Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***Motors Chat Thread*** Round 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

being feeling like im about to cough up a lung the past 3 days.... very chesty cough, massive headache and feeling wrecked.

so earlier i bought two very big very soft blankets and a giant thermo mug for my hot chocolate :)

in other freaky news from work (apart from needing more drivers). i did delivery, used phone to call person to get up of his arse and down to the door to get his food.

got a text a while later from the same guy saying "Thanks for the pizza, was very tasty ;)" - WHAT THE MOTHER ****ING **** ??? :eek: thats never happened to anyone before doing that job. you might get the odd person calling you back and asking "oh sorry, wanted to know what this number was" and itd be grand. but to send that followed by a winky face ?

i mean i dunno what to do with that even.

not going to text back any who but if i get anything from him again i know where he lives and the gardai will be knocking on the door with his food and a restraining order or something.

motor related.

after just over one year with my car im still in love with it.

also using my car for delivering food ? i couldnt think of a better car to do it in. i still find my car exciting and wonderful and i dont plan on getting rid of it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

sitting in the car park of BOI newlands.

passat man hit my car while trying to park :(

hello damaged rear passenger door and wing mirror.

my parking wasnt great but his was diabolical - gardai and all relevant people notified etc. and gardai said judging from pictures that they dont have a leg to stand on. - other driver will ring tomorrow telling me where to send my car... dont know if i'll trust his garage or not as he didnt tell me who they are.. if its any back arse of nowhere im going through insurance and picking my place of repair.

20121001125130.jpg
    20121001132129.jpg
    20121001132116.jpg

and while im here - a cracking ford focus ST

20120904164517.jpg

and my set up in car

20120822203405.jpg

and last but not least

the VW GOD

img0488en.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Jaysus, its as if people lie in wait to damage your car Rob!

ah no worries... they will fix it.

but i know.. im so unlucky :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Was that an excuse to take a picture of the motorboat in the last photo....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭dar83

That ST looks terrible....

Not a fan of RS spoilers on ST's and then the number plate and stickers, don't get me started.

just saying :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Jesus Robbie, more damage! To be fair, you're parking was fairly bad!

i'll admit bad parking here alright,

but im wondering did my parking save the front passenger door ?

The ST looked good... didnt sound to good.. probably cos all it could do was sit in traffic :P

the traffic i was in that time it wouldnt make a difference if it was a micra or an ST because the bicycle was still faster than everyone !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Should have kept his money from the RS spoiler and silly sticker and put it towards this

?240,240,-713307623

http://mongooseexhausts.com/store/shop/focus-mk2-st-full-system-with-decat/

Word to the wise Rob, you tell him where you're bringing your car ;)

RoverJames wrote: »
    Word to the wise Rob, you tell him where you're bringing your car ;)

if he sends me somewhere ****e then i'll go where i want.

if he's not happy then straight to the insurance crowd to send it to the garage of my choice.

and no matter what i'll be set up with a spare car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

Got the security guys at work to look at the CCTV for those lads taking pics of my car the other day. Seems they were genuinely just looking at the opc line stuff and got into an Astra h themselves then so obviously looking for ideas :D

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

The tailback at the JLT this morning was lethal, left lateish and hit it at 8:05, took over twenty minutes to clear it.

It's been very bad lately but I didn't think it would be at that time, I used to go through it 3 or 4 mornings a week but since the colleges and schools have gone back I go through the city centre so travel over the JLT roundabout.

Says a lot really as it's meant to take traffic away from the city, in fairness it does as the city is quite free flowing in the morning for me :pac:

You'd spot the odd secretary on her way to the office too :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Stolen from YLYL.

The obnoxious parking fans would have a field day with this:

IMG_0697.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

How do you know that he didnt bring the kids to town:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

pred racer wrote: »
    How do you know that he didnt bring the kids to town:pac:

I see seating for six kids in the back of that :D:D

theres some serious stuff going down on north circular road right now next to Dorset street

50 Garda cars around the one spot and others racing around

and a whole lot of burnt clutch ! can smell it for a mile ! from the garda cars that is. not me !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

So I had a little free time when I got home... I think I needs to get out more! :o

Start with
    Image2194.jpg

Now in San Andreas...
    222673.jpg

Right down to the dual exit exhaust...
    222674.jpg

What on earth have I done....

gallery165.jpg
    gallery166.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

RoverJames wrote: »
    It's been very bad lately but I didn't think it would be at that time, I used to go through it 3 or 4 mornings a week but since the colleges and schools have gone back I go through the city centre so travel over the JLT roundabout.

Says a lot really as it's meant to take traffic away from the city, in fairness it does as the city is quite free flowing in the morning for me :pac:

You'd spot the odd secretary on her way to the office too :D

I always go through the city from the Mallow side going to Mahon/Ringaskiddy etc. You make great time especially up McCurtin street and as you said a bit of eye candy too...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

dgt wrote: »
    So I had a little free time when I got home... I think I needs to get out more! :o

Start with

Now in San Andreas...

Now take the engine out of them.. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,719 ✭✭✭Hal1

That is awesome DGT, what's the name of the editor. Take the engine out CJ :D.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

Almost new car day for me :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

Lads OT but how do I put up photos on here that I have saved on my computer? Cheers :)

166man wrote: »
    Lads OT but how do I put up photos on here that I have saved on my computer? Cheers :)

First register on a site like photbucket or imageshack and then put the photos in a file you know the location of then click upload on the site after registering select the file location (i use a folder i leave on my desktop just for images) and upload here as an image via the direct link option

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭gollywog

I know this man in his 70's,
    He's from the north, really nice, easy going, quiet sort of a man.
    He was driving a 106 gti as long as I've known him.
    But tonight saw him rolling up in an 11 Fabia VRS :)

When I asked him about it he was saying hes always liked a bit of power in cars and how he hates how everyone is driving daysuls now! He said as this might be his last car he was going to get one was was fun! Was singing the praises of the 7 speed DSG box in it and all :)

Probably irrelavant but I thinks he's a legend! :cool:

Did he then dust the GTI and shake his stick at you out the sunroof ? :p

Be honest this is the real reason you are getting a remap :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭gollywog

Did he then dust the GTI and shake his stick at you out the sunroof ? :p

Be honest this is the real reason you are getting a remap :)

ha ha nope. He actually said he always wanted a gti throughout the years but it never came to pass. I think those fabias are funky as hell aswell!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

dgt wrote: »

Start with
    Image2194.jpg

Now in San Andreas...
    attachment.php?attachmentid=222673&d=1349121605

attachment.php?attachmentid=222674&d=1349121662

gallery165.jpg
    gallery166.jpg

Damn m8, I am sorry to say this, but you have way too much free time. You need that thing.... What you call it... Feck... I just had ..... Aaaaaa yes! You need a WOMAN! So you would not be able to have fun anymore!!!! :D

I haven't played gta games in ages. It's a shame gta4 has to be so Anal for modding. Some of the car models are just unreal. I finally got a pc that can handle gta 4 and all the eye candy mods, but I just could not be fecked to redownload gta 4 and play with those mods. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

I haven't played gta games in ages. It's a shame gta4 has to be so Anal for modding. Some of the car models are just unreal. I finally got a pc that can handle gta 4 and all the eye candy mods, but I just could not be fecked to redownload gta 4 and play with those mods. :(
    OSI wrote: »
    Tell me about it, it took 4 re-installs and 4 different models before I found a model for the GTI that didn't crash the game after 30 seconds. :o

I just put the disc in my xbox and it just...works :confused::pac: