Britain has invaded 9/10 countries

• 04-11-2012 10:23PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭

Only 22 countries in the world have never been invaded by Britain, according to new research.

The news prompted Twitter users to warn Luxembourg, Guatamala and others that their turn may be due.

The earliest recorded invasion was of Gaul in the second century, according to a book by Stuart Laycock.

The uninvaded are:

Andorra
    Belarus
    Bolivia
    Burundi
    Central African Republic
    Chad
    Congo, Republic of
    Guatemala
    Ivory Coast
    Kyrgyzstan
    Liechtenstein
    Luxembourg
    Mali
    Marshall Islands
    Monaco
    Mongolia
    Paraguay
    Sao Tome and Principe
    Sweden
    Tajikistan
    Uzbekistan
    Vatican City

http://news.uk.msn.com/blog/trending-blogpost.aspx?post=cdcde0d1-50a2-4ad7-8f01-c75c070bdf0e&_nwpt=1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

the british lion is now only the squeak of a mouse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭EoghanIRL

I was going to read but i am busy watching paint dry

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Sulla Felix

Think it was the Kingdom of Mercia that invaded Gaul in the 2nd century and if we're going to conflate the actions of a people that happened to occupy the geographical area of a modern state 2000 years ago, then I want to know when is the Irish State going to pay reparations to the UK for the genocidal invasion of the Picts?

Britain has been invaded by 9/10 immigrants.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

When did they invade...I don't know....Iceland?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Aye but Norway and Denmark deserved it for the Viking raids

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,109 ✭✭✭Cavehill Red

Iceland was in 1940, to prevent the Germans doing so first. They were later 'relieved' by the Americans who still maintain a base there, I think.
    France got invaded the most times by Britain, Ireland the longest (843 years and counting.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 408 ✭✭PC CDROM

keith16 wrote: »

When it wasn't independent?

Just a guess mind....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭EoghanIRL

Iceland was in 1940, to prevent the Germans doing so first. They were later 'relieved' by the Americans who still maintain a base there, I think.
    France got invaded the most times by Britain, Ireland the longest (843 years and counting.)
    Did Iceland have oil reserves that could have been used for petro for tanks etc ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

When they invaded all those countries they went to the local Irish bar to celebrate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,364 ✭✭✭golden lane

mikemac1 wrote: »
    Aye but Norway and Denmark deserved it for the Viking raids
    the only thing that matters is........when are all the brit haters going to invade britain.......

the invasion of the armchair warriors.....

maybe they can have a ...who hates the most competition......the brits would easily lose...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

Jaysus. South Sudan is only a few months old and they've gone after it all ready?

Will somebody please think of the (South Sudanese) children?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭Fight_Night

When did they invade Kazakhstan? Or Turkmenistan for that matter?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49,731 ✭✭✭✭coolhull

When did they invade Mexico, Japan and Korea?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,364 ✭✭✭golden lane

cloud493 wrote: »

luxembourg..1918...trying to catch up with the german army.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

'Invade' has a fairly specific meaning tbh. In most cases they hid their weapons so were just on holiday.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 581 ✭✭✭phoenix999

phoenix999 wrote: »
    Oh well, if it was in the Daily Mail, then it must ber true

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

England must have been grim back then for all the people to want to join the army to go and fight in other places. Anywhere was better it seems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,816 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

When did they invade Ireland?
    I thought they were invited here and decided not to go home...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

The Daily Mail have a very interesting map, they are good for things like that

Comments are a bit nasty though!
    woodoo wrote: »
    England must have been grim back then for all the people to want to join the army to go and fight in other places. Anywhere was better it seems.

One third of the army who fought Napolean was Irish

Sure the Duke of Wellington himself was Irish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,521 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

The Royal Navy made good use of impressment.
    phoenix999 wrote: »

I knew someone there would mention Ireland:pac:;
    The English are laughed at....you bit off more than you could chew with the Irish. An island so much smaller then your own and you couldn't defeat us.....and now your stuck with 6 counties you struggle to afford. Not so 'great' after all, are you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

I would like to see them invade the Vatican City

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 581 ✭✭✭phoenix999

coolhull wrote: »
    Oh well, if it was in the Daily Mail, then it must ber true

Who gives a toss. People can make up their own minds. The comments are worth a read.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭losthorizon

keith16 wrote: »

Also went to war with them in the 1970s I think over believe it or not cod

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

galwayrush wrote: »
    When did they invade Ireland?
    I thought they were invited here and decided not to go home...

It was Mrs Doyle's ancestor handing out all that feckin tea and sandwiches.:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Death and Taxes

cloud493 wrote: »
    You can add Ireland to that list, we were invaded (by request) by the Normans who by then had conquered Britain, but sure I suppose some inadequate people need someone to hate!

Suas11 wrote: »
    But why would they? They already have a Queen of their own

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭ezra_pound

Up to a third of the British army were usually Irish so I think that comment says more about the state of this country under British rule.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,208 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Suas11 wrote: »

They'd get raped