Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cheltenham Ante Post Pick

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,173 ✭✭✭hucklebuck

Slattsy wrote: »
    Compared to PP what are they like to bet with?

I bet with them about 95% of the time, they have loads of markets, plenty of free bets and they have the Channel 4 offer, if you back a winner on Channel 4 at 4/1 or bigger you get a free bet for the same amount in the next live race on C4.

If you don't have an account with them open one, they give you about €200 in free bets with various caveats, great for big punting at Cheltenham:)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,417 ✭✭✭finbarrk

Suppose they would be ok for online stuff. But they don't have shops so not much good for most punters.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,369 ✭✭✭UnitedIrishman

Bet365 have been brilliant since I've been with them anyways, great offers including the parlay bonus one which is handy come NFL season time.

All my ante-post has been with them, PP and Betfair. Have a few other accounts with other firms but the odds are either terrible or just have issues over service etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 713 ✭✭✭newuser89

I got another mark Howard update for Cheltenham
    Pm your email if anyone wants me to forward it on this evening

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

Anyone know what time the 6 day decs should be released for the Thurs?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

Should be out now.....

Boston Bob being backed for the Neptune on Betfair.....

It's gonna be a long week if you've any of Willie's horses backed ante post!!!

They're filtering through on BF. Just waiting on the Pertemps and Festival Plate

Rubi Light over 8/1 on BF??

• Registered Users Posts: 100 ✭✭El Ninotorres

Should be out now.....

Will he not go in the Albert? Could you see him beating Simonsig

• Registered Users Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭sting60

Invictus out of RSA but Grumeti will run in the Triumph.

• Registered Users Posts: 484 ✭✭AldilaMan

UrbanSea wrote: »
    Rubi Light over 8/1 on BF??

I can't see him winning on good ground. No reason why Alberta's Run won't win it for a 3rd time IMO

Should be out now.....

Will he not go in the Albert? Could you see him beating Simonsig

I've given up trying to 2nd guess Willie Mullins. I backed him NRNB in the 3 miler

Not for me in the Neptune tbh. Next years RSA winner though!

AldilaMan wrote: »
    I can't see him winning on good ground. No reason why Alberta's Run won't win it for a 3rd time IMO

He's gone back in a bit. Age could be catching up on him

• Registered Users Posts: 6,014 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

hucklebuck wrote: »
    I bet with them about 95% of the time, they have loads of markets, plenty of free bets and they have the Channel 4 offer, if you back a winner on Channel 4 at 4/1 or bigger you get a free bet for the same amount in the next live race on C4.

If you don't have an account with them open one, they give you about €200 in free bets with various caveats, great for big punting at Cheltenham:)

But don't you have to play through the free money like 3 times if you win? I'm sure they get the vast majority of it back. Bookmakers do have good offers sometimes, especially around Cheltenham time, but 90% of the time the exchanges are the way to go. Why bet on markets that at the very best are 110% when instead you can have a 100% market every time

• Registered Users Posts: 338 ✭✭faoile@n

AldilaMan wrote: »

The terrible preparation not a worry :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 5,369 ✭✭✭UnitedIrishman

Just a couple questions to anyone that feels like answering about antepost/betting on the day -

How much of your staking do you reckon has been done ante-post comapred to what you'll bet on the day? For example, I've pretty much most races covered on the first day already with ante-post bets but will probably stake go in on SS and HF on the day again for a few quid but only about half of what I've staked antepost on all the races. i.e. antepost bets for Tuesday is €100+ and will probably bet around €50 on the day.

Also what's your ante-post 'portfolio' (for want of a better word) shaping up like with only a few days left? Interesting to see what sort of odds you go and how they fare out now.

Mine at the moment looks like this:
    Al Ferof with PP @ 5/1 MB Special; HF @ 10/11; 2-3 Accums with HF @ 4/5, SS @ 5/4, Long Run @ 9/4, Scotsirish @ 5/2 and Sizing @ 5/4; Garde Champetre @ 8/1; Tiger O'Toole @ 33/1; Tullamore Dew @ 12/1; Harpsy Cord @ 20/1.

Binocular TBP @ 1.91; Overturn TBP @ 10.0 Montbazon @ 11.5; Trifolium @ 19.0; Bobs Worth @ 6.4;.. and two fails Voler La Vedette @ 7.4 and Bog Warrior @ 22.0 for RSA.

All NRNB bar the Betfair odds.

* and after writing all that out, I probably should've just asked what your steal was so far in antepost betting.. bah.

I've done 4 bets, I'm happy enough so far.

