What would you do with Peyton Manning?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

spiralism wrote: »
    Looks like he's Titans bound. Obviously more concerned with having a cosy post retirement gig and a lot of money instead of winning a superbowl. **** him. and **** the broncos front office, incompetent shower of ****. Elway is the next Millen based on this.

Bunkley's off to the saints, we've signed one FA on the cheap in the defensive backfield, alienated the starting QB for someone we're NOT getting, we're probably going to do the most classless thing possible and bin him for a 29 year old rookie, we had 3 defensive free agents walk out friday... We're the only team in Free Agency to go completely backwards. This offseason screams EPIC FAIL on the Josh McDaniels level if not worse. **** this team. wish i supported someone other than this incompetent shower of depression merchants.

Seriously guys, stop with this BS about Manning being more concerned with post-retirement - there's plenty of playing reasons to choose the Titans over the Broncos and the Titans are fully capable of being a Superbowl contender with Manning.

I said Elway was extremely raw as an executive but no one would have any of it, it seems to be playing out graphically now. The Broncos need to double down on Tebow now and Elway needs to apologise him profusely for mis-leading him at the end of last season, be it in public or private.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭spiralism

Syferus wrote: »
    Seriously guys, stop with this BS about Manning being more concerned with post-retirement - there's plenty of playing reasons to choose the Titans over the Broncos and the Titans are fully capable of being a Superbowl contender with Manning.

I said Elway was extremely raw as an executive but no one would have any of it, it seems to be playing out graphically now. The Broncos need to double down on Tebow now and Elway needs to apologise him profusely for mis-leading him at the end of last season, be it in public or private.

There are plenty of reasons but the fact remains that they're more off the pitch than on it, such as the ownership deal, job for life and familiarity. If he wants titles he goes to San Francisco and i can't say i'd have much of a problem with it, it's the correct choice for him if he wants a title. We were best fit when it was us and Tenn.

Well he is, and watch Elway not do that but instead **** him off and replace him with Weeden. Fanbase will go into total meltdown, Weeden will not be accepted by the fans as a proper replacement and with players jumping the sinking ship as we've focused so much on manning that not only have we got nobody in at positions of need, we've lost talented players and are set to lose more. Elway will be happy though, we'll suck enough to get Barkley next year..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,444 ✭✭✭Dohnny Jepp

Looks like he's Titans bound. Obviously more concerned with having a cosy post retirement gig and a lot of money instead of winning a superbowl. **** him. and **** the broncos front office, incompetent shower of ****. Elway is the next Millen based on this.

Bunkley's off to the saints, we've signed one FA on the cheap in the defensive backfield, alienated the starting QB for someone we're NOT getting, we're probably going to do the most classless thing possible and bin him for a 29 year old rookie, we had 3 defensive free agents walk out friday... We're the only team in Free Agency to go completely backwards. This offseason screams EPIC FAIL on the Josh McDaniels level if not worse. **** this team. wish i supported someone other than this incompetent shower of depression merchants.

Honestly, IMO The titans have a better team than the broncos. You's have a better D, but IMO our O is far superior.

It's crazy how quick u're turning on and off Manning. No one knows but himself where he will end up. If it's the broncos you will love him again all of a sudden, if its the titans or 49ers you'll hate him.

Maybe Elway didn't want to do much in FA except manning. There is still the draft to come.

I've said it before, where ever Manning ends up I want him to do well. The man deserves another ring.

Honestly, IMO The titans have a better team than the broncos. You's have a better D, but IMO our O is far superior.

It's crazy how quick u're turning on and off Manning. No one knows but himself where he will end up. If it's the broncos you will love him again all of a sudden, if its the titans or 49ers you'll hate him.

Maybe Elway didn't want to do much in FA except manning. There is still the draft to come.

I've said it before, where ever Manning ends up I want him to do well. The man deserves another ring.

We're a passionate fanbase with very little tolerance for failure, given how little the broncos have seen of it over the years. 2010 was the worst season in team history for example, the bar is pretty high thanks to our current VP. Hence the attitude on the manning signing.

If it's the niners i'd have massive respect for the decision, it would mean he clearly just wants another ring and doesn't give much of a damn about anything else. Titans means that Bud Adams's cash and barely legal incentives talked.

Even then, i'm far more annoyed with our front office than i could be with Manning, we pursued this like a shower of overexcited children and let the rest of the team go to ****. Last year we sucked talentwise, yet this year we have the second most cap room in the league and are poised to have LESS talent by the time the season starts. I mean, how the **** is that even possible?

