Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

***Motors Chat Thread Round 2***

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

If anyone asks, you have the laptop connected to the ECU and you're in the process of data logging in order to map it :pac:

No ECU mapping here, all tuning is done with screwdrivers and spanners lad :pac::pac::pac:

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Stheno wrote: »
    Forgot about this in my last car.

Tis a bit strange.

Anyway, the Oh drives my car a few times a week.

Most of the times he does, maybe 2/3 times, he whines that it cuts out. I didn't believe him until I was in the car, he started it, floored the bejaysus out of it, left his foot off and the car stalled.

This happened three times. Ended with me getting in the drivers seat, starting the car, and off it went fine.

This has happened numerous times.

Tonight he was driving (I can't as I'm on crutches). He started the car, it stalled.
    He slowed down twice and it stalled.

He's a habit of coasting. Is this just a difference in driver behaviour and it not suiting the car?

It's never once happened to me that the car has stalled.

Any thoughts on this lads?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

dgt wrote: »
    No ECU mapping here, all tuning is done with screwdrivers and spanners lad :pac::pac::pac:

I know of a spanner in Cork who drives a scooby with no bonnet, you prolly have afew screwdrivers already :p

Any thoughts on this lads?

Which engine? And what year?
    I know of a spanner in Cork who drives a scooby with no bonnet, you prolly have afew screwdrivers already :p

Once around Naaaaaavan there was a Golf with one headlight and a pipe coming out from it. Packed with yobbos! There was a Sunny van and Corolla DX (1987 yoke) years ago rallying around the town with no wing. Tin hat was a Land Cruiser with no door :eek:

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Which engine? And what year?

2.0 TS 2000 petrol

Is it cable throttle?

I ask because that's the year they went to CF3.

If it is cable this is most likely giving you grief
    71713829.jpg

Is it cable throttle?

I knows very little about cars, what is cable throttle?

It's an alfa gtv 2.0 ts, 2000?

The big difference seems to be that I apply a fairly steady foot to the accelerator and keep it smooth, whereas when he starts he floors it, then relaxes to almost nothing, same when he slows, I'd tend to ease off, he tries to gear down and brake.

I knows very little about cars, what is cable throttle?

It's an alfa gtv 2.0 ts, 2000?

Cable throttle, direct link from the pedal to the butterfly on the throttle. Fly by wire operates the throttle electronically.

Under the bonnet on the inlet manifold you should either have this
    030043006200-4db7a4cd4e5e9.jpg

Or this
    176.jpg

On this image you can see a spring and where the cable operates (black plastic piece)

Cable throttle, direct link from the pedal to the butterfly on the throttle. Fly by wire operates the throttle electronically.

Under the bonnet on the inlet manifold you should either have this

On this image you can see a spring and where the cable operates (black plastic piece)

/head explodes, it's a phase II gtv

If it was an issue, why would it be only him, and not me, him and my mechanic, who also doesn't have this problem?

Hey Navan boi, its called a throttle cable :P

/head explodes, it's a phase II gtv

If it was an issue, why would it be only him, and not me, him and my mechanic, who also doesn't have this problem?

This is where it gets muddy....

2000 engine revamp
    In August 2000 saw the revamp of engines to comply with new emission regulations Euro3. New engines were slightly detuned, and have a new identification code CF3. 3.0 V6 12V was discontinued for the Spider and replaced with 24V Euro3 version from the GTV. 2.0 V6 Turbo was discontinued as it did not comply with Euro3 emissions. Arese Plant was closed and the production of GTV/Spider was transferred to Pininfarina Plant in San Giorgio Canavese and Grugliasco in Turin.

Wikipedia

2 engine codes for the phase 2 2.0TS; AR 32301 and AR 32310

What month is the car first registered? I think the best solution is to try get a snap of the throttle body!

This is where it gets muddy....

2000 engine revamp
    In August 2000 saw the revamp of engines to comply with new emission regulations Euro3. New engines were slightly detuned, and have a new identification code CF3. 3.0 V6 12V was discontinued for the Spider and replaced with 24V Euro3 version from the GTV. 2.0 V6 Turbo was discontinued as it did not comply with Euro3 emissions. Arese Plant was closed and the production of GTV/Spider was transferred to Pininfarina Plant in San Giorgio Canavese and Grugliasco in Turin.

Wikipedia

2 engine codes for the phase 2 2.0TS; AR 32301 and AR 32310

What month is the car first registered? I think the best solution is to try get a snap of the throttle body!

Jan 2000 and manufacture date the same, I could take a picture of the engine tomorrow? Or better still ask my mechanic as he's looking at the OHs car and mine will be there to transport the OH home.

How does it make a difference though? Shouldn't I have the same problem?

