Livestock/General Farming photo thread ***READ MOD NOTE IN POST #1***

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭johnpawl

We put nine in calf to part ourselves here. 8 calved, 7 bulls and 1 heifer so far. The heifer is a heifers calf and the dam has no milk so probably not one for keeping anyhow.

We are extremely disappointed with the standard of the part calves. They are all after BZB (Bolide) and from good cows. I'll be in no hurry to use them again either.

I had calves off the same bull in the spring. born very small but took off at about 5/6 months old so I wouldnt worry just yet. Few neighbours called to look at them at a few weeks old and they had no meas on them, they got a serious shock when they called again last week! Very happy with him.
    This is one off the small black cow in the next photo, 7 months old.
    dscn0804fx.jpg
    Uploaded with ImageShack.us

2 18 month old part heifers making my cows look small already
    dscn0815yg.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭johnpawl

Seeing as I'm posting pics:) I put a lim bull on the dam of this part calf (AA) becuse I was so disappointed with him but he really turned inside out at 5 months old, I think he will make a good weight before he is sold in march
    dscn0805l.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Juniorhurler

johnpawl wrote: »
    Seeing as I'm posting pics:) I put a lim bull on the dam of this part calf (AA) becuse I was so disappointed with him but he really turned inside out at 5 months old, I think he will make a good weight before he is sold in march
    dscn0805l.jpg

Fine stock JP. Hope mine turn out nearly as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 858 ✭✭✭tismesoitis

Bizzum wrote: »
    I've seen super Part X BB cattle, so ultimately that would be what I'd be aiming for.
    As heifers I'd be AI'ing with an easy calving Lim. Last year we used FL22 on heifers, he's gone now so I'm in the market for a dozen straws, and thinking of trying Dubai (THZ) from Bova (He's in an Ad this week in the Journal and special offer buy 2 get 1 free!)

we have 4 calves already off THZ and very pleased with them and great value with that deal. dam of thz is a full sis to ronick hawk who sells for €100 a pop now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

we have 4 calves already off THZ and very pleased with them and great value with that deal.

€80 a dozen, surely worth a pop. Are your calves off heifers? That's what I want him for. Is he as handy calved as reported?

A Kerry man would be cute enough to have a bull he was disappointed with and sell him to an AI station after:D.

I don't think he sold him to Dovea at all. I think he only farmed him out! Some good pics of his offspring on the Part site under Keelties herd, but the link aint working for me now!

€80 a dozen, surely worth a pop. Are your calves off heifers? That's what I want him for. Is he as handy calved as reported?

no Bizzum all off cows there was no calving survey on him when we got him but all calved very easy handy sized calves and showing great shape already. actually have 3 calves 1 bull 2 heifers and 2more due this week. super value we got 60 for €320 just over 5.30 per straw hard to beat that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

We put nine in calf to part ourselves here. 8 calved, 7 bulls and 1 heifer so far. The heifer is a heifers calf and the dam has no milk so probably not one for keeping anyhow.

We are extremely disappointed with the standard of the part calves. They are all after BZB (Bolide) and from good cows. I'll be in no hurry to use them again either.
    as the rest have said they take time and before sale push the grub into them ,i have some more cbq calves on the ground and only 1 looks like he will be a brill suck at 2 weeks old out of a pied cow, but the others have the genes and growth and will be ok ,i dont exspect them to be fancy weanlings but they will have the growth and hopefully the weight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

Job done...I should have taken a before pic this morning, it wasnt even possible to walk through!!

photo-197.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

Job done...I should have taken a before pic this morning, it wasnt even possible to walk through!!
    wheres that redzer, carron?

Tis indeed, I'd say you passed it on your way to work vander.

i was thinking it looked like the spot alright, i noticed a kinda track cleared up thru the jungle there on the left as i was going over there this morning

Theres no jungle along by the road now, I had some amount of ground cleared in 5 hours this morning.

how do you like working the track machine

The Cat is grand, loads of mod cons and plenty of comfort, not too keen on the takeuchi though, You would be crippled after spending the day on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

Redz,
    Is it mostly all Hazel?

There was a lot of immature blackthorn and briars in between the hazel there aswell pak.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

There was a lot of immature blackthorn and briars in between the hazel there aswell pak.

Will the scrub regrow or is it sprayed with something to prevent this?

reilig wrote: »
    Will the scrub regrow or is it sprayed with something to prevent this?

They spray roundup biactive (I think) at 4 to 1 on the stumps after cutting. Im sure there will be a certain amount of regrowth but they will be paid to wipe any new shoots next year through the Burren life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

Good man red, great job!

Do ye spray the regrowth in spring or spraying exposed shoots as ye go ?! Just curious

Sorry you just answered the question

pakalasa wrote: »
    Had a look at him on ICBF. Nice figures alright.
    we have 4 calves already off THZ and very pleased with them and great value with that deal. dam of thz is a full sis to ronick hawk who sells for €100 a pop now.

I made an order today for a few straws off THZ. €100 for 15. We'll see how it goes. Hope they're not as "lively" as FL22 calves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,954 ✭✭✭stanflt

a second calver this morning

006we.jpg

Uploaded with ImageShack.us005ftk.jpg

a bit of maize being cut

008xtz.jpg

I made an order today for a few straws off THZ. €100 for 15. We'll see how it goes. Hope they're not as "lively" as FL22 calves.

they actually seem very quiet Bizzum just checking them about half an hour ago had to kick the oldest fella outa me way:D turnin into a good shapey calf. I'l try get a few pics tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,557 ✭✭✭simx

stanflt wrote: »
    a second calver this morning

006we.jpg

Uploaded with ImageShack.us005ftk.jpg

a bit of maize being cut

008xtz.jpg

you dont be long about tagging, know a lad up the road that puts one tag in calf when born and dont get the second one untill weaning/castration..... laziness in alot of ways and putting much unwanted hardship on himself. nice bit of grass in that field, wish i could leave cattle out :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

stanflt wrote: »

a bit of maize being cut

008xtz.jpg

what the hell is the story with the above

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,711 ✭✭✭dar31

what the hell is the story with the above

Looks like dept of ag varieties trails
    Used to do them in our place 20 years ago or more
    Even looks like the same machine, doubt it though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

dar31 wrote: »
    Looks like dept of ag varieties trails
    Used to do them in our place 20 years ago or more
    Even looks like the same machine, doubt it though

If thats the case they look allot more unscientific than I taught they were. the seed companies trails would seem to be much more accurate that the depts attempts. Cutting maize into a spud box like that is bound to have a serious margin for error

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,711 ✭✭✭dar31

last bit of evening sun, before the wicklow hills take it from us.

227441.jpg

setting up the first break of kale for later in the week.
    heifers next door seem to think they are in for a treat.
    in calf heifers weighed earlier in the week, ave 500kg, lwg 0.98 for last 120 days

227442.jpg

spring born heifer calves, lapping up the meal, will be weighed later in the week, then on to kale, grass disappearing quick

227443.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,954 ✭✭✭stanflt

cows full of milk on way in this evening009rsf.jpg

cows happy in november sun
    002mp.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

How long is your winter Stanflt? I take it you do have one..:D