Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

GTA V Pre-release Discussion - ***DO NOT POST SPOILERS*** (Mod warning in first post)

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 10,528 Mod ✭✭✭✭5uspect

P4DDY2K11 wrote: »
    @5uspect that was a brilliant post, i'd be like yourself i play a wide variety of games, i've played more or less every game you mentioned bar Portal and Stalker, quick question, is Stalker on the xbox? It looks like my kind of game, i'd love to give it a try.

There was going to be a new cross platform STALKER game but the studio has closed. So I'm afraid it's PC only for now. The first game, Shadow of Chernobyl, is very old at this stage so should run on an older PC or laptop. I ran it on a Northwood single core P4 and a 6600gt back in the day. It's also been modded extensively.

The closest thing atmosphere wise is Metro 2033 but that's more corridor focused and doesn't have the open world of STALKER.

It does a great job of capturing the terrifying nature of STALKER's underground sections tho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,600 ✭✭✭✭CMpunked

qvOZB.jpg

that's excellent!
    Maybe r* hasn't given us any more info yet because they have given us these little snippets of Easter eggs for us to find. First that car list, then those pictures of the planes.
    I'd say there's more in MP just waiting to be found.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,342 ✭✭✭Bobby Baccala

As much as i wish that was true, it looks like a load of bollocks to me, a few letters that possibly resemble gta v isnt enough for me, but it does have the october release date which we were talking about.

But then again I'll be the first to hold up my hands and say I'm wrong if the date on that check is confirmed as the release date.

As much as i wish that was true, it looks like a load of bollocks to me, a few letters that possibly resemble gta v isnt enough for me, but it does have the october release date which we were talking about.

But then again I'll be the first to hold up my hands and say I'm wrong if the date on that check is confirmed as the release date.

Add this into the mix;
    The card isn't for a normal doc's, its for a plastic surgeon which in portuguese is cirugía plástica.
    The letter where I is meant to be stands out as a T, there's no question its a T and not an I, the bottom portion of the letter isnt the same width as the top.
    And i know what you might say, with pixels being used maybe its meant to be that wide and the bottom portion is being covered by the line or something.

Well look at the I after C and before R its certainly not styled the same. Its a lot more similar to the T is plastica.

So its certain that these letters aren't just letters that happen to look like the gta letters, they definitely are because a T in the word doesnt make any sense and the font styling shows its a T.

I have to agree with CM, above. Add to that that they specifically underlined GTA and then the V in a separate location, mixed with a date, and I'm 110% it's a genuine hint from R*.

Much like I am certain that the images of the planes are V screenshots.

That said, I'm still talking about the game, and keeping up on it online, but am I alone in not really looking forward to it any more? I'll probably get excited again if we see another trailer with something new or exciting to show off, but although I was thrilled with the trailer for the first while, now when I look at it I can't help but think 'meh' and it's just gonna be IV with a different layout (new city is/was the most important part to me, admittedly, but they seem to be dragging this out longer than is necessary and I feel I'm growing a bit bored of the wait?).

That said, I'm still talking about the game, and keeping up on it online, but am I alone in not really looking forward to it any more? I'll probably get excited again if we see another trailer with something new or exciting to show off, but although I was thrilled with the trailer for the first while, now when I look at it I can't help but think 'meh' and it's just gonna be IV with a different layout

The wait is a long one, but as was said back ages ago; let the anticipation drop over time and then bring it back up to the same high as it was when the first trailer was released.

I was just thinking about it and the trailer being dropped before the release of MP meant that they could put these little easter eggs for gta into it to be found.
    And i would be near certain that there is a truckload more that will become more evident when we know about the game or even after its finally released.

I can understand your meh-ness because to be honest theres not that much to base this game off it being epic other than rumors or expectations.
    That, or your brain knows not to get too excited too soon and its saving you months of frustration. :)

Well i do hope the check is a reference to GTA, I remain pessimistic though, thats just the way i am :).

I can remember how i felt as a little kid when San Andreas was coming out, i was just absolutely amazed by it and tbh i still am today. Hopefully V can bring that feeling back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭bluestripe93

Muddafudger.
    Good find all the same. :)

I havent played mp, but what is the context the prescription is used in? like is it for one of the characters or is it just sitting around in an area?

Well that's the end of that chapter, pessimism always prevails! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

They (R*) posted on their newswire that they were pleased with getting the PC release of Max Payne so close to the console release and they plan to "close that gap" in future. So I'd imagine it'll be a somewhat similar timeframe again.
    Thank god for that, the wait for the last GTA for PC was one of the darkest periods of my life. It pained me no end knowing the lad in the apartment above me was playing GTA while I had to wait a year to play it. He invited me up to play it many times but I said no, I didn't want to ruin the experience by playing it on some inferior playbox or whatever the name of his defunct console was.

