Livestock/General Farming photo thread ***READ MOD NOTE IN POST #1***

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

blue5000 wrote: »
    Got it now!! bit slow today

Just today:p

Heifer I bought at €1600 off the OH calved this morning, nice big LM bull and calved herself, up and sucking in half an hour.

I'll have to ask him for sheep for my birthday :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,965 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Well when I read this........
    Kovu Murr wrote: »
    I'd be a bad farmer there. I'd just spend the day cuddling them...:o

the lights came on, it sounded familiar:o

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

Well when I read this........

the lights came on, it sounded familiar:o

I don't normally cuddle chickens! But fair play for copping on :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

name change?

Yup. Thought the other was a bit boring:rolleyes:
    And how in god's name did you come up with the new name?!:-)

just do it wrote: »
    And how in god's name did you come up with the new name?!:-)

My cat is called Kovu, he's a Bengal, the Murr comes from here
    http://animal.discovery.com/videos/cats-101-bengal.html - 24 sec in.
    Have to say, he's a great hunter, 16 mice by the door the other day.
    (and no, I did not pay 50k for him) :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

My cat is called Kovu, he's a Bengal, the Murr comes from here
    http://animal.discovery.com/videos/cats-101-bengal.html - 24 sec in.
    Have to say, he's a great hunter, 16 mice by the door the other day.
    (and no, I did not pay 50k for him) :p
    16 mice in one day !FFS is he armed or something when he goes hunting

moy83 wrote: »
    16 mice in one day !FFS is he armed or something when he goes hunting

I think it was a mix of shrew and fieldmice. Either way, my dad loves when I bring him home.
    (Are shrew endangered?) I can't exactly stop him from hunting!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

I think it was a mix of shrew and fieldmice. Either way, my dad loves when I bring him home.
    (Are shrew endangered?) I can't exactly stop him from hunting!
    Thats brilliant going ,you should put him out to stud :D

moy83 wrote: »
    Thats brilliant going ,you should put him out to stud :D

Pity I got him fixed so:D
    He walked like John Wayne for two days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Sure who needs a trailer these days :p

Excellent photo Redzer :D I'd say he's from Clare!!! And it all tied around the wing mirror.........and the broken indicator lenses :D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

Haha, sorry to confuse ye! I was bored in work the other day so decided to do it on a whim.

Got it now!! bit slow today

So Karen is now Kovu Murr?

Bodacious wrote: »
    So Karen is now Kovu Murr?

Yup!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

Yup!

Do you have to subscribe to put a picture where your avatar used to be karen?

Two not so much farming photos but I think the mods may kill us if we keep chatting:o
    The cat in question which is now my username, love this photo, he's very loyal.
    kovus.jpg

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

And a Pine Martin in my back garden.
    pinemartin.jpg

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

Do you have to subscribe to put a picture where your avatar used to be karen?

Yes, but it's not too bad a price, €13 I think it was, for 3 months.

Cool, thanks karen!

Cow took 288 which i never had for a blue before but the result was good!

Came backways also so added urgency to get him out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,552 ✭✭✭limo_100

great calf great style in him..... is it a charolais cow hes out off??

this little 2nd calver (smaller twin to white heifer to right of photo) threw this calf out in minutes and she up and sucked inside the hour... great comfort in her:D

limo_100 wrote: »

great calf great style in him..... is it a charolais cow hes out off??

Hi limo,

Yep a big ch x fr cow.. She very roomy inside and She'd have calved him herself no hassle if he was the right way round ... He is very tall more like a foal than a calf .. But not muscley will be a great calf if he fills out aswell

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

Yep a big ch x fr cow..

Likely plenty of milk so. She'll do a super job on him, he's the making of a powerfull calf.

Bizzum wrote: »
    Yep a big ch x fr cow..

Likely plenty of milk so. She'll do a super job on him, he's the making of a powerfull calf.

She is very milky alright , she lost a front tit few years back but he'll will still have bucket loads on 3!

The breeding heifers are putting on weight to beat the band, some change in them in the space of a fortnight. 3 here out of sim cows.

photo-90.jpg

Two 2 year old heifers, one shapey thick kind of a heifer and the other one is unnaturally growthy but a bit plainish , shes going to be huge and I should have calved her as a 2 year old. Both bought as weanlings. Would be interested to know which ye would prefer for breeding.

photo-86.jpg

photo-87.jpg

The blonde bull thats going to do the buisness with them. Was very poorish when I got him but hes steadily improving!!

photo-88.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

Made up a lamb feeding bucket this evening, two teats and a 65c bucket from the local bakery. Add a hole drill and a bit of bath testing and I think we're good to go.

bucket2.jpg

bucket1.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭Pat the lad

johngalway wrote: »
    Made up a lamb feeding bucket this evening, two teats and a 65c bucket from the local bakery. Add a hole drill and a bit of bath testing and I think we're good to go.

bucket2.jpg

bucket1.jpg

dragons den ???? lol!!!
    neat job

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

Haha, I think I'd be laughed out of it.

"You want us to invest in buckets with holes in them, Mr Galway?" :eek: "I'm out!"

If a person could make a neat little stand there's room for 6 teats on one of those buckets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭Pat the lad

johngalway wrote: »
    Haha, I think I'd be laughed out of it.

"You want us to invest in buckets with holes in them, Mr Galway?" :eek: "I'm out!"

If a person could make a neat little stand there's room for 6 teats on one of those buckets.

LOL!!!!!!

if any of them ever had to get pet lambs or slow calves to drink, I think they might say different????????

if Sean Gallagher was still on it, he might invest " do you want to take a minute there mr. Galway, to think about my offer" LOL!!!!!!

although I'm fairy sure they didn't make their fortunes from feeding young lambs/calves!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 597 ✭✭✭PatQfarmer

http://p.twimg.com/Aq8QQ5GCAAA5ozA.jpg:large

Oilseed rape in the sunshine, with Slievenamon in the background, near Clonmel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,025 ✭✭✭Tipp Man

PatQfarmer wrote: »
    http://p.twimg.com/Aq8QQ5GCAAA5ozA.jpg:large

Oilseed rape in the sunshine, with Slievenamon in the background, near Clonmel.

Cracking picture Pat - is that Kilshellan pitch in the background??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

Ya, great photo. It reminds me of the Lavender fields you'd see in France.