Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stolen Bikes Thread - Mod Note please read post #1 before posting

• Registered Users Posts: 36,167 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Friend of a friends fixie stolen last night.
    Rathfarnham area.
    306715_494253650591496_745202850_n.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 2,822 ✭✭✭air

A friends place near Croke Park was raided last week and four bikes were taken.
    The most distinctive was a fixie he had only recently finished building.
    It has an Archie Wilkinson black frame with straight chrome fork, bull bars, single time trial brake lever, old school leather saddle, 26 x 1 3/8in vee section rims and black bagaboo pedal straps.

212378.jpg

The second bike stolen was a blue Specialized Allez Elite 2007. It has a Shimano 105 groupset and a set of almost new Fulcrum Racing 5s, a white saddle and Look Keo pedals.
    212377.jpg

The other two bikes were hybrids and I will post stock pics when I get my hands on them.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

Hey Guys,

Long shot and as much a bitch as anything but just in case anyone sees an ad online, my few month old Trek 1.2 road bike was stolen from my apartment block over the past few weeks - I was away on business for 3 weeks and it was locked in a residence only bike shed in Mount Merrion. Ripping etc but sure...

Anyway, it is mostly black in colour with flicks of red and white on it - the Trek logo etc are in white. It has a white bontrager saddle (most seem to come come with blacks ones), white handle bar grips (still quite clean) and has a small "Tommy the Bike" (shop in Dundalk where it was bought from) sticker facing up on the handle bar end of the cross bar (about the size of 20c coin and the sticker has blue writing on it).

Anyway, have been searching all of the normal places online to see whether it is advertised for sale anyway. If anyone comes across anything, I would appreciate if you could flag it with me.

Luke

• Registered Users Posts: 294 ✭✭eoinkildare

Hello all,
    If anyone has had a Boardman bike stolen on them or knows someone who has, please PM me. The bicycle is in the possession of the Gardai but the owner cannot be identified at the moment.

Thanks.

• Registered Users Posts: 294 ✭✭eoinkildare

Didn't realise there was a dedicated thread. Mods, please move, thank you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 suben

Hi, my bike got stolen on Lower Abbey Street yesterday (within the space of half an hour) - it was a Ridgeback Motion Purple Ladies Bike.

Here's a photo of it http://images.search.conduit.com/ImagePreview/?q=ridgeback%20motion&ctid=CT2801948&searchsource=49&start=0&pos=1
    Mine also has mudguards and a rack at the back. A light on the front and back and 2 bells (one doesn't work)

It was bought in Hollingsworth in Kilmacud so might have a sticker on it.

Much appreciated if anyone has seen it, please contact me. Was a great bike that I used to get to work with and can't afford to buy another.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭MB Lacey

suben wrote: »
    Hi, my bike got stolen on Lower Abbey Street yesterday (within the space of half an hour) - it was a Ridgeback Motion Purple Ladies Bike.
    Sorry to hear that suben.
    Where did you lock it and did they cut through your lock do you know?
    I often park mine on the same street.

Hope you get it back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 suben

Me too!!! I'm lost without it!

I parked it outside the Abbey and locked it to one of the bike rails and was gone for less than a half hour. Mine seemed to have been the only one taken, it is only about a month old.

I'm presuming they cut through it as I had secured it to the rail although the lock was gone too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,824 ✭✭✭Qualitymark

Cross-posted from Emergency Services:

http://pegtech.com/products/law-enfo...it-bike-system

Bait Bike Tracking
    Click here for the SpyBike Bicycle GPS Tracker for bike owners
    Bike Theft
    Bicycle theft is one of the most common property crimes in every city and college campus in the country. Despite its popularity, it is still a crime that remains difficult to solve. Not only are these criminals difficult to catch in the act, most bike thieves are serial in nature and will continue committing thefts until they are captured. In addition, most bike thieves are involved in many other types of crime as well.
    A Proactive Solution
    Another product in its line of proactive Bait products, Pegasus Technologies, Inc. has developed the ProAct-IV Stolen Bicycle Tracking System. Designed to combat many types of property theft, the ProAct-IV series of products is a flexible and very effective means of putting an early end to the criminal's career.
    While the ProAct-IV Bicycle Theft Tracking System is a completely portable and self-contained monitoring and tracking system, it is also compatible and interoperable with existing city-wide law enforcement Electronic Tracking Systems (ETS), allowing easy integration into existing electronic tracking programs.