Maybe you do have a better team, but one team was in the second round of the playoffs and it was us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,426 ✭✭✭Jolly Red Giant

Elway has done a remarkable job since taking over in the Broncos FO - he stabilisied a sinking ship after the disaster of McDaniels era - he recruited the perfect HC that was needed to right the sinking ship - he re-organsied the FO - he committed to building through the draft - brought in good value FAs and assisted bringing a team from 4-12 to the play-offs.

As for Tebow - Elway has not mis-lead him - Elway has been consistant - he has repeatedly stated that Tebow would have to learn to pass from the pocket if he wanted to stay as the Broncos starting QB and said that he would be the starter GOING INTO training camp. He made absolutely zero committments to Tebow outside of that. Going for Manning was a no-brainer given the situation Denver was in.

Two weeks ago Manning was not on the radar - the fact that Elway has kept the Broncos in the final pack right up to the finishing line is testament to his abilities. The three favourites for Manning (if they were interested) were always - Titans, 49ers and Texans. Denver have outlasted Arizona, Miami, Kansas City, Seattle and the rest of the so-called 12.

Now - there is an interesting scenario developing in relation to the 49ers - If Manning decides to go either with the Broncos or the Titans and Smith takes the hump and goes off and signs for Miami or Seattle and Flynn is gone to Seattle or Cleveland or Miami - the 49ers could be stuck without a legit starting QB. That would scupper their charge for the SB and leave Harbaugh with egg on his face.
    Even then, i'm far more annoyed with our front office than i could be with Manning, we pursued this like a shower of overexcited children and let the rest of the team go to ****. Last year we sucked talentwise, yet this year we have the second most cap room in the league and are poised to have LESS talent by the time the season starts. I mean, how the **** is that even possible?
    Spiral - there you go with the negative waves again - get some perspective -

How has the rest of the team gone to ****?

Elway has consistantly stated that they want value in free agency and use it for depth while building through the draft. This is absolutely the correct approach - we have tried throwing silly money at dodgy free agents for years with zero return.

We have 19 free agents - two have signed with other teams - neither of whom are a loss. In fact all bar three or four wouldn't be missed. The Broncos have signed one FA who is an upgrade on what was on the roster last year.

There are over 550 free agents available - about 30 have been signed - most for off-the-wall money. Last year most of Denver's free agent signings were in the last week - not the first.

Take a chill-pill - September is a long way away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,608 ✭✭✭themont85

The next Matt Millen, over reacting fan much

Elway has done a remarkable job since taking over in the Broncos FO - he stabilisied a sinking ship after the disaster of McDaniels era - he recruited the perfect HC that was needed to right the sinking ship - he re-organsied the FO - he committed to building through the draft - brought in good value FAs and assisted bringing a team from 4-12 to the play-offs.

As for Tebow - Elway has not mis-lead him - Elway has been consistant - he has repeatedly stated that Tebow would have to learn to pass from the pocket if he wanted to stay as the Broncos starting QB and said that he would be the starter GOING INTO training camp. He made absolutely zero committments to Tebow outside of that. Going for Manning was a no-brainer given the situation Denver was in.

Two weeks ago Manning was not on the radar - the fact that Elway has kept the Broncos in the final pack right up to the finishing line is testament to his abilities. The three favourites for Manning (if they were interested) were always - Titans, 49ers and Texans. Denver have outlasted Arizona, Miami, Kansas City, Seattle and the rest of the so-called 12.

Now - there is an interesting scenario developing in relation to the 49ers - If Manning decides to go either with the Broncos or the Titans and Smith takes the hump and goes off and signs for Miami or Seattle and Flynn is gone to Seattle or Cleveland or Miami - the 49ers could be stuck without a legit starting QB. That would scupper their charge for the SB and leave Harbaugh with egg on his face.

How has the rest of the team gone to ****?

Elway has consistantly stated that they want value in free agency and use it for depth while building through the draft. This is absolutely the correct approach - we have tried throwing silly money at dodgy free agents for years with zero return.

We have 19 free agents - two have signed with other teams - neither of whom are a loss. In fact all bar three or four wouldn't be missed. The Broncos have signed one FA who is an upgrade on what was on the roster last year.

There are over 550 free agents available - about 30 have been signed - most for off-the-wall money. Last year most of Denver's free agent signings were in the last week - not the first.

Bunkley would be a massive loss. Only for him we'd be getting raped on the ground to the tune of 200 yds a game like we did in 2010. Woodyard would be too, solid LB. Mays-meh but not when he's replaced with precisely nothing. No DJ Williams for 6 games either and i could see us trading him.

