Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

WRH proposed downgrade - protest on Saturday the 23rd of Feb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭Psychedelic

“Reilly, Reilly, Reilly, out, out, out,” the protesters shouted as Dr Reilly’s car was driven into the grounds of the hospital amid a heavy security presence; the number of gardaí roughly matched the number demonstrating.
    This is why the majority of people did not protest at WRH last Friday, because as predicted it was attended by protesters who have their own agenda. They couldn't just protest about the WRH issue, they had to chant their stupid slogans at the Minister.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭O Riain

This is why the majority of people did not protest at WRH last Friday, because as predicted it was attended by protesters who have their own agenda. They couldn't just protest about the WRH issue, they had to chant their stupid slogans at the Minister.

In fairness he should resign he is doing an absolute awful job and there is a quiet a few questions over some of his decisions following the granting of the primary care centres particularly the one in his own constituency that is being placed on a site owned by his old buddy Seamus Murphy who just happens to also be a Fine Gael Supporter. Could not make it up, Fianna Fail V2.0
    Heres a picture of the two buddies.
    299047_1.jpg?ts=1353335753

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭Psychedelic

I know he is doing crap like the rest of them and a lot of us would like to see him resign or sacked, but his status as Minister is not our concern, the status of WRH is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,903 ✭✭✭Bards

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2012/1117/1224326702048.html

Reilly was Attending WRH to give a presentation on Hospital Reform - yet hasn't seen the report that I presume he was presenting???

“I do not want anyone to think this hospital is under threat in any way.” - so he can xfer services without anyone being the wiser methinks

he said he “can’t force people to stick together” in any hospital network. - Is he a minister or not, is he in charge of the HSE or not? - another BS answer and the people are expected to believe this crap

why aren't the media questioning his authority?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭nice_very

Bards wrote: »
    http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2012/1117/1224326702048.html

Reilly was Attending WRH to give a presentation on Hospital Reform - yet hasn't seen the report that I presume he was presenting???

“I do not want anyone to think this hospital is under threat in any way.” - so he can xfer services without anyone being the wiser methinks

he said he “can’t force people to stick together” in any hospital network. - Is he a minister or not, is he in charge of the HSE or not? - another BS answer and the people are expected to believe this crap

why aren't the media questioning his authority?

well said Bards, BS is all we are getting, unfortunately some people are more than willing to accept it and think that empty promises from a minister of a govt who have done nothing but lie and backtrack, is acceptable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭Deisetrek

Sully I don't think any right thinking Waterfordian would begrudge St. Luke's getting investment to secure their services. The beef is with it's plan to pull out of the SE hospitals group, rendering the grouping too small to stand on its own resulting in a Reilly/Hogan orchestrated WRH downgrade and a CUH takeover. Have you not been paying attention?

Exactly Dunmoreroader , Sully HAS lost sight of the issue i.e. the break up of the South East grouping of which WRH is a main player . He is blinded by his obvious allegiance to Fine Gael and 7UpFree is right . You'll find Sully in as much as you reckon there's people on here fed up of 7Upfree's views on your boys , there's quite a few of us on here disagree with your biased ranting re Fine Gael and our wonderful present government . Nobody here begrudges Lukes,and this defence of Kilkenny people is just embarrassing ( who's come on here and had a hop off them ?) and another smokescreen . Stick with the issue at hand ...which is surprise ,surprise the downgrading of WRH and the break up of the South East group ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 851 ✭✭✭Dunmoreroader

http://audgen.gov.ie/documents/vfmreports/70_Emergency_Departments.pdf
    Saw this on the Kilkenny boards re St. Luke's. WRH is not listed amongst the "8 major hospitals" - 6th page down. I thought WRH was a Level 4 major acute hospital? What does it mean?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,919 ✭✭✭fricatus

Saw this on the Kilkenny boards re St. Luke's. WRH is not listed amongst the "8 major hospitals" - 6th page down. I thought WRH was a Level 4 major acute hospital? What does it mean?

I would love to know! I thought WRH (or at least its A&E) was busier than Vincent's or Tallaght! Also, where is Limerick on that list?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,919 ✭✭✭fricatus

I know it only covers A&E, and these statistics are well out of date now, but this shows WRH as having the third-busiest A&E in the country in 2005:

http://lenus.ie/hse/bitstream/10147/44639/1/6098.pdf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,903 ✭✭✭Bards

Have a look at page 20 of that report, shows WRH has the 5th busiest A&E Dept, go figure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,124 ✭✭✭7upfree

Sully wrote: »
    Wheras its clear that most people are getting fed up listening to you whining about FG, Phil Hogan, Kilkenny and the government. Give it a rest FFS and get a new hobby.

