Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stolen Bikes Thread - Mod Note please read post #1 before posting

• Registered Users Posts: 22,237 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Eru wrote: »
    doc1976 wrote: »
    Would it be any use sending the thread link to the Guards??
    Surely all these bikes have been reported as stolen with the same leverl of detail provided?

It might wake them up as to the scale of what's happening?
    Gardai know about crime stats a lot more than the random person but how many people lock their bikes to trees / lamposts / etc away from racks?

How much time can Gardai spend monitoring a specific bike rack?

How many people don't report it?

How many people don't have a clue about the serial number of their bike? Unless its a very very specialised bike that leaves the Gardai with no evidence to match your bike with the one Mr Scumbag is selling.
    dewindygap wrote: »
    Do the Gardaí treat these as serious crimes ?
    You think Gardai dont cycle anywhere and are immune from this crime? I am a Guard and I cycle.

I have taken dozens of reports of bikes stolen where the best info I could get was "I locked it there yesterday morning and its a black mountain bike". WTF do you expect me to do with that kinda information? Watch every CCTV camera in the area for a 24 period looking for someone on a black bike????

Then theres the reports made a week or two weeks after the fact because the persons insurance company told him "Hey you know who likes to hear about crime? The police". Again, where do we even begin when the owner wasn't even arsed about it in the first place?

I have also recovered dozens of stolen bikes but I don't see any threads about it here. Most of them I was able to match to owners but then theres the ones that could not be matched because I can't magically match the black Trek I have with the hundreds reported without serial numbers OR were never reported stolen to begin with.

And just to finish, how many people have called into the Garda stations to look at the recovered bikes sitting there not matched up????

Sorry to hijack a good worthwhile thread but these comments are really unfair and make my blood boil.
    Exceptionally well put. Thanks for commenting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 114 ✭✭spikeprint

To be fair Eru, I reported 4 bikes stolen, one that was hand spray painted with tiger strips, and all with their own identifiable quirks that I would recognise. Never once had a call back telling me anything. In the Bridewell Station the Guard took down the details on a scrap of paper, not a police report. He seemed annoyed I was reporting that crime. Everytime I was told that nothing could be done and I would never see my bike again.

I don't buy that nothing more could be done. There is one website with pictures of recovered garda bikes that hasn't been updated in a long time. Perhaps a thread here created by the Gardai would be of some benefit, rather than a pile of bikes sitting in a yard waiting to be auctioned off because no one has claimed them. Or perhaps use some of these bikes as bait bikes, with some type of tracking devices fitted. Something more needs to be done. If it was a spate of burglaries in an area it would would make the news. Some of these bikes cost up to €1,000, even more, and there is no strategy to stop it.

I find it really unfair and it makes my blood boil.

• Registered Users Posts: 164 ✭✭doc1976

spikeprint wrote: »
    To be fair Eru, I reported 4 bikes stolen, one that was hand spray painted with tiger strips, and all with their own identifiable quirks that I would recognise. Never once had a call back telling me anything. In the Bridewell Station the Guard took down the details on a scrap of paper, not a police report. He seemed annoyed I was reporting that crime. Everytime I was told that nothing could be done and I would never see my bike again.

I don't buy that nothing more could be done. There is one website with pictures of recovered garda bikes that hasn't been updated in a long time. Perhaps a thread here created by the Gardai would be of some benefit, rather than a pile of bikes sitting in a yard waiting to be auctioned off because no one has claimed them. Or perhaps use some of these bikes as bait bikes, with some type of tracking devices fitted. Something more needs to be done. If it was a spate of burglaries in an area it would would make the news. Some of these bikes cost up to €1,000, even more, and there is no strategy to stop it.

