What would you do with Peyton Manning?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,592 ✭✭✭Tristram

I'd like to see Manning with the Titans. I don't know if the Titans are as bad as some of my friends are making out.

spiralism wrote: »
    he's classy, i'd be willing to say it's a minus for him, not a plus. He'd be horrified at the though of coming out at lucas oil field to a shower of boos.

i seriously doubt any colts fan in there right mind is going to boo payton manning hel get more support there than at his home games. it reminds me of when vick went back to atlanta and half the atlanta fans where wearing vick Jerseys and vick left on far worse terms.

also yes he is classy but i think he'd enjoy sticking it to the colts as a kind of a look what you gave away thing that does not mean he's a bad person.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 719 ✭✭✭neilster

I would happily debate which team has the better players - but that isn't the issue. The Broncos have a far better FO and coaching staff. Adams is a loose canon who orders the coaching staff to do things against their better judgement.

Not upset - disappointed yes - Manning would instantly lift the Broncos close to being in a position for a championship. But I will be emphatic about this - if Manning joins the Titans he will not win a SB. The owner, FO and coaches that the Titans have will not be able to build what is needed for him to succeed in doing it - and I think he will also lose motivation.

Manning dismissed the Chiefs on day one - didn't want the hassle of working woth Pioli.

This does amuse me , Broncos fans sounding like Alain Prost ..."Ayrton blocked me all day" and Senna replies ....."its always like this , if its isnt the car , its the corners , its the track , the tyres ,its never Prousts' fault"

I think Broncos fans should instead of talking horse manure about Bud Adams , they should put up and shut up. Instead of saying how could Manning choose the Titans , they should look at it in Mannings eyes.

Bud Adams is an eccentric old cranky billionaire who could arrive after being 2 months in Houston and harangue his staff to draft Vince Young a flawed nutcase . He also could get onto his plane and disappear for 2 months and leave his coach alone. As I have said before he employed that coach for ten years through think and thin and that coach mostly in a fond way stayed wanting to be employed by him for ten years . The Bud Adams stuff is overblown (some truth some crap) and is one-sided , Manning can live with Bud Adams just the same as Fisher could. Munchak and Archie go way back and by all accounts Munchak is a stand-up guy. He also knows a thing or two about the Offensive Line as an All-Pro which while having talent has holes. They have filled one of the holes with Steve Hutchinson a close Manning friend, a good start. They have a strong running game which will improve to 2010 level with better Munchak-tutured blocking and talent. They can sit in the draft and get Cordy Glenn a good Guard prospect .

Manning feels at home in Tennessee his college home, is a Southern Boy (a New Orleans native) and the Titans are talking the right type of money with a Manning family involvement in the franchise with possible minority ownership. These are significant concessions that Pat Bowlen or Michael Bidwell have not made and are all NFL-legal and have a precedent (maybe not to this level but it has happened).

(On another note Michael Bidwell runs the Cardinals , Bill Bidwells son , and it really is the sons show, the ultimate owner should have met Manning on Mannings' schedule but could explain any lateness)

Until the Broncos start matching some of this , it might be a good idea to ask why they havent matched some of this or maybe just admit that the crazy old coot outsmarted ye . Of course crazy guys become billionaires . I must say i love the Governor of Tenn and the Legislature stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭spiralism

neilster wrote: »
    This does amuse me , Broncos fans sounding like Alain Prost ..."Ayrton blocked me all day" and Senna replies ....."its always like this , if its isnt the car , its the corners , its the track , the tyres ,its never Prousts' fault"

I think Broncos fans should instead of talking horse manure about Bud Adams , they should put up and shut up. Instead of saying how could Manning choose the Titans , they should look at it in Mannings eyes.

Bud Adams is an eccentric old cranky billionaire who could arrive after being 2 months in Houston and harangue his staff to draft Vince Young a flawed nutcase . He also could get onto his plane and disappear for 2 months and leave his coach alone. As I have said before he employed that coach for ten years through think and thin and that coach mostly in a fond way stayed wanting to be employed by him for ten years . The Bud Adams stuff is overblown (some truth some crap) and is one-sided , Manning can live with Bud Adams just the same as Fisher could. Munchak and Archie go way back and by all accounts Munchak is a stand-up guy. He also knows a thing or two about the Offensive Line as an All-Pro which while having talent has holes. They have filled one of the holes with Steve Hutchinson a close Manning friend, a good start. They have a strong running game which will improve to 2010 level with better Munchak-tutured blocking and talent. They can sit in the draft and get Cordy Glenn a good Guard prospect .