Hey Navan boi, its called a throttle cable :P

Yes, that's a part :)

But us Fiat group people work with CF2 cable throttle and CF3 electronic throttle. There is a difference! One takes a throttle cable, the other doesn't ;)

Go back to remapping :pac:

Yes, that's a part :)

But us Fiat group people work with CF2 cable throttle and CF3 electronic throttle. There is a difference! One takes a throttle cable, the other doesn't ;)

Go back to remapping :pac:

Stop fighting with your colleague and just explain the difference to the simpleton? It's pre August 2000

Jan 2000 and manufacture date the same, I could take a picture of the engine tomorrow? Or better still ask my mechanic as he's looking at the OHs car and mine will be there to transport the OH home.

How does it make a difference though? Shouldn't I have the same problem?

Ah, you have cable throttle so :)

This part is what usually causes those symptoms
    71713829.jpg

Approx £470 ex vat new :eek:

The same part is used on CF2 Bravos, about €10 from a scrapyard. You might need to use the washer mod when installing the new one. A short guide as to what I'm on about :)

Ah, you have cable throttle so :)

This part is what usually causes those symptoms
    71713829.jpg

Approx £470 ex vat new :eek:

The same part is used on CF2 Bravos, about €10 from a scrapyard. You might need to use the washer mod when installing the new one. A short guide as to what I'm on about :)

Thank you dgt.

I feel unwell now.

My main query though is why the Oh only has this happen to him, and neither I nor my mechanic do?

Seriously the OH has whinged so much the mechanic checked it out and couldn't replicate it.

Thank you dgt.

I feel unwell now.

My main query though is why the Oh only has this happen to him, and neither I nor my mechanic do?

Seriously the OH has whinged so much the mechanic checked it out and couldn't replicate it.

Does he floor it at cold? :eek: How does the car run when cold as in it's high idle?

I had a similar situation where the engine would stay at a rather high idle (1500rpm) I temp fixed it with the washer mod and got a decent 2nd hand unit, no problems since :)

Does he floor it at cold? :eek: How does the car run when cold as in it's high idle?

I had a similar situation where the engine would stay at a rather high idle (1500rpm) I temp fixed it with the washer mod and got a decent 2nd hand unit, no problems since :)

He does. He switches it on, pedal to the floor, then relaxes and wonders why it cuts out. I cringe.

I switch it on, gently ease off the clutch and increase accelerator and it's fine.

Similiarly coming to a stop, he wallops the clutch (He's murdered a few clutches in his time) then gears down quick, whereas I slow down and end up in the gear for the speed.

Does that make any sense?

Engine doesn't hit high revs at idle afaik

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,925 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

He does. He switches it on, pedal to the floor, then relaxes and wonders why it cuts out. I cringe.

Probably lucky the engine is still working

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭tuborg_man

could be a repost but here's some rap about a swede
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tKOVF1qwPzI

I switch it on, gently ease off the clutch and increase accelerator and it's fine.

Similiarly coming to a stop, he wallops the clutch (He's murdered a few clutches in his time) then gears down quick, whereas I slow down and end up in the gear for the speed.

Does that make any sense?

Engine doesn't hit high revs at idle afaik

:eek::eek::eek: How have the camshafts not let go yet?!!!

He needs to take a lesson from you on how to treat a car :)

My advice would be to try the washer mod first and see what happens. You might need to adjust the butterfly idle screw. The car won't have a high/ cold start idle as a result of the mod.

3 T25 torx screws for the stepper motor itself, 5mm allen key for the idle screw iirc :pac:

The motors do fail with age

Probably lucky the engine is still working

He doesn't drive it that much.
    :eek::eek::eek: How have the camshafts not let go yet?!!!

He needs to take a lesson from you on how to treat a car :)

My advice would be to try the washer mod first and see what happens. You might need to adjust the butterfly idle screw. The car won't have a high/ cold start idle as a result of the mod.

3 T25 torx screws for the stepper motor itself, 5mm allen key for the idle screw iirc :pac:

The motors do fail with age

It's due a service, and an NCT, it's going for the NCT first, then it's getting a full service including spark plugs, oil, gear oil, filters changed etc. due to the sparks being changed. I'll ask my mechanic to check what you've mentioned.

The crankshaft and camshaft sensor have both been replaced in the past year primarily due to wear in the past. Along with the timing belt, the variator and the thermostat. Actually it's only since most of the work was done that he's whinging.

He's lethal, he just will not listen, and then bitches and moans about the car. One time he floored it three times after switching on the engine (i'm not a very bad tempered person so I told him not to, but he didn't listen) then insisted the car was fecked, so I got in the drivers side, and lo and behold a nice smooth start and she was fine.

He drives a 1.8 Citroen C5, completely different car, and doesn't adjust his driving style at all.

Drives me fecking nuts.

Nothing I like more than that slow smooth start on my car, getting up to speed/temp and off you go.

He doesn't drive it that much.

It's due a service, and an NCT, it's going for the NCT first, then it's getting a full service including spark plugs, oil, gear oil, filters changed etc. due to the sparks being changed. I'll ask my mechanic to check what you've mentioned.

