Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Son Of General Retro Discussion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭Touch Fuzzy Get Dizzy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,912 ✭✭✭Steve X2

I love the way my web host puts my account(and domains) as suspended while I'm moving to new servers, cheers for that Letshost :mad:

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,501 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

The greatest videogame endings according to Guinness Book of Records and a poll of 13,000 morons:

50. Resident Evil 4
    49. Star Wars: Knights of the old Republic
    48. Ratchet & Clank: a Crack in Time
    47. Crysis 2
    46. The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion
    45. Call of Duty: World at War
    44. Star Wars: The Force Unleashed II
    43. Half-Life 2: Episode Tow
    42. Super Metroid
    41. The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess
    40. New Super Mario Bros. Wii
    39. inFamous
    38. Fallout 3
    37. Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas
    36. Gears of War 2
    35. Bioshock
    34. Starcraft II: Wings of Liberty
    33. Sonic Adventures 2
    32. Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater
    31. Kingdom Hearts II
    30. Mass Effect
    29. Super Mario Galaxy
    28. Sonic the Hedgehog
    27. Metal Gear Solid
    26. Assassin's Creed II
    25. Assassin's Creed
    24. Shadow of the Colossus
    23. Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
    22. Kingdom Hearts
    21. Uncharted 2: Among Thieves
    20. Super Mario Galaxy 2
    19. Mass Effect 2
    18. Grand Theft Auto IV
    17. Portal 2
    16. Assassins Creed: Brotherhood
    15. Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time
    14. Halo: Combat Evolved
    13. Halo 3
    12. Pokemon Black and White
    11. Super Mario Bros
    10. Heavy Rain
    9. Final Fantasy VII
    8. Metal Gear Solid 4
    7. Portal
    6. Red Dead Redemption
    5. God of War
    4. Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2
    3. The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time
    2. Halo: Reach
    1. Call of Duty: Black Ops

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

tumblr_lvhd5qHZKO1r2z2gmo1_500.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,798 ✭✭✭Jack burton

Retr0gamer wrote: »
    The greatest videogame endings according to Guinness Book of Records and a poll of 13,000 morons:

50. Resident Evil 4
    47. Crysis 2
    42. Super Metroid
    39. inFamous
    38. Fallout 3
    36. Gears of War 2
    35. Bioshock
    33. Sonic Adventures 2
    31. Kingdom Hearts II
    30. Mass Effect
    29. Super Mario Galaxy
    28. Sonic the Hedgehog
    27. Metal Gear Solid
    26. Assassin's Creed II
    25. Assassin's Creed
    22. Kingdom Hearts
    20. Super Mario Galaxy 2
    19. Mass Effect 2
    18. Grand Theft Auto IV
    17. Portal 2
    13. Halo 3
    11. Super Mario Bros
    10. Heavy Rain
    9. Final Fantasy VII
    8. Metal Gear Solid 4
    7. Portal
    6. Red Dead Redemption
    5. God of War

That poll consisted of some really stupid 12 year olds! Back ops has a terrible ending even by call of duty standards, I've lost all hope for this generation

Game endings got a lot more attention with the introduction of FMV I'd say, some of the PS1 endings for example, and intros, blew me away when I first saw them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭DinoRex

And not a single Lucas Arts game in sight! How brilliant was Monkey Island 2's ending?

I think great game endings could be a good topic for a future podcast.

Wasnt Sonic 1s ending just him running through Green Hill Zone with loads of animals and jumping at the screen?

there's two endings, it's slightly different if you get all the Emeralds

Sera wrote: »
    there's two endings, it's slightly different if you get all the Emeralds

Yeah. He stops and they go up in to the air spinning in a circle :/

I feel that Heavy Rain should be placed at different points on the chart for each of it's endings!

Yeah. He stops and they go up in to the air spinning in a circle :/
    yeah I said slight :rolleyes: and Robotnik is all angry when it says 'End'
    images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSQNOxs2vE1yN7B7v27iYPnxH__09K7gCfLKePaeQOAVXfCIfeM

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

Playing Sonic & clearing it is reward enough, we don't need no fancy ass endings :D

Ah dragonball z games. The most confusing fighting games ive ever played.
    Press square = simple punch
    Press square again = Screen goes narrow and you fly through a mountain O_o

EnterNow wrote: »
    Playing Sonic & clearing it is reward enough, we don't need no fancy ass endings :D
    I never got the fancy ending, I just saw on GCCX :pac:
    Ah dragonball z games. The most confusing fighting games ive ever played.
    Press square = simple punch
    Press square again = Screen goes narrow and you fly through a mountain O_o
    they're great fun though, I'd a really bad version of DBZ Super Butouden 2 and if I went a cm too far away from who I was fighting, I nearly got epilepsy

The PS2 Dragonball game were great fun.

