Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

***Motors Chat Thread Round 2***

I just got a quote on an E92 M3 and I put in all my own details.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

It won't insure a 40yr old version of me with much ncb on a feckin polo! Last week I was getting quotes of 1150 on a t5 so something is definitely wrong!:pac:

Just worked on my iPad no problem, must be something to do with cookies etc!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,146 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Give me a couple of days and I'll have a far better odometer picture than all this rubbish!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Terrible sad of me that I noticed this, stopped and took a photo.

http://i711.photobucket.com/albums/ww116/TestTransmission/IMAG0205-1.jpg
    OSI wrote: »
    Pfffffttt... Amateur :pac:

https://us.v-cdn.net/6034073/uploads/attachments/141469/225900.jpg

Spent a week waiting for it to turn 100k, forgot about it for a couple days, and then noticed it as I was about to pull out of the petrol station. Lucky catch!

Pfffffftttttt..... Amateurs!!! :pac::pac::pac:

Parked up in Blanch and noticed this :)
    Image001111.jpg

And dodgy petrol caused that EML to come on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,146 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

I'm approaching the legendary 123456 on mine, another 70-ish miles to go.

Had I really been prepared I would have reset my trip computer 789miles before that...but no! Ah Im not that obsessed anyway:p

I'm approaching the legendary 123456 on mine, another 70-ish miles to go.

Had I really been prepared I would have reset my trip computer 789miles before that...but no! Ah Im not that obsessed anyway:p

Isn't Portlaoise around 70 odd miles away....? :pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭gollywog

Can a Decat affect torque?
    The car feels a bit down on torque low down

gollywog wrote: »

I found it to be the other way round when I decatted the blue van.... Pug has a decat and no difference low down

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

I would have thought that a de-cat would give it more power!? :confused:

EDIT: DGT beat me to it!

dgt wrote: »

I found it to be the other way round when I decatted the blue van.... Pug has a decat and no difference low down

Must be something else then :-(

gollywog - with a decat you are reducing the back-pressure on the turbo so yes, a decat does affect torque low down.

That's me educated for the day :)

So a de-cat is more for like a sporty sound?
    That's me educated for the day :)

Ya, same as! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

handed in my car to an auto leccy this morning at half 10 and the job was to be done today no problem. contacted him at half 3, half 5 and again there now and no answer or response? dunno what to do now! need it for work at 6:30 in morning!

So a de-cat is more for like a sporty sound?

On naturally aspirated cars, a decat can increase performance but in a turbo charged car, it reduces torque because the turbo needs the cat there to increase back-pressure.

Ah right, I never knew that. :)

EDIT: Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,925 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

I think it's the other way around. On turbos, with a decat the turbo will spool quicker because there's less back pressure, so the exhaust gases flow faster. On N/A cars, the engine tuning is setup for the stock assembly, including stock exhaust back pressure.

I've a feeling what's happening here might be a mix of the two. Until the turbo fully spools the car is essentially a N/A, in which case the ECU is still treating it like there's still a cat, and the back pressure it provides, probably causing a decrease in low-down torque (off boost).

On the other hand, there should be a decreased spool time and maybe some gains higher in the rev band though.

I think it's the other way around. On turbos, with a decat the turbo will spool quicker because there's less back pressure, so the exhaust gases flow faster. On N/A cars, the engine tuning is setup for the stock assembly, including stock exhaust back pressure.

I've a feeling what's happening here might be a mix of the two. Until the turbo fully spools the car is essentially a N/A, in which case the ECU is still treating it like there's still a cat, and the back pressure it provides, probably causing a decrease in low-down torque (off boost).

On the other hand, there should be a decreased spool time and maybe some gains higher in the rev band though.

I sit corrected, not too happy about being corrected by diesel boy but shur what can ya do :P

@gollywog: once you get the car remapped it should be fine, as it'll be tuned to the exhaust setup

Grand so. I just noticed it overtaking in the higher gears, seems to pull a little less but as you said it actually seems quicker once in up in the revs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,911 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Grand so. I just noticed it overtaking in the higher gears, seems to pull a little less but as you said it actually seems quicker once in up in the revs

i have to say that when i droped back stock exhaust with cat it became alive again. It pulls stronger over all range of revs.
    You just have to map at make it proper if you really want to see some gains and not just losses.
    If i will get back in to better financial position ill drop back that exhaust with new intercooler and STI turbo and it will go to maping asap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,653 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Pfffffftttttt..... Amateurs!!! :pac::pac::pac:

Parked up in Blanch and noticed this :)
    Image001111.jpg

And dodgy petrol caused that EML to come on

777777.jpg

77777 on a 7. :)

I'm noticing a theme of other warning lights being on as well :D

That was over 2 years ago, ABS wheel sensor. :D

Pixels fixed too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭dar83

Decat and quicker spool turbo = super fun happy times, along with backfire on gear change. :D

That was over 2 years ago, ABS wheel sensor. :D

Pixels fixed too.

I've the same fecking warning lights on mine, but as you probably know yourself it could be 1 of many things....

Yup, pain in the ass. If ever you need diagnostics I have DIS etc.

I may have to take you up on that offer :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 866 ✭✭✭renofan

handed in my car to an auto leccy this morning at half 10 and the job was to be done today no problem. contacted him at half 3, half 5 and again there now and no answer or response? dunno what to do now! need it for work at 6:30 in morning!

I'd be seriously pi$$ed if that was my car. All I can say is tell him he won't see you again after his poor service. How easy was it to make a call to you to explain what was or wasn't happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,728 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Almera lads, my airbag light's lashing like mad, anyone know how to sort this?
    I'll be NCTing it soon so I'll need to fix it sharpish.