If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

The "Today I did something to my car" thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,730 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

I always assumed struts were for chassis stiffness, would I be wrong or is that what you're saying?

• Subscribers Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭conzy

CianRyan wrote: »
    I always assumed struts were for chassis stiffness, would I be wrong or is that what you're saying?

Yeah theres nothing to stop the two strut towers moving independently. A strut brace stiffens the chassis by locking them together on top at least

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭wandererz

Gary ITR wrote: »
    Lads ifye think a strut brace will stiffen the suspension you're mistaken. The idea of a strut brace is to keep the car square under hard cornering, when an upper and lower brace is fitted it keeps the geometry in line

Yep, like i said originally it's to improve the cornering. However it does that i don't care. First step is the upper brace as i was able to get it off a nice guy who ended up being rear-ended.

If it makes a difference it makes a difference. If not, then there's always alternatives.

In this case it's just an example of what i did to my car today...

dgt wrote: »
    People never think of a lower brace...

It's not very often you can find a manufacturer who makes a lower brace for a given car ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

That's my understanding of strut braces, limit twisting/movement of the turret and subframe if a lower brace is fitted.

Sometimes it makes naff all difference, like here. The design of the car means the turrets are welded to the bulkhead :) some upper braces are designed like this
    Image1906.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,209 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

How well an upper strut brace will work depends on the car its fitted too. Modern cars incorporate a lot of chassis strength in their design for reasons of crash safety etc so old tech mods like strut braces have little benefit.

Uprated anti roll bars would give a vastly better and more noticeable improvement even with factory shocks/springs.

It's not very often you can find a manufacturer who makes a lower brace for a given car ;)

If in doubt, make one :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭gollywog

How well an upper strut brace will work depends on the car its fitted too. Modern cars incorporate a lot of chassis strength in their design for reasons of crash safety etc so old tech mods like strut braces have little benefit.

Uprated anti roll bars would give a vastly better and more noticeable improvement even with factory shocks/springs.

I changed the s line anti roll bar on the A4 for the thicker, stiffer rs4 one. Fits grand and made a really noticeable difference for around 100 bobs. Best money I spent on the car :)

Anti rolls bars you say.. Hmm...

*scurries off to ebay.

Anti rolls bars you say.. Hmm...

*scurries off to ebay.

Have TD100 arbs on my van... Basically binned the standard arbs for thick heavy ones from a diesel Bravo.

Coupled with coilys and low pros there is no roll in the corners, its something else from a road car especially a converted van :D

No comparison, a worthy swap :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,925 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

dgt wrote: »
    Have TD100 arbs on my van... Basically binned the standard arbs for thick heavy ones from a diesel Bravo.

Coupled with coilys and low pros there is no roll in the corners, its something else from a road car especially a converted van :D

No comparison, a worthy swap :cool:

Is there anything left original on your cars? :D

Apart from the subframe, rack and column.... No :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,569 ✭✭✭166man

He's got an Alfa interior on the Bravo... Likes to think he has a real car obviously... :D

*Waits for someone to point out they are the same thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,076 ✭✭✭homer90

166man wrote: »

*Waits for someone to point out they are the same thing.

They are the same thing :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,412 ✭✭✭andyseadog

lowered the glanza there yesterday :)

front before

photo06542.jpg

front after

photo06602.jpg

rear before

photo06552.jpg

rear after

photo06622.jpg

trolley jack got stuck under the skirt, so i had to use the jack from the boot to get it back :pac:

photo06582.jpg

and heres a photo of the difference with just the front down

photo06592.jpg

waiting until its clean to take pics of it all :)

edit, half me pics are fecking sideways ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Hal1

What's that 40mm all round? have you gone for a test ride yet?

yup, just 40mm springs in an "old" pair of shocks. its very (read : uncomfortably) firm. had a front and back seat passenger in it and no rubbing on 185 14's :)

only drove it a few miles to make sure all was well, dropped it off to be re-tracked this morning, take it for a good rip then :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭E39MSport

gollywog wrote: »
    NOOOOOOOOOOO! only kidding man, say it must be tough saying goodbye though?

It will be but I have the 8er to get back into and it should be in rude health by then with perhaps a few mods to make it even better....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

andyseadog wrote: »
    yup, just 40mm springs in an "old" pair of shocks. its very (read : uncomfortably) firm. had a front and back seat passenger in it and no rubbing on 185 14's :)

only drove it a few miles to make sure all was well, dropped it off to be re-tracked this morning, take it for a good rip then :pac:

I hope lukozade sport are paying you to "advertice" there product.............now off to the shop I go, I feel some lukozade sport. :p

picked up the blackcurrent one by accident, tasted ****e :mad:.

i wanted to take photos with a tape to get ballpark dimensions of the actual drop but sure totoally forgot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

picked up the blackcurrent one by accident, tasted ****e :mad:.

i wanted to take photos with a tape to get ballpark dimensions of the actual drop but sure totoally forgot.

It tasted so bad that, you stick it in you wheel arch. :D

Aw, youl have that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

I thought a Coke can underneath the skirts was the 'ultimate test'? :pac:

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    I thought a Coke can underneath the skirts was the 'ultimate test'? :pac:

*runs outside*

sorry, only have fanta in the press, could go down another 10-15mm before its right on top of it :pac:

photo06682.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

*runs outside*

sorry, only have fanta in the press, could go down another 10-15mm before its right on top of it :pac:

Assuming the drop springs are brand new they've to settle in a bit yet.

If your shoe fits in the wheel arch, your car is too high.

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    Assuming the drop springs are brand new they've to settle in a bit yet.

no fear of that, they're second hand springs in second hand shocks :D there's a recession dont you know.

it was very noisy on the way home, looked under the back while doing the coke can exercise and the top 7 coils of the rear springs are all touching :eek: they are progressively wound springs and the tightest coils were at the top, surely this isn't right? back shocks must be fooked perhaps?

car could probably rise up a bit if the job was done right :pac:

166man wrote: »
    He's got an Alfa interior on the Bravo... Likes to think he has a real car obviously... :D

You forgot the rear axle, discs, calipers, handbrake and door handles... Alfa Romeo should start making vans again :pac:

Decided to try sort a lighting issue on the 406... Then ended up doing this:

Image2136.jpg
    Image2145.jpg
    Image2146.jpg
    Image2148.jpg
    Image2149.jpg

Need some clutch bolts... Cleaning the engine and the bay, THEY STINK OF FARM!!!! :mad::mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,653 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Just ordered a complete suspension kit from OEMBimmerparts in the US. Gonna rebuild the entire rear end, no point in replacing it a bit at a time over the years, just quicker and easier to do the whole lot in one go.

€480 shipped, not bad at all. All Meyle parts.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 994 ✭✭✭carbon nanotube

what about duty?

i wouldnt mind a lowering kit for my accord, rides too high.