What would you do with Peyton Manning?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭matthew8

Anything that keeps Manning from terrorising the Ravens for the next 3 years. Go for it Peyton. Go to San Francisco, we'll take care of this Brady guy for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,426 ✭✭✭Jolly Red Giant

Syferus wrote: »
    It's completely ridiculous to think that they'd secretly work him out if their intention was to spook Smith. Manning is no mug, the 49ers' interest is real.
    Not what I meant - The 49ers want Smith to sign - Smith is dragging his feet. Manning would be the only option to replace Smith. at 5/90 with at least $30million against this years cap (they will get to the SB) the 49ers would require a lot of restructuring just to sign him.

Condon knows what is going on - but here is the problem for Condon - if the 49ers sign Manning then Smith is not going to get anything like his offer at the 49ers. Conflict of interest? maybe - conspiracy theory? who knows. Interesting that the report of the 49ers trying out Manning on Tuesday - yet zero mention of any contract talks - were both Manning and the 49ers using the try-out for their own purposes? interesting thought.

Who knows what is going on? - As I said before - if the 49ers want him and they are willing to pay the money then they win hands down - and if they are really in the stakes then this is no contest - why the hell hasn't he signed for them by now? I don't want Manning in a Broncos uniform if he turns down the 49ers because of money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

Would you please stop this 'if Manning does X arbitrary thing I don't want him in a Broncos uniform'! This is one of the greatest competitors in histrory, just because he knows his own value doesn't mean he cares any less about winning. In the end this is a business and he's also playing for the prosperity of future generations of the Manning family, they won't always have their hands on the money machine as strongly as they do now. Hell choose what's the right overall fit; he's not going to go to a team he doesn't feel have a very good shot at a Bowl.

Syferus wrote: »
    In the end this is a business and he's also playing for the prosperity of future generations of the Manning family, they won't always have their hands on the money machine as strongly as they do now.
    In America $500million is never enough.

Manning is looking for 5/90 - fair enough - he is also getting a further $16million in guaranteed money from the Colts over the next two years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,444 ✭✭✭Dohnny Jepp

Where ever manning ends up I hope he gets another SB ring with that team. I'm a massive manning fan as well as a titan fan, adn he deserves another. I mean you have less talented Qb's like tom brady with many mroe than him ( can of worms opened :P)

lol can of worms is right.

i would agree with you though just look at how the pats kept goin when tom got injured but the colts fell apart.
    now before anyone says anything i still think brady is a hof qb and i know cassel was a better replacement than painter or whoever started most of the season for the colts but he has been helped a lot by an outstanding system in new england.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

Manning wont cost SF 5/90. Just like he wouldnt be getting offered that much off Denver if the titans werent in the mix. His first priority is a ring and the 49ers will be favourites for the next 3 years if he signs.

davyjose wrote: »
    Manning wont cost SF 5/90. Just like he wouldnt be getting offered that much off Denver if the titans werent in the mix. His first priority is a ring and the 49ers will be favourites for the next 3 years if he signs.
    All three teams are offering the same numbers - If you want the player you pay the asking price. There may be some variations on how the contract is structured but Manning will get $30million in guaranteed money and up to $61.8million in the first two years of the contract.

In terms of cap space - the 49ers will have to restructure some contracts to sign Manning - Titans will have to do the same but to a lesser degree - Broncos will still have about $20million in cap space.

As I see it -

Issues relating to choice appear to be -

1. 49ers - Harbaugh appears unwilling to give Manning the freedom he wants in running the offence (and I still have my doubts about the motives of the 49ers)
    2. Titans have a rookie HC, an 'eccentric' (to be polite) owner and a HC and GM that didn't want him in the first place.
    3. Broncos have some gaps to fill on the roster to be truely competitive for the SB.

Positives for each

1. 49ers are very close to the SB and Manning would make them odds-on certs (the question is why he hasn't actually signed for them)
    2. Titans are the home town team and Manning is worshiped in Tennessee
    3. Broncos have a stable organisation, an experienced HC who has been to a SB, probably the best DC in the game and are willing to give Manning free-reign in running the offence - the no-huddle run by Manning would be virtually unstoppable in Mile High.

If I had to pick a winner at this point I would go for the Titans - I think the 49ers want Smith - and I think the possibility of a post-retirement option coupled with the home-town will trump the Broncos.

As the scenario drags out I am getting less inclined to actually want Manning to sign for the Broncos - initially word from Manning's camp was that money would not be an issue, now it appears that it is a major issue and he expects to get paid more than his Colts contract while still taking the guaranteed money from Indy. The guy has about $500million in the bank yet he appears to want top dollar at 36 years of age and missing all last season with a serious neck injury. In contrast Elway in later years restructured his contract on more than one occasion to bring in players needed to win the SB - which resulted in winning it twice.