Totally agree. A guard passed me as I discovered my bike stolen from the top of Grafton St. He took down my details with the a pen that half worked and told me I'd receive a report in the post. I hadn't received a report in a abt a week so I followed it up in Pearse St station, nothing was logged on the system and I was told to come back in a couple of days. Did that and still nothing done. I also said to him that it had to be caught on camera as there is cctv at the top of the street but that seemed like to much trouble to check. I offered to watch the cctv but was told no.

Also, most recovered bikes on here seem to be due to the owners endeavour, rather than being reunited to them by the boys in blue.

Furthermore, it's my belief that these thefts are being done by an organised group. Just read the amount of post about the bikes stands being removed rather than the bike lock being cut and also that volume of bikes taken from garden sheds.

Can someone clarify if serial numbers are individual to the bike or just a batch number produced in production?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,596 ✭✭✭AIR-AUSSIE

Totally agree. A guard passed me as I discovered my bike stolen from the top of Grafton St. He took down my details with the a pen that half worked and told me I'd receive a report in the post. I hadn't received a report in a abt a week so I followed it up in Pearse St station, nothing was logged on the system and I was told to come back in a couple of days. Did that and still nothing done. I also said to him that it had to be caught on camera as there is cctv at the top of the street but that seemed like to much trouble to check. I offered to watch the cctv but was told no.

Also, most recovered bikes on here seem to be due to the owners endeavour, rather than being reunited to them by the boys in blue.

Furthermore, it's my belief that these thefts are being done by an organised group. Just read the amount of post about the bikes stands being removed rather than the bike lock being cut and also that volume of bikes taken from garden sheds.

Can someone clarify if serial numbers are individual to the bike or just a batch number produced in production?

Serial numbers are unique to each individual bike.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,303 ✭✭✭CardinalJ

http://stolenbikelog.blogspot.com/

Could become useful if enough people send in their info.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭tipperaryjim

My Black Trek 3900 Mountain Bike with disc brakes was stolen from the secure underground car park of my workplace today, much to my disbelief.

To add to the misery of the situation, the management company failed to inform everyone in the building that the electronic shutter gates to the car park were not working today so it was pretty much a free for all for anyone looking to get up to some thievery.

To the best of my knowledge, 5/6 bikes were taken.

My bike was not locked at the time, nor were any of the others - naive I know but it was in a secure underground car park.

Just wondering if anyone knows if I have any entitlement against the management company with regards to getting compensation for my bike? Taking due diligence/duty of care into account, surely the fact that the gate was out of order today and we were never notified of this gives weight to my case?

(I acknowledge the irony in my duty of care argument above for failing to have the bike locked!).

• Registered Users Posts: 22,237 ✭✭✭✭endacl

My Black Trek 3900 Mountain Bike with disc brakes was stolen from the secure underground car park of my workplace today, much to my disbelief.

To add to the misery of the situation, the management company failed to inform everyone in the building that the electronic shutter gates to the car park were not working today so it was pretty much a free for all for anyone looking to get up to some thievery.

My bike was not locked at the time, nor were any of the others - naive I know but it was in a secure underground car park.

Just wondering if anyone knows if I have any entitlement against the management company with regards to getting compensation for my bike? Taking due diligence/duty of care into account, surely the fact that the gate was out of order today and we were never notified of this gives weight to my case?

(I acknowledge the irony in my duty of care argument above for failing to have the bike locked!).
    This would be a question best put to a solicitor, I suspect....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

are there any disclaimers on the walls of the garage if not they could be liable just a pity the honest folk has to suffer the loss because of bloody thiefs.:mad:
    hope you get a result one way or the other.

• Registered Users Posts: 597 ✭✭✭Tayto2000

Did your report include the serial number? Because everything else, including paintjobs etc (2 mins with a matt black spray can and I've got a nice unidentifiable beater) are useless as evidence of ownership. Quirks you might recognise are of no use to a Garda who has recovered a stolen bike. Serial number, serial number, serial number. There's a reason they're what's used to ID stolen cars and motorcycles as well - everything else is too easily changed.