Manning feels at home in Tennessee his college home, is a Southern Boy (a New Orleans native) and the Titans are talking the right type of money with a Manning family involvement in the franchise with possible minority ownership. These are significant concessions that Pat Bowlen or Michael Bidwell have not made and are all NFL-legal and have a precedent (maybe not to this level but it has happened).

(On another note Michael Bidwell runs the Cardinals , Bill Bidwells son , and it really is the sons show, the ultimate owner should have met Manning on Mannings' schedule but could explain any lateness)

Until the Broncos start matching some of this , it might be a good idea to ask why they havent matched some of this or maybe just admit that the crazy old coot outsmarted ye . Of course crazy guys become billionaires . I must say i love the Governor of Tenn and the Legislature stuff

Well in our case then:
    -He went to us first. Say all you want about whether it mattered or not, realistically it did matter that we were the first place he thought of going to
    -Manning has a good number of friends in Denver. Brandon Stokely still lives there and Todd Helton who plays for the Colorado Rockies is a close friend of his.
    -Regardless of what you say about the Titans, Bud Adams and the structure there, we're still far more stable in that regard. Bowlen doesn't interfere pretty much ever and Elway, Fox and Xanders have run a tight ship to date.
    -Coaching wise, we're in a better situation too. Munchak looks promising but Fox is an established veteran that managed a narrow defeat to the Pats dynasty with Jake Delhomme at QB. Jack Del Rio is also one of the best defensive minds in the game. Sure, Titans have a good defence too but they lost pieces in free agency and could lose more. Ours is almost completely intact and will be improved over the draft and remainder of FA.
    -Have to replace Tebow you say? Try telling Chris Johnson that there's going to be half as many run plays in the playbook.
    -While Titans were 9-7 last year, we're in a better position to win with the addition of Manning. We were one game behind despite a 1-4 start, Tebow is still in the early stages of development and we made the playoffs, beating the Steelers in the process. Titans have to overcome Houston, which, if Schaub stays fit, is a big ask. We have to win more than 8 games to make playoffs, Titans would need 11 or 12. Possibly having more than half the cap left upon signing him would also mean that large scale investment could still follow; Titans would be using their remaining cap to wrap the deal up.
    -A no-huddle offence with the altitude advantage in Denver would be formidable to say the least, we'd become extremely difficult to beat at home with Manning at even 80%
    -What's being left in the dust is that we can actually outbid Tennessee, having twice as much cap space as them. Reports of part ownerships and the like are barely legal in NFL rules if at all and we could match that anyways fwiw, Bowlen is old and in declining health, Elway is in all likelihood the heir apparent and Manning would be able to move into Elway's position in such a scenario.

http://uk.flightaware.com/live/flight/OPT978

Pat Bowlen's private jet, the same one that picked Manning up last week, is scheduled to fly to Raleigh, NC. Read into that what you will. NFL Network has picked up on this since. Elway just arrived at the airport too.

EDIT: Schefter now has it - It's the truth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,444 ✭✭✭Dohnny Jepp

-Manning has a good number of friends in Denver. Brandon Stokely still lives there and Todd Helton who plays for the Colorado Rockies is a close friend of his.

I'm sure he has many friends in Ten as well, not minding a good friend on the team and his wife is from ten.
    -Regardless of what you say about the Titans, Bud Adams and the structure there, we're still far more stable in that regard. Bowlen doesn't interfere pretty much ever and Elway, Fox and Xanders have run a tight ship to date.
    I think Neilster is spot on in what he said about a lot of exaggerations in regards to Adams. I don't think you's are more stable, less eccentric definitely. Adams had the same coaching team pretty much for the titans entire existance. If that doesn't show stability I don't know what does.
    -Coaching wise, we're in a better situation too. Munchak looks promising but Fox is an established veteran that managed a narrow defeat to the Pats dynasty with Jake Delhomme at QB. Jack Del Rio is also one of the best defensive minds in the game. Sure, Titans have a good defence too but they lost pieces in free agency and could lose more. Ours is almost completely intact and will be improved over the draft and remainder of FA.
    I don't think you's are any better coached. It really is opinion here, but according to you the Broncos have a better team in an easier division, yet the titans finished with a better record? Maybe it's down to the coaching.
    -Have to replace Tebow you say? Try telling Chris Johnson that there's going to be half as many run plays in the playbook.
    Just tell him he stands a great chance of getting a ring. He'll be more than happy to cut the running plays.
    -While Titans were 9-7 last year, we're in a better position to win with the addition of Manning. We were one game behind despite a 1-4 start, Tebow is still in the early stages of development and we made the playoffs, beating the Steelers in the process. Titans have to overcome Houston, which, if Schaub stays fit, is a big ask. We have to win more than 8 games to make playoffs, Titans would need 11 or 12. Possibly having more than half the cap left upon signing him would also mean that large scale investment could still follow; Titans would be using their remaining cap to wrap the deal up.
    Manning wants a SB not a division title, He may only require an 8-8 record to win the division with the broncos but, if that's the best he can do with the broncos (which it likely wouldnt be) there is no chance of a SB. I think either team with Manning would be looking at winning 12 games anyway. 3 more wins for us, 4 more wins for you's.
    -A no-huddle offence with the altitude advantage in Denver would be formidable to say the least, we'd become extremely difficult to beat at home with Manning at even 80%
    He would be difficult to beat at home with any team IMO
    -What's being left in the dust is that we can actually outbid Tennessee, having twice as much cap space as them.
    Unfortunately for us that is true, I just hope the "extra's" are enough to bring him to ten.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,444 ✭✭✭Dohnny Jepp

http://uk.flightaware.com/live/flight/OPT978

Pat Bowlen's private jet, the same one that picked Manning up last week, is scheduled to fly to Raleigh, NC. Read into that what you will. NFL Network has picked up on this since. Elway just arrived at the airport too.

EDIT: Schefter now has it - It's the truth.
    booo :(

Well in our case then:
    -He went to us first. Say all you want about whether it mattered or not, realistically it did matter that we were the first place he thought of going to
    -What's being left in the dust is that we can actually outbid Tennessee, having twice as much cap space as them. Reports of part ownerships and the like are barely legal in NFL rules if at all and we could match that anyways fwiw, Bowlen is old and in declining health, Elway is in all likelihood the heir apparent and Manning would be able to move into Elway's position in such a scenario.

You see this is what i mean , you again are talking about how different you are ...how better you are as if Manning preferring Tenn says something about Denver ...it doesnt

You are largely both 8-8 ish teams where with a franchise QB you would become a Drew Brees 12-4 type of animal ... a perennial contender

I thinks its fair to say that the Titans didnt have an owner hell-bent on getting Manning when Denver and Manning scheduled meetings first

Denver made the playoffs from the most wide open division and probably the weakest division in football. This makes it easier to make the post-season but also inflates the achievements somewhat . Tennessee were still in the hunt at the end of the season for a wild card and with better blocking for Chris Johnson they would have been there. As opposed to friends of Manning in the city, Tennessee went out and signed a friend all-pro Guard Steve Hutchinson. A first-round pick out of Michigan in 2001, Hutchinson has blocked for Shaun Alexander in Seattle where the 2005 MVP led the league with 1,880 yards and 27 touchdowns. In Minnesota, Hutchison blocked for Adrian Peterson, who averaged 1,350 yards each year the past five seasons. He is definitely at the tail of his career but he was a cap victim not due to production . Chris Johnstons' carriers will lessen no doubt but his overall production will improve. To also improve the interior of the line Centres Scott Wells & Chris Myers have visited . They would be the top centres in free agency .

The front office is a strength in Denver (lets not mention Josh McDaniels, Cutler and all that stuff something Tennessee have never done, this has Pat Bowlens pawprints to be fair) but i dont see it as a real weakness in Tennessee the Bud Adams issue notwithstanding. The draft last year was solid . Denver have an advantage but it doesnt feel like it does it ?

But i have consistantly said in a number of posts that money is a lot higher on the agenda than others have said, not just money but being fawned on a little , the governor , the outspoken owner , the repect. Manning wants to be paid like one of the best still operating at a high level but also treated like one (i dont mean in an ego-type way ) . Im not saying Denver have approached it wrong just Tennessee have been better , cuter.

If you have all this cap space and can produce it ...produce it and stop talking about it ...produce new ways of getting the guy

Munchak is pretty highly regarded and Fox is too...i dont see that as a deal-breaker

As to the legality of NFL "job for life" or part-ownership, it is within the rules , its even quite detailed on its implications for the salary cap, the need for a second contract , after the playing role is finished , the hit against the cap for a new management role if any . Giving star players in US Sports stakes in franchises isnt unheard of , all these matters go to approval by the NFL and the owners, its self-regulating

http://sports.yahoo.com/blogs/nfl-shutdown-corner/titans-life-contract-offer-manning-may-way-gain-162337118.html;_ylt=Aub6W7UQeo1xdfgRuZt2N.5DubYF

• Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭TimThomas

Its hilarious watching Denver fans do the following:

- argue with each other over Manning
    - smack talk the Titans and how bad they are and they the broncos deserve Manning more
    - their self entitlement is hilarious
    - the fact they believe they are in a better position to win a bowl than the Titans even though lets face it both have areas to fix
    - Who gives a fook who has the better coaching staff or front office, Manning knows best.

Oh and calling Manning names if he chooses the Titans over them. Priceless.

booo :(

Its either a pathetic attempt to get him or hes going to Denver , it sounds like Bowlen is going to try and trump the Titans financially

Manning didnt rate Miami at all and saw them out of courtesy In Carolina, is it a bad sign when Bowlen has to fuel the jet and travel?

Tom Condon is a genius, i think titans are still ahead here ...if it was Denver theyd have attempted a "Mario meets Buffalo" on it and got him to throw in Denver and attempted a lockdown . I didnt know Mannings wife was from Tenn ...forget lads if thats the case ...as Rumpole says "she who must be obeyed"

http://profootballtalk.nbcsports.com/2012/03/16/peyton-manning-will-work-out-for-john-elway-today/

Its either a pathetic attempt to get him or hes going to Denver , it sounds like Bowlen is going to try and trump the Titans financially

Manning didnt rate Miami at all and saw them out of courtesy In Carolina, is it a bad sign when Bowlen has to fuel the jet and travelling ?

Tom Condon is a genius

he did already visit and bowlen picked him up, bringing him back over so that point doesnt really take much flight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,228 ✭✭✭Chardee MacDennis

Well Manning's informed the Dolphins he wont be signing for them and we'll know about the Cardinals interest with Kolb's bonus deadline at by 4 EST today!

looks like he'll work out for the Broncos once he gets to Denver and we may see a contract signed this weekend.

Tom Condon is a genius, i think titans are still ahead here ...if it was Denver theyd have attempted a "Mario meets Buffalo" on it and got him to throw in Denver and attempted a lockdown . I didnt know Mannings wife was from Tenn ...forget lads if thats the case ...as Rumpole says "she who must be obeyed"

What people seem to always forget is Manning's ties with the state of Tennessee. The fact he went to college in Knoxville and his wife is from Memphis it could be a deciding factor for him going there.

TimThomas wrote: »
    What people seem to always forget is Manning's ties with the state of Tennessee. The fact he went to college in Knoxville and his wife is from Memphis it could be a deciding factor for him going there.

i would doubt he'll work out for two teams though!

he did already visit and bowlen picked him up, bringing him back over so that point doesnt really take much flight.

You're not getting me...he travelled to anyone that was interested who he rated after knocking the chiefs and hawks off the list (miami was a courtesy to marino) ...whose jet is incidental ....he isnt travelling to them , they are travelling to him , a classical Physchological ploy ...

in other words we will entertain Denvers increased interest but Tennessee are offering big money, ownership perks said or alluded to and there havent been throwing sessions etc so we will entertain further due diligence but on our turf rather than land in Dove Valley and accede home advantage

....i think Bowlen wants to see him throw before a billionaire ups the ante and gives more money , promises etc to match Bud Adams ...thats not to say an increased offer may not snare Manning , it may be the only difference but if the throwing checks out , Denver will then have to increase their offer . They have given ground here and made a concession

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,052 ✭✭✭poldebruin

- argue with each other over Manning
    - smack talk the Titans and how bad they are and they the broncos deserve Manning more
    - their self entitlement is hilarious
    - the fact they believe they are in a better position to win a bowl than the Titans even though lets face it both have areas to fix
    - Who gives a fook who has the better coaching staff or front office, Manning knows best.

