Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Shopping in LIDL

• 16-01-2012 3:06am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

So due to being stoney broke, I decided this week to forgo my usual weekly shop in Tesco and decided to save a few quid and shop at LIDL instead for the first time.

After filling up the trolly, I went up to the checkout and started putting the stuff on the conveyer. A few people then started lining up behind me and it was then the muttering started.

Some auld hag said loudly: "Your wan is taking her time" and huffed. Then another woman said "Jesus, how much shopping has she at all?" (I had a weeks worth of groceries, about 3/4 of a trolly full). They all just stood there and glared at me like I was the anti-Christ.

I looked at the checkout girl who was just throwing the groceries into the trolly with a miserable head on her. I said to her, "Er, why is everyone staring at me like I've just murdered someone?" to which she just shrugged and carried on throwing the shopping into the trolly.
    Eventually, sick of the people staring and tutting I just said "Fu*k this, I'll just get out of ye're way will I?" and walked out, leaving the shopping behind in the trolley.

Seriously, are people who shop and work in LIDL usually this ignorant or am I just totally unaware of some secret LIDL code of conduct that's supposed to be adhered to?

It's a bad bad place....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

Lidl checkouts are first come first served and you were there first!

You should have stayed where you where and got your shopping done and don't be a victim of passive bullying.
    Those people in line would be tutting no matter where they are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,620 ✭✭✭_AVALANCHE_

Your're leaving something out OP, it's a grand shop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭RB94

Maybe you were at the 10 items or less till. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭Sindri

They're cunts OP. Leave 'em to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

Ha, ha, yeah, LOL.

This one time I painted my nails with a cherry colour...

I stroked the brush over my nails, filling them with colour. Until they were fully covered. At this point I painted no more. My nails were fully covered with the cherry colour. So I painted no more,

Following this, I allowed my nails to dry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 692 ✭✭✭CyberJuice

ive shoped in lidl a few times,i will only ever get a basket full to last me a couple days but usually the staff on register are foreign so u dont egt much chat out of them.. they probly hate their job too so they dont wana be making small talk with customers

regarding the big boat load of grub you were buying,nobody likes ques,if i am stuck behind someone with a rake of stuff like that ill be complaining in my head but i wont say anything out loud,u just have to grin and bare it.. shame on the aul ones complaning,they sometimes take hours,countin out pennies and fishing around in their purses,then loading stuff into the buggies/trollie things...

dont see why it bothered u so much tbh,just get ur gear and get out,dont go home empty handed crying about it.. who cares if theres a few impatient aul ones bhind u in a que,dont let it ruin your day OP. i woulda just been fishing around lookin for money and made them wait longer while i look at them and smile

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

Ha, ha, yeah, LOL.

This one time I painted my nails with a cherry colour...

I stroked the brush over my nails, filling them with colour. Until they were fully covered. At this point I painted no more. My nails were fully covered with the cherry colour. So I painted no more,

Following this, I allowed my nails to dry.

Great story, yo.

Hahahahaha!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

and walked out, leaving the shopping behind in the trolley.

Yeah, and they're the ignorant bastards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,620 ✭✭✭_AVALANCHE_

"Your wan is taking her time"
    Explain this bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭policarp

Fair play to you.
    Ignorance shouldn't be tolerated.
    Lidl, Tesco, Aldi, Dunnes, Supervalue or
    any outlet that wants your money. . .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 800 ✭✭✭CB19Kevo

Some people would want to shut there mouth's.
    If they were annoyed at having to q, I'm sure they could have went to other checkouts.
    Rare i do this myself :rolleyes: but turning to them and saying have you a problem shuts up most idiots.

CyberJuice wrote: »
    dont see why it bothered u so much tbh,just get ur gear and get out,dont go home empty handed crying about it.. who cares if theres a few impatient aul ones bhind u in a que,dont let it ruin your day OP. i woulda just been fishing around lookin for money and made them wait longer while i look at them and smile

It didn't ruin my day at all, I just shopped elsewhere. Just wondered what the deal was in the place is all...I've never encountered it anywhere else.