Tayto2000 wrote: »
    Did your report include the serial number? Because everything else, including paintjobs etc (2 mins with a matt black spray can and I've got a nice unidentifiable beater) are useless as evidence of ownership. Quirks you might recognise are of no use to a Garda who has recovered a stolen bike. Serial number, serial number, serial number. There's a reason they're what's used to ID stolen cars and motorcycles as well - everything else is too easily changed.

Since one of the bikes was brand new I still had the reciepts and serial numbers. As soon as the bike was stolen I went directly to Rathmines Garda station to report it. I told them that I could furnish them with the serial number and if they wanted it they could ring me. I haven't heard back from them. That was four months ago. If they have a database surely they would ring me for my serial number to check it against any they have.
    Serial number, serial number, serial number.
    I doubt that it would even help, there's no system between stations to put all those numbers on a database. A nice job for a new rookie to take on, would solve a lot of issues...

• Registered Users Posts: 36 LugsB

I had a Trek 6000 MTB hard tail stolen from "the secure bicycle lockup" in the basement of my apartment block, Shelbourne Park Apartments. There is no cover by the management company, they didn't want to know and were not interested.

Nearly every single person I know that purchased a bike on the cycle to work scheme has had it stolen.

Since one of the bikes was brand new I still had the reciepts and serial numbers. As soon as the bike was stolen I went directly to Rathmines Garda station to report it. I told them that I could furnish them with the serial number and if they wanted it they could ring me. I haven't heard back from them. That was four months ago. If they have a database surely they would ring me for my serial number to check it against any they have.

If you didn't supply the serial number it's unlikely to have made it onto the pulse system. Gardai aren't going to chase you for missing information, you need to supply it, any other Garda looking at the report is just going to assume that you're one of the hundreds who didn't have it recorded.
    I doubt that it would even help, there's no system between stations to put all those numbers on a database. A nice job for a new rookie to take on, would solve a lot of issues...

There is, the nice thing about the new registration system in Donnybrook and Irishtown is that the data goes on the Pulse system, which means it's nationwide and available to all gardai. At the risk of repeating myself though, you need to get the serial number on there to stand a chance, ahead of time if possible. Again, here are the links to the scheme info:

http://www.scribd.com/doc/79879439/Donnybrook-Gardai-Bicycle-Registration-Scheme

http://www.scribd.com/doc/79879791/Garda-Bicycle-Registration-Form

Sorry to hear you've had so many stolen, I hope it hasn't put you off cycling altogether, we're due some good weather at some point this year surely...

• Registered Users Posts: 382 ✭✭seeing_ie

http://www.bikeshd.co.uk/ scrapes the pictures of bikes from ebay and gumtree.
    Handy way to quickly look for a missing bike if you're in the UK.

• Registered Users Posts: 106 ✭✭FatSh!te

Girlfriends nice steel trekker/commuter stolen the other day. Gutted as it has been brought up to good working order over the past year. Very similar to attached photo, but with new silver mud guards.

Stolen from underground car park of our apartment complex in Dundrum (would be interested if any others stolen in similar manner from the area - let me know by PM). Please keep an eye out.

Stolen between evening of Wednesday 2nd May and Tuesday 8th May.

Supect it could possibly have been stolen to covert into a fixie, so worth looking out for the frame too.

Model:
    • Holdsworth Trekker 21 speed
    Description:
    • White steel frame with red text decals
    • Reynolds 500 tubing in good condition.
    • Black front fork
    • Black flat handle bars
    • Black SRAM friction shifters on handlebars
    • Sliver rack and mudguards
    • Recently replaced wheels, rear cassette, and front chain set
    • Used daily & locked every evening in underground car park bike rack
    Thanks for your time.

• Registered Users Posts: 306 ✭✭SleepDoc

LugsB wrote: »
    I had a Trek 6000 MTB hard tail stolen from "the secure bicycle lockup" in the basement of my apartment block, Shelbourne Park Apartments. There is no cover by the management company, they didn't want to know and were not interested.

