Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Shopping in LIDL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I've barely a pot to p!ss in, truth be told,
    Shouldn't have stormed out they where on sale that day.

http://www.aldi.ie/ie/html/offers/special_buys3_20152.htm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,206 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

Princess perfect? lol.

I struggle financially every day like everybody else and hold down 2 part time jobs, none of which pay well. I never got a sniff of the celtic tiger, so was hardly stung by it.

Also wtf has Ryanair got to do with anything? I haven't had a holiday since 1997 so I'd hardly need their services any time soon.

I've barely a pot to p!ss in, truth be told, so whatever perception you have of me as some middle class princess is completely off the wall.
    And yet one claims to have never before partaken of the Lidl? Pish-posh I say!

ScumLord wrote: »

:p

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭ebixa82

Princess perfect? lol.

I struggle financially every day like everybody else and hold down 2 part time jobs, none of which pay well. I never got a sniff of the celtic tiger, so was hardly stung by it.

Also wtf has Ryanair got to do with anything? I haven't had a holiday since 1997 so I'd hardly need their services any time soon.

I've barely a pot to p!ss in, truth be told, so whatever perception you have of me as some middle class princess is completely off the wall.

That makes this whole saga all the more intriguing, an out and out commoner acting like a stuck up knob!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

ScumLord wrote: »

Nice bucket, wrong store :P

Thargor wrote: »
    And yet one claims to have never before partaken of the Lidl? Pish-posh I say!

Tesco value FTW!

Seriously? You should have gone to Lidl a long time ago then if you've been eating that range of dogfood.

I dont think Ive ever had a single Tesco Value item that Ive thought was good value for the money, even the sugar has a weird smell off it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 507 ✭✭✭mark17j

patneve2 wrote: »
    I definitely think that in Ireland some people look down at people who shop in LIDL or ALDI, ridiculous but has nothing to do with this thread so i won't say more
    MY mother shops in Aldi but brings Dunnes and Superquin carrier bags with her, so the neighbours won't think we're hard up haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭SugarCoat

Seriously? You should have gone to Lidl a long time ago then if you've been eating that range of dogfood.

I dont think Ive ever had a single Tesco Value item that Ive thought was good value for the money, even the sugar has a weird smell off it.
    Yep regular tesco and tesco finest brands are great but the blue and red labelled value sh*te is completely rancid!

Ah, I find most of the value stuff grand. There are a few dodgy ones, true, but overall they're good products.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,946 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

ebixa82 banned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

mark17j wrote: »
    MY mother shops in Aldi but brings Dunnes and Superquin carrier bags with her, so the neighbours won't think we're hard up haha

Is she Mrs Buquet?:p

Strange how people have this perception of Lidl & Aldi only being fit for lower classes.One of the top business men in the region down my way and the towns biggest employer goes to my local Lidl for stuff,so if it's good enough for him.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,297 ✭✭✭Jaxxy

I don't understand why the OP is getting abuse here at all. I wouldn't have done the same thing myself, I probably would have told those rude aul wans to stfu, but she has as much right as anyone else to shop there, to buy as much as she wants and to pay for her goods without anyone else passing remark.

Cheek of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 350 ✭✭ICANN

The-Rigger wrote: »
    Tesco, where everybody knows your name.

Some tune.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Checkout etiquette is a bugbear of mine... :mad::mad::mad:

Particularly people arriving at the checkout and suddenly discovering "Jesus I need money to pay for it".. I had one woman in front of me, who didnt have any money, and went off to the pass machine while leaving me waiting..

I also fukn HATE when people getting their stuff totted up suddenly remember something they forgot and head back out the store for it, leaving the rest of the queue waiting...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,780 ✭✭✭alie

I was in a queue in aldi and this posh one in front of me, her phone rings and she said to the caller that she was in marks and Spencer and would ring back in a while, a lady behind me said in a loud voice, someone get an ambulance, I'm having a stroke, I could have sworn I was in aldi!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,763 ✭✭✭Sheeps

Ha, ha, yeah, LOL.