I assume this is all happening on the Orange Mane forum or some such - none of that going on here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,608 ✭✭✭themont85

Respectfully that's not true at all. It's been mentioned plenty of times as a factor.

However, it IMO is only a factor if all else is even. Peyton Manning 18 years ago gave up the chance to take his fathers place at Ole Miss as their 'king'. He and his family were royalty there and he had been at games from being a nipper and was always in Ole Miss fans sights. He gave that up because the Vols had a better football organisation and he didn't want to play in Archie's shadow.

The same can happen here. Tbf the Titans organisation doesn't seem to be in the same league as the Broncos one in terms of their overall position and their pursuit of Manning. Also multiply the pressure he will feel if he ends up back home in Tennessee

poldebruin wrote: »
    I assume this is all happening on the Orange Mane forum or some such - none of that going on here.

Are you kidding me yes there is. Most of the points I have made have been said here.

themont85 wrote: »
    Respectfully that's not true at all. It's been mentioned plenty of times as a factor.

However, it IMO is only a factor if all else is even. Peyton Manning 18 years ago gave up the chance to take his fathers place at Ole Miss as their 'king'. He and his family were royalty there and he had been at games from being a nipper and was always in Ole Miss fans sights. He gave that up because the Vols had a better football organisation and he didn't want to play in Archie's shadow.

The same can happen here. Tbf the Titans organisation doesn't seem to be in the same league as the Broncos one in terms of their overall position and their pursuit of Manning. Also multiply the pressure he will feel if he ends up back home in Tennessee

With all due respect i think Manning has got pretty adept with dealing with pressure , i dont think Mannings wife is a factor either...this is just a pretty close decision ....we may be seeing a divide

Denver want to see throwing motion and this may be a deal breaker

Titans trusting doctors that he is on mend and really taking the bigger risk

A) Let me put it more clearly ...Bud Adams an old billionaire who has gone above his own staff to woo Manning with all sorts of riches with less due diligence and trusting his gut and maybe medical issues flare up later but hell he owns the team and he can do it and will do it

B) Elway in a very methodical and professional manner shows Manning they can win together and gets close to getting him and when the Titans offer looks larger turns to Pat Bowlen and looks for more of an offer...something to trump the titans ...and thats when the more cautious billionaire says we need to see his throwing motion ....now it may be the last step toward a contract but why carolina then ?

interesting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,608 ✭✭✭themont85

Pointless attention I mean. The reason he straight up rejected the Jets when this all began.

My major point is that personal loyalty to a place won't override the organisation he thinks will win.

themont85 wrote: »
    Pointless attention I mean. The reason he straight up rejected the Jets when this all began.

My major point is that personal loyalty to a place won't override the organisation he thinks will win.

i agree having "only 1 sb" is alway goin to be held against him when he is compared to the bradys and montanas a 2nd would make all the difference and i think he knows that he's playing for his legacy now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,052 ✭✭✭poldebruin

- argue with each other over Manning.
    I haven't seen much arguing. Certainly nothing in the Tebow/Orton ra(n)ge
    - smack talk the Titans and how bad they are and they the broncos deserve Manning more.
    It's hardly smack talk, it all seems fairly even handed observation to me.
    - their self entitlement is hilarious.
    Manning himself obviosuly has the Broncos close to the top of his list of prospective landing spots. If this wasn't the case you could argue it was self entitlement, but not otherwise.
    - the fact they believe they are in a better position to win a bowl than the Titans even though lets face it both have areas to fix.
    I certainly think both teams seem even to me in terms of talent. I don't think the Broncos will be AFC favourites even with Manning.
    - Who gives a fook who has the better coaching staff or front office, Manning knows best..
    I agree totally. The amatuer psychology of what he's doing etc is driving me mad. Everyone is doing what they think is best to sign him, and Manning is looking for the overall best package of money and ambition to win - is any of this a surprise?

