her body in his Mother's back garden.

The only consolation that poor girl can take from here experience with Murphy is that she is alive. Unfortunately Rachel Calally, Robert Holohan, etc, were not spared.

Joe O' Reilly killed his wife, while having an affair, while of course utterly horrible, is common enough on the list of why people murder.

Larry Murphy kidnapped a woman, put her in his boot and brought her to a forest with the sole intention of raping her, and potentially murdering her (that he told her so many details about his life, including his children's names) is a red flag here. Add to that the Irish are still interested in all the women going missing in Leinster and you can see why there is a lot of interest in him.

I think all the 'Be afraid of Larry Murphy!' pictures on the front of newspapers are stupid though, as a previous poster said: there are rapists lurking in all aspects of normal life. He is the hate figure for rape.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,305 ✭✭✭kirving

Given the amount of surveillance he's most likely under, I think the worst part about him living next door would be all the journalists. Probably very quiet now.

I wonder did he ever feel remorse. Probably not, if you're that much of a lost soul.