Well, well. A little nerve touched I see. The reality is that people are far from fed up of the 'whining' as you put it. Most rational people would call it reality. People who are not sucked in by party-politcal rhetoric and lies.
    I wont begrudge Kilkenny getting work done on their existing facilities nor will I begrudge any town or city getting such done. This was stated before the election that work would be done on its services. The services are there, the hospital is there and it wont be closed down but improved. I have absolutely no objection to that nor would I if any other hospital in the South East received similar funding. When Kilkenny Hospital was under threat, hardly anybody in Waterford did or said anything for supporting them. Now you expect likewise from them for WRH.
    I have no problem with Kilkenny (or anywhere else for that matter) getting their FAIR share. But not at Waterford City's cost.
    WRH has received a lot of money over the years and has seen investment within very recently including improvements to its own A&E services. Waterford has received a fair chunk of investment recently and in previous years, but as soon as Kilkenny gets some people like you are up in arms and to be honest with you, its a disgusting attitude to have towards your fellow neighbours. This whole anti-Kilkenny vibe from some people including yourself is extremely tiresome and downright insulting.

Not half a tiresome as you trotting out the party line. That "anti-Kilkenny vibe" you so dislike is very prominent in Waterford. Except its real name is a pro-Waterford city vibe. Maybe when you wake up you might try it sometime.
    Yes its a benefit they have a Minister and yes you can be damn sure he will look after his constituents, because if he doesn't, he wont be re-elected. But don't begrudge them. Kilkenny people are very nice, respectable and decent people. He is elected to look after them. We were looked after when we had our own Minister, and nobody complained here. In fact, we are calling for it to be back.

Has anybody said they're NOT nice? Apart from some yokels who hate Waterford and anything to do with it? Who's begrudging them? We are protecting Waterford City - unlike some who should know better. That is all that matters Sully. This City and its populace. Not some gombeen political party still stuck in the 40s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭fuzzy dunlop

I think the eight major hospitals is specific to this report only.Interesting reading all the same because it shows WRH to be the most efficcient when it compares to all the Dublin Hospitals,CUH and Galway. To be fair St Lukes performs very well. It would be interesing to see what WRH would be like if it was funded to the same level as the other large hospitals. And it also makes you wonder how St Lukes can realistically expect to improve their situation by joining with one of these less efficiant hospitals as a satellite.

Deisetrek wrote: »
    Exactly Dunmoreroader , Sully HAS lost sight of the issue i.e. the break up of the South East grouping of which WRH is a main player . He is blinded by his obvious allegiance to Fine Gael and 7UpFree is right . You'll find Sully in as much as you reckon there's people on here fed up of 7Upfree's views on your boys , there's quite a few of us on here disagree with your biased ranting re Fine Gael and our wonderful present government . Nobody here begrudges Lukes,and this defence of Kilkenny people is just embarrassing ( who's come on here and had a hop off them ?) and another smokescreen . Stick with the issue at hand ...which is surprise ,surprise the downgrading of WRH and the break up of the South East group ??

In one. For the record I have no problem with Kilkenny people. I count many as my friend. What I have a major problem with are:

1. People - be them from any county - dissing Waterford City.

2. People - who put political parties before this beautiful City - and then criticise people for being "anti-FG".

It would be no different if Sully was a FF drone. He would receive the same criticism and realty check.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,649 ✭✭✭Not The Real Scarecrow

On a different note...are 7upfree and fuzzy dunlop the same people or do you live in the same house or something? Just curious as 7up seems to post almost instantly after fuzzy?Husband and wife troll duo or just both sharing the same computer or is it a case of the caped crusader and his loyal side kick?
    I think a conspiracy is afoot.....

Meatwad wrote: »
    On a different note...are 7upfree and fuzzy dunlop the same people or do you live in the same house or something? Just curious as 7up seems to post almost instantly after fuzzy?Husband and wife troll duo or just both sharing the same computer or is it a case of the caped crusader and his loyal side kick?

If you have a problem report it. The Mods can quickly confirm if we are the same people or not. But I think this isn't the problem.I think the problem for you is the break up of the South East Hospital network makes no sense except to a few careerists.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,582 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

I doubt it,
    But do they share them same paranoid "everyone is out to get us...especially Kilkenny and Phil is too" and the GAA plays a factor in Kilkenny people hating Waterford and other such nonsense.

