If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Livestock/General Farming photo thread ***READ MOD NOTE IN POST #1***

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

I had intended doing a bit of fencing to better catch up a few twins for Dad. However, I forgot to bring along the bar :o I had some snares to set so I thought I'd have a mooch around the island and see if I'd spot a fox den, new path or anything else interesting.

I rounded a corner and :eek: there's a beast down in the shore. First thought is she's a goner, so I let out a shout and she rose her head :) Making my way down into the shore I went over to her and she stood up.

(Please note, this spot is a lot worse than the photos let on, 2d doesn't do it justice).

20120427_173200.jpg

Now, how the hell do I get her up out of here :confused: Even for here this place is remote. Rang home to contact the owner to bring help and ropes.

She had been there minimum 36-48 hours, and I figure longer, the place was covered in dung and any accessible grass had been eaten. She was at that point that she was drinking salt water from pools :(:(

This is where I figure she fell down, I think she was looking for water as there's not a drop in the particular area, there was hair coming down on the rocks off the bank above:

20120427_180032.jpg

Here's where she made her bed:

20120427_180045.jpg

Meanwhile, back at cliff rescue HQ :D I was doing some scouting about.

There's a cliff on the other side and no fair play beyond those rocks even if she could get up on them which she couldn't. Half thought about swimming her out if I had rope but she'd never keep her head up :rolleyes: :

20120427_180103.jpg

Then I saw this place :cool: If I can get her up on that slate to the far right, surely she'll make it to the top. Just have to haul rocks up from the shore to fill a big hole between the rock and the slate:

20120427_180118.jpg

20120427_180138.jpg

I got her up into that corner where she stubbornly refused to turn right, ho-hum, and they say sheep are stupid :confused:

20120427_180200.jpg

20120427_180209.jpg

My narrow escape :o

I put myself between the rock face and her hips, tapping her head with my crook to turn her. Oh no, turn? Forget that, try pinning me against the rock face, the problem being my right leg, which I couldn't bend cos of where I was stood. She put weight on my knee and bent it towards me left leg :eek:

Ouch.

Just ouch.

After a bit of a sit down, thinking "No good deed goes unpunished" I heard her move :D She started nibbling the grass on the slate I wanted to get her up on. So I hobbled up to her again and she was on the move along my little causeway and up onto the slate :D

And then....

She stumbles at the top :eek: I scrambled up the slate after her, where she'd managed to throw herself onto the grass, but started to roll over onto her right shoulder and started going over the edge of the bank - 8 - 10 foot drop onto rock = dead/screwed beast.

Grabbed her by one of the back legs and the tail and threw myself backwards. Then she started with the front feet towards the edge so I let go her back leg, grabbed her tail with both hands and just yanked her back towards the grass:

20120427_180224.jpg

Sorry, but no sheep is THAT stupid!!

I had to put myself on the edge of the bank between her and the drop to keep her up, if I were a jockey I'd have been banned for use of the stick but it was that or let her over the edge.

Couple of views of where she was stuck:

20120427_181423.jpg

20120427_181523.jpg

20120427_181622.jpg

Owner + help arrived after about an hour. Slow & steady wins the race and we eventually got her out of the middle of nowhere and back with the other cattle. I put in my tuppence worth on what should be done with her for her own benefit, not up to me whether it's done or not but I'll be having words again if it's not after what I went through to get her out of that place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

jerdee wrote: »
    what kind of money does a call out and pair cost ....my stock bull front toes are curling a bit.

He did 3 cows for a friend last week and charged €40 which is pretty reasonable but he was passing his door, dont know what the call out is but I assume he would try and line up a few lads in the one on the same day. Told me to buy him a pint for doing the bull :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,569 ✭✭✭Rovi

Got the bulls hoofs trimmed, Front hoofs were gone very long and he had 2 drops. My neighbour covers all of Clare and south Galway so got him to do it. First time I had seen the crate working, its some job!!

photo-92.jpg

He REALLY needs a pair of braces, AND a new pair of shorts!!! :eek::eek::eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

johngalway wrote: »
    180138.jpg[/IMG]

That is amazing scenery, very difficult farming land. Did you get her out?

Kovu Murr wrote: »
    That is amazing scenery, very difficult farming land. Did you get her out?

