Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Shane Lowry - 2019 Champion Golfer of The Year (note first post please for posting guidance)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭ssbob

Tones69 wrote: »
    Just looking there at the prize funds. If you make the cut every week you're gonna get at least 5k regardless. Thats still a serious living for the guys who are in no spotlight and are still shooting consistent -1 and -2 rounds of golf. All the free gear and food and whatever else too.

50k there for shane lowry and to be fair hes been maknig a lot of cuts and making top 20s too, id say hes rackin it up nicely now fair play

Tones, when we played a boards society outing in Dundrum, the pro there was a former Scottish ET player and had won a couple of smaller pro tournaments and had played in the open in '03 & '04. I was asking him about it and he reckoned that he had earned over €2.5million playing golf but had to give up tour life because he couldn't afford the expense of it without having guaranteed money, reckoned it cost €250,000 a year just to survive on the basics on tour ie. travel, accomodation, food, caddie, coach, entry fee's to each tournament. At that rate €2.5m would be gone in 10 years..............

Not saying some of the guys don't have it easy but reckon the guys struggling to keep their card every year find it tough!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,308 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

ssbob wrote: »
    ....reckoned it cost €250,000 a year just to survive on the basics on tour i.....

true, I also heard this straight from a europro / challenge tour player who has played a few european tour events. He said anything from 200 - 250k for the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭soundsham

charlieIRL wrote: »
    ssbob wrote: »
    ....reckoned it cost €250,000 a year just to survive on the basics on tour i.....

true, I also heard this straight from a europro / challenge tour player who has played a few european tour events. He said anything from 200 - 250k for the year.
    Id imagine that between the golf sponsors logos and the various others on the players sleeves hats bags etc , the burden is lessened quite a bit

I know of a guy from dungarven who sponsored Brian Davies or Davis (on pga tour now)a long time ago
    After Davis finished well a few times and showed good prospects his management co approached him and bought out his deal so as to get a bigger sponsor on board

It all comes down to how well you play one thing leads to the next.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭bigtimecharlie

Always had it in my head that €150,000 was need to survive on tour, now at €250,000 makes it a difficult choice for the low cheque hunters.

Shane made €190,000 with T4 at the BMW PGA last year, which covered him for the year and helped keep his card. 1 good tourney will be the difference between stress and stress free for most players.

soundsham wrote: »
    Id imagine that between the golf sponsors logos and the various others on the players sleeves hats bags etc , the burden is lessened quite a bit

Can't imagine the like's of Simon Thornton or Colm Moriarty making a lot in sponsorships. Even Darren Clarke was wearing Dunlop clothes for free but they had to shell out £2million when he won the Open last year as that was the contract Chubby had negotiated for him.

I remember hearing before of caddie's who got sponsored but basically got a certain amount for every second they appeared on tv.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,110 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

Playing last hole in Austrian Open, currently tied 2nd outside chance of making a playoff.

Good week for him whatever happens.

Great result for him - i know the field wasn't the strongest but he chose to play there and a result is a result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭durkadurka

He's streaky isn't he. He had a good patch of form earlier in the season and he's been doing well the last few weeks. On the edge of the top 60 now.

Hopefully he keeps it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭Mountjoy Mugger

That should secure his card in any case. Just under €300k in earnings so far.

He can focus now on his ranking and game with a little less to worry about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭finchkerry

Not to piss on his parade but for coming second in this event he won only 88 grand. I know people will jump to conclusions to say that's a hugh amount of money to the average Joe but incomparsion to say his tied 11th place in the Scottish Open he got 50 grand and 38 grand for 17th in France.

Granted it was a relatively weak field but for efforts a bigger cheque would have been nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,909 ✭✭✭Neeson

How did the other Irish lads do in this competition?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭bigtimecharlie

His last 4 finishes, 51, 17, 11 and 2. First professional win just around the corner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 912 ✭✭✭endabob1

charlieIRL wrote: »
    Great result for him - i know the field wasn't the strongest but he chose to play there and a result is a result.

It was a weak field and he should have been top 10 at worst but you still have to perform. He posted a good clubhouse target, finished very strongly over the weekend, despite a couple of lose bogeys early on the last day.
    Hopefully now that his card is pretty much secured again he'll do what he did last year and have a good run of form to get him into the top 60 and back to Dubai for the season end.

How did Harrington, mcIltoy, and the other Irish lads do in that competition?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 802 ✭✭✭Jame Gumb

How's Shane settling in at Carton House?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Steven81

Now ranked 119 in world rankings up from 144 after his second place, moving in the right direction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 912 ✭✭✭endabob1

Neeson wrote: »
    How did Harrington, mcIltoy, and the other Irish lads do in that competition?

None of the big guns played as they're all off to the US for the next few weeks, WGC & US PGA coming up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,212 ✭✭✭Jaysoose

finchkerry wrote: »
    Not to piss on his parade but for coming second in this event he won only 88 grand. I know people will jump to conclusions to say that's a hugh amount of money to the average Joe but incomparsion to say his tied 11th place in the Scottish Open he got 50 grand and 38 grand for 17th in France.

