Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The "Today I did something to my car" thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭Jimdagym

The problem is, I'm sick of the sight and sound of the D/A and sick of the smell of the polish even though it's lovely but I now want to do my sister's red polo! All I see is the swirl marks on it! I know it's only a Polo but I just want that feeling of satisfaction of a gleaming, defect-free panel!

Sunshine would be great but even if it's rain I don't mind this time, I'm certain I'll have biblical beading :D

Sounds like the polish is laced with some form of illegal drugs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,919 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Jimdagym wrote: »
    Sounds like the polish is laced with some form of illegal drugs!

Could be! The cutting polish smells ok but the finishing polish smells like those candy necklace things and blacklight smells like blackcurrant :D

It's so much nicer to work with nice smelling products compared to the cheap turtle wax waxes that come with the "chipstick". All you get there is horrible chemical smells that give you a headache :mad: THankfully the last time I used them was 2004!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,719 ✭✭✭Hal1

All you need is one of those marquee canopy things and hail, rain or shine ye can detail away.

1454507_f520.jpg

Hal, I've been longing for one for so long! Thing is though, rain etc can still get at the sides of the car and the only place around my house that it would be semi-sheltered is on stones and even at that there's feck all room :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,690 ✭✭✭✭vectra

Hal, I've been longing for one for so long! Thing is though, rain etc can still get at the sides of the car and the only place around my house that it would be semi-sheltered is on stones and even at that there's feck all room :(

Get one with the sides on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭Jimdagym

vectra wrote: »

Thats just a tent!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

Build a garage or buy a house which has one? :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

vectra wrote: »

None of them work, take it from someone who spent 3 years and nearly 2k trying every form of pop up gazebo, roll out awning, carport - one gust of 10mph wind and you're fighting to keep it all under control.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,061 ✭✭✭✭mik_da_man

Those exhausts do not look standard. What are they?

Mongoose 4 1/2" slash cut :D
    It's got a full mongoose turbo back system with a high flow sports cat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,668 ✭✭✭eringobragh

Hard day at it...paint was in bits as per rest of car..

side by side pic says it all

img0682large.jpg

I made ****e of the small pad...its ripped in places :( ...we had a good run! Running low of Menzerna as well :o

img0707large.jpg

.............more pics to follow!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,076 ✭✭✭superstoner90

/\ great work mate

Nice one erin! Pics of mine coming later on, in its finished state!

Honestly though, what in the name of all that's holy caused all those scratches on your car?!

Nice one erin! Pics of mine coming later on, in its finished state!

Honestly though, what in the name of all that's holy caused all those scratches on your car?!

Previous owner buffed it with an orbital sander would be my guess :p

..probably washed with a jcloth or brillopad type thing.:pac:

SRP did a great job on filling them but alas doesn't last and not worth the effort everytime.

You flew through yours...I suspect your paint was in better nick then mine :cool:

My weekends will free right up once this has been done.:cool: There's a few stonechips on the door, I will sort these once the paint correction has been done.

Done today: Top Half Drivers door, 2 x Popup lights and went over the wing again from the first day as my technique has improved since then and was able to shift a fair few scrapes that were left there.

RDS - Clearcoat - 99% Improvment

BEFORE:

img0667large.jpg

AFTER (Yes! Its still there)

img0686large.jpg

Door - more clearcoat scratching FFS

BEFORE:

img0666large.jpg

AFTER:

img0671largeo.jpg

BEFORE:

img0675largey.jpg

AFTER:

img0679large.jpg

BEFORE:

img0665large.jpg

AFTER:

img0691large.jpg

SIDE By SIDE: Drivers door:

img0680large.jpg

img0681large.jpg

img0683large.jpg

Drivers Wing: (Redo)

img0698large.jpg

img0696large.jpg

Previous owner buffed it with an orbital sander would be my guess :p

..probably washed with a jcloth or brillopad type thing.:pac:

SRP did a great job on filling them but alas doesn't last and not worth the effort everytime.