This one time I painted my nails with a cherry colour...

I stroked the brush over my nails, filling them with colour. Until they were fully covered. At this point I painted no more. My nails were fully covered with the cherry colour. So I painted no more,

Following this, I allowed my nails to dry.

this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,422 ✭✭✭✭Bruthal

So due to being stoney broke, I decided this week to forgo my usual weekly shop in Tesco and decided to save a few quid and shop at LIDL instead for the first time.

After filling up the trolly, I went up to the checkout and started putting the stuff on the conveyer. A few people then started lining up behind me and it was then the muttering started.

Some auld hag said loudly: "Your wan is taking her time" and huffed. Then another woman said "Jesus, how much shopping has she at all?" (I had a weeks worth of groceries, about 3/4 of a trolly full). They all just stood there and glared at me like I was the anti-Christ.

I looked at the checkout girl who was just throwing the groceries into the trolly with a miserable head on her. I said to her, "Er, why is everyone staring at me like I've just murdered someone?" to which she just shrugged and carried on throwing the shopping into the trolly.
    Eventually, sick of the people staring and tutting I just said "Fu*k this, I'll just get out of ye're way will I?" and walked out, leaving the shopping behind in the trolley.

Seriously, are people who shop and work in LIDL usually this ignorant or am I just totally unaware of some secret LIDL code of conduct that's supposed to be adhered to?

It's a bad bad place....

Putting the items into the trolley yourself might be the code of conduct your looking for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭xclw

surime wrote: »
    check the price of goats cheese

nah i'm more of a cow's cheese person :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,780 ✭✭✭alie

robbie7730 wrote: »
    So due to being stoney broke, I decided this week to forgo my usual weekly shop in Tesco and decided to save a few quid and shop at LIDL instead for the first time.

After filling up the trolly, I went up to the checkout and started putting the stuff on the conveyer. A few people then started lining up behind me and it was then the muttering started.

Some auld hag said loudly: "Your wan is taking her time" and huffed. Then another woman said "Jesus, how much shopping has she at all?" (I had a weeks worth of groceries, about 3/4 of a trolly full). They all just stood there and glared at me like I was the anti-Christ.

I looked at the checkout girl who was just throwing the groceries into the trolly with a miserable head on her. I said to her, "Er, why is everyone staring at me like I've just murdered someone?" to which she just shrugged and carried on throwing the shopping into the trolly.
    Eventually, sick of the people staring and tutting I just said "Fu*k this, I'll just get out of ye're way will I?" and walked out, leaving the shopping behind in the trolley.

Seriously, are people who shop and work in LIDL usually this ignorant or am I just totally unaware of some secret LIDL code of conduct that's supposed to be adhered to?

It's a bad bad place....

Putting the items into the trolley yourself might be the code of conduct your looking for.
    Yeah exactly, you have to put shopping in yourself, real work out doing shopping in lidl and aldi, always found the staff much more pleasant than tescos

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 15,857 ✭✭✭✭paddy147

Alot of the people who work in Lidl are eastern european,and quite a few of them dont have the lingo or abilty to chat to a customer,like you might get in you're local fruit and veg shop or the local post office.

Im my opinion and experience,alot of eastern europeans who work in supermarkets,dont have the skills or abilites to be human with other irish people/customers.

Thats just the way they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭xclw

i love tesco, no matter what time it is you always see someone you know when you go there :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

paddy147 wrote: »
    Alot of the people who work in Lidl are eastern european,and quite a few of them dont have the lingo or abilty to chat to a customer,like you might get in you're local fruit and veg shop or the local post office.

Im my opinion and experience,alot of eastern europeans who work in supermarkets,dont have the skills or abilites to be human with other irish people/customers.

