If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Richk2012

whelan1 wrote: »
    My cow can now stand up on her own and dropped her cleanings. Thank god

Good to hear . Are you going to dry her off and fatten her or is she sound enough to milk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

DaNiEl1994 wrote: »
    hello lads, i was wondering would anybody know where i could find the photos of an anti backing bar that a man on these forums made himself it was really good, if it helps i think it was green dont quote me on that tho.

thanks

Is this the one? I can put up some other photos of it, if you like.
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056212709&page=120

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭saranac1

pakalasa wrote: »

Not a happy camper today
    Found a fr bull calf of mine gorged to death by either a pack of dogs or foxs, hard to know which done it. Calf was healthy but a bit small and in back field with 30 other fr bull calves @ 9 mth old.
    Never happened to me before

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

Richk2012 wrote: »
    Good to hear . Are you going to dry her off and fatten her or is she sound enough to milk
    she hasnt been out of the shed since friday, has no springing what so ever , just glad she's alive ... will just fatten her up and factory her

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 759 ✭✭✭DaNiEl1994

pakalasa wrote: »

no i cant find the anti backing bar in the link, or dont think i can ee any backing bar in that link, it might have been one of the clare lad who made it? maybe even you? any chance you might have miss linked it, it was a very simple idea

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

no i cant find the anti backing bar in the link, or dont think i can ee any backing bar in that link, it might have been one of the clare lad who made it? maybe even you? any chance you might have miss linked it, it was a very simple idea

When I saw your first post looking for this my immediate thought was that Pakalasa had made it.
    Maybe the pic was in the Labour saving and general guntering thread rather than the photo one. I'm sure the man himself will sort ya out:)

Tipp Man is right. I see it in that link alright!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,025 ✭✭✭Tipp Man

I see a green backing bar when i open Paka's link:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 759 ✭✭✭DaNiEl1994

https://us.v-cdn.net/6034073/uploads/attachments/224975/202583.jpg

this was the one i was looking for, sorry if it was in the original link but i couldnt find it, great piece of DIY'ing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

id say i have a first calver throwing a calf tonight:(.oh well as long as there is only one

saranac1 wrote: »
    Not a happy camper today
    Found a fr bull calf of mine gorged to death by either a pack of dogs or foxs, hard to know which done it. Calf was healthy but a bit small and in back field with 30 other fr bull calves @ 9 mth old.
    Never happened to me before
    are you he didnt die first and was then eaten,unusual to see a live calf attacked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,463 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

keep going wrote: »
    id say i have a first calver throwing a calf tonight:(.oh well as long as there is only one

feel your pain. 3rd calver spat out a dead calf 2 weeks early about 2 hours ago.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 Milkymoos

feel your pain. 3rd calver spat out a dead calf 2 weeks early about 2 hours ago.:(
    @ keep going as well: are ye vaccinating for salmonella? Seems to be alot of it around this year already. Would be worth taking the calf to the regional vet lab just to make sure it is nothing sinister. Test for neospora as well while they at it.

Milkymoos wrote: »
    @ keep going as well: are ye vaccinating for salmonella? Seems to be alot of it around this year already. Would be worth taking the calf to the regional vet lab just to make sure it is nothing sinister. Test for neospora as well while they at it.
    just back from the shed and shes popped it. to be honest i wasnt thinking of taking it to the lab as i have done loads of times before and nothing ever comes back but if a second happened i would.a bit small looking for this stage in the year- less than a foot long but maybe she was calving later

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

The rain has started here, but on the upside I got the SFP text. I hope it hits the account tomorrow ;)

i am with ulster bank, money is in :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭KCTK

BOI, in also :D

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,961 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

KCTK wrote: »

AIB must be using it to stop a gap temporarily somewhere:mad:

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

blue5000 wrote: »
    AIB must be using it to stop a gap temporarily somewhere:mad:
    in too another repayment for one of my loans!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭snowman707

aib money in :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

BOI in too :D

If you are in the BVD scheme this year do you have to do an ear test on a dead calf does anybody know?

Its voluntary this year, so you don't have to - but maybe you want to rule out BVD as a cause of death?

Next year, you will have to do a bvd test on all registered calves, dead or alive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 423 ✭✭wesleysniper38

Yeah its in... but after the cheques I had to write yesterday it'll be out by this evening.
    Still no point in complaining.

I do them

reilig wrote: »
    Its voluntary this year, so you don't have to - but maybe you want to rule out BVD as a cause of death?

Next year, you will have to do a bvd test on all registered calves, dead or alive.

It would be unusual to have a calf born dead but full term because of BVD wouldnt it?

to finish the scheme a year early (because you tested in 2012) do you need to test dead calves is what I'm asking I suppose

It would be unusual to have a calf born dead but full term because of BVD wouldnt it?

The calf might not have died of BVD but could still be a PI.
    to finish the scheme a year early (because you tested in 2012) do you need to test dead calves is what I'm asking I suppose

I imagine that the answer to that is yes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

whelan1 wrote: »
    i am with ulster bank, money is in :D
    KCTK wrote: »

PTSB, in also :D

reilig wrote: »
    The calf might not have died of BVD but could still be a PI.

I imagine that the answer to that is yes.
    but you have already paid for the bvd tag , you are going to have to tag the dead calf for the knackery to take it, cant understand why you wouldnt bvd test it:confused:

still have to pay for the test and its another job to do

so wait another year to see if the cow has a pi calf, its a no brainer imo, why do the rest and not do this one