The crankshaft and camshaft sensor have both been replaced in the past year primarily due to wear in the past. Along with the timing belt, the variator and the thermostat. Actually it's only since most of the work was done that he's whinging.

He's lethal, he just will not listen, and then bitches and moans about the car. One time he floored it three times after switching on the engine (i'm not a very bad tempered person so I told him not to, but he didn't listen) then insisted the car was fecked, so I got in the drivers side, and lo and behold a nice smooth start and she was fine.

He drives a 1.8 Citroen C5, completely different car, and doesn't adjust his driving style at all.

Drives me fecking nuts.

Nothing I like more than that slow smooth start on my car, getting up to speed/temp and off you go.

See if the full service helps things :)

The TB could prob do with a clean up too. A lot of 1.2's I got had the TB like this
    Image02131.jpg

Not too difficult to clean up in the driveway :)

See if the full service helps things :)

The TB could prob do with a clean up too. A lot of 1.2's I got had the TB like this
    Image02131.jpg

Not too difficult to clean up in the driveway :)

No chance me going near the tb.

The Tb and variator were replaced by an alfa specialist who also replaced the camshaft sensor later, and pronounced the car to be in great nick for it's age.

It's had a fair bit of work in the past year, I'm convinced it's his driving style, he's lethal with gears and will happily tootle along in the same gear until I'm mentally screaming at him to change.

I've never once had it happen to me or had it happen in his car, his car is a disaster zone, my mechanic and I have a list of what has to be looked at for it :eek:

He's worse than awec when it comes to cars.

His one good point is that he washes, cleans and vacuums my car every week along with checking the oil, water and coolant :) but he's not a car person, he does it out of goodness :)

I'll check with the mechanic tomorrow and maybe take a few photos for you all to laugh at :)

I need a cars for dummies book lol :)

No chance me going near the tb.

The Tb and variator were replaced by an alfa specialist who also replaced the camshaft sensor later, and pronounced the car to be in great nick for it's age.

It's had a fair bit of work in the past year, I'm convinced it's his driving style, he's lethal with gears and will happily tootle along in the same gear until I'm mentally screaming at him to change.

I've never once had it happen to me or had it happen in his car, his car is a disaster zone, my mechanic and I have a list of what has to be looked at for it :eek:

He's worse than awec when it comes to cars.

His one good point is that he washes, cleans and vacuums my car every week along with checking the oil, water and coolant :) but he's not a car person, he does it out of goodness :)

I'll check with the mechanic tomorrow and maybe take a few photos for you all to laugh at :)

I need a cars for dummies book lol :)

Meant Throttle Body not Timing Belt :o

We all had to start somewhere, I was once in the dark, albeit I was barely able to walk at the time....

Don't be afraid to ask! :)

Meant Throttle Body not Timing Belt :o

We all had to start somewhere, I was once in the dark, albeit I was barely able to walk at the time....

Don't be afraid to ask! :)

Ah I'm not hence my questions, I'll ask my mechanic to show me the various bits tomorrow, and I've written it down as stuff for him to check when she goes in for her mega service. I've learned loads of stuff on here, and found it funny how stupid things like airbag lights come on in cars for the same reason.

I'd only hope I've given a bit of advice that have helped a few posters in return :)

I'll have to educate OH :( He's ancient.

Ah I'm not hence my questions, I'll ask my mechanic to show me the various bits tomorrow, and I've written it down as stuff for him to check when she goes in for her mega service. I've learned loads of stuff on here, and found it funny how stupid things like airbag lights come on in cars for the same reason.

I'd only hope I've given a bit of advice that have helped a few posters in return :)

I'll have to educate OH :( He's ancient.

That reminds me, my Alfa needs a service too, not looking foreward to the timing belt or clutch change! :( Have it almost a year, time flew by :eek:

Airbag light lights up all too often on it too :p caused by dodgy connectors on the seats...

An update for it is badly needed! :)

That reminds me, my Alfa needs a service too, not looking foreward to the timing belt or clutch change! :( Have it almost a year, time flew by :eek:

Airbag light lights up all too often on it too :p caused by dodgy connectors on the seats...

An update for it is badly needed! :)

Solder the evil seat connections, it's the only long term fix there is.

Have you got alfa diag?

Solder the evil seat connections, it's the only long term fix there is.

Have you got alfa diag?

Passenger and side airbags, double the fun! :(

Indeed I do, twas got for another mad idea but I took a shine to it and am restoring it bit by bit :) I like to think of it as a birthday pressie I got for myself :pac:
    Image1607.jpg

V6 :)

Passenger and side airbags, double the fun! :(

Indeed I do, twas got for another mad idea but I took a shine to it and am restoring it bit by bit :) I like to think of it as a birthday pressie I got for myself :pac:

V6 :)

166?