Although you're right, I should have just gone slower and smirked at the old bitches. I just wanted out of there as it felt like some Texan women's prison with a line of vicious inmates ready to cut your throat for using the phone first. Or something.

amacachi wrote: »

Damn straight they were.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭Captain Graphite

Well, the dramatic effect of the classic "supermarket storm out" manoeuvre is somewhat dampened if you put the shopping back before you leave. There's a fine line between making a statement and making yourself look a bit mad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

I know OP.

It really hurts to forego the "sweet-smelling baked bread aroma of Superquinn".

My friend's aunt's neighbour's boyfriend actually caught poverty in there once.

Eww. Poor people are so smelly:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭LighterGuy

Op, I shop regularly at LIDL :) ... and ...
    I looked at the checkout girl who was just throwing the groceries into the trolly with a miserable head on her. I said to her, "Er, why is everyone staring at me like I've just murdered someone?" to which she just shrugged and carried on throwing the shopping into the trolly.

I'm willing to bet a thousand euro she was eastern european, right? :)
    Sad but true that alot of eastern euopean staff in supermarkets feels its even too much to say "hello" as they are scanning your goods. Let alone any chit chat.
    Some auld hag said loudly: "Your wan is taking her time" and huffed. Then another woman said "Jesus, how much shopping has she at all?" (I had a weeks worth of groceries, about 3/4 of a trolly full). They all just stood there and glared at me like I was the anti-Christ.

'Cause people be assholes. Through and through.
    If roles were reversed same mouthy cun*s would take offense to anyone in the que saying anything.

Lesson learned is that people are assholes.

Just bad manners, maybe?

later10 wrote: »
    I know OP.

It really hurts to forego the "sweet-smelling baked bread aroma of Superquinn".

My friend's aunt's neighbour's boyfriend actually caught poverty in there once.

Eww. Poor people are so smelly:mad:

Sorry, what?

I already stated that I was broke myself. No need to start insinuating that I think I'm better than anyone.

You're barking up the wrong tree there my friend.

LighterGuy wrote: »
    I'm willing to bet a thousand euro she was eastern european, right? :)
    Sad but true that alot of eastern euopean staff in supermarkets feels its even too much to say "hello" as they are scanning your goods. Let alone any chit chat.
    Arra yeah, sure the Irish wan down my local Tesco here in Hammermith does a little jig every time someone asks her for a carry bag, and greets all of her happy customers with a Top a' the marnin'!

Can't beat a rendition of Danny Boy when you're paying for your groceries, all the same.

You're barking up the wrong tree there my friend.
    Relax Missus. I wasn't barking at all, it was more of a reference to alison o'riordan than to your post:)

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/on-just-196-a-week-it-hurts-to-part-with-the-pennies-2271802.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 814 ✭✭✭Tesco Massacre

If you mix with commoners, OP, then expect remarks like 'yer wan' or 'come here a mineh' & 'what's de story'?.

I know it's not pleasant, but keep your chin up. You'll be back shopping in Superquinn in no time.

The customer is always right. . .

Relax Missus. I wasn't barking at all, it was more of a reference to alison o'riordan than to your post:)

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/on-just-196-a-week-it-hurts-to-part-with-the-pennies-2271802.html

Ah, fair enough ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Bit unfair on Eastern European folk,nearly all of the staff in my local Lidl are Eastern European and they're great craic with the regular customers.Girl who served me yesterday was even recommending me different mixers for my vodka!

Arra yeah, sure the Irish wan down my local Tesco here in Hammermith does a little jig every time someone asks her for a carry bag, and greets all of her happy customers with a Top a' the marnin'!

Can't beat a rendition of Danny Boy when you're paying for your groceries, all the same.

You clearly have no sense or clue on how to be civil towards people.

Majority of my work history has been in retail. I have worked the checkout countless times. I have had customers come up to me who wanted to engage in chit chat as I scan up their items. I, being a civil person, will engage with the Bull**** / its all crap 'chit chat with them back. Because I am civil.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭Dan Chipowski

I wouldn't mind the staff member at all, as most staff members in Lidl/Aldi will literally fire the change at you. They're doing their job and just want to get the customers through as quickly as possible. It's hardly the nicest job in the world so I wouldn't blame them too much.

I've been to Aldi and Lidl numerous times and for whatever reason Lidl is always slower at the checkouts even if the line is about the same.

You clearly have no sense or clue on how to be civil towards people.