I haven't seen this at all.

hehe this is nothing not a patch on farvewatch that was sickening

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,426 ✭✭✭Jolly Red Giant

It is noticable that Titans fans are getting upset that Broncos fans are dowing down their team. As far as I am concerned that is not my intent. I am attempting to look at things from Manning's perspective.

The sequence of events is important.

1. Manning decided to visit three teams - Broncos, Cardinals and Dolphins. He dismissed KC and Seattle at the very start. Tennessee were not on Manning's radar because the HC and GM said there weren't interested in signing him. Furthermore, Manning indicates that he wants to sign for a head coach with SB experience - not a rookie.

2. It appears that by Tuesday morning Manning had decided to sign for Denver. Then Bud Adams tells the world that he will shift heavan and earth to get Manning to Tennessee.

3. Manning visits Tennessee and Adams offers him a 'contract for life' - part ownership of the team and a FO job when he retires.

4. Now look at it from Manning's perspective - he had (a) Denver where owner and entire FO are all on the one page - they are willing to pay him what he wants - they have a very solid stable and straight-forward approach to building the team that has produced significant progress in only a year. He then had (b) Tennessee where the HC and GM didn't want him but were over-ruled by the owner (who has a habit of doing it). This is an owner who made no effort during the previous week to attempt to contact Manning when he was arranging visits - but waited to the very end to try and undercut the other teams involved (and does it in a very public way). Now Adams has a problem - he doesn't want to try and compete with Denver on the 'who gives Manning the best chance to win the SB' stakes - it is too risky and the Broncos already have the inside line. Adams attempts to tempt Manning not with winning a SB but with what is on offer after retirement. Furthermore there is no guarantee that the NFL owners will accept this 'contract for life'.

Up until Tuesday morning Manning's sole focus was finding the team that he had the best chance of winning a SB with. That changed on Tuesday. Manning is perfectly entitled to consider what is on offer after his playing career - he is 36 and has had a serious neck injury. However, and I made this point yesterday, if Manning chooses the Titans (and good luck to him and them if he does) it will not be because they give him the best chance to win a SB but because of what is on offer after he retires.

I am not claiming here that Denver is more likely to win a SB than Tennessee - I am saying the reason for signing for each team is different. If he signs for Denver he signs on to try and win a SB (that is the only reason for doing it). If he signs for Tennessee then his focus is just as much on his retirement as it is on playing for another 3 or 4 years. If you are Manning you will only win a SB if you are focussed on that - and if he is in Tennessee then his focus will be divided. Add the 'eccentricities' of Adams into the mix with a HC and GM who were forced to sign you and you do not have a recipie for the single-minded focus that you need to win a SB.

I will say this again - if Manning joins Denver then he might (and it is only a might) win a SB. If he joins Tennessee he will not win a SB because his focus will not be singularly on his target.

Elway (and apparently contract negotiator Mike Sullivan) flying to visit Manning is interesting. It is happening for one of two reasons (a) they are going to sign Manning to a contract - or - (b) its a last ditch attempt to pull a contract out of the fires of Tennessee. Again - as I said before - as a Broncos fan I only want Manning if he actually wants to sign for Denver - if the added attractions of a 'contract for life' are enticiing him I don't want him in Denver because his sole focus will not be on winning the SB.

hehe this is nothing not a patch on farvewatch that was sickening

true! At least this is interesting and I care where he ends up, most people wanted Favre to just f**k off...

farve to the dolphins anyone :P

Broncos offering $60m over 5 years to Manning as per Schefter on Twitter. $30m guaranteed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,426 ✭✭✭Jolly Red Giant

Broncos offering $60m over 5 years to Manning as per Schefter on Twitter. $30m guaranteed.
    Yes - several reports surfacing about this.

A good price for the Broncos - leaves over $35million available in cap space.

Yes - several reports surfacing about this.

A good price for the Broncos - leaves over $35million available in cap space.

There's talk of Bud Adams offering 60 million this year. Can't see how it happens though, the cap does exist after all.