I know there's a lot of free agents but only 50 or 60 provided genuine quality and we've got none. There are simply too many needs on this team to be fixed in the draft alone, it would take a couple of years. So what's wrong with bringing in a few to stop the gaps til then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

Elway has been less than stellar, and I can't see how anyone could say otherwise after this debacle. Some of his moves mid-season were mind-bogling. He traded away Lloyd for nothing. Yes, Llyod probably wouldn't sign a new contract at Elway's pay scale but when you practically gave away your best weapon just as a new QB is bedding in it reeks of cynical management of the highest order. The compensatory pick would probably been of at least equal value.

Good coaching of a young defence with good potential - but not half as good as some would have had you believe - and stellar fourth quarter play by Tebow got the Broncos to the play-offs and past the Steelers. It took them weeks to even see enough sense to not to try and play Tebow in almost the same system as Orton. That's not the mark of smart play by Fox.

Elway - and indeed Fox - would have been happy to let the tanking a season continue or throwing in what would have been an ineffectual Brady Quinn unless there had been a groundswell for Tebow. Elway seems to operate as if his Superbowls a generation ago give him free reign but he's setting himself up for a very short management career in Denver.

Elway has been less than stellar, and I can't see how anyone could say otherwise after this debacle. Some of his moves mid-season were mind-bogling. He traded away Lloyd for nothing. Yes, Llyod probably wouldn't sign a new contract at Elway's pay scale but when you practically gave away your best weapon just as a new QB is bedding in it reeks of cynical management of the highest order. The compensatory pick would probably been of at least equal value.
    Bullsh*t - Lloyd wanted out as soon as Orton was benched - he was into stats and nothing else. Elway was absolutely correct to get rid of him - he's McD's man and that has been demonstrated by the way he has followed him around like a little puppy.
    Good coaching of a young defence with good potential - but not half as good as some would have had you believe -
    Says who - do you have any idea how bad the Denver defence was the year before?
    and stellar fourth quarter play by Tebow got the Broncos to the play-offs and past the Steelers.
    Tebow deserves and gets credit for what he achieved last year - however, everyone knows he cannot repeat that now that DC's know how to play him.
    It took them weeks to even see enough sense to not to try and play Tebow in almost the same system as Orton. That's not the mark of smart play by Fox.
    They had completely re-written the playbook within a game and a half. Try completely tossing the offensive playbook mid-season and see the mess it makes for any other team. I have my criticisms of McCoy - but his ability to adapt the offence to suit Tebow was what got him on the radar for HC jobs this off-season.
    Elway - and indeed Fox - would have been happy to let the tanking a season continue or throwing in what would have been an ineffectual Brady Quinn unless there had been a groundswell for Tebow.
    Bullsh*t - To suggest that any team would purposely tank their season is nonsense (even if I did suggest the Colts did it with a bit of tongue in cheek). EXF knew what they had in Quinn - they had to find out what they had in Tebow - and they did - a terrific competitor who is limited as a QB.
    Elway seems to operate as if his Superbowls a generation ago give him free reign but he's setting himself up for a very short management career in Denver.
    Only time will tell - But I will tell you this - Elway is a very smart guy (something himself and Manning have in common). Few players make good GMs but Elway has always had the potential to do the job. Of course he is going to make mistakes along the way - but I think he will be running a very successful franchise for a long time (and I am saying that as someone who respects what Elway has achieved as a player but doesn't actually like him as a person).
    There are simply too many needs on this team to be fixed in the draft alone, it would take a couple of years.
    There is a reason why Fox was given a four-year contract - no one expected it to be fixed quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭matthew8

You Broncos fans act like you're completely out of the Manning sweepstakes. You're not.

matthew8 wrote: »
    You Broncos fans act like you're completely out of the Manning sweepstakes. You're not.

There's more chance of Gisele leaving Tom Brady for me than us signing Manning now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭matthew8

There's more chance of Gisele leaving Tom Brady for me than us signing Manning now.

Not according to the bookies, and I've learnt the hard way (well not really hard, but I lost a very small bit of money) that they know their stuff.

Spiral - you remind me of all those Broncos fans who screamed that Elway should give up on trying to win the SB after the blow-outs by Washington and SF.

Word from across the pond is that the Titans regard the Broncos as their biggest threat - the Broncos regard the Titans as their biggest threat - and the 49ers regard the Broncos as their biggest threat.

Spiral - you remind me of all those Broncos fans who screamed that Elway should give up on trying to win the SB after the blow-outs by Washington and SF.

Word from across the pond is that the Titans regard the Broncos as their biggest threat - the Broncos regard the Titans as their biggest threat - and the 49ers regard the Broncos as their biggest threat.

