Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

***Motors Chat Thread Round 2***

True, I could, couldn't be arsed tbh :) my month off started a chain of events that has revealed quite a lot to me :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,100 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

pred racer wrote: »
    Edit: as for why you were banned, you could ask?

Ah,let's not go there lads.

Welcome back RJ, the place hasn't been the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

RoverJames wrote: »
    True, I could, couldn't be arsed tbh :) my month off started a chain of events that has revealed quite a lot to me :p

I had an image of you with a blanket over your head rocking back and forth suffering withdrawal symptoms :pac:

Am driving an astra 2.0 cdti estate for the weekend :o
    Regretting not availing of the offered upgrade to a dag equipped gti golf, 35 sterling a day extra though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

Welcome back RJ, first question, we the feck owns that mondeo outside your neighbours ? Selfish bastards park halfway taking up both parking spaces!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

rover-badge2.jpg27.jpg

Welcome back! :p

Welcome back RJ, first question, we the feck owns that mondeo outside your neighbours ? Selfish bastards park halfway taking up both parking spaces!

..... The neighbour, two doors down :)
    You were hanging a fair bit over a white line yourself some morning during the week IIRC :P

RoverJames wrote: »
    ..... The neighbour, two doors down :)
    You were hanging a fair bit over a white line yourself some morning during the week IIRC :P

That's too allow space for my gf to park in front of me :D
    If you're talkin to them, tell them not to be so selfish, or there will be an abusive note on the windscreen :pac:

Also, I rang jerry Hurley about repairing my car, says he was too busy and couldn't recommend anyone else!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

how often should a yaris be serviced? This is a 99 one, with just over 100,000 is that much for a 1l also?

Anyone have any ideas? :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,871 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

Welcome Back James :)

• Administrators Posts: 55,265 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,871 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

awec wrote: »
    WTF is up with the indicators on some cars that flash really fast?

Guy in front of me the night, thought I was at a disco FFS. Have a yellow dot permanently burnt into my retinas.
    Blown bulb :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭pred racer

awec wrote: »
    WTF is up with the indicators on some cars that flash really fast?

Guy in front of me the night, thought I was at a disco FFS. Have a yellow dot permanently burnt into my retinas.

That normally means the front one is gone:)

What gets me is the brake lights on new passats and a4s too bright!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 Bobby183

Having a potential buyer look at my van in the morning :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,925 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Spotted an E46 coupe facelift earlier that had 95% of the LED brake lights on one side not working.... How the feck they managed that one, I don't know...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,848 ✭✭✭Redisle

Spotted an E46 coupe facelift earlier that had 95% of the LED brake lights on one side not working.... How the feck they managed that one, I don't know...

I'd imagine they could be at least partially wired in series so one failure could lead to an apparent large failure.

Although I said I'd wait at least a year, I'm already pining for a remap :o

feck it sure, YOLO as the young'uns would say!

I actually had no idea what that meant until recently. I have seen it a few times on car windows and always just assumed it was a car part manufacturer I hadn't heard of!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Pfft, new feckin tyres now he wants a remap. Jaysus :pac:

You're a right young wan :pac:
    Redisle wrote: »
    I actually had no idea what that meant until recently. I have seen it a few times on car windows and always just assumed it was a car part manufacturer I hadn't heard of!

I had to google it just there to find out what it was! I fear that in a few years, English teachers will be teaching in acronyms rather than words :rolleyes:
    Pfft, new feckin tyres now he wants a remap. Jaysus :pac:

And I will need new tyres in the next few months, insurance renewal in December, tax and NCT in February :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,100 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

Bobby183 wrote: »
    Having a potential buyer look at my van in the morning :D

Still buying and selling cars?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

I had to google it just there to find out what it was! I fear that in a few years, English teachers will be teaching in acronyms rather than words :rolleyes:

Good thing about working in IT :) You learn a whole new language, I can translate most TLAs now :)

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Forgot about this in my last car.

Tis a bit strange.

Anyway, the Oh drives my car a few times a week.

Most of the times he does, maybe 2/3 times, he whines that it cuts out. I didn't believe him until I was in the car, he started it, floored the bejaysus out of it, left his foot off and the car stalled.

This happened three times. Ended with me getting in the drivers seat, starting the car, and off it went fine.

This has happened numerous times.

Tonight he was driving (I can't as I'm on crutches). He started the car, it stalled.
    He slowed down twice and it stalled.

He's a habit of coasting. Is this just a difference in driver behaviour and it not suiting the car?

It's never once happened to me that the car has stalled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,830 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Still buying and selling cars?

But that eclass was a minter!

Welcome back RJ, didn't notice.

Fight-The-Power-house-md-5921739-300-238.gif

I was curious so I gave this lad a ring. ZR160. Sound lad, ex mechanic, took it as a trade in for his gf a while back but she wants something slower and bigger! No NCT unfortunately but he seems to think it should pass fine, says there is no noise from the suspension and he replaced the hg himself when he got it because it was starting to fail. It's sitting there unused at the moment. It also has an induction filter at the moment but he said he was going to put back the original box but doesn't have time at the moment which is fair enough. Previous owner worked for MG apparently.

The only problem he mentioned is that it's a bit tappety after starting but idles fine after it heats up. I wonder if this is an issue? RJ?

Going to give the insurance a ring anyway to see what the story is there.

If i had the money i would love that as a track car

he's hardly gonna say it will definitely not pass the nct in fairness. it only takes 5mins to replace an induction kit with the standard airbox too.

That's assuming he had an airbox.. I think it came like that from the previous owner. He sounded pretty genuine tbh, two young kids at home so didn't have time to do the NCT. He also mentioned that he replaced the rubbish tyres that came with it with some decent part worns so not the usual chinese ****e are grand attitude.

I'm going to ring the Insurance if they are open tomorrow anyway to suss it out. Might be a non-runner in that regard anyway..