If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

just do it wrote: »
    Sorry to hear it. Was the calf dead or deformed to start with? Or just a big brute that spent too long in the process of calving? At least it sounds like the cow should be ok and it's her milk you're after anyway.
    just a big brute.... glad we where using the vets brand new jack as mine would probably have slipped under the pressure. Got her back to yard and put her into straw bedded shed with another cow, the bitch head butted her and knocked her down:mad::mad: Anyways shes up again now and eating meal and silage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,557 ✭✭✭simx

Just got a text from 50123 number from the Dep of Ag stating the SFP start next week. The next line gave me a laugh "Pls be patient" :D

why didnt i get that text :(

simx wrote: »
    why didnt i get that text :(
    did ya put your mobile number on the sfp application form ?

whelan1 wrote: »
    did ya put your mobile number on the sfp application form ?

90% sure i did,i cant remember:P if some dollars come tuesday i wont be forming a complaint for not getting the text :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

Sorry to hear it. Was the calf dead or deformed to start with? Or just a big brute that spent too long in the process of calving? At least it sounds like the cow should be ok and it's her milk you're after anyway.
    just a big brute.... glad we where using the vets brand new jack as mine would probably have slipped under the pressure. Got her back to yard and put her into straw bedded shed with another cow, the bitch head butted her and knocked her down:mad::mad: Anyways shes up again now and eating meal and silage
    Does a hard calving like that knock a dairy cow's milk yield much?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 931 ✭✭✭Manoffeeling

Has everyone got the disadvantaged yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

nope, dual claims seems to be the problem

Does a hard calving like that knock a dairy cow's milk yield much?
    sometimes, in this case i am just glad the cow is alive... will give her a wash out and more injections

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭td5man

Not yet should have it this week though due to an over claim of something like 0.0001 ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

sometimes, in this case i am just glad the cow is alive... will give her a wash out and more injections
    had a elderly cow like that last year, took ages to get the calf out bone dry, she never got up killer:(

kevthegaff wrote: »
    had a elderly cow like that last year, took ages to get the calf out bone dry, she never got up killer:(
    backs of my legs are killing me today , so can only imagine how the cow feels:cool: had to lift her this morning as she got herself stuck in the corner of the shed:mad: but shes grand now

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭restive

No, they are still processing them. They now have a separate area set up to take phone calls from farmers. I phoned twice yesterday and could not get through.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Juniorhurler

Got through yesterday, 3-5 working days i should have it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

backs of my legs are killing me today , so can only imagine how the cow feels:cool: had to lift her this morning as she got herself stuck in the corner of the shed:mad: but shes grand now
    had a elderly cow like that last year, took ages to get the calf out bone dry, she never got up killerfrown.png

Did either of ye consider getting the vet to do a cesarean. Done right it's a good bit easier on the cow than puing with a leg back, even than a really hard pull on a v.big calf. We'd often did two per year. None for the past few years thankfully. If the vet knows their job and are meticuous about hygeine you would expect at least 50% to go back in calf.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

If any of ye want a bit of a laugh read the first post in this thread :D

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=81229036#post81229036

Did either of ye consider getting the vet to do a cesarean. Done right it's a good bit easier on the cow than puing with a leg back, even than a really hard pull on a v.big calf. We'd often did two per year. None for the past few years thankfully. If the vet knows their job and are meticuous about hygeine you would expect at least 50% to go back in calf.
    she handled the cow and said she would be able to get it out the normal way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Nuff said so.

If that cow is unsteady and you're leaving her in the loose shed for a few days try feeding her with her own milk if you are taking a bit from her. Stops the energy loss. Lost 3 out of 4 cows who went down on me last year. The one we saved got her own milk. She'd have a go at any bucket that was around the parlour for a couple of weeks after we got her going, mad looking for milk but it didn't become a habit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Richk2012

Do you have her back legs tied together???
    We always tie them together to stop her doing the splits , leaving enough slack to walk around .

