Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***Motors Chat Thread Round 2***

• 15-10-2012 11:55pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭

1.This thread is for motoring topics which you feel are not worthy of starting a new thread for, banter from a meet or general motoring related chit chat.

2.No lonely hearts (This is not a personal dig at anyone, it's how we feel is the best way to describe what we want to avoid. )

3.Keep it clean.

4.The Motors charter applies.

Enjoy folks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,555 ✭✭✭✭Marlow

553541_3774693401579_154253589_n.jpg

/M

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

Dafuq?:(

Add an ol capital C and R there to the thread name willa!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

If you're wondering why a new thread was started (And for anyone else for that matter) you will notice it has been standard procedure now for awhile that a thread doesn't go over 10k posts :) Hence all the "Part 2, 3's and 4's"!

Add an ol capital C and R there to the thread name willa!

Apologies, it's a bit late, I'm normally fairly anal with that kind of stuff!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Marlow: I actually had someone do that to me twice the last time I was traveling in convoy in cork. Funny part was, they didn't cop themselves they did it the first time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,793 ✭✭✭coolisin

Ah new thread, welcome along!

Beep beep!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭Jimdagym

OSI wrote: »
    Bus grumble grumble....

*looks at bank balance since taking bus*

YAY BUS!!!

Booooooooooo!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭advertsfox

This is what happens if you drink drive :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

What happened to the old thread, just locked?

Dry outside at last :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭gollywog

Marlow,
    Just opened this thread and laughed my ass off! :D
    nice one, cheers! :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

gollywog wrote: »
    Marlow,
    Just opened this thread and laughed my ass off! :D
    nice one, cheers! :p

Hahaha, it was a great first post! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,545 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

I going looking at a new car this evening

It's got heated leather, its automatic, the rear seats don't fold down.

It so isn't

It's a little smaller than a 5

colm_mcm wrote: »
    It so isn't

Ferrari 355

No, the tax is too high on them.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,006 ✭✭✭✭mik_da_man

It so isn't

A 4? :p

No, the tax is too high on them.

New or old? Budget?

07. It has a cd changer in the dash and symmetrical (Mpv style) front wipers but its a saloon

Peugeot 307? ....

407?

Peugeot?

607?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

007? :p

No French scrap for me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

No French scrap for me

Its not a toyota aveniss? Just a wild guess. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

No French scrap for me

Is She Jap?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,907 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

FN Civic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭Fiesta

Civic IMA Hybrid?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

****er from kappa smurfit that hit my car is ignoring all calls from his insurance company.

trying to get away with it.

cctv from bank of Ireland thank you very much.

wonder should I go onto the kappa smurfit facebook page and make a holy show of the **** and maybe then things with suddenly move along ?

It's a matter between you and him, nothing to do with his work. If you do that it will only enrage him even more and make matters worse for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

It's a matter between you and him, nothing to do with his work. If you do that it will only enrage him even more and make matters worse for you.

it was a company car and company insurance policy that it has to go through. and the details he gave were his office number and company phone.

I don't want to make things worse but he already is..... aviva even said to me it takes less than 5 mins worth of a phonecall to him and it's all over like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭rocky

No French scrap for me

Leon

It was a civic IMA, unfortunately car wasn't as described. The search continues

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭Fiesta

Is time up for the Jag?

Jags going like a clock.

You know one of those clocks that use lots of petrol and tax

Can't fault it otherwise but it's not suited to what I'm doing

Jags going like a clock. ..........

Do you have it 12 months now?

RoverJames wrote: »
    Do you have it 12 months now?

7 and a half.

This is brilliant :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,328 ✭✭✭Chuck_Norris

Feckin legend there MM. :cool:

After washing 2 cars last nignt I wake up to this mess....!!! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,359 ✭✭✭Fiona

dgt wrote: »
    After washing 2 cars last nignt I wake up to this mess....!!! :mad:

Ha the Corolla is covered in leaves and is a mess, and for once I couldn't care how a car looks!!!