Im a cynical fan, and there's many of us. Fact is that even the Denver media has us a distant third and Shannon Sharpe, who is the biggest Broncos homer going, says Manning to Tenn is all but a done deal. Both sources had previously touted that he was definitely Denver bound. Given that both sources, especially Sharpe, would have good ties with Elway and co, take it as the truth.

Im a cynical fan,
    Question - what's the point? - its supposed to be fun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

Miami not signing Flynn could suggest they're in for Smith. I'll let y'all do the maths on that one but if SF are serious about Manning, he's theirs IMO.

Question - what's the point? - its supposed to be fun.

such is sport...10% ecstasy, 90% agony.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,819 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

Flynn has signed with the seahawks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,608 ✭✭✭themont85

Im a cynical fan

You're a cynical fan who is giving out because John Elway is making a play for arguably the greatest QB who his generation. Most fans would be pissed that their FO don't have such ambitions. Elway and the FO could easily have coasted with Tebow, he has the popular support that the FO won't be blamed if and when he bombs and the Broncos aren't making the playoffs. Instead they are making a play to seriously upgrade their team.

The Denver FO's plan was always to build through the draft. I really wouldn't that concerned about being in early FA days derby to overpay guys. There's very few who are ever worth overpaying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,445 ✭✭✭frostie500

I dont get how personally some fans are taking this decision. There's lots of factors at play for Manning in making it but yes the primary two are success on the football field and money.
    This is a professional game and Peyton has learned the hard way just how dangerous it can be, why shouldnt he look for the best financial package he can?
    Why should the chance of a non footballing future with some team, the Titans, not be a factor in his decision making process?
    It seems to have been forgotten in recent posts that a move to Nashville would let him play in the state where he is a college legend, allows him to be close to his homes in New Orleans and Miami as well as being near his family.
    These are the factory that most of us use to making a decision as to where you will work so why do some of you look at Manning in a negative light for weighing them into his decision making process?
    Personally I hope he signs for the Niners. Give him an elite defence and he will be able to deliver. The one time that the Colts did that in the 2006 playoffs they won the title. Manning can make the Niners receivers corp more effective and with their solid ground game they would be instantly a very potent offence.
    I want nothing more than to see Manning challenge for another title but I dont think it is realistic to say that he was always going to make the decision based soley on football, he has a young family and needs to consider more than just himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,339 ✭✭✭me-skywalker

I agree. This is why I hate transfer speculations and rumours in football/soccer. 90% of the time its all rubbish and posteuring by agents, the media and your grannies' sister's daughters' cousin! Why get worked up over somethign that hasn't happen, might never happen and might never have even been a real tangible event execpt in some ragtag print because there is nothing else to write about. Chill take a backseat, watch and wait. It'll all play out in due course.

Manning on the back of the Scarlet and Gold = I'ld buy that!

As a Packers fan I would also be afraid, very afraid. An NFC with Rodgers, Brees, Manning, Manning. *faint*

Packers have both 49ers and Giants next season too in reg. If Manning goes to the NFC, it's gonna be a one hell of a tough tough conference. With the Draft still to come and some spread of talent in FA there's gonna be some surprises along the way next season! Damn September!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

http://www.nfl.com/news/story/09000d5d827b2043/article/peyton-manning-will-sign-a-deal-with-the-broncos
    Peyton Manning will sign a deal with the Denver Broncos, a league source told NFL Network's Michael Lombardi on Monday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭TimThomas

Paully D wrote: »

ESPN reporting the same thing. He asked Condon to open Negotiations with the Broncos.

****in yaldy! Schefter just reported it too so this is the truth!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,929 ✭✭✭JaMarcus Hustle

It's nice that a money-hungry, cosey job seeking scrooge like Manning could come to an agreement with the lazy incompetent shower of **** that is the John Elway and the Denver Front Office.

Spiralism, send my wishes to Gisele when you're done eating your words! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

****in yaldy! Schefter just reported it too so this is the truth!

Any chance of a pair of Gisele's knickers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,339 ✭✭✭me-skywalker

2 years in a row the Bronco's are gonna rake it in on Jersey sales. Nike must be rubbing their hands in glee.

It's nice that a money-hungry, cosey job seeking scrooge like Manning could come to an agreement with the lazy incompetent shower of **** that is the John Elway and the Denver Front Office.

Spiralism, send my wishes to Gisele when you're done eating your words! ;)
    Any chance of a pair of Gisele's knickers?

I look like a tit now but damn am i happy... Gisele sends her regards. No pics though unfortunately, she doesn't want her man to find out. Think his name is tom, can't remember.

congrats denver fans

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,929 ✭✭✭JaMarcus Hustle

I'm just happy we have Manning vs Brady at least one more time. Broncos visit the Pats this year.