The likes of the Zday mod for Arma 2 though shows that PC gamers give a lot of life to a title.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

God dang it!

Not gonna lie, got my hopes up with that cheque pic. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,478 ✭✭✭✭gnfnrhead

Can we kill whoever faked it? :pac:

gnfnrhead wrote: »
    Can we kill whoever faked it? :pac:

Lets make it a mission.

Ah, hat's off to whoever edited the picture in the first place though. Seemed legit. I won't argue with them; they had me fooled, that's for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,366 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

Thought I'd share this in here. Legends of the GTA series.

ScsSW.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,816 ✭✭✭Benzino

Thanks for that image, love it! Some quality drawings:

26f830ccfedbbdd8.jpg

GTA__LEGENDS_III_by_patrickbrown.jpg

b2429b199bd87340.jpg

I notice how its the black guys CJ in each pic are doing the most over the top thing in each one..

rightthere.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,128 ✭✭✭✭aaronjumper

CMpunked wrote: »
    I notice how its the black guys in each pic are doing the most over the top thing in each one..

rightthere.jpeg

Not really, the blue shirted dude is just arm wrestling, staring, leaning against a wall and chatting up a blonde. If you're getting a racist vibe I don't know where you are getting it from.

That said you were probably just taking the piss. . . carry on :pac:

Not really, the blue shirted dude is just arm wrestling, staring, leaning against a wall and chatting up a blonde. If you're getting a racist vibe I don't know where you are getting it from.

That said you were probably just taking the piss. . . carry on :pac:

Did you not see the shít CJ is doing? Flying a jetpack at the ceiling, throwing his cards away while brandishing a pistol, lumping the head off some lad in a club and finally highjacking and pistol whipping somebody. If none of them are over the top i don't know what is...

He's not the only black guy in the pictures.
    It was said it was the black guys causing all the trouble but it's only CJ
    CJ was always an over the top psycho, that's his character, which doesn't have anything to do with his skin colour.

I'm sure CM was being light hearted man.

CJ was always an over the top psycho, that's his character, which doesn't have anything to do with his skin colour.

Indeed. Its like Tommy; He is the quintessential "do i look like i give a fcuk?" manner of a man. Look at him! Lads are pulling guns all around him and he doesnt even raise an eyebrow, but theres rosenberg freaking his shít. It captures them all well.
    But he was seriously laid back. Which made vice city that little bit more interesting too. But thats for another topic.

I'm sure CM was being light hearted man.

I know but trying to be PC in a Grand Theft Auto forum was a challenge I couldn't pass up. Anyway I've derailed this thread long enough.

I just want GTA to be released already, or at least some new information.
    Proper info, not guesses or speculation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,845 ✭✭✭py2006

In relation to a release date, its looking increasingly like a 2013 release unfortunately:
    Recently Rockstar revealed that Max Payne 3 DLC is set to extend all the way to the end of this year. Obviously Rockstar would like to sell as much DLC as possible so they probably wouldn't want GTA V stepping on it all. This puts the game into 2013.

A few months ago the ESRB rated Grand Theft Auto III and Vice City for the PlayStation 3. Rockstar has yet to say anything about this. The 10 Year Anniversary of Vice City is later this year so they will likely be busy with that and the re-release on current consoles would be icing on the cake. As such, Fall 2012 seems less likely for GTA V. It can also be noted that the San Andreas 10 Year Anniversary will be in 2014. This leaves 2013 without major Grand Theft Auto news.

Source: http://www.igta5.com/

Does anyone really care about 10 year anniversary titles?

Surely they can't take up too much of Rockstar's time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,688 ✭✭✭Nailz

With regards the 10th Anniversary craic, the thing that would interest me most about such a thing – and a PSN release in particular – is the ability to play Vice City and San Andreas on the PS Vita anywhere you want, I just think that would be sweet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 725 ✭✭✭Varied

Nailz wrote: »
    With regards the 10th Anniversary craic, the thing that would interest me most about such a thing – and a PSN release in particular – is the ability to play Vice City and San Andreas on the PS Vita anywhere you want, I just think that would be sweet.

I would buy the Vita purely for this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,366 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

Playing SA on the Xbox 360 again. What a soundtrack. Radio Los Santos is unreal. Would love of they released VC onthe Xbox.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13 Blue Bitch

gtav.jpg