I did :D And if I hadn't been hurt I'd have brought her out of that area entirely on my own. We had formed an understanding, I done the telling, she did the doing :D And besides almost sitting on me she did the doing pretty well for an animal in her shape :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

I got her up into that corner where she stubbornly refused to turn right, ho-hum, and they say sheep are stupid :confused:

20120427_180200.jpg

20120427_180209.jpg

My narrow escape :o

I put myself between the rock face and her hips, tapping her head with my crook to turn her. Oh no, turn? Forget that, try pinning me against the rock face, the problem being my right leg, which I couldn't bend cos of where I was stood. She put weight on my knee and bent it towards me left leg :eek:

Ouch.

Just ouch.

After a bit of a sit down, thinking "No good deed goes unpunished" I heard her move :D She started nibbling the grass on the slate I wanted to get her up on. So I hobbled up to her again and she was on the move along my little causeway and up onto the slate :D

And then....

She stumbles at the top :eek: I scrambled up the slate after her, where she'd managed to throw herself onto the grass, but started to roll over onto her right shoulder and started going over the edge of the bank - 8 - 10 foot drop onto rock = dead/screwed beast.

Grabbed her by one of the back legs and the tail and threw myself backwards. Then she started with the front feet towards the edge so I let go her back leg, grabbed her tail with both hands and just yanked her back towards the grass:

20120427_180224.jpg

Sorry, but no sheep is THAT stupid!!

I had to put myself on the edge of the bank between her and the drop to keep her up, if I were a jockey I'd have been banned for use of the stick but it was that or let her over the edge.

Couple of views of where she was stuck:

20120427_181423.jpg

20120427_181523.jpg

20120427_181622.jpg

Owner + help arrived after about an hour. Slow & steady wins the race and we eventually got her out of the middle of nowhere and back with the other cattle. I put in my tuppence worth on what should be done with her for her own benefit, not up to me whether it's done or not but I'll be having words again if it's not after what I went through to get her out of that place.
    Now thats why some people deserve the disadvantage payment more than others

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

Johngalway,
    If she couldn't get back up the rocks, you could swim her out of there. I helped a neighbour bring cattle out to an island before by swimming them with boats. Mad crack!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

I did :D And if I hadn't been hurt I'd have brought her out of that area entirely on my own. We had formed an understanding, I done the telling, she did the doing :D And besides almost sitting on me she did the doing pretty well for an animal in her shape :)

You deserve a medal! I'd be absolutely lost for ideas bar previous rock climbing experience with pulleys! So glad to see/hear it worked out.

Muckit wrote: »
    Now isn't this fun! ;) Pics are real and not staged. I'I leave ye guessin' another while. I'I let ye know tomorrow. Be careful out there...:cool:

Well I haven't a clue what happened to do that, but if you're not punctured, squashed or mangled after some fashion I reckon you're a lucky man.

pakalasa wrote: »
    Johngalway,
    If she couldn't get back up the rocks, you could swim her out of there. I helped a neighbour bring cattle out to an island before by swimming them with boats. Mad crack!

Yeah, she wouldn't have been taken out today if that had to be done. There wasn't time before dark to organise that. They swim cattle out to islands off shore here still. Would have to tie her head tot he side of the currach mind, as I don't think she'd have kept it above water.
    Kovu Murr wrote: »
    You deserve a medal! I'd be absolutely lost for ideas bar previous rock climbing experience with pulleys! So glad to see/hear it worked out.

I was offered €€ afterwards but told him to buy some nuts with it and bring her out of that place. That's probably the hairest place I've had to take an animal from, have previous experience with bog holes. deep narrow drains, and lakes :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,954 ✭✭✭stanflt

just to show that i dont have it all that easy in the east-have my fair share of wet and rushy ground-however they still manage to reach target weights

012ygo.jpg

Uploaded with ImageShack.us006sz.jpg

Uploaded with ImageShack.us004zzp.jpg

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 spt88

Got the bulls hoofs trimmed, Front hoofs were gone very long and he had 2 drops. My neighbour covers all of Clare and south Galway so got him to do it. First time I had seen the crate working, its some job!!

photo-92.jpg

had him down last week here myself. did 3 lim cows one of them does not like being confined in small places i was full sure he wouldn be able to do her but he had no problem at all. serious crate!! he told me bout a charolais cow who jumped on top off the crate and had to be lifted off with a loader and he still managed to pair her!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

Now isn't this fun! ;) Pics are real and not staged. I'I leave ye guessin' another while. I'I let ye know tomorrow. Be careful out there...:cool:

I reckon you've made/ repaired something with the rubber and denim....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

spt88 wrote: »
    had him down last week here myself. did 3 lim cows one of them does not like being confined in small places i was full sure he wouldn be able to do her but he had no problem at all. serious crate!! he told me bout a charolais cow who jumped on top off the crate and had to be lifted off with a loader and he still managed to pair her!!