You flew through yours...I suspect your paint was in better nick then mine :cool:

I was doing as much as possible every evening after work and spent all day any day I could at it along with all day Friday and Saturday but yeah, it was in better nick haha I still have a few deep scratches left but I'm at a stage now where I'm very happy with the condition of it and I can't look at the D/A for another while or I'll vomit :D

CONTD.......

Popup light - covers

BEFORE:

img0705large.jpg

AFTER:

img0709large.jpg

BEFORE:

img0703large.jpg

AFTER:

img0712large.jpg

Another scrape:

BEFORE:

img0701large.jpg

img0700large.jpg

AFTER:

img0706large.jpg

END RESULTS:

img0708large.jpg

img0695large.jpg

img0692large.jpg

img0713large.jpg

img0699large.jpg

Getting there:

img0722large.jpg

Tomorrows work (maybe!)

Bonnet:

img0721large.jpg

img0720large.jpg

1 small pad down I might do the bonnet tomorrow if I feel like somemore detailing..........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 368 ✭✭jayo99

00 reg MKII MR2 ? I thought the last of that model was in 1999 ?

jayo99 wrote: »
    00 reg MKII MR2 ? I thought the last of that model was in 1999 ?

They are rare alright but do exist...car car itself was built in Nov - 99 but registered in the UK in 00 under a V plate...there was a few registered in 00 over there.

ah ok and is that a stock colour ?
    Nice car - had one myself a few years back :)

As promised, here's a few pics of the MPS after its correction. I've no before pics because I just wanted to get it done :o

The paint is as smooth as glass in all areas compared to what it was like - fairly rough, hard to apply and buff wax, hard to dry and now water even beads on the doors which makes it easier to wash.

95149610.jpg

87336250.jpg

79137442.jpg

82316041.jpg

78691458.jpg

23068769.jpg

97319471.jpg

90599964.jpg

62090203.jpg

jayo99 wrote: »
    ah ok and is that a stock colour ?
    Nice car - had one myself a few years back :)

Cheers man...yeah it's coined 'Cosmos Blue' by Toyota but really is Mica Purple..it was only available on the Revision 5 models 98-00

List of colours the Rev5 came in:

rev5colours.jpg

nice. thx for the info..

• Subscribers Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭conzy

It's like glass Dave! The Mazda paint is very smooth, ze German paint is very orange peely in comparison

conzymaher wrote: »
    It's like glass Dave! The Mazda paint is very smooth, ze German paint is very orange peely in comparison

Really? Too many layers and hardeners in it :P Some say that when hit with a hammer, a panel on a German car distorts underneath the paint which stays perfect :D

62090203.jpg

Wheres the plate surround??? ...........too soon? :pac:

Nice work...did I see this in the flesh at midway a few meets back..you could eat your dinner off the engine bay if I remember correctly.

Wheres the plate surround??? ...........too soon? :pac:

Nice work...did I see this in the flesh at midway a few meets back..you could eat your dinner off the engine bay if I remember correctly.

Haha I was waiting for that! The bloody clips along the bottom broke in 2 places. I opened it to take out the plate so I could heat up the tape better. They're fierce fragile yokes.

I put just enough of that tape on the plate this time so it'll be easier to take off when I get a new surround.

Yup, I've been to the last 4 or 5 meets. The engine is a bit dusty at the moment but not so much that it'll need a wash, just a wipe down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,066 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

Today I filled it with petrol and also cleaned a load of bird crap off it (it looked like it was used for target practise the other day :mad:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,076 ✭✭✭superstoner90

Finished the bumper, its last 3 coats of laquire. I not going to post a picture, as I guessing that people are tired of seen the bumper. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

Daithi boyo the car looks amazeballs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

78691458.jpg

Plenty of orange peel there you'd want to get the sand paper out :pac: