Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Keep Calm And Discuss Retro Generally!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,622 ✭✭✭✭OwaynOTT

Ouch, sunlight!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,912 ✭✭✭Steve X2

Pyongyang wrote: »
    Ah ok. Was kind of expecting that. A shame really as it's not a counterfeit (was shop bought in HMV) so you'd expect it to be top drawer.

Hmm, so the question begs, how do you go about plopping the revised subs on there and yet retain a 1:1 copy? Or are the revised subs downloadable once I pop the BR in to my BR player?

Rip the blu ray and create an mkv with all the subs in it you like.
    You can keep the original subs as well as the revised (fan translated) ones.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,328 ✭✭✭Pyongyang

Cool so that would get me a 1:1 copy and I'd be able to drop the subs right in there? Would that retain the original audio tracks? I think this print has the HD 7.1 or something like that which I'd want to run through the AV setup of course. :)

Pyongyang wrote: »
    Cool so that would get me a 1:1 copy and I'd be able to drop the subs right in there? Would that retain the original audio tracks? I think this print has the HD 7.1 or something like that which I'd want to run through the AV setup of course. :)

An mkv file is just a container for as many video, audio and sub tracks you want at whatever compression you decide so you can keep all the video and audio quality at the expense of file size.
    Probably wont play in your Blu Ray player unless its also a general media player but it will work on a PC/Mac just fine.

Or you could go the whole hog on it and master your own Blu Ray version of the movie with the revised subs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,328 ✭✭✭Pyongyang

Would an Apple TV play an MKV? My Sony BR player has USB input/playback ability, I wonder if an MKV will work?

Will look in to all this. Food for thought, cheers. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

Some clarity on the Cheetman 2 'scam'

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,754 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

So, decided to play COD:MW3 the other day, and so now it's nearly finished!
    Why herald these titles and then put in a pitiful amount of single player mode in?
    At least it'll be traded in as part of the NSMB2 fund.

This $200 NeogeoX looks crappier everytime I see it.
    I wonder who will buy one?
    Anyone current gen gamers couldn't care less about the Neo Geo.
    Anyone retro gamers wouldn't touch it with a ten foot pole.
    So, who is the target audience?

Also, Star Wars 1313 looks lovely, but according to "blurb" it'll be coming to PC and "next gen" consoles, which at this stage must mean the MS and Sony offerings in 2013.... hmmm, feeling sorry for my 360 already.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 3,184 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dr Bob

Steve SI wrote: »
    EnterNow wrote: »
    Hey yo Tuco!

breakingbadart1465x368.jpg
    beastbrotherswhitelargec.png
    I watched 4 and a bit seasons in the last two weeks , good stuff:) only copped that yer wan who plays skylar was in' legacy of kain' afterward...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,436 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

CiDeRmAn wrote: »
    This $200 NeogeoX looks crappier everytime I see it.
    I wonder who will buy one?
    Anyone current gen gamers couldn't care less about the Neo Geo.
    Anyone retro gamers wouldn't touch it with a ten foot pole.
    So, who is the target audience?.

So it's an expensive item with no real target audience.

That basically means it'll be worth 5+ times it's current worth in a few years because nobody will have bought one. I may just pick one up for the investment.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Andrew76

o1s1n wrote: »
    So it's an expensive item with no real target audience.

That basically means it'll be worth 5+ times it's current worth in a few years because nobody will have bought one. I may just pick one up for the investment.

You'd be better off buying 200 scratch cards as your investment. :)

Wouldn't be surprised if we see them appear on ebay for even sillier money straight after they release.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭DinoRex

This is like the video game equivalent of that botched Jesus fresco:

bL3DA.jpg

DinoRex wrote: »
    This is like the video game equivalent of that botched Jesus fresco:

bL3DA.jpg

Out the window go:

Aesthetics
    Portability
    Ergonomics
    Useability
    Functionality
    Dignity

AVGN's conclusion of the Snes/Megadrive wars!

EnterNow wrote: »
    AVGN's conclusion of the Snes/Megadrive wars!

US Retrogamer in bias towards Nintendo shocker!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,320 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

There's a big thread about that video on hardcore gaming 101. There wasn't any mention of some of the Megadrives best games. The streets of rage sequels were left out of the beat'em up discussion and it only showed the archaic looking first game. Same with RPG discussion, the very dated Phantasy Star 2 was shown yet no mention of Shining in the Darkness, Shining Force and Phantasy Star 4, a game many think is better than FF6 or Chrono Trigger. And where the hell were Gunstar Heroes, Alien Soldier and Rocket Knight Adventures.