Nearly every single person I know that purchased a bike on the cycle to work scheme has had it stolen.

Sorry to hear that. I know this is after the fact, but after one of my bikes was stolen from the underground car park of our apt complex, I just started keeping my bikes in the apartment - against "rules" of course.

Management company can go swing.

If you didn't supply the serial number it's unlikely to have made it onto the pulse system. Gardai aren't going to chase you for missing information, you need to supply it, any other Garda looking at the report is just going to assume that you're one of the hundreds who didn't have it recorded

I was told I would get a follow up call, hence I didn't supply the number. Its a small thing to ask for a phone call when your property worth over €500 is stolen. At the risk of sounding repetitive, nothing is being done. I don't buy that the gardai are doing enough. Its a serious crime that is being committed daily. The garda told me 5 bikes going missing everyday in Rathmines, yet it is rare to see a beat cop. There is no registration system there, surely if that works it would be rolled out in all stations?

Number one on the list of crimes for the gardai is burglary, bike crime is way down the list. I, and I am sure many others, are not happy with the reaction from the gardai to this growing crime. It is being ignored because the device of serial numbers is a handy way to excuse themselves from sorting out the crime.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,307 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

just a mod note this is a stolen bikes thread not a garda discussion thread

• Registered Users Posts: 5 dub_25

my bike was stolen from trinity campus today (have reported to to security and gardai)

it's a small 44cm compact giant ocr in yellow and black with a flat/blade carbon seat post that might distinguish it (see pic). It was second hand, pretty old. If anyone spots it I would appreciate if you could contact myself or gardai.
    cheers

• Registered Users Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭Peace

dub_25 wrote: »
    my bike was stolen from trinity campus today (have reported to to security and gardai)

it's a small 44cm compact giant ocr in yellow and black with a flat/blade carbon seat post that might distinguish it (see pic). It was second hand, pretty old. If anyone spots it I would appreciate if you could contact myself or gardai.
    cheers

Were you using the lock displayed in the pitcure to secure it?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,316 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Peace wrote: »
    Were you using the lock displayed in the pitcure to secure it?

I would hope not. I could get through that with a hammer and a snips in seconds.

• Registered Users Posts: 5 dub_25

Yeah I know, hindsight is great

• Registered Users Posts: 164 ✭✭doc1976

I actually rang up the LBS to see if they would be able to find the serial number for me as I didn't take it down. They informed me that serial numbers are just a batch number produced in the factory and not a unique number. If that is the case then serial numbers are pretty much a waste of time (assuming the same batch will go to the same country)

That's an extremely unhelpful answer from your LBS although not surprising - they wouldn't normally have it recorded. Firstly, the batch number is just another name for the serial number. Secondly, it is a unique code even if it's just a digit or two that is different if two frames are from the same production run (Although I suppose I should qualify this - as long as you know the manufacturer. See below. But most owners should have this information at least). A bit after the horse has bolted for some, but writing it onto the receipt and keeping it in a safe place is a good idea.

There may be some BSO manufacturers that use an identical batch number on a group of frames, I've never seen it but it's possible I suppose. All reputable manufacturers use a unique serial/batch code though, normal practice is sequential numbering following the production code information which is normally meaningless to anyone outside the factory e.g. WJ2345463, WJ2345464 etc. The sequential number may not be the last digit either, it's entirely up to the maker.

While there is no global system to prevent different manufacturers using the same codes, the fact that most codes are 7 - 12 digits long places the chances of your serial number being exactly the same as another bike nearby at astronomical odds. Add in the manufacturer as a cross reference and those odds drop towards zero.

Finally, the proof of the pudding is in the eating - frame/batch/serial numbers are used worldwide by police forces and others as unique identifiers and meet the burden of proof for ownership. If nothing else, they are definitely more reliable than componentry, saddle/wheel/frame colour or any other easily changeable feature on a given bicycle.