Preferred them when it was just one on one though. Didn't like when they started to try and make it so you could fly about the gaff as well.

DinoRex wrote: »
    The PS2 Dragonball game were great fun.

Preferred them when it was just one on one though. Didn't like when they started to try and make it so you could fly about the gaff as well.

Theyre the once I played. They were fun but absolutely mental :pac:

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,501 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

I think great game endings could be a good topic for a future podcast.

Spoilercast?

Another little pad for iOS.
    I'd never use it on the iPhone but maybe on the iPad.

http://gizmodo.com/5884622/i-just-fell-in-love-with-icades-new-retro-nes+style-gamepad

ee2543d4df1315be7770cc4541ccaab9.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,041 ✭✭✭pdbhp

50. Resident Evil 4
    47. Crysis 2
    42. Super Metroid
    39. inFamous
    38. Fallout 3
    36. Gears of War 2
    35. Bioshock
    33. Sonic Adventures 2
    31. Kingdom Hearts II
    30. Mass Effect
    29. Super Mario Galaxy
    28. Sonic the Hedgehog
    27. Metal Gear Solid
    26. Assassin's Creed II
    25. Assassin's Creed
    22. Kingdom Hearts
    20. Super Mario Galaxy 2
    19. Mass Effect 2
    18. Grand Theft Auto IV
    17. Portal 2
    13. Halo 3
    11. Super Mario Bros
    10. Heavy Rain
    9. Final Fantasy VII
    8. Metal Gear Solid 4
    7. Portal
    6. Red Dead Redemption
    5. God of War

Tossers!!

What a shít list. How in gods name is there so much call of doody on it, the bloody game is the most generic FPS on the planet.

Metal Gear Solid 4.. feck off...

Lots of Mario games, they all end the same for christs sake!!

Who made this list so I can go around and punch their mother in the womb..........yes the womb!!

Blood pressure rising, must destroy lists......

And the ending probably was the weakest thing about Bioshock... especially if you harvested a little sister.

agreed

But yet the ending was still good imo, Never once harvested a little sister myself.

I cant even remember the ending of 2, think i blanked out that entire game!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,429 ✭✭✭Doge

Steve SI wrote: »

http://gizmodo.com/5884622/i-just-fell-in-love-with-icades-new-retro-nes+style-gamepad

BITTY!

Character9.jpg

ThinkGeek wrote:
    Coming Later this Year
    Get your retro gaming mitts on this classic-style gaming controller. Click the big green EMAIL ME button below and we'll drop you an e-mail you the moment we get these handheld arcade beauties in stock.

But I want Bitty now! :(

agreed

But yet the ending was still good imo, Never once harvested a little sister myself.

Same here
    I cant even remember the ending of 2, think i blanked out that entire game!

Same here

While I found Bioshock 2 to be horribly dull I did like the end level where
    you control a Little Sister and see Rapture the way they see it. Thought that was a very neat touch and it was a nice flip on the end level of the first one where you control a Big Daddy/

[brokenrecord]It was no system shock 2 :P[/brokenrecord]

broken_record.jpg

Actually System Shock 2's ending is the weakest part of the game and feels really out of place. Ken Levine said they had to rush it which explains the silly ending dialogue and even sillier epilogue when the rest of the game was deep sci-fi and horror.

I actually really liked the Bioshock ending if you didn't kill the little sisters, it was quite moving. The final boss was the only let down.

Steve SI wrote: »

Don't like the square button arrangement. If they are going for 4 buttons at least use the classic cross configuration. Or go all out with 6 face buttons so the capcom fighters are playable.

Yeah, its kind of strange they didn't go with the more usable cross layout.
    I guess they're really going for the blocky 8 bit look with it.

While I found Bioshock 2 to be horribly dull I did like the end level where
    you control a Little Sister and see Rapture the way they see it. Thought that was a very neat touch and it was a nice flip on the end level of the first one where you control a Big Daddy/

Yeah that was cool but I just hated the whole Big sister thing at the end really