Majority of my work history has been in retail. I have worked the checkout countless times. I have had customers come up to me who wanted to engage in chit chat as I scan up their items. I, being a civil person, will engage with the Bull**** / its all crap 'chit chat with them back. Because I am civil.
    Are you on the blob?

I didn't say anything about civility. I just don't like your reference to Eastern Europeans; the Irishwoman in my local Tesco is as great a wench as you'll ever see in a supermarket, but I'm sure most people are not daft to make sweeping statements about Irish people based solely on individuals like that.

I've met lovely sales assistants in Lidl as well as less chatty ones; none have ever been rude, which is all one should expect really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭cloneslad

I looked at the checkout girl who was just throwing the groceries into the trolly with a miserable head on her.

She probably has a 'miserable head on her' because in LIDL and Aldi, they scan, and you throw the groceries into the trolley. They don't do that, it's scan and take your money and get you outta there.

You then take your stuff and pack it into bags at one of the windows and then get the f**k out.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

LIDL attracts a lower class citizen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

LIDL is great.

OP's story is a bit dodgy though. Unless, as cloneslad suggested, the OP wasn't putting the stuff in the trolley herself, but rather waiting for the cashier to do it for her. In that case, the people in the queue would have been justified complaining about the OP, unless she has some disability that renders her incapable of stacking her own trolly.
    I doubt that's the case though, because one fills one's own trolly in Tesco too.

Care to fill us in on the rest of the details, OP?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,323 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Eventually, sick of the people staring and tutting I just said "Fu*k this, I'll just get out of ye're way will I?" and walked out, leaving the shopping behind in the trolley.

Jaysus, Drama Queen much?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭whirlpool

Never had a problem in Lidl.

Sounds like you were just very unfortunate.

I have often been stuck behind people who had a trolley-full of groceries, while I myself only had a handful of items, and I would never in a million years dream of giving attitude like those people did to you.

The problem wasn't Lidl - the problem was how those people in the queue were raised.

whirlpool wrote: »
    Never had a problem in Lidl.

Sounds like you were just very unfortunate.

I don't see how really.

I mean, what the hell has LIDL got to do with this story anyway? If the OP had've said "I was in a shop and..........." and then told her story, would it even occur to you to ask what shop she was in? It wouldn't matter to the story.

It was the people who annoyed her. The OP couldn't put up with a few rude people and decided to get into a huff about it! if the people behind you in the queue don't like how much you're buying, just turn around to them and explain the dynamics of how a queue actually works, before telling them the f*ck off!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭whirlpool

MrStuffins wrote: »
    I don't see how really.

I mean, what the hell has LIDL got to do with this story anyway? If the OP had've said "I was in a shop and..........." and then told her story, would it even occur to you to ask what shop she was in? It wouldn't matter to the story.

It was the people who annoyed her. The OP couldn't put up with a few rude people and decided to get into a huff about it! if the people behind you in the queue don't like how much you're buying, just turn around to them and explain the dynamics of how a queue actually works, before telling them the f*ck off!

I don't entirely see how your post is a response to what I said.

But anyway, in response to your post - the OP is asking a simple question, not making a statement. And that simple question was:

"Are people who shop and work in LIDL usually this ignorant or am I just totally unaware of some secret LIDL code of conduct that's supposed to be adhered to?"

Give an answer or don't. No need to judge the OP.

Were you one of the tutters in the queue by any chance?

I don't entirely see how your post is a response to what I said.

But anyway, in response to your post - the OP is asking a simple question, not making a statement. And that simple question was:

"Are people who shop and work in LIDL usually this ignorant or am I just totally unaware of some secret LIDL code of conduct that's supposed to be adhered to?"

It's a silly question let's be fair. I was in a Eurospar once and there was a guy behind me who smelled of fish. Does that mean I need to ask people on the internet whether or not that's some sort of "thing" associated with Eurospar?
    Give an answer or don't. No need to judge the OP.

Sounds like the OP is judging already.
    Were you one of the tutters in the queue by any chance?

Simple answer then: pack your own trolley, don't bitch about the staff who have to put up with similar crap all day every day, don't let silly notions about a shop's inferiority colour your experience in advance, and stop worrying about what other people think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

The staff at the checkout scan that fast and fire the stuff at you as they have to.