Granted it was a relatively weak field but for efforts a bigger cheque would have been nice.

I dont really get your point here, he finished well and collected a nice cheque how is it his fault that the field was weak or their wasnt millions on offer?

he played well is there something wrong with just giving him credit where its due for doing a very professional job?

Jaysoose wrote: »

I dont really get your point here, he finished well and collected a nice cheque how is it his fault that the field was weak or their wasnt millions on offer?

he played well is there something wrong with just giving him credit where its due for doing a very professional job?

Good god..... read the post again mate.

At no point was Shane criticised. For his great effort and coming second in a European tour event it would have been nice for 'Shane' to get a bigger cheque - which would safe guard his tour card and give me a good leg up in the race to Dubai.

€88,000 for coming tied second is one of the smallest 2nd place cheques on the European tour. Again this was not a criticism but merely stating a fact. For other events in which he's finished say in the top 10 his cheques have been need that amount, that's obviously why this particular field was weaker.

Reading in the indo today he's off for the next 5 weeks, heading to Portugal this week on hols, hope he's got the bucket & spade.... good luck to the chap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,212 ✭✭✭Jaysoose

At no point was Shane criticised. For his great effort and coming second in a European tour event it would have been nice for 'Shane' to get a bigger cheque - which would safe guard his tour card and give me a good leg up in the race to Dubai.

€88,000 for coming tied second is one of the smallest 2nd place cheques on the European tour. Again this was not a criticism but merely stating a fact. For other events in which he's finished say in the top 10 his cheques have been need that amount, that's obviously why this particular field was weaker.

Reading in the indo today he's off for the next 5 weeks, heading to Portugal this week on hols, hope he's got the bucket & spade.... good luck to the chap.

Calm down a bit and get off the defensive, what playing options did he have last week apart from the tournament he played in?

You say its not a criticism but to start the post with "not to piss on his parade" clearly indicates that it was just that and if i construed it as such incorrectly then fair enough but can you not see why it could be taken as such.

Look the reality is that Shane is just an average joe. He plays in these competitions and it suits him and he gets his bit of cash. No one expects him to ever play along with the big guys. But it's nice to see him getting a bit of money so he can support himself.

Jaysoose wrote: »

Calm down a bit and get off the defensive, what playing options did he have last week apart from the tournament he played in?

You say its not a criticism but to start the post with "not to piss on his parade" clearly indicates that it was just that and if i construed it as such incorrectly then fair enough but can you not see why it could be taken as such.

To reiterate my previous posts Shane's performance was never criticised merely pointing out that coming second in this particular event was not as lucrative as others on the European your, namely the French and Scottish opens. Which if you look back on I said Shane received good cheques which would indicate his good performances.

If anything I feel you on the defensive and if anyone discusses a point which some think is mildly controversial they are dismissed as negative or having an unnecessary pop at the player. Anyway case closed in my book maybe we all Just need to chill a bit....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,744 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Look the reality is that Shane is just an average joe. He plays in these competitions and it suits him and he gets his bit of cash. No one expects him to ever play along with the big guys. But it's nice to see him getting a bit of money so he can support himself.

Shane has finished 62 nd and 41 st in the R2D in the last 2 years. He is 25.
    I think you will find he is not an "average joe". He has a long sucessful golf life ahead. He is the only golfer /hope coming from South of the border.

Maybe he has a chance but I wouldn't bet on him being anything other than ordinary. I'd say he's more of a lucky charm and fair play to him to be able to win lots of cash to support himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,078 ✭✭✭✭vienne86

Maybe he has a chance but I wouldn't bet on him being anything other than ordinary. I'd say he's more of a lucky charm and fair play to him to be able to win lots of cash to support himself.

He is carving out a nice career for himself in a difficult business. Many, many don't make it, and yes, it is nice to watch someone from Ireland who is putting in good performances on the European Tour.

Out of 61.1 million golfers in the world(approx), Shane Lowry is ranked 114 which means he is in the top 1000th of a percentile of all golfers on the planet.................

Average Joe my back

I suppose he'd be average in Irish terms. I wouldn't expect to see him taking on the greats of the game anytime soon either. However he does well for himself in the smaller competitions and makes himself a good bit of money to keep himself going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,474 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

I suppose he'd be average in Irish terms. I wouldn't expect to see him taking on the greats of the game anytime soon either. However he does well for himself in the smaller competitions and makes himself a good bit of money to keep himself going.

That makes even less sense!
    What does average in Irish terms mean?
    How on earth can you be in the top 1/000th percentile in the world but be average in Ireland?:confused:

Well he isn't in the same league as McIlroy or Harrington or McDowell is he?

maybe not yet, but he's constantly improving which is a good sign.

How many years is he on tour??