Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The "Today I did something to my car" thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

The minute I saw that you thanked his post, I was 100% sure you'd come out with that exact line!

You're a predictable turbo dervo :P
    You say the sweetest things sometimes :pac: :p

How could I not!
    On another note, all the chemicals I use for valeting is making skin peel off my hands. I think it's time to always wear gloves :o

Fook, I hope you wash your hands before doing other things!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Fook, I hope you wash your hands before doing other things!

I thought you had a girlfriend?

Indeed, I do. :p

Well then why is there only one thing on your mind all the fvcken time?! :pac:

Anyway, thread being derailed. STFU!

Well then why is there only one thing on your mind all the fvcken time?! :pac:

Cars? :D

Had another matching tyre put on the ma's car earlier. The state of the rear brake discs is unreal though, I've never seen anything that bad :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,690 ✭✭✭✭vectra

On another note, all the chemicals I use for valeting is making skin peel off my hands. I think it's time to always wear gloves :o

I use those ones in the motor factors you can buy in a box. Around 6 or 7 euro for the box of 100. Great job :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,157 ✭✭✭Compton

Yeah some of the detailing products are really bad. I find the wheel cleaners the worst, non acidic my hole!

Compton wrote: »
    Yeah some of the detailing products are really bad. I find the wheel cleaners the worst, non acidic my hole!

Never get any meguiars wheel cleaner in your eye, you can fecking taste it for hours >.<

(goes for anything really, was mist spray back and a "be grand" attitude)

vectra wrote: »
    I use those ones in the motor factors you can buy in a box. Around 6 or 7 euro for the box of 100. Great job :cool:

I have a box of them at home, just don't use them each time I do a car. As challengemaster said, it was a "be grand" attitude :D

Where I work I can get a box of 100 blue ones for €4. There really is no reason for me not to use them!

I have a box of them at home, just don't use them each time I do a car. As challengemaster said, it was a "be grand" attitude :D

Where I work I can get a box of 100 blue ones for €4. There really is no reason for me not to use them!

The blue ones are supposed to be the best ones. Would mind if I could get thos for €4 :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

vectra wrote: »
    The blue ones are supposed to be the best ones. Would mind if I could get thos for €4 :eek:

What's this yiz are talking about? Viagra?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,157 ✭✭✭Compton

teehee

Just picked up a CSL bootlid :D

Got it dirt cheap cos there's a few scratches/scrapes, most of which should come out easy enough :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,412 ✭✭✭andyseadog

Never get any meguiars wheel cleaner in your eye, you can fecking taste it for hours >.<

(goes for anything really, was mist spray back and a "be grand" attitude)

if i had a euro for every time... it does really burn sometimes :mad:

andyseadog wrote: »
    if i had a euro for every time... it does really burn sometimes :mad:

I'm genuinely convinced what I tasted was my eye dissolving....oh well :D

the worst i remember was cleaning the block on my mk1 corsa after i picked it up. the rocker cover had been weeping oil onto it for a lifetime, it was thick with oil.

a bowl of petrol and a 2" paint brush and i was dissolving that oil leaving a lovely fresh looking block, chuffed to bits :D caught the block the wrong way and my **** the pain of the splashback of oil and petrol in my eyes will never be forgotten.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭E39MSport

Try gliptone, lots of lads recommend it. I haven't seen it forsale anywhere local though!

Liquid Leather. Great stuff. They do excellent leather air freshener yokes also. very realistic leather smell.

Here's the new addition :D

EF0FD5C4CAAF4444B67578AFB483B4B2-0000315821-0002905966-00800L-31C01055E1AD40E88221312561ECFA20.jpg

it looks so at home on the couch, just missing the remote and a bottle of beer :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭gollywog

andyseadog wrote: »
    it looks so at home on the couch, just missing the remote and a bottle of beer :pac:

That's where the woman boot lid comes in handy! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,236 ✭✭✭shanec1928

look at the smilie in the eu logo:pac:

@ CM.
    Nice,,

• Subscribers Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭conzy

Looks the business CM, The scratch looks minor. I would try the DA on it before resorting to sandpaper or something more drastic

conzymaher wrote: »
    Looks the business CM, The scratch looks minor. I would try the DA on it before resorting to sandpaper or something more drastic

Looks minor there but it's a bit more extensive and it's gel coat not clear. One or two parts might need a bit more resin added before sanding it back even an I think then I'll clear coat it for protection

Should be a nice project in learning though!

It's worrying how much I'm posting in this thread lol

New handbrake / gear gaiters arrived today, black alcantara with Msport stitch... now all i need is the rest of the alcantara interior to match >_>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,158 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

It's worrying how much I'm posting in this thread lol

New handbrake / gear gaiters arrived today, black alcantara with Msport stitch... now all i need is the rest of the alcantara interior to match >_>

Where'd you get the gaiters, need some grey leather ones for mine!

Did your gaiters come with the plastic surrounds so you can simply pop out the old and pop in the new?

Ebay lad, topgaiters was the seller IIRC. Ordered 16th and they were dispatched the same day.

They just come as the gaiters, you can keep the old plastic surrounds as they're mostly just elastic at the bottom so you can just stretch them off/on. Here's a guide I found

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

Ebay lad, topgaiters was the seller IIRC. Ordered 16th and they were dispatched the same day.

They just come as the gaiters, you can keep the old plastic surrounds as they're mostly just elastic at the bottom so you can just stretch them off/on. Here's a guide I found

Banned

You just reminded me that I need a new gaiter for my car. Rang Mazda to get a price expecting it to be about €130 but it's actually €40 including VAT :D

Right well after ~5 minutes of vigorous tugging..... (:pac:) There's no way in hell that gear knob is coming off to let me put on the new gaiter