• Registered Users Posts: 2 ogradyr4

capewrathDD.html

My bike was stolen from St. Pat's College in Drumcondra today. Was locked in what I thought was a very safe place to leave it! - http://www.falconcycles.co.uk/CORP/cb05/capewrathDD.html

It's the same model as the bike in the pic but I have made a number of notable changes to it over the years.

1. I changed the forks on the bike from the ones in the pic to Marzocchi Mz3s -http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/Images/Models/Full/12673.jpg

2. The tyres have been changed from mtb ones to skinnier commuter bike that tyres (possibly Schwalbe tyres but not fully sure).

3. The handlebar grips have been changed, there is a bright metallic-blue bottle holder on it. There are a number of distinguishable stickers on it but these could easily be removed! Also there was big mtb type mudguards on it but these could be taken off too..

4. The bike also has a number of distinguishable scratches and scrapes from years of loving use:( the front disc rotor is slightly warped and this makes a bit of a squeak from time to time!

Reported it to security and the Gardaí but if anyone sees/hears anything about it I would be so thankful!... any successful leads will be rewarded!

Thanks,
    Rónán

• Registered Users Posts: 348 ✭✭cipo

Lads

Can't believe this has just happened but my pride & joy Wilier Cento Uno in white, red, carbon has just been nicked from my office!! It's 2010 model with SRAM force groupset and ksyrium ssc sl wheels. White bar tape, hudz and saddle with PRO stem and handlebars!!!

Obviously a long shot but anyone who might by the biggest stroke of luck come across it please get in touch...

I can't upload a pic as I'm on my iPhone....

Logged with Gardai and security guard in building who was entirely useless and immediately was on the defensive!!

Anyway don't know what else to do....

Dave

• Registered Users Posts: 21,607 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

cipo wrote: »
    Lads

Can't believe this has just happened but my pride & joy Wilier Cento Uno in white, red, carbon has just been nicked from my office!! It's 2010 model with SRAM force groupset and ksyrium ssc sl wheels. White bar tape, hudz and saddle with PRO stem and handlebars!!!

Obviously a long shot but anyone who might by the biggest stroke of luck come across it please get in touch...

I can't upload a pic as I'm on my iPhone....

Logged with Gardai and security guard in building who was entirely useless and immediately was on the defensive!!

Anyway don't know what else to do....

Dave

Check adverts.ie, gumtree.ie, donedeal etc.
    Another place is markets like Smithfield and Moore street and what not.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭Nabber

Where is your office roughly located?

• Registered Users Posts: 348 ✭✭cipo

North city near Gardiner street...

Thanks for the heads up.. I've already checked adverts, done deal etc!! Will keep
    My eyes peeled!!

Not much hope though....

Gonna go off tomorrow in work..!! Should be fun looking at CCTV video!!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

if it was taken from within work I would look at blaming the security for not doing their jobs - granted they dont know who owns what and cant actually do anything except be a presence/deterrent. (if someone walks/cycles out with a bike they dont know if that person is the owner or has just nicked it)

however, I would explain to your boss that you thought the place was secure and see if the business will pay or make a contribution to a replacement bike.....and the business should do likewise from the security company as the fault does fall squarely on them - check with your boss when the security companies contract is up !! might be worth letting a few other security companies know that there could be a contract up for grabs.... candidates must be capable of watching security cameras and occasionally stop a theft.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 2,151 Mod ✭✭✭✭Oink

Hi All,

I'm joining the club....
    My bike was stolen from Chapelizod between 18:00 last night and 7:30 this morning.
    Viking Vantage Classic - gents - dark grey
    Kryptonite lock. Not locked to anything as there was nothing to anchor to.
    Black pannier bags.
    Reported to Ballyfermot Garda Station.
    I attach a pic...

I'll be checking the websites mentioned above.

Thanks.