Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Moone Boy (Sky One)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,325 ✭✭✭✭Dozen Wicked Words

This is on twice again tonight, they must be afraid people won't stick it out if they're going to condense all 6 episodes into 3 weeks.

Isnt it just repeating the first 2 episodes again though.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Ah, I thought it was new episodes tonight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

The new episode is on Friday :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,893 ✭✭✭Hannibal Smith

I had to watch it again...I love it! So so funny. Can't wait for tomorrow nights. Love seeing some of the people from The Clinic in it too. That show should never have been axed.

I feel like a ghost buster :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,194 ✭✭✭Onthe3rdDay

jojo86 wrote: »
    No, I'm not comparing it to Ted in a sense. What I'm saying is the humor is similar in the sense it holds a fun house mirror up to society. Harmless fun. And probably when Ted started and I know I'm right, a lot of people just hated it for being a bit daft or whatever. That's where I am drawing my comparisons. Don't get me wrong I adore Fr.Ted and for sheer hilarity don't think it will ever be matched but I believe that the two have an essence which is similar.

Father Ted wasn't universally loved until at least Season 2. I remember a lot of complaints during season one that it wasn't funny. (and that's not counting the one's giving out that it mocked Ireland and the Church)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

phasers wrote: »
    You did not just compare this programme to the genius that was Father Ted.
    You might not remember when Fr Ted first came out. After the first two episodes the general consensus was that it was not funny, it was very predictable, relied too heavily on stupid, outdated Irish stereotypes (priests FFS) and Dermot Morgan, as well as the chap playing the idiot priest, couldn't act their way out of a paper bag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77,087 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Watched the first two episodes yesterday, showed a lot of promise. Some of the humour in places reminded me of 'Malcolm In The Middle', which of course is no bad thing.

And always good to hear Sultans Of Ping in a sitcom! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Wow, I can't believe that people didn't like Father Ted when it came out! I knew the Catholic Church gave out about it but I always though the public loved it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,659 ✭✭✭✭dahamsta

Father Ted is nearly 20 years old now, 1995. The Catholic Church had a lot tighter grip on Ireland back then. They weren't /allowed/ to like it. Down with that sort of thing.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,680 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

I enjoyed both episodes. They werent amazing, but on face value, it was very easy to watch, a bit of light humour and a little bit of a story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,712 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Was away last week when this started and just watched the first two..

.. thought it absolutely hilarious tbh!

Steve Coogan stole the show in the second episode.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,446 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

I love how Martin even sounds like Chris when he speaks.

Some of the dialougue is not too authentic, IMO. No-one addressed eachother as "pal" back in the late 80s. Or called songs anything other than songs or records, never tunes.

But these are small gripes. I think this is quite funny.

Or maybe I'm just enjoying the nostalgia.

1989, I remember it well...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Another very good episode imo, less cringey this time around.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,323 ✭✭✭Max_Charger

Tonights episode was far better then the first two I felt. Deirde O'Kane was brilliant in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

Just saw the second(or third?) episode there on Sky1, having not seen the first one.

Brilliant. Just brilliant. Really funny stuff from start to finish and very well paced.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,893 ✭✭✭Hannibal Smith

I loved it tonight...the dancing made me chuckle, so cute! The whole'if you spent more time doing your own make up' :D. My fave tv comedy for a long time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,712 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Really is the best comedy Sky has probably ever done.. not that they're done many good ones!

But it is top-notch... performances are top-class from all involved (even the kid who plays Martin - who while not always convincing - is so damn likable)!

Think even Sky knew they were onto a winner since they commissioned a second season before it even started.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,706 ✭✭✭120_Minutes

watched the first three tonight, enjoyed them a lot. it was my first time laughing out load at irish comedy since hardy bucks. Plus as the only son and youngest of 4 myself, some of it rings a bit true for me.

or as steve coogan put it: "brillant"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,613 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Really good third episode

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,610 ✭✭✭ArtSmart

I dunno folks. I must be missing something.

ok, compared to sky's Spy, (which strangely enough, also has a kid in it) which is better?

is it the nostalgic thing getting to people? what? i just cant see it. yes, there's a few laughs, and well, that's about it. watching Spy for instance, you get a roller coaster of laughs, every 3 sec or so. this veers into social commentary, semi-drama. and when i say veer, i mean slowly trawls its way through banal side issues.

i dunno, i'm out of touch

Basq wrote: »
    Really is the best comedy Sky has probably ever done.. not that they're done many good ones!

But it is top-notch... performances are top-class from all involved (even the kid who plays Martin - who while not always convincing - is so damn likable)!

Think even Sky knew they were onto a winner since they commissioned a second season before it even started.
    I imagine to hang onto the rising international star that is O'Dowd, before he became unavailable.

Well, I'm happy its going down so well, as it's co-written by O'Dowd, who i like, a lot.

not for me though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

ArtSmart wrote: »
    I dunno folks. I must be missing something.

ok, compared to sky's Spy, (which strangely enough, also has a kid in it) which is better?

is it the nostalgic thing getting to people? what? i just cant see it. yes, there's a few laughs, and well, that's about it. watching Spy for instance, you get a roller coaster of laughs, every 3 sec or so. this veers into social commentary, semi-drama. and when i say veer, i mean slowly trawls its way through banal side issues.

i dunno, i'm out of touch

Definitely not nostalgia for me anyway. I just find it funny, for example in tonight's show there were a few parts that made me laugh out loud and that doesn't happen very often with comedies these days.

When the kid was dancing and his sister was looking out the window and said something like "what a knobbucket".
    At the very end when the weightwatchers lads tried to get through the wall and couldn't
    The kid's conversations with his imaginary friend while sitting on the wall and building the wall

as well as a lot more.

wnolan1992 wrote: »
    Definitely not nostalgia for me anyway. I just find it funny, for example in tonight's show there were a few parts that made me laugh out loud and that doesn't happen very often with comedies these days.

When the kid was dancing and his sister was looking out the window and said something like "what a knobbucket".
    At the very end when the weightwatchers lads tried to get through the wall and couldn't
    The kid's conversations with his imaginary friend while sitting on the wall and building the wall

as well as a lot more.
    yeah, fair enough. i suppose i'm just not a fan of comedy drama - for me it's one or the other. I did appreciate the Hasslehorf thingy, and a few other bits, but, as for LOL, nope.

anyway,, as i say, hope it does well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭kevohmsford

Really enjoying the show so far. Used to love MacGyver.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,659 ✭✭✭✭dahamsta

I have "and yer socks" stuck in my head.

Yerman "playing with himself" in tonight's episode was a classic Linehan moment, like the jump shot to the ambulance in Father Ted when someone comes to Jack's attention. You know it's coming but you still LOL. As someone else said, O'Dowd was paying attention when he was doing The IT Crowd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,706 ✭✭✭120_Minutes

Plus the irony that as one wall is coming down, another is going back up....

I'm also a sucker for tv themes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

That was very good indeed :D love Chris Odowd, I must say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

I think it is an excellent show. There are a lot of characters for a 30 minute show and it jumps around a lot, but it is very enjoyable and it's great to see UK viewers getting to see a quality Irish Comedy after the appalling Mrs Br**ns B**s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭jojo86

Skid wrote: »
    I think it is an excellent show. There are a lot of characters for a 30 minute show and it jumps around a lot, but it is very enjoyable and it's great to see UK viewers getting to see a quality Irish Comedy after the appalling Mrs Br**ns B**s.

I could not agree more. It's about time some intellectual and witty comedy was showcased from this island.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭purplegeko

Love Love Love Moone Boy. Its just so irish. I can relate to all of it - its like my childhood on screen.