The tech spec discussion was pretty poor as well. No mention of how the megadrives better ram and processor specs makes it better for sprite heavy action games. The SVP chip was completely ignored for the Super FX discussion. The Megadrive ran in a higher resolution than the SNES, the high res mode of the SNES was only used in maybe two obscure games and the character naming screens in Secret of Mana and Secret of Evermore.

One other thing is the music. While the SNES usually sounds an awful lot better since it uses wave tables of instrument samples, the limits of ROM space meant they were often very low quality. The Megadrive's FM synthesis meant that music was generated on the fly rather than from samples meaning it was usually a much higher bitrate than the SNES. It usually sounded terrible since most sound programmers working on the Megadrive didn't know how to use it but in the hands of some one with experience using FM synthesis it sounded amazing. Yuzo Koshiro for example was used to FM synthesis having used it on the PC-8801 and still uses that machine to compose music, while Sega employees were experienced with the Mark III FM add on and Konami had it's own FM chip it used in NES carts, explaining why games that these were involved in sounded so good while others sounded god awful.

Way too much Killer Instinct and Donkey Kong Country love as well :P

I enjoyed the videos and wouldn't get my knickers in a twist as much as those guys but it's easy to see that James Rolfe hasn't much experience or knowledge on the Genesis and he does say this in the first video I believe.

I think people might be taking things a bit too seriously. He does stress in the video that its based around his own experiences that he had growing up during the 16bit era.

It's his opinion, not a long boring drawn out horse-sh1t type overview of the era.

Jeez, people sometimes.

Edit:
    So ever since I start doing the Nerd series, I always felt like, it would make a great subject for a video...but I've always held back because I felt the whole thing was so much bigger than I am. How could I do it justice? To really do a proper analysis of both systems would take months and months of concentrating on just that. So the only thing I can give, is an opinion.

People seriously need to cop the fukc onto themselves [HG101, not you guys]. He says it in plain english its his opinion, not a drawn out & accurate comparison.

/rant

Retr0gamer wrote: »
    There's a big thread about that video on hardcore gaming 101. There wasn't any mention of some of the Megadrives best games. The streets of rage sequels were left out of the beat'em up discussion and it only showed the archaic looking first game. Same with RPG discussion, the very dated Phantasy Star 2 was shown yet no mention of Shining in the Darkness, Shining Force and Phantasy Star 4, a game many think is better than FF6 or Chrono Trigger. And where the hell were Gunstar Heroes, Alien Soldier and Rocket Knight Adventures.

The tech spec discussion was pretty poor as well. No mention of how the megadrives better ram and processor specs makes it better for sprite heavy action games. The SVP chip was completely ignored for the Super FX discussion. The Megadrive ran in a higher resolution than the SNES, the high res mode of the SNES was only used in maybe two obscure games and the character naming screens in Secret of Mana and Secret of Evermore.

One other thing is the music. While the SNES usually sounds an awful lot better since it uses wave tables of instrument samples, the limits of ROM space meant they were often very low quality. The Megadrive's FM synthesis meant that music was generated on the fly rather than from samples meaning it was usually a much higher bitrate than the SNES. It usually sounded terrible since most sound programmers working on the Megadrive didn't know how to use it but in the hands of some one with experience using FM synthesis it sounded amazing. Yuzo Koshiro for example was used to FM synthesis having used it on the PC-8801 and still uses that machine to compose music, while Sega employees were experienced with the Mark III FM add on and Konami had it's own FM chip it used in NES carts, explaining why games that these were involved in sounded so good while others sounded god awful.

Way too much Killer Instinct and Donkey Kong Country love as well :P

I enjoyed the videos and wouldn't get my knickers in a twist as much as those guys but it's easy to see that James Rolfe hasn't much experience or knowledge on the Genesis and he does say this in the first video I believe.

...well never mind the Genesis , in the nineties the Megadrive was arguably the better console of the two here, since Nintendo's half assed attitude to Europe meant late (or non existent)releases of titles , and SNES games and hardware cost more (and a lot more than the US)
    .At least sega gave a damn about gaming outside Japan and America back then.
    Dont get me wrong , theres a lot of decent SNES games , but if you made me choose between the snes and the meg , I'd give up the snes without a second thought....

