Livestock/General Farming photo thread ***READ MOD NOTE IN POST #1***

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭johnpawl

leg wax wrote: »
    dont wait with those heifers is my advice as they will only end up huge ,if you are worried that they will stop growing after the bull dont be,i should have bulled my heifers so that they calved down at 24 months,the part is one breed that from my limited experience will keep growing, and all the talking with breeders they have the same view.

That's my worry alright. If I'm trying to sell a pb bull calf, I want the mother to be a decent looking cow.. My plan was to calve them down at 30 months.
    What age did you bull your heifers at and how did they turn out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,552 ✭✭✭limo_100

pakalasa wrote: »
    Keep an eye on this one. She might make a good replacement !!! ;)

thats the plan anyway pak. didnt you used to use him?? did you keep any of his heifers??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭jerdee

made this for nephew for xmas just trying out pic uploads please advise if too big ....havn t figured out how to crop yet

32FFD5AD-orig.jpg499E6DBE-orig.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

jerdee wrote: »
    made this for nephew for xmas just trying out pic uploads please advise if too big ....havn t figured out how to crop yet

32FFD5AD-orig.jpg499E6DBE-orig.jpg

jeez that cool, might be a nice little business there for you making models

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭jerdee

jeez that cool, might be a nice little business there for you making models

not with the amount of time that it took i left him a couple of small pots of paint to finish it off himself and some single core black cable to run water to the troughs.....he was well impressed as he said that he could never have enough of sheds hes eleven ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭johnpawl

not with the amount of time that it took i left him a couple of small pots of paint to finish it off himself and some single core black cable to run water to the troughs.....he was well impressed as he said that he could never have enough of sheds hes eleven ...

That must've taken a bit of time in fairness. You'll have to get a few days work out of him in the future:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭chickenfarmer

Never realised you were so handy ! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Did we ever have horses in this tread??...............

A few pics of the neighbours horses letting off steam

p4120023.jpg

p4120025r.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

Does your neighbour do expensive horseback tours by any chance Muckit?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

fr363.jpg
    By vanderbadger at 2012-04-05
    pic does no justice, one of he biggest bulls i ever saw, down at ennis yesterday, didnt see how he got on though

Thats my uncles bull I'd swear vander!! I took this pic of him 2 weeks ago. 1150 kgs, €2200

photo-59.jpg

dar31 wrote: »
    where do you start.
    redzer would love it....
    199323.jpg
    199324.jpg

Im getting slightly aroused alright :p

I nearly had ye convinced I had no good land :p

photo-73.jpg

Old shorthorn cow with a button tag and her calf from last year underneath. Calf a bit raggedy after the winter outside.

photo-74.jpg

photo-76.jpg

It will never fail to amaze me how much cattle can improve in the space of a month.
    From this

photo-79.jpg

To this

photo-75.jpg
    photo-77.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

Thats my uncles bull I'd swear vander!! I took this pic of him 2 weeks ago. 1150 kgs, €2200

photo-59.jpg

looks like him alright, why did sell him do you mind me asking. he looked a serious animal, looked good on his feet also, i wonder did he go to factory

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

If he's sold on I can check his tag no to see where he ended up. Provided that's ok by the nephew!

photo-73.jpg

Is that the lawn Redzer? :D I don't think I've that much flat land put together :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

johngalway wrote: »
    Does your neighbour do expensive horseback tours by any chance Muckit?

No John. He has a stud

Karen112 wrote: »
    If he's sold on I can check his tag no to see where he ended up. Provided that's ok by the nephew!
    He was 7 years vander and he had a few heifers out of him and he got a bit heavy over the winter so he said he'd trade in for a young lad. I have his number written down at home Karen because I was checking him up on icbf, I will put it up there tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

photo-73.jpg
    It's like the Bull McCabe's field!

Karen112 wrote: »

Karen its IE18-13021-5-0077

johngalway wrote: »
    Is that the lawn Redzer? :D I don't think I've that much flat land put together :pac:
    As good as John, its right in front of the house, 20 acres is a big lawn though :)
    just do it wrote: »
    It's like the Bull McCabe's field!

I was waiting for that!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

Some amount of back breaking work, over the years went in to making that field alright. Any idea how deep the soil is there?

A few of this year's calves from our huge herd...:D

Bulls first.

HWN - Cow : Muscley Red Simm
    CF85 - cow : Plain White Simm
    FHZ - Cow : Big red Lim by MBU
    NHL - HKG Heifer :this is the 'stupid calf' that I posted about earlier

and heifers...

IDB - 2 days old, good frame for a BB, nice calf overall,no musle yet
    IS4 - born early Jan, from best cow (Yellow Char in pic), hope to breed for this calf
    NHL - very small when born but muscle coming now

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,965 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Pakalasa, great calves there, how old are the bulls?

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

pakalasa wrote: »
    Some amount of back breaking work, over the years went in to making that field alright. Any idea how deep the soil is there?

There is well over a foot in it pak!! That seppa teejay heifer is lovely looking. Nice long and growthy. Has the makings of a fine cow yet!!!

Met a bit of a traffic jam early this morning, Feckin wild goats!!

photo-80.jpg

blue5000 wrote: »
    Pakalasa, great calves there, how old are the bulls?
    Thanks Guys. I did get down low to take pics, as 'Snowman' recomended...
    Age bulls
    HWN - 3 weeks, FHZ & NHL - 4 weeks, CF85 - 6 weeks,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,711 ✭✭✭dar31

took a spin up the wicklow hills to deliver some cows this morning
    200444.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

!cid_cidImage2.jpg

!cid_cidImage.jpg2 sutans enjoying the sunshine .my favorite of all the older calves

Let the 15 heifers off with a blonde bull yesterday, will let ye know next year whether it was a good or a bad idea. Hes meant to be very easy calving and breeding good quality calves!!

photo-81.jpg

There is well over a foot in it pak!! That seppa teejay heifer is lovely looking. Nice long and growthy. Has the makings of a fine cow yet!!!

Met a bit of a traffic jam early this morning, Feckin wild goats!!

photo-80.jpg

My trigger fingers a-itchin :D