At this point I think I would prefer the Broncos to draft Weeden and move on with the plan A of two weeks ago. If the Broncos sign Manning I look forward to seeing if he can bring competitiveness to the Broncos - but I am somewhat concerned about his motives after the way this week has panned out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,929 ✭✭✭JaMarcus Hustle

3. Broncos have .... probably the best DC in the game

laughing_meme_guy_by_vixenwolfie-d485kw0.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭spiralism

laughing_meme_guy_by_vixenwolfie-d485kw0.png

Maybe not the best but he's surely up there? Del Rio's record on Defence speaks for itself, no. 2 defence in Carolina, LB coach for the 2000 Ravens and top defences most years for Jacksonville. Even this year the Jags issues were entirely offensive.

spiralism wrote: »
    Maybe not the best but he's surely up there? Del Rio's record on Defence speaks for itself, no. 2 defence in Carolina, LB coach for the 2000 Ravens and top defences most years for Jacksonville. Even this year the Jags issues were entirely offensive.

He's good, but Dick LeBeau is lightyears ahead of everyone else in the league and will be for as long as he stays at it. Del Rio and Wade Phillips would duke it out for 2nd best, but to say that Del Rio is "probably" the best implies that there's a chance he could be better than LeBeau. Nip that in the bud right now - he's not. Not even close.

Fair assessment, agreed. Though LeBeau has had his moments of late, he did make a balls of their playoff defeat to us running cover 1 and zero blitzes all day and getting them killed.

That was all Tebow baby! :p

That is the point - LeBeau has made more mistakes recently - over the span of his career LeBeau has been top dog - at this point in time there are some question marks over some of his decisions. Del Rio will improve Denver's defence on a decent effort with limited resources last year by Allen.

More mistakes? The Steelers were still the number 1 overall defence, number 1 pass defence and number 1 points against defence in the NFL last year. Whatever mistakes LeBeau did make, he's still universes ahead of anyone else in the NFL. He's been a defensive coordinator for the Steelers for 10 different seasons. Their overall defensive have finished, in those seasons, 1st, 2nd, 5th, 1st, 1st, 9th, 4th, 1st, 2nd and 3rd.

There is no glimmer of possibility that Del Rio is a better DC than LeBeau. None whatsoever, don't even argue that because it's pointless.

As the scenario drags out I am getting less inclined to actually want Manning to sign for the Broncos - initially word from Manning's camp was that money would not be an issue, now it appears that it is a major issue and he expects to get paid more than his Colts contract while still taking the guaranteed money from Indy. The guy has about $500million in the bank yet he appears to want top dollar at 36 years of age and missing all last season with a serious neck injury. In contrast Elway in later years restructured his contract on more than one occasion to bring in players needed to win the SB - which resulted in winning it twice.

At this point I think I would prefer the Broncos to draft Weeden and move on with the plan A of two weeks ago. If the Broncos sign Manning I look forward to seeing if he can bring competitiveness to the Broncos - but I am somewhat concerned about his motives after the way this week has panned out.
    Really? You'd prefer weeden to a hall of fame QB simply because he's deliberating over his decision? You think his motives would be less questionable if he desperately snatched the first offer on the table?

Talk about fairweather. Yous drop the tebow love as soon as mannings name is mentioned. Now manning is the bad guy cause he didnt sign for ye right away.

I too hope ye get weedon instead.

All three teams are offering the same numbers - If you want the player you pay the asking price.

- initially word from Manning's camp was that money would not be an issue.
    These two points are contradictory too. If all teams are offering the same money, as you say, then clearly the fact that he hasn't chosen yet proves the decision is not based on money.

IMO he should choose SF if they are serious, followed by Denver thwn Tennessee. For football reasons.

Really? You'd prefer weeden to a hall of fame QB simply because he's deliberating over his decision? You think his motives would be less questionable if he desperately snatched the first offer on the table?

Talk about fairweather. Yous drop the tebow love as soon as mannings name is mentioned. Now manning is the bad guy cause he didnt sign for ye right away.

Oh God, this +1000000.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭TimThomas

Steve Young with more insight:
    Steve Young: Harbaugh threw with Peyton, probably will sign him

I suggest that you read back over all the comments that I have made on this thread before attempting to paint me with the above brush.

Of course I would prefer Manning - I would actually prefer Manning to any other QB in the league with the possible exception of Rodgers and Brees. And I think the Broncos will draft Weeden whether they get Manning or not.

However, there is a proviso - that Manning is focussed on winning the SB and not on the post-retirement offers of Bud Adams.

