Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Shane Lowry - 2019 Champion Golfer of The Year (note first post please for posting guidance)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 912 ✭✭✭endabob1

Excellent end to an excellent season >750k earned on tour this year, top 10 at the 2 biggies in Europe outside of the Majors, the PGA & The Dubai WGC, progressing very nicely now, hope to see him back in the winners circle in 2012

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭soundsham

link_2007 wrote: »
    soundsham wrote: »
    He's on €5000 appearance fees

I'll donate a fiver towards it....
    Ya send it on to me I'll look after the collection !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,930 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Was hoping to get him at good odds next year for open, but I think that chance is gone now. Fair play Shane.

Sorry to say it, he knows himself, but he needs to drop a few pounds. A bit more fitness, but golf is funny, his swing could be changed if his shape changed.

Our chance of another major is there I think.

Could not believe SKY not even showing him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,078 ✭✭✭✭vienne86

Was hoping to get him at good odds next year for open, but I think that chance is gone now. Fair play Shane.

Sorry to say it, he knows himself, but he needs to drop a few pounds. A bit more fitness, but golf is funny, his swing could be changed if his shape changed.

Our chance of another major is there I think.

Could not believe SKY not even showing him.

Yes, he looks as if he could do with losing some pounds, but I gather he has worked on his fitness. Perhaps that is just the way he is made.

Not only did Sky not show him, but on the sports report on Morning Ireland at 8.40 this morning, we heard about what Rory DIDN'T do, and nothing about what Shane DID do. Pity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 848 ✭✭✭Kace

Good 1 hour Shane Lowry interview on Setanta at present. Nice lad - good attitude. Looking forward to seeing lots of him on the box this year!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,773 ✭✭✭Speak Now

Kace wrote: »
    Good 1 hour Shane Lowry interview on Setanta at present. Nice lad - good attitude. Looking forward to seeing lots of him on the box this year!

Did Gary Murphy do this interview?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,317 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

if it was on setanta i'd say so. Its his new show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭Leslie91

Yes.. I like the formula. V laid back, he's good. Although Shane appeared a bit nervous to me, plenty of hands to the face craic going on. Unlike PH last week who was cool as u like.

Interesting to hear Shane say if he gets into contention he is aggressive as F. He said he made every putt going in Baltray (apart from the tiddler on his 72nd of course!!).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 848 ✭✭✭Kace

Yeah - he said that everything clicked for him at Baltray, but he then found life on tour very difficult for the first few months - even broke down in tears in his hotel at an event in Ackron (sp?) Ohio. He said he realised that his game just wasn't good enough for the tour and had to work very hard afterwards to raise his level.

I also noticed that he got some nice cosmetic dentistry done since Baltray and had a nice gob of sparklers on show. During the Baltray footage he was sporting big ol' broken tooth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭dnjoyce

repeated on Sunday at 23:15 for those that also missed it. Sounds like it's worth a watch.

Yeah - he said that everything clicked for him at Baltray, but he then found life on tour very difficult for the first few months - even broke down in tears in his hotel at an event in Ackron (sp?) Ohio. He said he realised that his game just wasn't good enough for the tour and had to work very hard afterwards to raise his level.

I also noticed that he got some nice cosmetic dentistry done since Baltray and had a nice gob of sparklers on show. During the Baltray footage he was sporting big ol' broken tooth.

All about the teeth (lol).

Is he due a kid soon, that can be a golf game changer for the worse in my experience.

He really struggled around Asia in particular in his first year, it's a tough slog if you're not used to it, he's adapted very well all things considered.

http://www.europeantour.com/europeantour/season=2009/tournamentid=2009061/index.html

I'd say that was the Bridgestone, was +16 after 2 rounds.

http://www.europeantour.com/europeantour/season=2009/tournamentid=2009061/index.html

I'd say that was the Bridgestone, was +16 after 2 rounds.

It must be a total shock to the system to win an Irish Open, then go out and see how good the lads at the top top are. You a great golfer but having to play with these lads like Westwood, Kaymer, etc etc etc 50 - 60 way ahead of you.

