Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off-Topic Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭dwighet

Andy!! wrote: »
    What be that. Which one would be good?

something like this
    You can get them with more knobs.
    You can get them with temp sensors and they will auto adjust the fan speed according to the settings you put in.
    and so on...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,455 ✭✭✭RUCKING FETARD

someone on youtube liked it, so i got notification. quite funny lol
    Not as funny as these, lolololololololol.

Robbed from Random vid thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Not as funny as these, lolololololololol.

Robbed from Random vid thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,455 ✭✭✭RUCKING FETARD

lol, wouldn't want to be relying on the lads holding the cameras if you needed an ambulance! You'd be dead by the time they stop laughing.:pac::P

to make it worst - they are lithuanians... i am lithuanian lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,182 ✭✭✭Genghiz Cohen

to make it worst - they are lithuanians... i am lithuanian lol

Ew

• Site Banned Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭Andy!!

What do people use to record games? Fraps? Im looking for something that records at 1080p and has no watermark. Dont mind paying a little but free would be awesome hah!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭-( i )- Wicker

I imagine recording at 1080p would slow almost any system to a crawl. You'd probably need a video capture card/box

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,185 ✭✭✭IrishMetalhead

i have a retail copy of fraps i got on ebay awhile back, got it cheap too, about €10 after shipping.
    records 1080p and no watermark since it's not the free version

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,699 ✭✭✭Brian

Got a free 20" Sun/Sony CRT from work. Up to 160 Hz at 800x600!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,979 ✭✭✭Tea_Bag

Brian wrote: »
    Got a free 20" Sun/Sony CRT from work. Up to 160 Hz at 800x600!
    oh perfect now you can....

Ew

A jaysus, I know! :D

Anyway,I had a very long hard day at work. Can't even get myself to PC... Won't be cooking dinner tonigh, misses will bring some takeaway.
    If I will manage to get to p, then I will get myself one more eve account!

I imagine recording at 1080p would slow almost any system to a crawl. You'd probably need a video capture card/box

I've seen dozens of youtube users that recorded at 1080p using Fraps...

My new SSD is snappy but damn is this '256GB' business just plain false advertising! As soon as windows is installed, you're down to 200. I'm cool with losing 20GB say due to Windows and the SSD's firmware or whatever primarily takes up data but damn! My SSD only reads at 238GB on the 'My Computer' screen anyways. That's about what I expect. Windows 7 isn't 38GB is it? :pac: Any way to glean some gigs back?

When I was installing windows I unplugged my HDD because neweggs video told me to. Now my comp doesn't recognise it, I assume I have to change that in the BIOS or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,600 ✭✭✭Eboggles

My new SSD is snappy but damn is this '256GB' business just plain false advertising! As soon as windows is installed, you're down to 200. I'm cool with losing 20GB say due to Windows and the SSD's firmware or whatever primarily takes up data but damn! My SSD only reads at 238GB on the 'My Computer' screen anyways. That's about what I expect. Windows 7 isn't 38GB is it? :pac: Any way to glean some gigs back?

Manufacturers - "1000 megabytes in a gigabyte"
    Microsoft - "1024 megabytes in a gigabyte"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 881 ✭✭✭Bloodwing

When I was installing windows I unplugged my HDD because neweggs video told me to. Now my comp doesn't recognise it, I assume I have to change that in the BIOS or something?

Disable hibernation and you'll save a few Gigs.

Open up disk management and initialise the hard drive, that should sort that for you.

Eboggles wrote: »
    Manufacturers - "1000 megabytes in a gigabyte"
    Microsoft - "1024 megabytes in a gigabyte"

this.

i really really wish they would sort out this ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭N64

Lads, remember that news about the European commission planning to cripple graphics cards a while back? Someone linked me to this post:

http://www.overclock.net/t/1315362/nh-eu-cripples-future-graphics-cards-exclusive/40#post_18349951

Bloodwing wrote: »

Disable hibernation and you'll save a few Gigs.

Open up disk management and initialise the hard drive, that should sort that for you.

Gracie I shall try that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,672 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Tea is watercooling my pc, cant wait for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,710 ✭✭✭Monotype

Wow, that's great, I haven't heard of anyone using tea as water cooling before. You could get some nice colours with the berry flavours and it smells nice.

The only problem is that you'd have to replace it every week or two as it's not distilled and your equipment will gunk up with tannin and stuff inside a year.

Monotype wrote: »
    Wow, that's great, I haven't heard of anyone using tea as water cooling before. You could get some nice colours with the berry flavours and it smells nice.

The only problem is that you'd have to replace it every week or two as it's not distilled and your equipment will gunk up with tannin and stuff inside a year.

im using this
    pyramidteabag.jpg
    as the reservoir

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,699 ✭✭✭Brian

Tea_Bag wrote: »
    oh perfect now you can....

pwn some noobs at high refresh rates obviously!

Lads would ye consider buying a refurbished monitor? (even if it has a warranty 60 day warranty?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,181 ✭✭✭Serephucus

Yup, I would.

I'll just leave this here...

bitfenix_01.jpg

Jack O' Lantern Edition?!!

DO WANT!

(I'm liking everything Bitfenix releases recently)

Edit: Ok, so not Bitfenix, but still awesome. Mind you, for $800...

doing headshots water cooling.
    and its running. no leaks yet thank god. bubbles almost completely gone now.

I'm not going to lie, this is probably the single hardest computer related thing I've ever done. my fingers are broken and my thumb is bleeding. still got to test the PC running etc etc all day tomorrow.

I've also got lots of spare screws, but you don't get instructions so dunno what to do. I don't have any jublee clips on the barbs. the ones supplied are strange and don't work at all. its 1/4" barbs with 7/16" tubing I believe, so it should be fine. my bleeding fingers are a testament to how hard they were to get on.

If everything's fitted, you shouldn't really need any spare screws or anything.

I assume you mean 1/2" barbs with 7/16" tubing? If you've got 1/4" barbs, 7/16" tubing is never going to fit. :P

Bleeding fingers?!

I just have left over odds and ends. ill throw up a pic.

yea my thumb bleeding from all the piping and screws.

just gonna link to it:

i.imgur.com/kfe7k.jpg