Now - in terms of how long it is taking to make the decision - the word from the Manning camp last week was that he would make the decision by the start of free agency on Tuesday - then he was going to make the decision by yesterday - now the word is maybe Monday or Tuesday next week. I don't care how long he takes - the guy is entitled to deliberate as long as he wants - but don't leak repeated changes in the timeframe - if anything it demonstrates indecision on his part (which goes back to my point above).

If it is a case that Manning wants to win the SB and that is his No1 priority then the 49ers should win the stakes hands down - they are by far the best prepared team to win the SB - why hasn't he made that decision and what is preventing him from doing so? This is a legitimate question. I believe it is because the 49ers actually want to move forward with Smith.
    Again I suggest that you go back and read what I have posted on the Tebow/Broncos thread - Tebow deserves credit for what he did last year but it is getting clearer that he is not going to make it as a franchise QB. I am not saying Manning is a 'bad guy' for doing anything - I am posing legitimate questions as to his motivation and why he has repeatedly pushed back his decision on several occasions. For both the Titans and Broncos fans this has become a very frustrating process - the 49ers fans less so.
    Either way I believe the Broncos will be on a winner - Manning and $20million in cap space (and possibly Weeden as back-up) or Weeden and $40+million in cap space. Whatever is the outcome I think the Broncos will make progress.

On a mobile so its tricky to quote. The point about manning being lured by bud adams' retirement offers is moot though. Because if he is lured by that, its Tennessee's problem. If he isnt then it comes down to choice.
    I do understand the impatience but if you DO sign him, its because he's covered all the bases. A good sign.

On a mobile so its tricky to quote. The point about manning being lured by bud adams' retirement offers is moot though. Because if he is lured by that, its Tennessee's problem. If he isnt then it comes down to choice.
    I do understand the impatience but if you DO sign him, its because he's covered all the bases. A good sign.
    This I agree with - and this then poses the question - are the 49ers really interested in Manning or is Condon doing some manoeuvring? and if the 49ers really are at the races what is stopping Manning signing for them?

49ers are really interested in Manning. Harbaugh was throwing with him during the week according to Steve Young and Young himself said the 49ers want Manning. Why would the 49ers go to all that effort if they weren't serious about it?

As for why its taking him so long? He only met Harbaugh during the week and the Titans this morning and was throwing with them also. Apparently Manning wanted to weigh up all his options and he is supposed to make his decision Monday or Tuesday all though his camp are saying more like Wednesday or Thursday. Also none of the teams or Manning are in any rush to sign him. It is only impatient fans and pundits and the media that are putting spins on the time frame of it all.

TimThomas wrote: »
    49ers are really interested in Manning. Harbaugh was throwing with him today according to Steve Young and Young himself said the 49ers want Manning. Why would the 49ers go to all that effort if they weren't serious about it?

Clearly just to annoy Denver Broncos fans it seems. The NFL and Peyton Manning are also in on it apparently.

harbaughxtroll.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,369 ✭✭✭UnitedIrishman

Interestingly, just remembered a bit from Rich Eisen's interview with RGIII around the time of the combine and Rich asked him who he spoke to in the 'team interview' sessions. The usual suspects were there - Miami, Washington, Jags etc - and then he said Harbaugh met him too which surprised the panel. RGIII passed it off as him trying to possibly find out info on Blackmon but of course, Harbaugh wanted Griffin at Stanford when he was there.

So it does seems like Harbaugh is definitely looking to upgrade at QB with his fallback plan to re-sign Smith then if he fails.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

Well he had no chance of drafting RG3 do he wasn't interviewing him with the aim of drafting him. They used a second round on Kaenperwick last year so unless they've changed tacts they're planning on slow cooking him. If Harbaugh can have such a positive impact on Smith with half an off season you have to imagine that that kid had the chance to be a very good QB.

Manning makes sense in that context, a young QB does not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 719 ✭✭✭neilster

I suggest that you read back over all the comments that I have made on this thread before attempting to paint me with the above brush.

Of course I would prefer Manning - I would actually prefer Manning to any other QB in the league with the possible exception of Rodgers and Brees. And I think the Broncos will draft Weeden whether they get Manning or not.

However, there is a proviso - that Manning is focussed on winning the SB and not on the post-retirement offers of Bud Adams.

Now - in terms of how long it is taking to make the decision - the word from the Manning camp last week was that he would make the decision by the start of free agency on Tuesday - then he was going to make the decision by yesterday - now the word is maybe Monday or Tuesday next week. I don't care how long he takes - the guy is entitled to deliberate as long as he wants - but don't leak repeated changes in the timeframe - if anything it demonstrates indecision on his part (which goes back to my point above).