Yes, I believe they do.

Do they appear to listen to and/or understand reason and do they objectively look at the details and facts without getting caught up in being paranoid non sense once again.

No, I don't believe they do

I have no problem ....just curious, but you kind of answered it for me already.No need to be so aggressive the whole time.I know its probably tough handeling multiple personalities and the whole reading and writing thing can be hard to get a grip on at times, but theres no need to be like that. I just thought as it seems the two of ye are obviously here just to have a laugh I might as well join in with ye.

Whats your favourite colour?I like the muppet babies, do you? If you like monkeys I can show you some pictures of them...they're funny.

Ha ha! Lol! I don't think so - I'm not even married.......and my other half doesn't use Boards!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

7upfree wrote: »
    Ha ha! Lol! I don't think so - I'm not even married.......and my other half doesn't use Boards!!

You are repetitive, boring and incapable of ignoring criticism though so you can see the difficulty....

Cabaal wrote: »
    I doubt it,
    But do they share them same paranoid "everyone is out to get us...especially Kilkenny and Phil is too" and the GAA plays a factor in Kilkenny people hating Waterford and other such nonsense.

Yes, I believe they do.

Do they appear to listen to and/or understand reason and do they objectively look at the details and facts without getting caught up in being paranoid non sense once again.

Of course you don't. Weren't you the very one asking Waterford to "stop invading Kilkenny" when the boundary extension was mooted. And you call US paranoid?:D

Because people like fuzzy, me, and the other Waterfordians on here actually care about the place brings the inevitable cries of 'paranoid" - when you don't have a leg to stand on regarding Hogan and Co. BTW I take it from your non-response earlier in the thread that you actually ARE from Kilkenny?

Let's look objectively at the facts then:

1. Waterford (along with Limerick) singled out for "cost savings" by merging the councils. Even though two administrative centres will remain in Waterford and Dungarvan. With only a tiny amount of reductions in the amount of Councillors. And Council meetings being split between the two. Does it really seem all that different? So where are the savings? More importantly, what is the point?

2. According to Sully himself it was recommended that ALL City and County Councils outside Dublin be merged. But they weren't.

3. WRH has a tremendous track record and productivity - yet it is targetted by some KK consultants and a "minister" who claimed last week that he "could't force people to stay in hospital groups", i.e. that he is not able to perform his function as the man in charge. That man makes Mary Harney look like a saint.
    And that's saying a lot!

4. But yet people like myself and Fuzzy, along with thousands of Waterfordians are painted as "paranoid" by two posters here - one who's from Kilkenny and seems embarrassed to admit it; the other faithfully trotting out the party propaganda. In fairness lads, if you're going to start insulting people then at least have the decency to lay your cards on the table.

You are repetitive, boring and incapable of ignoring criticism though so you can see the difficulty....

Kinda like Sully with FG THEN?

Thats possibly one of the most disturbing things I've seen in all my years on boards.....People often wonder how like minded duos meet up like Fred and Rosemary West,Starscream and Megatron, Skeletor and Beast Man. I think now we have our answer....boards.ie.
    I bet Skeletor is a FG man as well like 7upfree is.

Now now. Sticks and stones, etc.:D

Thats possibly one of the most disturbing things I've seen in all my years on boards.....People often wonder how like minded duos meet up like Fred and Rosemary West,Starscream and Megatron, Skeletor and Beast Man. I think now we have our answer....boards.ie.
    I bet Skeletor is a FG man as well like 7upfree is.

What is disturbing about it? There is no match at all in our profiles or do you need it spelt out for you? What is wrong with you? Is the penney dropping? You have no arguement so you see things you want to see.

I doubt it,

Yes, I believe they do.

Tell me where I said everyone is out to get us? Or withdraw it! You must seem to think because you are a moderator you can say what you want about people. As for being paranoid.If I am then so is Newstalk,RTE, Vincent Brown and practically the whole national Broadcast media......Oh and Roisin Shorthall.She's Paranoid too!

HA! says the guy who obviously hasn't read any of the reports that have been posted in the links. If you did you would see the folley of St. Lukes teaming up with an inefficient Dublin Hospital. I suppose the evidence was doctored to appease Waterford and give us something to whine about:D

What is disturbing about it? There is no match at all in our profiles or do you need it spelt out for you? What is wrong with you? Is the penney dropping?.

The lack of a match but the consistency of similar posts by both of ye is what I find disturbing.If ye were married it'd explain alot but no connection at all....I'm dubfounded
    You have no arguement so you see things you want to see.