Fair play to him. I can see him win get to top 25 in next few years. Bad start this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭ssbob

It must be a total shock to the system to win an Irish Open, then go out and see how good the lads at the top top are. You a great golfer but having to play with these lads like Westwood, Kaymer, etc etc etc 50 - 60 way ahead of you.

Fair play to him. I can see him win get to top 25 in next few years. Bad start this year.

The way the rankings worked out too shot him straight into the top 100 when he turned professional..........

Anyone know if this is online and the Paddy one cause I don't have setanta.........

ssbob wrote: »
    The way the rankings worked out too shot him straight into the top 100 when he turned professional..........

Anyone know if this is online and the Paddy one cause I don't have setanta.........

Don't know if it is online, would like to see paddy.

Just seen it , very good . Living the dream but sometimes sounds like a nightmare,

Still much to learn.

"He has no game plan" ?
    "Does not like banging balls on the range"
    "No targets"

Anyway , living the dream. Fair play to him.
    Seems a nice bloke.

Not bad for a first timer , Garry Murphy, your listen to a guy who has lived it, so the questions are real.

Surprised he has started so poorly actually, he has generally played well in the middle east, good result in Dubai at the end of last year and in Abu Dhabi last year iirc.
    Hopefully he'll get it going again, but it does take a couple of years n tour for these guys to work out a schedule that suits them. In some ways he was lucky with the injury last year, he was forced to take a while off the road and it showed as the season went on he was getting better and better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 DaveJohnMur

Can the Setanta interviews be seen online anyone?
    I saw on this forum it was all over shanes facebook that his girlfriend is having a baby, did she have it yet? wonder will this have positive impact on his game or not!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 536 ✭✭✭golfbgud

Can the Setanta interviews be seen online anyone?
    I saw on this forum it was all over shanes facebook that his girlfriend is having a baby, did she have it yet? wonder will this have positive impact on his game or not!!!

You can watch the interviews on the web on Setanta if you are using Eircom Broadband. Haven't seen them anywhere else.

In regards to Shane's girlfriend - No idea. That's personal stuff anyway and hardly the stuff for here, whether its true or not.......

Anybody know is there any way for Shane to get into the Open now. Looked at field and sorry to see him not in it ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,078 ✭✭✭✭vienne86

Anybody know is there any way for Shane to get into the Open now. Looked at field and sorry to see him not in it ??

I think there is one place left for someone who gets in to the top five in this week's Scottish Open and has not already qualified. He had a good round yesterday but is yet to tee off for today's round.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭esker man

top 5 finish in Scots Open ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

He'll need to finish in the first 5 in this week's Scottish Open. He missed out on International qualification last week by some way.

Missed the play off spot by 2 shots at Sunningdale, 2 double bogeys on the day killed him.

Top 5 in Scotland only gets a spot if those finished ahead of you are already in the open. Tied and they go to the world rankings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭esker man

Missed the play off spot by 2 shots at Sunningdale, 2 double bogeys on the day killed him.

Top 5 in Scotland only gets a spot if those finished ahead of you are already in the open. Tied and they go to the world rankings.

a win will do it so :-)

Anybody any idea why this season has been a bit off.

I know he had a kid and moved etc. Was thinking he would move on big time. But he is still at early days .

Was even thinking he would be a good e/w in The Open this year. Not even in it :o

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,891 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

Regardless of the Open, he picked up €39k last week so another pay day would be nice, Open a bonus

My stuff on Adverts, mostly Tesla Pre Highland Model 3

Public Profile active ads for slave1

Come on Shane -2 after 2. :D

I know he had a kid and moved etc. Was thinking he would move on big time. But he is still at early days .

Was even thinking he would be a good e/w in The Open this year. Not even in it :o

164th :eek: in greens in regulation cant be helping this season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭ssbob

TBH, i thought he wasn't playing enough this year, although if it's a case he finds his form at this stage of the year, then there are plenty of big tournaments for him to get a win and start forcing his way into the World Golf Championships and possibly the PGA if he can get back in the top 100.