How it Works
    The Bicycle Theft Tracking System consists of six components:
    Bicycle Mounted Motion Activated Transmitter
    Alert Monitor
    Mobile Tracking Receiver
    Hand-Held Receiver
    Invisible Clue Spray
    Battery-Powered Ultraviolet Light

The Motion Activated Transmitter is cleverly hidden within the bicycle and the bicycle's handgrips are covered with fluorescent Clue Spray or paste, visible only when viewed under an ultraviolet light.
    The bait bike is left unattended in the targeted area and the transmitter is armed. Once the bike is stolen, the hidden transmitter is automatically activated and begins sending its silent tracking signal. The Alert Monitor, installed within reception range of the transmitter, receives the transmitter's signal and sends a message to a predetermined pager or cell phone. The bait bike can now be tracked and located using the Mobile Tracking and Hand-Held Receivers. Once the stolen bicycle is located, suspects may be further identified by checking for the presence of Clue Spray.
    Benefits
    Law enforcement and the entire community benefit from the immediate capture of thieves that would otherwise continue in their criminal efforts. This often leads to the recovery of additional stolen property and the solving of other theft crimes. While bicycle theft will always be a problem, the ProAct-IV Bicycle Theft Tracking System gives law enforcement another powerful tool to make a real difference in the community.

And here's a video demo of how it works

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dEeQCe2F_1I

(not the "bait bike" to catch a thief, but a cyclist using it for his own bike.)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭Gavin

Looks interesting, but you'd have to mash the starnut right down into the steerer-tube. It looks like anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 559 ✭✭✭sebphoto

suben wrote: »
    Me too!!! I'm lost without it!

I parked it outside the Abbey and locked it to one of the bike rails and was gone for less than a half hour. Mine seemed to have been the only one taken, it is only about a month old.

I'm presuming they cut through it as I had secured it to the rail although the lock was gone too.

They always take the lock (chain or whatever you have used to lock your bike) to prevent identification of tools which they use.
    It was the same M.O. in my case.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 5,778 Mod ✭✭✭✭irish_goat

Friend's bike was robbed off him at knifepoint 2 nights ago in Smithfield.

217879_3153718496598_1341469231_n.jpg
    This is my bike that was stolen when I was attacked in smith field on Wednesday night please share and contact me if you see it around Dublin please the guy that cycled off on it was around 6 foot tall dark hair he was carrying a dark green army style rucksack and was wearing a dark jacket he also had a deep Dublin voice. Thanks

• Registered Users Posts: 5,143 ✭✭✭locum-motion

My mate's bike was nicked.

It's a silver 2008 Specialised Rockhopper. Odd tyres. Thieves cut through 2 wire locks and a bike rack to get it. It may still have 2 D locks attached.

I'd appreciate a PM if anyone sees such a bike offered for sale.

Thanks.

• Registered Users Posts: 3 Ivanico

Mi bike got stolen at Fitzwilliam Point Building the parking lot @ Fitzwilliam Quay in Ringsend. If anyone get's to see it I would be greatly appreciated. I reported it to Gardai and the bike was locked with a quality Abus U lock that was cutted and the lock was taken as well.

7567589190_497652cac6_h.jpg

Interesting video, which shows crime in London.
    part 1: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6AdugFzCi24
    part 2: http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=endscreen&v=rhPzF-hyC7Q&NR=1

It seems that only built in GPS inside the frame would be perfect solution.
    Hopefully manufacturers will do something like this.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,931 ✭✭✭PrzemoF

The bike was stolen yesterday evening (22.07.2012, between 6 and 8.30 pm) in Cork
    If you see the bike somewhere please contact me NO E-MAILS, the original owner or Gardai
    Thanks for help!

214323.jpg
    214324.jpg
    214325.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 67 ✭✭Jed and Dave

was locked last night outside the Abbey Theatre when i came back an hour later it was gone...should have purchased a better lock...:rolleyes:

It needs a couple of good, well-publicised stings by the Gardaí to catch bike thieves in the act (preferably loading up vans full of bikes). Do the Guards realise how extremely well this would play in their PR? People *love* it when bike thieves are caught.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,181 ✭✭✭k123456

Interesting video, which shows crime in London.
    part 1: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6AdugFzCi24
    part 2: http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature...PzF-hyC7Q&NR=1

Do Irish Garda ever carry out sting opearations similar to Videos above

• Registered Users Posts: 162 ✭✭Daxve

Trek 7.3FX Disc Mens 22.5” frame
    Silver in colour
    S/N WTU283C0296F
    Time late Saturday night 22nd to early Sunday morning 23rd July – before lunch time anyway.
    Stock other than I changed the pedals for aluminium ones and the bike has skinny removeable black mud guards held in place with a cable ties. There is also a clear plastic covering on the rear of the frame to project paintwork, which I never removed.

The bike was stolen form the underground car park where I live in Stillorgan. It was locked to a secure railing using a Kryptonite New York, An Onguard Mastiff 10mm chain and a smaller Arbus chain – yes 3 locks! They cut through them with an angle grinder or similar cutting tool the locks were taken as well but I found the links they cut from the chains that’s how I know how they cut through them.

