Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off-Topic Thread

• Site Banned Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭Andy!!

Gbear wrote: »

Presumably it means you'll have to start paying a TV license fee for your PC if you put it in, no?

**** that! :< Aint paying Irish networks to make more Fade street and Tallafornia! Buying a licence for an actual tv fair enough, but they are taking the piss asking for a licence for a pc or laptop with a tv card!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 598 ✭✭✭Tij da feen

Andy!! wrote: »
    **** that! :< Aint paying Irish networks to make more Fade street and Tallafornia! Buying a licence for an actual tv fair enough, but they are taking the piss asking for a licence for a pc or laptop with a tv card!

Doesn't pay for Tallafornia luckily but it does pay for Fade Street.

Once your computer is using the card then legally you have to pay for a TV license.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Just finished watching the last episode of "Red dwarf" :(. that makes me a saaaaaaaad panda :(

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,150 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

Just finished watching the last episode of "Red dwarf" :(. that makes me a saaaaaaaad panda :(

Last episode? What are you on about? You do know there's a new season?

i did remembered that someone told me there are new episodes. its weird. there were 8 seasons and now it goes to season 10?... wheres season 9?

I really love father TED, but **** how i loved the red dwarf. its fecking EPIC!!! i played EVE online, while watching it too lol!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭Lu Tze

Doesn't pay for Tallafornia luckily but it does pay for Fade Street.

Once your computer is using the card then legally you have to pay for a TV license.

One per household - so if you have a licence for any telly in the house already there's no problems!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

Lu Tze wrote: »
    One per household - so if you have a licence for any telly in the house already there's no problems!

What'll be really interesting is to see how the weasels will fund their ****e when more and more people stop having a TV and use the internet for everything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭N64

IIRC, there are plans in the future to replace the TV licence with a one that includes computers :mad:

Also, it looks like we are all switching to linux or mac :pac:

http://www.theregister.co.uk/2012/10/22/gates_windows8_phone8_merger/

season 9 of RED dwarf was fecking tits :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 598 ✭✭✭Tij da feen

New iPad announced... Not that anyone really cares here I'm guessing. But it seems like an excellent buy. Look, two whole graphics instead of one!

original.png

It makes me so sad that people will go out and buy this iPad even if they own an iPad3 which was only released in March.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,682 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

Won't most of the reason for this increased graphics performance just be because the screen is a lot smaller..?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,699 ✭✭✭Brian

#tested 19:08 <+Feigr> so you can get a Nexus 7 and a Kindle Paperwhite for 12 dollars less than an ipad mini

sums it up really

I really really love how apple compares they products and show improvement by:

How many less seconds it takes to open app. ( usually x1.5 )
    How faster it loads image. ( around x1.6 )
    How much more space is there on it ( something like x2.0 )
    Performance in angry birds x1.4!!!
    List goes on and on..
    Never hardware details ( you need to search for it on some third party websites ). It's like a comparison for brain dead zombies...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭dwighet

This new driver is something else..

I installed it last night and it made a good improvement on my 7970..
    Just scored this
    On 3d mark 11...Before I was lucky to get 9400.
    And a noticable improvement playing bf3.

I can now play bf3 on auto settings and get an avg of 100 fps on my 120 hz monitor.(1080)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,950 ✭✭✭deravarra

dwighet wrote: »
    This new driver is something else..

I installed it last night and it made a good improvement on my 7970..
    Just scored this
    On 3d mark 11...Before I was lucky to get 9400.
    And a noticable improvement playing bf3.

I can now play bf3 on auto settings and get an avg of 100 fps on my 120 hz monitor.(1080)

How would that fare against a GTX 670? I'm in the process of choosing a GPU for a new build

deravarra wrote: »
    How would that fare against a GTX 670? I'm in the process of choosing a GPU for a new build

I wouldnt know mate..

I have never used or seen one in action.I hear there good but how good is the question.

Google is your friend here..

In my opinion There's still more value in 7970. I am saying it as an owner of gtx 680. Ati really picked up their **** in last and current generation. They always adjust their pricing, so if you will be planing on cf setup you will be in a lot better position. Drovers get updated nicely. A lot better eyefinity setup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,181 ✭✭✭Serephucus

In BF3, the 7970 is faster, overall the numbers seem to be similar to BF3. At least at 19x12.

I should mention though that TPU is using slightly older NVIDIA drivers in that review, and supposedly the newer ones offer some pretty good performance gains (they just aren't publicised as much as AMD's).

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 10,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭marco_polo

At the point that both cards had launched there wasn't a whole lot in it although the HD 7970 was always perhaps marginally the faster card overall on balance.

But right now when you factor in the current broadly similar pricing, the latest driver 12.11 improvements, better high resolution performance and overclocking potential it really has to be the HD7970 IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,699 ✭✭✭Brian

Are the new drivers beneficial to 6XXX as well?

Brian wrote: »
    Are the new drivers beneficial to 6XXX as well?

Take a few benchmarks with your current drivers then down load the new ones(12.11 beta) and run the same benchmarks...see what you come up with..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,181 ✭✭✭Serephucus

Nope, they're not. 7000 Series only.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 10,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭marco_polo

Yeah they would have the 6XXX series cards pretty well optimised at this point, and realistically even if there was still room for some improvement they would not be focused on looking for it anyways at this point in their lifecycle.

You only really tend to see bug fixes in new driver releases for previous generation cards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,647 ✭✭✭gooch2k9

Someone might help me here..I have a 120GB SSD for C: drive, 111GB in reality. I was messing around installing eclipse the last night and now my free space has dropped from 50GB odd down to 37GB, but looking at all contents of C: drive including hidden stuff only adds up to 51GB so I should have 60GB...anyone know what the craic with this is?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,455 ✭✭✭RUCKING FETARD

gooch2k9 wrote: »
    Someone might help me here..I have a 120GB SSD for C: drive, 111GB in reality. I was messing around installing eclipse the last night and now my free space has dropped from 50GB odd down to 37GB, but looking at all contents of C: drive including hidden stuff only adds up to 51GB so I should have 60GB...anyone know what the craic with this is?
    http://windirstat.info/

Thats showing a 21GB folder which has a 12GB pagefile.sys and 9GB hiberfil.sys.

Do I need these?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭FlyingIrishMan

I'm pretty sure those aren't actually needed, I just found I have those two files as well and they add up to 14GB, was wondering where that went to.

Best wait until somebody gives a definite answer :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,455 ✭✭✭RUCKING FETARD

gooch2k9 wrote: »
    Thats showing a 21GB folder which has a 12GB pagefile.sys and 9GB hiberfil.sys.

Do I need these?
    I'm pretty sure those aren't actually needed, I just found I have those two files as well and they add up to 14GB, was wondering where that went to.

Best wait until somebody gives a definite answer :P
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=79945490&postcount=76

Cheers I did a bit of digging after that and seen the guides, got rid of the hibernation and knocked the pagefile down to 2GB, not that I'm going anywhere near my physical limit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭N64

Lads, did anybody ever get a refund off dabs before? I am just wondering how long roughly would it take for the refunded money to show up in my account? Thanks!