Richk2012 wrote: »
    Do you have her back legs tied together???
    We always tie them together to stop her doing the splits , leaving enough slack to walk around .
    ye i do, but she keeps lying in the corners of the shed and cant get up, had to lift her again this evening, she is in a well bedded straw shed... too cold to leave her out in a paddock after the ordeal she went through

its bloody impossible win in Ireland nowadays, went out tonight for a drink with a friend, 40 mile round trip, speed van on the way there around midnight clocked me at 103 km on the only 2km of road thats decent, and speed van at different location at 3 am clocked me doing same speed again. **** me, after doing well over a 1000 miles this week its annoying as Im always very conscious of limits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

That luck penny didnt bring too much luck with it so bob

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,408 ✭✭✭bbam

its bloody impossible win in Ireland nowadays, went out tonight for a drink with a friend, 40 mile round trip, speed van on the way there around midnight clocked me at 103 km on the only 2km of road thats decent, and speed van at different location at 3 am clocked me doing same speed again. **** me, after doing well over a 1000 miles this week its annoying as Im always very conscious of limits.

Was it an 80 or 100km limit on the road? Chances are if it were a 100 you'll be fine.

Cousin of my wife got caught dropping her daughter into football. Letter came as per usual within a week, then next day another one came with same road and date on it. So she rings up to explain they have sent the letter on the double. The woman on the other end if the phone was ever so polite ; "no dear, look at the time on the two letters. You were caught twice, in the same spot within 20 minutes, going in each direction"

€180 and four points on the licence. Feckin sick as a pig.

bbam wrote: »
    Was it an 80 or 100km limit on the road? Chances are if it were a 100 you'll be fine.

100 limit, its just like that time of a Saturday night, there are little enough people going out for a social meet up as it is and IMV the consequences will be seen later in the year especially within our industry I fear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

there s a fella near us who went up the country to buy a ford 5000.the fella on the phone promised him she was "mint" but when got up there she was wrecked.he was after travelling 4 or 5 hours so instead of getting cross he spotted that he was a bit of a dealer so he started to tell yer man about the grand 4000 he had at home,"mint" he told him.now this tractor was the "scraper"tractor so you can imagine what she was like and yer man came down the next weekend.alot more satisfying than just getting thick about it:D

keep going wrote: »
    there s a fella near us who went up the country to buy a ford 5000.the fella on the phone promised him she was "mint" but when got up there she was wrecked.he was after travelling 4 or 5 hours so instead of getting cross he spotted that he was a bit of a dealer so he started to tell yer man about the grand 4000 he had at home,"mint" he told him.now this tractor was the "scraper"tractor so you can imagine what she was like and yer man came down the next weekend.alot more satisfying than just getting thick about it:D

right way to do it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭snowman707

If any of ye want a bit of a laugh read the first post in this thread :D

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=81229036#post81229036

Brilliant !!

played along with one or two myself (including one who wanted me to ship a bale handler to nigeria )

however didn't have the patience and usually told them to F.O.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

Maybe I'm just paranoid, but I'd be very carefull replying to e-mails like those. A little bit of googling and you can find out a lot about people from the smallest bit of information like mobile phones, e-mail adresses etc. Identify theft is a lot more common than people think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭snowman707

pakalasa wrote: »
    Maybe I'm just paranoid, but I'd be very carefull replying to e-mails like those. A little bit of googling and you can find out a lot about people from the smallest bit of information like mobile phones, e-mail adresses etc. Identify theft is a lot more common than people think.

I use spamex on open dns server.

http://www.spamex.com/
    http://www.opendns.com/

lifted cow this morning and this evening, dont think i will be milking her again, best i can hope for will be a factory job in a few months... eating meal and silage and gave her milk today, she doesnt even try to get up herself, injected her today as i thought it might make her try to get up, she didnt budge

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

One reason I hate calving cows indoors is that the newborn calf finds it hard to stand without slipping all over the place. Same for a cow that has been down a while. You need a real deep bed of straw which means it's not going to be the cleanest. I wonder how would a large rubber mat work in a calving pen or for downer cows. No worry then about slipping and you could wash it down easily too. Less straw used too.