I said to him the bull was a bit stubborn and awkward and didnt know if he would go in the crate, Im dealing with it every day he said :rolleyes: Tuff aul work but hes very good at it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

christ muckit i got up out of bed early to see what happened :mad:

leg wax wrote: »
    christ muckit i got up out of bed early to see what happened :mad:

Easy leg wax, maybe he got a bang to the head as well and it might have him laid up and feeling sorry for himself:D;). Otherwise he might be still recovering from a Friday night on the town:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 Johnsey

I'd say it can b a fairly scary job at times!! Well going by the signs on the underpants anyway :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

ah feck sake muckit going to a wedding now and dont know what happened:(.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,964 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Well muckit, did you fall off the gate and twist/break your ankle?

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

looks like a similar picture to when i first dislocated my knee- i slipped on cleanings, childbirth doesnt even go near the pain:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Rovi wrote: »
    Or cut off by EMT's?

Neither scenario is good :(

Good guess Rovi... ;)

There not mine... boss mans :o We had a yearling heifer swelled up with gas. Brought them in and were separating her out. Oul lad in the wrong place at the wrong time, pushed him to the ground. He felt awkwardly and dislocated his kneecap. I lifted him up and got him outside the gate. He was standing and all, as neither of us realised what had happened.

Then he tries to walk and falls in a heap... again! I thought he was having a heart attack:eek:. Ambulance job. It seems an age before they came, but it was only 20min. I'm glad I didn't drive him in, as I'd have brought him to Ballinasloe, but they brought him straight to Galway. They also gave him painkillers interveniously straight away.

Good news is he's back home and on the mend. He has to have operations on his ligaments in a few weeks time.

oh....... and the other patient........ after getting the vet out twice to give her injections into the vein, she passed the gas and is back to norma this evening. She was swelled on both sides, so problem in more than first stomach. Tubing her yielded zero results.

whelan1 wrote: »
    looks like a similar picture to when i first dislocated my knee- i slipped on cleanings, childbirth doesnt even go near the pain:)

Sorry Whelan1..... just seen your reply..... spot on! ;)

Rovi wrote: »
    Or cut off by EMT's?

Neither scenario is good :(

Good guess Rovi... ;)

There not mine... boss mans :o We had a yearling heifer swelled up with gas. Brought them in and were separating her out. Oul lad in the wrong place at the wrong time, pushed him to the ground. He felt awkwardly and dislocated his kneecap. I lifted him up and got him outside the gate. He was standing and all, as neither of us realised what had happened.

Then he tries to walk and falls in a heap... again! I thought he was having a heart attack:eek:. Ambulance job. It seems an age before they came, but it was only 20min. I'm glad I didn't drive him in, as I'd have brought him to Ballinasloe, but they brought him straight to Galway. They also gave him painkillers interveniously straight away.

Good news is he's back home and on the mend. He has to have operations on his ligaments in a few weeks time.

oh....... and the other patient........ after getting the vet out twice to give her injections into the vein, she passed the gas and is back to norma this evening. She was swelled on both sides, so problem in more than first stomach. Tubing her yielded zero results.
    Ouch! I hope he's still on pain killers. I saw it once on a football pitch and it was a complete accident. It looked awful and young lad was in fierce pain.

Best of luck to your dad and hope the surgery goes well

Well done Johngalway ;) Hope you and cow are doing ok after the ordeal ;)

p4270074.jpg

p4270076.jpg

540kg @ 390days. No world records broken, but it's progress.
    I hope he enjoys his first summer :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,569 ✭✭✭Rovi

Good guess Rovi... ;)
    An EDUCATED guess...

My brother is an EMT, and that looked like the sort of thing he has described over the years.

Good to hear the incident wasn't TOO serious, best of luck to your dad.
    And to the heifer too :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

dislocated my shoulder last october. without question the worst pain ive ever went through. and i do a lot of damage to myself. hope hes feeling better soon. found that the sooner i got moving it the faster it healed (against docs advice).

BUMP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

BUMP
    feck, ya bet me to it:)