There's a huge thread over in Work forum about Lidl. And the scan rate is monitored, if the shop assistant is taking their time and having a chat with you they'll have to explain to Herr Rafael why they took so long.

Sorry OP but the checkout staff will not chat with you

Staff in Marks and Sparks are lovely, always a kind work and a smile :)

Post 666 :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭juice1304

drama queen, act like an adult.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

No chat from the person at the till? I wish they all were like this.

As for old biddies tutting and giving out. This isn't a Lidl exclusive and happens everywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭Battleflag

FearDark wrote: »
    LIDL attracts a lower class citizen.
    Get off your high horse, every type of citizen shops in Lidl since their prices are more competitive than other supermarkets.

Are you on the blob?

I didn't say anything about civility. I just don't like your reference to Eastern Europeans; the Irishwoman in my local Tesco is as great a wench as you'll ever see in a supermarket, but I'm sure most people are not daft to make sweeping statements about Irish people based solely on individuals like that.

I've met lovely sales assistants in Lidl as well as less chatty ones; none have ever been rude, which is all one should expect really.

Ah I get you :)
    You took offense to me saying that generally eastern european people on the supermarket tills are less chatty than say Irish or english people even.

But maybe I am wrong? :( .... sure you, a person on boards will probably tell me Im wrong :(

boards >>> real life?

fyp.
    If its ok with you :) I'll still let my personal observations determine my opinion :)

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,102 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

I shop in LIDL regularly and I love the way they sell many really good quality products at a fraction of the prices charged by other supermarkets. plus their special offers can have some really good things as well from time to time.

It's true that the checkout cashiers at the tills in LIDL aren't chatty and scan the groceries very fast - but this is the policy in LIDL and it's up to the customer to load their trollies and pack their bags.

LIDL is usually better than other supermarkets at tills in that if one till is very busy, a bell rings and another staff member quickly opens another till.

I wouldn't let some grumpy miserable bitter auld biddies bully me into walking out of the shop. That said, I think the OP seriously overreacted.

Ah I get you :)
    You took offense to me saying that generally eastern european people on the supermarket tills are less chatty than say Irish or english people even.

But maybe I am wrong? :( .... sure you, a person on boards will probably tell me Im wrong :(

boards >>> real life?

fyp.
    If its ok with you :) I'll still let my personal observations determine my opinion :)
    that's an awful lot of smileys.

I have no reason to be offended, if you think my Biddy-doing-a-jig post was me being offended, you're wrong; I was just pointing out the futility of stereotypes.

Make yourself a cup of tea luv,and switch off the internet if it offends you.

On another note, why no baskets in Lidl?

I shop for myself, I don't buy a lot.
    I don't drive so I carry what I can in a sportsbag. If I was buying a trolley load then I'd need a taxi

Yet no baskets?? I don't want a trolley, I can carry what I buy

Do they not have those blue wheelie style baskets now?

They look like little toboggans, but you stick your German dogfood and cheap booze in there instead of your small children.

I tell you my favourite thing about Aldi, it's that "Helter Skelter" aisle.

I sometimes go in there just to see what sort of wacky variety of stuff they've come up with this week. There is simply no method to their madness: it goes from diving equipment, to boilersuits and miner's hard hats with the lamps on top, to saddlery and country wear, to those little porcelain dog ornaments. I don't know where they find this shit, or who buys it!

Oh lots buy the specials, quality gear

I bought my motorcycle pants and jacket from Lidl, pure quality and it's not something you'd skimp on.

Have bought tools there too for DIY, quality again

It's not cheap ****.
    But yes, it's all a bit random on what's going to be sold :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭Sindri

mikemac1 wrote: »
    On another note, why no baskets in Lidl?

I shop for myself, I don't buy a lot.
    I don't drive so I carry what I can in a sportsbag. If I was buying a trolley load then I'd need a taxi

Yet no baskets?? I don't want a trolley, I can carry what I buy

They don't have baskets because it reminds the eastern Europeans of Communism.

In fact that's what Lidl actually reminds me of.

On another note do you pronounce it Lidl like little, or Lidl like idle.

I say Lye-deehs

It's sort of a pet name thing we have going on

Sindri wrote: »

Leedle.

Sindri wrote: »

Lie - dell

I don't claim to know the correct version
    It's just what I use