Any information appreciated.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭Gavin

Daxve wrote: »
    The bike was stolen form the underground car park where I live in Stillorgan. It was locked to a secure railing using a Kryptonite New York, An Onguard Mastiff 10mm chain and a smaller Arbus chain – yes 3 locks! They cut through them with an angle grinder or similar cutting tool the locks were taken as well but I found the links they cut from the chains that’s how I know how they cut through them.

Holy cow ! I didn't think that thieves would go to that level of effort. That's rough going, you did everything right and still it got robbed.

• Registered Users Posts: 162 ✭✭Daxve

Yeah they got a few bikes in one go I'd say they had it cased out and knew exactly what they were looking for my mountain bike was also locked to the Trek and they left it as it has little resale value.

• Registered Users Posts: 184 ✭✭ocy

Bianchi CAMALEONTE 1
    Only 9 months old
    Hubbys bike stolen from office underground office carpark near peppercanister church
    Its dark grey in colour and the most distinguishing feature would be that it had a child seat mounted at rear (co-pilot limo) http://www.amazon.com/CoPilot-Limo-Bicycle-Child-Seat/dp/B000G1YO2I minus the orange insert, and fairly worn looking with loads of road grit all over, even if the child seat is removed it is mounted on a carrier so the carrier could still be on the bike and has a bracket mounted on crossbar for a wee-ride child seat. http://www.amazon.com/WeeRide-Mounting-Center-Child-Carrier/dp/B000I43RVW
    Gutted as in Oct his Trek 7.5 was stolen from garden shed.. replacing bikes is an expensive hobby

• Registered Users Posts: 2 DenaWalker

I had my brand new bike stolen tonight from in front of the AIB on Capel Street. It was a Lapierre Shaper 100 and was locked to the bike rail (through both wheels and around the frame with a top of the range lock!)

Frame number of the bike is SW11J4291 and it is security marked with unique code: IEAA0460.

In the rare chance that anyone sees it, please can you report it to Bridewell Garda Station (where I've reported the theft).

Thanks a million.

624933784.jpeg

PS the pic is of the bike locked up at work, not in town.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭Crow92

Was it a U-lock with an extender cable going through the front wheels? What was actually locked to the stand?

Has a guy in work telling me he had a chain, coil lock and U-lock and all 3 were cut :/

• Registered Users Posts: 2 DenaWalker

Crow92 wrote: »
    Was it a U-lock with an extender cable going through the front wheels? What was actually locked to the stand?
    /

It was. Locked through both of the wheels, around the frame and around the bike stand. Only had it two weeks.

It's insured, but I'm still gutted. With the excess etc, I'll still have to fork out again :(

• Registered Users Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭Crow92

It's very sickening =/ What I was getting at was wether the U-lock was attached to the stand or if the coil was what had it connected to the stand.

Had my speakers and small waterproof bag behind the stem stolen off my kaffenback besides Penny's just off O'connell street, they're not worth much at all and always left them on the bike, just took out the mp3 player and contents but serves me a lesson oh becoming too complacent =/

• Registered Users Posts: 2,868 ✭✭✭De Bhál

That's Prince's street is it beside Penny's where the bike stands are. Scobe central around there.
    In fact I would never park a bike on or on any of the streets off O'Connell street. I had a locked bike stolen at the top of the street at the bike stand around 10yrs ago.
    Passing down the street a few times I've seen young lads moving through the bike stands checking locks on bikes.

This whole thread sickens me. I cannot believe the amount of bikes robbed.

Probably a naive question but where do they all go??

Crow92 wrote: »
    It's very sickening =/ What I was getting at was wether the U-lock was attached to the stand or if the coil was what had it connected to the stand.

Had my speakers and small waterproof bag behind the stem stolen off my kaffenback besides Penny's just off O'connell street, they're not worth much at all and always left them on the bike, just took out the mp3 player and contents but serves me a lesson oh becoming too complacent =/

De Bhál wrote: »
    That's Prince's street is it beside Penny's where the bike stands are. Scobe central around there.
    In fact I would never park a bike on or on any of the streets off O'Connell street. I had a locked bike stolen at the top of the street at the bike stand around 10yrs ago.
    Passing down the street a few times I've seen young lads moving through the bike stands checking locks on bikes.

This whole thread sickens me. I cannot believe the amount of bikes robbed.

Another naive question: what are the gardai doing about bike thefts?

Bike stealing is a gateway to bigger crimes - even if the gardai don't think stealing property worth hundreds of euro is important.

There are cameras all over O'Connell Street, staffed by gardai in the station there - are they watching the thieves and doing nothing? Surely they're not powerless.

When did you last hear of a bike thief or a ring of bike thieves being brought to court?

De Bhál wrote: »

I bet they sell these bikes on the streets for 20% of actual value. Also these bikes might be 500km away within 24 hours since they were stolen.