I believe that's what everyone bar your side kick has been trying to get across to you for the last bit.
    Bit of kettle calling pot....Seriously though do you like muppet babies? Tell us your stand on abortion....I bet that's a doozy.

Once again,no need for aggression...I love you...can't you see that Dad.

The lack of a match but the consistency of similar posts by both of ye is what I find disturbing.If ye were married it'd explain alot but no connection at all....I'm dubfounded

I believe that's what everyone bar your side kick has been trying to get across to you for the last bit.
    Bit of kettle calling pot....Seriously though do you like muppet babies? Tell us your stand on abortion....I bet that's a doozy.

Once again,no need for aggression...I love you...can't you see that Dad.

Well God love you if you're disturbed so easily! You'd better not look to see who keeps thanking Cabaals posts. Bit off a sidekick yourself there Meatwad. I suppose that's your role in life when you can't think for yourself.

That's right..I follow caball around all over the place. I watch him at night and think about it all day.Me no think good on own.....Seriously though....muppet babies? I think there's something going on the way you keep avoiding my questions? If you can't answer a simple question about muppet babies how am I supposed to give up my man crush on caball and start following you.What do I have to do yo make you proud daddy? I know.....Phil Hogan is the devil.....moderators on here are in Al Qaeda and they all have a plan to assimilate the young into one giant toater......shall I go over to the Kilkenny forum and troll there since you got banned from it......what do I have to do.

Here's a pic in case you can't remember them

9551-muppet-babies.jpg

I like to pretend I'm Kermit.....do you like kermit.

That's right..I follow caball around all over the place. I watch him at night and think about it all day.Me no think good on own.....Seriously though....muppet babies? I think there's something going on the way you keep avoiding my questions? If you can't answer a simple question about muppet babies how am I supposed to give up my man crush on caball and start following you.What do I have to do yo make you proud daddy? I know.....Phil Hogan is the devil.....moderators on here are in Al Qaeda and they all have a plan to assimilate the young into one giant toater......shall I go over to the Kilkenny forum and troll there since you got banned from it......what do I have to do.

Here's a pic in case you can't remember them

phil-hogan_1070031t.jpg

I like to pretend I'm Kermit.....do you like kermit.

Fixed that for you

BTW Have you anything to say that is relevant to the discussion. Or are you going to keep trying to derail it? You were a bit quick to call me a troll don't you think?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭S28382

I havent posted in any part of this thread iv just read it from time to time and it seems as if its going down hill very fast, unfortunately the bickering between posters is taking away from the real reasons of the thread and that was information about protests over the downgrading of WRH. I think its time for the thread to be used again for that reason and it would be a good idea for a mod to step in and stop it getting even more personal than what it already is, the bickering is getting ridiculous.

Have you anything to say that is relevant to the discussion. Or are you going to keep trying to derail it? You were a bit quick to call me a troll don't you think?

Well since there's been a pair of ye derailing topics and acting like utter trolls ,I thought I'd join in. I think the muppet babies make as much sense as half the tripe that has been posted here the last few weeks.
    I'm not attacking anyone but since you've made a point of singling yourself out with your aggressive illogical responses and have avoided discussion at all cost, I though I might as well follow your lead ....with out being aggressive.

I'm not gonna keep posting here derailing the thread as long as you don't do the same thing. I understand that you're passionate about whats happening in Waterford...all of us are, but the difference is you have added about as much to this thread as I have. I'm sure that there's alot of people that share your point of view....I'm not saying I don't agree with some things you say....but you have a nack of rubbing people up the wrong way by not respecting other peoples opinions. Its a discussion forum not an argument forum. I dispise all politicians but I'm not gonna jump down some one throat for not sharing the same views I have. I'm beyond the point of arguing over politics as its counter productive.People aren't gonna change their views overnight or by reading a post on boards.No point arguing over it , better to take their views , respect them and move along. Christ, the way things come out here about KK and Waterford , it doesn't look like there's much hope in the middle east.

I've contributed a fair bit to waterford over the years in terms of festival organisation and running a few different businesses. I learned that the only way to achieve something for the city is through respect and compromise, You mightn't like the **** you have to sit down with but you stand a better chance of getting what you want if your respectful and don't argue with them.
    Its been a few years since I left but I still love Waterford and its people. Its a shame to see the way things have gone but arguing over the tiniest detail or throwing blame around isn't going to solve anything. There are people working hard to protect Waterford ,all with different political and social views...just cause they don't come on boards and brag about it doesn't mean its not happening.