Binocular at 6/1 for the CH in a double with Quevega at 4/7 antepost.
    33/1 Holmwood Legend for the Byrne Plate NRNB
    Grand Vision at 14/1 for the Pertemps antepost
    Champion Court 10/1 for the Jewson antepost

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,696 ✭✭✭mark renton

Still cant believe Pipe is doodling over entries for Grand Crus - he surely knows well which he will go for however sees fit to keep it to himself

Cant believe anyone on here picks any horse other than Grand Crus for the RSA - gives weight to the philosophy of absolving the democratic right of one man one vote from society :D

The best value bets I have are

Midnight Game 25/1 & 16/1
    Ulck Du Lin 16/1
    Zarkandar 10 & 9/1
    Hisaabaat 38
    Grands Crus 10/1 (RSA) & 7/1 (GC)
    Cue Card 19

• Closed Accounts Posts: 713 ✭✭✭newuser89

make of it what yas will
    email off a freind

SUPREME NOVICES' HURDLE

Shark Hanlon - Steps To Freedom

Gordon Elliot - Cinders & Ashes (Jason Maguire has told him it's his
    best chance of a winner at the festival)

Damien McElroy - Galileo's Choice

Paddy Aspell - Simonsig

Andrew Leigh - Trifolium

Fran Flood - Trifolium (Charles Byrnes has backed this horse for this
    race)

Pat Nolan - Steps To Freedom

ARKLE TROPHY

Shark Hanlon - Sprinter Sacre (NAP)

Gordon Elliot - Al Ferof (He said the vibes aren't good from Jason
    Maguire about Peddlers Cross)

Damien McElroy - Peddlers Cross

Paddy Aspell - Peddlers Cross

Andrew Leigh - Peddlers Cross

Fran Flood - Sprinter Sacre

Pat Nolan - Peddlers Cross

CHAMPION HURDLE

Shark Hanlon - Rock On Ruby

Gordon Elliot - Hurricane Fly

Damien McElroy - Hurricane Fly - Oscars Well Forecast

Paddy Aspell - Hurricane Fly

Andrew Leigh - Hurricane Fly

Fran Flood - Hurricane Fly

Pat Nolan - Hurricane Fly to win next three Champion Hurdles

NEPTUNE INVESTMENTS HURDLE

Shark Hanlon - Simonsig

Gordon Elliot - Monksland (Meade told him it's the best he's had in a
    long time)

Damien McElroy - Monksland

Paddy Aspell - Monksland

Andrew Leigh - Boston Bob

Fran Flood - Boston Bob

Pat Nolan - Boston Bob (NAP)

RSA CHASE

Shark Hanlon - Sir Des Champs (if he runs)

Gordon Elliot - Grands Crus (Thinks he'll run in the Gold Cup though)

Damien McElroy - First Lieutenant

Paddy Aspell - First Lieutenant

Andrew Leigh - First Lieutenant

Fran Flood - First Lieutenant

Pat Nolan - First Lieutenant

QUEEN MOTHER

Shark Hanlon - Sizing Europe

Gordon Elliot - Sizing Europe

Damien McElroy - Sizing Europe

Paddy Aspell - Sizing Europe

Andrew Leigh - Sizing Europe

Fran Flood - Sizing Europe

Pat Nolan - Sizing Europe

RYANAIR CHASE

Shark Hanlon - Rubi Light

Gordon Elliot - Medermit

Damien McElroy - Riverside Theatre

Paddy Aspell - Riverside Theatre

Andrew Leigh - Blazing Tempo (Runs in this race)

Fran Flood - Albertas Run

Pat Nolan - Riverside Theatre

WORLD HURDLE

Shark Hanlon - Big Buck's

Gordon Elliot - Big Buck's

Damien McElroy - Big Buck's - Thousand Stars Forecast

Paddy Aspell - Thousand Stars e/w

Andrew Leigh - Thousand Stars to beat Big Buck's

Fran Flood - Big Buck's

Pat Nolan - Oscar Whisky

TRIUMPH HURDLE

Shark Hanlon - No Irish Winner - "They're all dirt" were his words

Gordon Elliot - Shadow Catcher - "He'll be on the bridle coming to the
    last but I don't know what will happen after that." - Carberry rides.

Damien McElroy - Darroun to beat Shadow Catcher

Paddy Aspell - Pearl Swan

Andrew Leigh - Darroun (Big talk in Mullins' about this horse)

Fran Flood - Darroun

Pat Nolan - Darroun

GOLD CUP

Shark Hanlon - Long Run

Gordon Elliot - Grand Crus

Damien McElroy - Long Run to beat Synchronised

Paddy Aspell - Long Run

Andrew Leigh - Long Run

Fran Flood - Kauto Star

Pat Nolan - Kauto Star

NAPS & BEST EW BETS

Shark Hanlon - Mount Benbulben/Vendor (Fred Winter)

Gordon Elliot - Shadow Catcher/Toner D'Oudaries (Coral Cup - He really
    likes him)

Damien McElroy - Hurricane Fly/Monksland

Paddy Aspell - Simonsig/Brindisi Breeze

Andrew Leigh - Boston Bob/Thousand Stars

Fran Flood - Sizing Europe/Citizenship

Pat Nolan - Oscar Whisky/Peddlers Cross

Lads I can't see Toner D'Oudairies in the BF market but I see his still entered?

Last on the list, ya blind baxtard!

Ah yes

**** all to back Champion Court on BF at 9 and lay side is 11.5. Injured?

Think he's in the Martin Pipe race too. Russell said Wednesday that Carlito runs in the Coral Cup rather than the World Hurdle.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,247 ✭✭✭Juwwi

**** all to back Champion Court on BF at 9 and lay side is 11.5. Injured?

I'd say sat its just bad liquidity Urban its the same for the second fav aswell.

For Cristal Bonus?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,247 ✭✭✭Juwwi

Yea theres only about €60 looking to back him aswell
    and he's a definate runner aswell isnt he.

Ah hopefully