Actually, I've found in general they have better English skills than some of the 'howryas' working the Dunnes checkouts.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 301 ✭✭surime

:eek: Only because you are able to do stupid small talks all day long it doesnt mean you are more human then someone who doesn't!
    I am polish and I know we are different, we are more european and you are more american in a way, but it doesnt mean better!
    I personally find small talks stupid and I dont feel like I need to chat to everybody around me about the weather! :mad:

-you are a real "paddy".. paddy!

-oh and in my local lidl there is a great polish lad working, everybody loves him, he is handsome polite and chats to everyone, so don't generalize!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,959 ✭✭✭Jesus Shaves

:eek: Only because you are able to do stupid small talks all day long it doesnt mean you are more human then someone who doesn't!
    I am polish and I know we are different, we are more european and you are more american in a way, but it doesnt mean better!
    I personally find small talks stupid and I dont feel like I need to chat to everybody around me about the weather! :mad:

I'm Irish and agree with you 100% about small talk
    I feckin hate it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 604 ✭✭✭tempura

This thread is a Lidl boring to be honest.

darokane wrote: »
    I'm Irish and agree with you 100% about small talk
    I feckin hate it!

how is going-how are you-not too bad-and yourself-nice weather-oh its gorgeous today-talk to you later-see you-how are you-very good-see you around-have a nice weekend-how was your weekend-oh we were out-and you-me too-oh amazing-its raining again-yeah-bye now-headache

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

xclw wrote: »
    i love tesco, no matter what time it is you always see someone you know when you go there :)

I love my local 24 hour one, because I can avoid people I know.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 15,857 ✭✭✭✭paddy147

-oh and in my local lidl there is a great polish lad working, everybody loves him, he is handsome polite and chats to everyone, so don't generalize!

Some people like some interaction between themselves and the person who is serving them.

When you do a public retail job,you should be capable of talking to and looking at the customer too,not just have a long bored face and look down at the ground constantly,and then mumble out the price to the customer.

Most of the staff in the 2 Lidls and also the Aldi and Eurospar close to where I live are like this,and are eastern european too.They have no ability to communicate with the customers.

The 2 girls and the 1 lad who are Irish and work in one of the Lidls are very nice,polite and can actually look at you,smile hold a friendly chat with you,while they are scaning the items through the checkout.

Ive also noted the same with quite a good few of the eastern europeans who I worked with on various construction sites around the country.They do not know how to talk to anyone in a canteen or on the site.They do not mingle with any Irish and all they do is talk in their native languages.Even when they are encouraged to mingle and try to be wellcomed on site and made feel part of a team by the rest of us,they avoid any chat and friendlyness.

And not having good english isnt an excuse either for not talking,as allmost most of them have very good english when it comes the site induction course and site safety meeting with the sites health and safety officer.

But yet amazingly no english or interaction with anyone when on site or in the canteen at lunch.

Thats very polite and nice interaction,isnt it???:(

Some people like some interaction between themselves and the person who is serving them.

When you do a public retail job,you should be capable of talking to and looking at the customer too,not just have a long bored face and look down at the ground constantly,and then mumble out the price to the customer.

Most of the stafff in the 2 Lidls and also the Aldi and Eurospar close to where I live are like this,and are eastern european too.They have no ability to communicate with the customers.

The 2 girls and the 1 lad who are Irish and work in one of the Lidls are very nice,polite and can actually look at you,smile hold a brief chat with you,while they are scaning the items through the checkout.

Ive also noted the same with quite a good few of the eastern europeans who I worked with on various construction sites around the country.They do not know how to talk to anyone in a canteen or on the site.They do not mingle with any Irish and all they do is talk in Polish.Even when they are encouraged to mingle and try to be wellcomed on site and made feel part of a team by the rest of us,they avoid any chat and friendlyness.

Thats very polite and nice interaction,isnt it???:(

Ok, I agree they should be more open, because it's the people they are working with.. but as I said there is a super open and polite polish guy in my local lidl and unfortunately very grumpy and unpleasant irish girl, so its not alway the rule.. and maybe some people are not that comfortable to speak english and sometimes they dont understand if you speak fast or with different accent..