Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***Motors Chat Thread*** Round 1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 866 ✭✭✭renofan

Tallon wrote: »
    Enjoy...

That video is epic! The best bit is when you can see nothing!

@ Voodoo, that was nice what you put up about your friend Michael. Not enough people spend time with the older folks these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,158 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Really sorry to hear that Voodoo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

Finally got some time to start on the garages long term project....

Morning:

2012-09-28104036.jpg

Evening:

2012-09-28130759.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

Finally got some time to start on the garages long term project....

2012-09-28104036.jpg

that's not my car :/

kidding :-) but on a serious note when you said the thing needs to be replaced did you mean just the pin or whole unit ?

feckin thing is lose again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

But she's twin cam ladddddddddddddddddddd....

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3966329

View2?id=14556949

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

kidding :-) but on a serious note when you said the thing needs to be replaced did you mean just the pin or whole unit ?

You need to get a new check strap, its the whole piece including the pin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,548 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

They like their oddball cars on that road..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

You need to get a new check strap, its the whole piece including the pin.

ah right. forgot to ask earlier.

cheers for that.

on a side note just saw a whopper crash off poplar row.

corsa went straight through a red light at speed and straight into the side of a 03 Audi A6 or A4.

was frightening stuff.

awful lot of damage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,729 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Just gotvtgis text from my girlfriend.
    I'm home now. My dad told me to tell you he's gets to drive a 370z full race trim, gtr 2012 spec and juke R which has gtr engine inside (only able to drive this one with test driver) for a day at modello (something to do with work) jealous?

YES I'M ****ING JEALOUS!!

Lighting, if you're around that day keep an eye out for Jimmy Doyle and give him a few extra laps. :p :PAC:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Similar to a post i read here last week, i just gave my glanza the cheapest power boost money can buy.

I'm car sharing with the missus while we're in college, hers one week, mine the next. as a result, been driving a 07 1.2 3 cyl polo all week. got back into the glanza tonight and my god the perception of power was beautiful :P

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3929370

interesting to see a jap import mk1 focus.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3840405

along with this salesman of the year :P
    almost silent when driven, great if you wish to talk or listen to cd or radio.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

Just watched this, nice watch. But its funny, how things in japan are so advanced, compared to say.... Ireland. Its like another world.

Here is the video anywho....

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=63Y97oLjiuA&feature=watch-vrec

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,729 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Gotta love MCM and Moog's beautiful S15.

http://www.selfserviceauto.ie/pricing.html

dont know if people are aware of this but it looks great imo! a self service garage in waterford. €20 per hour for the first 3 hours, 3 or more hours its €15 per hour. seems competitive enough.

reading their site suggests they have all the NCT pretest equipment for suspension, brakes, emissions etc.

hope it takes off :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

I think I just transferred most of the carbon cake from the EGR to my face... >.<

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Waiting here in a carpark. Some prick drove by in Audi a5 2012, but he was on his phone texting too.
    Next think I hear tyre wine and loud beeeeeeeep!

I looked back and it turns out, that prick just drove out out of carpark while still texting and did not see a huge 4x4 driving on main road.

Some people are just fecking idiots and should not be allowed to drive.

I wouldn't like to buy a car of someone, that don't have a clue how to use a camera. :rolleyes:

Full-14540237.jpeg

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3963037

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

I wouldn't like to buy a car of someone, that don't have a clue how to use a camera. :rolleyes:

Full-14540237.jpeg

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3963037

Yeah this an happen to me when i take pictures with my iPhone particularly when I upload them to imgur.
    Still thought they should have checked before submitting the ad. :rolleyes:

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    Yeah this an happen to me when i take pictures with my iPhone particularly when I upload them to imgur.
    Still thought they should have checked before submitting the ad. :rolleyes:

Oh so its a common problem?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

Oh so its a common problem?

Well it matters what way up you hold your phone like if you rotate it right or left when taking a landscape photo. (if that make sense)

The photo orientation seems to be stored as part of the file but imgur seems like it can't interpret this so the photos can end up upside down. However you can then rotate the photo online so it appears correctly. This person clearly didn't notice or something.

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    Well it matters what way up you hold your phone like if you rotate it right or left when taking a landscape photo. (if that make sense)

The photo orientation seems to be stored as part of the file but imgur seems like it can't interpret this so the photos can end up upside down. However you can then rotate the photo online so it appears correctly. This person clearly didn't notice or something.

Ah yes, I get you now. I never had the pleasure of owning an Iphone. :o

But like you said, the seller could have put them right before putting up the add.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,565 ✭✭✭✭Tallon

A392XRUCMAAGBjg.jpg
    The March for Choice rally stage, Merrion Square Dublin, within the last hour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭Fiona

Just spent the whole day cleaning out the garage where my car going to be stored. Shattered after it! Got collected from the bus last night in my new car.

Have not been allowed drive it yet himself is enjoying my new toy typical! Body work some bits good and some bits are mat silver! Its grand inside seats need a quick shampoo and a bit of apc on the rest she be grand!

Drives well no rattles and she is actually nippy enough!

Best of luck with her Fiona. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,618 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

And the search for a new car begins I think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

Bit of a half serious q here guys, I was leaving work today and passing a guy who was just starting and he said some guy was taking pictures of the back of my car? I didn't get to talk to him cos he was just starting but I'm just wondering if I should be at all worried? Can't have any harm in a picture being taken of it can there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,548 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Bit of a half serious q here guys, I was leaving work today and passing a guy who was just starting and he said some guy was taking pictures of the back of my car? I didn't get to talk to him cos he was just starting but I'm just wondering if I should be at all worried? Can't have any harm in a picture being taken of it can there?

*checks barryboys website*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

It's possible that he was just taking pics of your body kit and he may want to get one for himself. On the other hand it's possible that he may want to clone your car. It could also be another forum's "Here's what I saw today" thread.

It might be overkill but I would report this to your local Garda station in case your car is indeed cloned and turns up on the M50 or anything like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

Cloned as in just use my reg no. On another grey Astra yeah? It was just a bit strange. It was parked alongside dunnes in Douglas court, cars everywhere but not near any entrances so no one hanging around.
    I was kinda hoping it might be someone from boards just taking a picture for the laugh but it doesn't appear so