Howver, I happily splashed in all the puddles on my way to work this morning in my wellies :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

wonder should I go onto the kappa smurfit facebook page and make a holy show of the **** and maybe then things with suddenly move along ?

No, because that would be a stupid thing to do. It wouldn't serve any purpose only to embarrass the driver and make you look like a dim witted knob end that can't go true the proper channels.

i actually have gone through all the proper channels, car inspected by aviva accessor, both companies notified by me only and they have being trying to get him everyday but he is ignoring calls from the insurance company and broker,

i've done everything from calling the gardai, doing reports, all insurance companies and pictures sent and so on including the gardai getting cctv footage from the bank.

he is just out right refusing to talk about the whole thing to avoid taking a hit.

my own claims handler said he had another case where they have being waiting 5 months (including sending people to their house) just because they other person doesnt want anything to do with it and theres nothing they can do like.

so sorry if i come across as a bit naive but its not exactly fair when the innocent person is getting screwed over by an asshole.

Fiona wrote: »
    Ha the Corolla is covered in leaves and is a mess, and for once I couldn't care how a car looks!!!

Howver, I happily splashed in all the puddles on my way to work this morning in my wellies :D

I got out of the car in the car park and straight into a gigantic puddle, aswell as howling wind and rain :mad:

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,006 ✭✭✭✭mik_da_man

i actually have gone through all the proper channels, car inspected by aviva accessor, both companies notified by me only and they have being trying to get him everyday but he is ignoring calls from the insurance company and broker,

i've done everything from calling the gardai, doing reports, all insurance companies and pictures sent and so on including the gardai getting cctv footage from the bank.

he is just out right refusing to talk about the whole thing to avoid taking a hit.

my own claims handler said he had another case where they have being waiting 5 months (including sending people to their house) just because they other person doesnt want anything to do with it and theres nothing they can do like.

so sorry if i come across as a bit naive but its not exactly fair when the innocent person is getting screwed over by an asshole.

Surely if you have all that proof the insurance company can just file a claim anyway?
    I doubt that they need him to admit it otherwise everyone could just ignore calls in cases like this and get away with it.

mik_da_man wrote: »
    Surely if you have all that proof the insurance company can just file a claim anyway?
    I doubt that they need him to admit it otherwise everyone could just ignore calls in cases like this and get away with it.

i've passed on the pictures already and the gardai will get the footage tomorrow of cctv

i have asked this and aviva keep coming back and saying no they need their side of the story, to see what they say etc.

i think its a load of crap too since everything is there like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,418 ✭✭✭Dartz

Welp, there's something wrong with the Scenic now.

Foot to the floor, it just feels like it's not boosting, or on half-throttle. Normally it'd chug up a hill happily in third, but it's just not going. No warnings. No smoke. No power. Otherwise it trundles along fine....

Sigh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,795 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

i've passed on the pictures already and the gardai will get the footage tomorrow of cctv

i have asked this and aviva keep coming back and saying no they need their side of the story, to see what they say etc.

i think its a load of crap too since everything is there like.

I would contact company fleet manager. Its their car. Its not good enough that one of their cars has caused an accident and is gone into hidden. The company wouldn't want this crap associated with them.

Hey lads, quick question....

My windscreen is after getting a crack in it and will need to be replaced.
    My insurance has windscreen cover but if I use that will my NCB be in any way affected???

gollywog wrote: »
    Hey lads, quick question....

My windscreen is after getting a crack in it and will need to be replaced.
    My insurance has windscreen cover but if I use that will my NCB be in any way affected???

No, windscreen cover is a separate part of your policy so claiming for a windscreen does not affect your NCB ;)

OSI wrote: »
    Depends, but shouldn't do. Had mine repaired a couple months back, and had no affect on mine, I'm with Aviva but others might differ. There's usually a limit to how many you can get through insurance each year, but 1 shouldn't be an issue.

Cheers lads!

I'll get on that so!

OSI - you say you got your windscreen repaired. I presume that was a "Gavin from Autoglass" job as opposed to getting the windscreen replaced. From what I've heard, this is also covered under the windscreen section and doesn't affect NCB either.