If it is a case that Manning wants to win the SB and that is his No1 priority then the 49ers should win the stakes hands down - they are by far the best prepared team to win the SB - why hasn't he made that decision and what is preventing him from doing so? This is a legitimate question. I believe it is because the 49ers actually want to move forward with Smith.

Again I suggest that you go back and read what I have posted on the Tebow/Broncos thread - Tebow deserves credit for what he did last year but it is getting clearer that he is not going to make it as a franchise QB. I am not saying Manning is a 'bad guy' for doing anything - I am posing legitimate questions as to his motivation and why he has repeatedly pushed back his decision on several occasions. For both the Titans and Broncos fans this has become a very frustrating process - the 49ers fans less so.

Either way I believe the Broncos will be on a winner - Manning and $20million in cap space (and possibly Weeden as back-up) or Weeden and $40+million in cap space. Whatever is the outcome I think the Broncos will make progress.

As a poster on Manning you certainly mention the most questionable things on this topic ...i have (and u can check it ) consistently said that in Peyton Manning & Tom Condon...player and agent.... you have
    the absolute masters of contract strategy & negotiation

They cornered Jim Irsay last year and they cornered him again in March ....you have talked about lists of teams and methodically working through them ...horse****

these guys have talked to the whole league...we might as well say the Texans as well ....the 49ers have chosen to come out at the end ....but where can you prove Harbaugh wont give the reins to manning ...he wants a SuperBowl ....

And again maybe its as a fan but you seriously do the Titans a disservice ....you make the Broncos sound like the 2011 Patriots...their dynasty (Broncos) is 20 years ago and whilst they are coming back and look seriously well-run at present which bodes well for the future you arent miles ahead of the Titans ...you just think you are ...there isnt a whole pile between ye

Which brings me to the 49ers ...they are where ye both want to be ...an elite defence a bit like a Trent Dilfer 2000 Ravens ...could win without an elite QB with a bit of luck a Super Bowl but with Manning just like the Texans ....its a SuperBowl ...he will sign i think

as Steve Young says the 49ers waited for the wannabees to talk themselves into a tizzy and then waltzed in at the end cos they knew Manning wanted them involved

• Closed Accounts Posts: 719 ✭✭✭neilster

You are thinking a conspiracy theory too far

The 49ers are only a QB from a SuperBowl...they dont have to obey anyones timetable ...they can call a day before the deadline cos their interest means a SuperBowl appearance and Manning knows it

Denver with manning are a contender for a SuperBowl appearance and the Titans whilst slightly off that level are similar

SanFran are 2 months removed from very unluckily missing a SuperBowl where their strengths would have strangled the Pats . A different level with aloaded defence all 11 of which return in 2012

You mentioned all of this as getting Alex Smith to sign ...the media of America isnt following that dilemma ...they are following Manning as Harbaugh is

i think Manning goes to the Bay ...at the start of all of this i posted that San Fran and the Texans had to call Manning ...i thought that Schaub maybe too talented (a top 10 guy) to chase Manning and not get him and tehn get a Cutler situation with your QB...San Fran had no such worries...it seems they did this slowly and in their own time cos they are the front-runner and they know it

unless the Yorks get cold feet this will happen

neilster wrote: »
    You are thinking a conspiracy theory too far

The 49ers are only a QB from a SuperBowl...they dont have to obey anyones timetable ...they can call a day before the deadline cos their interest means a SuperBowl appearance and Manning knows it

Denver with manning are a contender for a SuperBowl appearance and the Titans whilst slightly off that level are similar

SanFran are 2 months removed from very unluckily missing a SuperBowl where their strengths would have strangled the Pats . A different level with aloaded defence all 11 of which return in 2012

You mentioned all of this as getting Alex Smith to sign ...the media of America isnt following that dilemma ...they are following Manning as Harbaugh is

i think Manning goes to the Bay ...at the start of all of this i posted that San Fran and the Texans had to call Manning ...i thought that Schaub maybe too talented (a top 10 guy) to chase Manning and not get him and tehn get a Cutler situation with your QB...San Fran had no such worries...it seems they did this slowly and in their own time cos they are the front-runner and they know it

unless the Yorks get cold feet this will happen

Looks like he's Titans bound. Obviously more concerned with having a cosy post retirement gig and a lot of money instead of winning a superbowl. **** him. and **** the broncos front office, incompetent shower of ****. Elway is the next Millen based on this.

Bunkley's off to the saints, we've signed one FA on the cheap in the defensive backfield, alienated the starting QB for someone we're NOT getting, we're probably going to do the most classless thing possible and bin him for a 29 year old rookie, we had 3 defensive free agents walk out friday... We're the only team in Free Agency to go completely backwards. This offseason screams EPIC FAIL on the Josh McDaniels level if not worse. **** this team. wish i supported someone other than this incompetent shower of depression merchants.