Dr Bob wrote: »
    ...well never mind the Genesis , in the nineties the Megadrive was arguably the better console of the two here, since Nintendo's half assed attitude to Europe meant late (or non existent)releases of titles , and SNES games and hardware cost more (and a lot more than the US)
    Dont get me wrong , theres a lot of decent SNES games , but if you made me choose between the snes and the meg , I'd give up the snes without a second thought....

Thats the kind of mentality that Rolfe based his two videos on, his opinions & experiences. I'd keep the snes without doubt over the Megadrive, & I'm not even an American! :p It's just the particular experiences one had along the way that shape how you feel about it today.

People giving out about the lack of detail in his 'review' though? Seriously HG101??

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,320 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Well HG101 is a site that is based on publishing articles that pride themselves on that fact that they do go into such depth on each topic so it's to be expected :) Anyway it's just the users of the site's forum, not the people that run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,398 ✭✭✭Doge

Retr0gamer wrote: »
    Well HG101 is a site that is based on publishing articles that pride themselves on that fact that they do go into such depth on each topic so it's to be expected :) Anyway it's just the users of the site's forum, not the people that run.

Well just incase you missed my edit, here's Rolfe's own words:
    So ever since I start doing the Nerd series, I always felt like, it would make a great subject for a video...but I've always held back because I felt the whole thing was so much bigger than I am. How could I do it justice? To really do a proper analysis of both systems would take months and months of concentrating on just that. So the only thing I can give, is an opinion.

Really am starting to despair for people, mostly Americans, but in general too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭CosmicSmash

I would have to roll with the SNES but that's my opinion, When the SNES was on the shelves here there were retailers in Dublin stocking import titles of both US and Japanese variety. Harry Moore and Mr Calculator were two that I used at the time so titles were available if you knew where to look. Your statement of "in the nineties the Megadrive was arguably the better console of the two here", sounds like school playground talk of the early nineties. My Megadrive is better than your SNES sort of talk. They were both great consoles as far as I can see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,436 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Just after watching the latest Breaking Bad. One one more episode now and then the wait until next summer begins. I think it may kill me!

o1s1n wrote: »
    Just after watching the latest Breaking Bad. One one more episode now and then the wait until next summer begins. I think it may kill me!

And a great episode it was.
    You've probably seen this but others may not have.

Edit:
    Might be some spoilers if you've not seen the show ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭DinoRex

Most annoying thing about the Transformers: Fall of Cybertron game? They've changed Slag's name to Slug so as not to offend cockneys.

Monkeykube wrote: »
    I would have to roll with the SNES but that's my opinion, When the SNES was on the shelves here there were retailers in Dublin stocking import titles of both US and Japanese variety. Harry Moore and Mr Calculator were two that I used at the time so titles were available if you knew where to look. Your statement of "in the nineties the Megadrive was arguably the better console of the two here", sounds like school playground talk of the early nineties. My Megadrive is better than your SNES sort of talk. They were both great consoles as far as I can see.
    you have a point there .
    ah yeah , in fairness they were both decent systems,and at this stage you cant really say one was better than the other , just which one you prefered.
    I tend to get a bit bullish after looking at "Z0mg Nintendo are teh awesome sega who" US retrogaming stuff though , hence my earlier statement
    I still stand by my belief Nintendo's support for Europe was and still is shoddy, Sega at least seemed to actually actively support their systems here.

Steve SI wrote: »
    And a great episode it was.
    You've probably seen this but others may not have.

Edit:
    Might be some spoilers if you've not seen the show ever.
    that is fantastic!

CiDeRmAn wrote: »
    Frightened the crap out of me when your woman was turned into a cyborg, still gives me the heebie jeebies!

"The one thing I can't stand is... greed", classic Robert Vaughn line from Supes 3, as well when he comments on what sort of idiot would draw attention to himself after embezzling the millions from his company, before Pryor comes roaring into the parking lot with his Ferrari.
    Also, the Supes Vs Kent fight was pretty good, tbh it felt like it was out of a different, better movie than the one we got.

The less said about Superman 4 the better.
    Jaysus I'd totally forgotten about that , I was TERRIFIED of that as a kid , had nightmares for weeks.
    Still think 2 was the best of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,183 ✭✭✭✭Atavan-Halen

Megadrive roolz, SNES droolz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭CosmicSmash

Sega at least seemed to actually actively support their systems here.

Don't get me wrong one of the worst things that happened for me was when the Dreamcast was pulled. It was a great console that lost out to the Sony marketing machine despite the best efforts of Sega. I hope Sega continues to make great games despite the recent news of European office closures.