If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Pimp My Knife

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

Good man Clive I think you might just have saved Christmas! :)
    200px-Ernest_Saves_Christmas_Poster.jpg

Absolute gent in fairness!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,242 ✭✭✭clivej

Good man Clive I think you might just have saved Christmas! :)
    200px-Ernest_Saves_Christmas_Poster.jpg

Absolute gent in fairness!

Not out'a the woods just yet. Lets hope this yoke still works :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭7.62 rule

that is one sweet lookin knife man, id love to enter but unfortunatly funds wouldnt stretch for a knife like that!

Same here, great knife though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 563 ✭✭✭davymoore

clivej wrote: »
    Not out'a the woods just yet. Lets hope this yoke still works :eek:

Yeah fair play to Clive but as he said I still have to collect it install it and test it so not out of the woods yet.

Davy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

davymoore wrote: »
    Yeah fair play to Clive but as he said I still have to collect it install it and test it so not out of the woods yet.

Davy

that guy you met the other day with the Yew is a Spark and lives very near you. Give him a Buzz, he might be able to sort you out.
    I know he is not working Tommorow through Sat ;)

Well, Clive lived up to his word and handed over the inverter to my wife on Friday. Hopefully I'll have it home sometime today and go about getting it up and running during the week. I'll keep ye posted as to the progress.

Davy

Thanks again Clive

Well thank **** for that. The new inverter is installed and running. It took a lot of persuading but we finally got the thing to behave. Two weeks lost but at least I'm back to work tomorrow at last :)

I'll keep ye posted, ye keep yer fingers crossed that nothing else goes wrong

Davy

Cheers to Clive once again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,242 ✭✭✭clivej

Glad to hear it's working all OK. I must be flavor of the month now. ;)

Today was a productive day

I Spent the day grinding Bevels

31.jpg

33.jpg

While my son Stephen was working on the sheaths

32.jpg

Regards

Davy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭Hibrion

Hi Davy. Do you mind me asking where you got good quality leather in a piece that size? I'm having trouble finding it in large sections.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭dwighet

I`m gettn angsty Davie....:cool:
    Cant wait to see ny new bit `o kit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 419 ✭✭customrifle

Fine days work Davy, and fair play to Clive!

Well thank **** for that. The new inverter is installed and running. It took a lot of persuading but we finally got the thing to behave. Two weeks lost but at least I'm back to work tomorrow at last :)

I'll keep ye posted, ye keep yer fingers crossed that nothing else goes wrong

Davy

Cheers to Clive once again

The lads here on the Hunting section on Boards are a good bunch of lads..
    Always there to lend a hand and give advice...

You have yourself a back up inverter now so theres no stopping ya..

Hibrion wrote: »
    Hi Davy. Do you mind me asking where you got good quality leather in a piece that size? I'm having trouble finding it in large sections.

I get it from the UK, The identity leather company, a piece that size approx 12sq ft will run you around €125 including VAT/shipping

Thought you might like to see a picture of my son Stephen with the new small hunter that we just finished up. :D

4.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

It Turned out fierce well Davy!!
    Brian Boru be proud!

I can imagine how long that was on the grinder for now, Davy. Very impressive looking!

Well, I suppose it would do for skinning the odd rabbit anyway ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 584 ✭✭✭Mauser 308

Braveheart jumps to mind straight away. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭macadam

Its no wonder ya busted the converter !!!

Well Lads the blades are finished and I sent them out this morning for heat treating. I asked the guy to turn them around as fast as he could and for whatever it means he said he'd do his best. Anyway this means I can crack on with the leatherwork timberwork etc. I still doubt they'll be ready for xmas but youd never know

Davy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭pancuronium

Fair play Davy......well done!!

Just to give you guys an update on how things are going and to keep the thread alive.........
    • All sheaths now cut, dyed , stamped and belt loops are sewn.
    • All handle timbers have been cut to size prior to shaping
    • All liner material cut to size and epoxied in pairs where applicable.
    • Lanyard tubes complete and ready for install

Liners will be epoxied to timbers tomorrow. Then the timber/liners will be cut to rough handle profile.
    After this the sheaths will be sewn and completed

Still waiting on Heat treating but I do expect that to be another 10 - 14 days at least. The 2 1/2 weeks lost during the inverter downtime is the biggest delay so far and is still taking it's toll.

However the plan now, is to have as much work done prior to the arrival of the blades so that it's an assembly job (more or less) once the heat treating is complete.

Davy

Just to give you guys an update on how things are going and to keep the thread alive.........
    • All sheaths now cut, dyed , stamped and belt loops are sewn.
    • All handle timbers have been cut to size prior to shaping
    • All liner material cut to size and epoxied in pairs where applicable.
    • Lanyard tubes complete and ready for install

Liners will be epoxied to timbers tomorrow. Then the timber/liners will be cut to rough handle profile.
    After this the sheaths will be sewn and completed

Still waiting on Heat treating but I do expect that to be another 10 - 14 days at least. The 2 1/2 weeks lost during the inverter downtime is the biggest delay so far and is still taking it's toll.

However the plan now, is to have as much work done prior to the arrival of the blades so that it's an assembly job (more or less) once the heat treating is complete.

Davy
    Jahsas I cant wait to see how it ends up !!!!

Well still no sign of the blades returning from Heat Treating (Must work harder, Earn more money , buy my own Heat treat oven) I sent a reminder email to the heat treater to see if I could hurry him up a bit but I don't want to ruffle his feathers too much as he's a touchy sort of bloke.

In the mean time we made good progress
    • All the sheaths are cut out, Glued, belt loops stitched, and ready for final stitching & edge grinding
    • All handle material cut to shape, liner material glued up, handle fronts finished and polished.
    (I'll post a few pics later)

We will finish the sheaths up this week and that's all we can do till the blades arrive. Hopefully they won't be too much longer.

Davy

Finallly got some good news

The heat treating is complete.

ht.jpg

Looks like I'll be getting delivery of the returned blades sometime next week. Good bit of cleaning up to do though :(

Aw well at least its a positive bit of news

Finallly got some good news

The heat treating is complete.

ht.jpg

Looks like I'll be getting delivery of the returned blades sometime next week. Good bit of cleaning up to do though :(

Aw well at least its a positive bit of news

Thanks fir throwing up the pic of the bowie. That mirror polish didnt last long in the heat treatment!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭baldyshane

Hiya Davy,
    Any update on how things are going. We know there is no chance for Christmas but any other news. Personally I'm happy to have something to look forward to in the new year.

No update on the hunters I'm afraid , As part of the same heat treating batch were other knives that HAD to be finished before xmas including our own Hibrion's Bowie.

The HT'd blades were really oxidized so I will be sending them out for beadblasting just after xmas then it's a matter of assembly and handle polishing. everything else is done.

Davy

Happy Christmas Lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 584 ✭✭✭Mauser 308

No update on the hunters I'm afraid , As part of the same heat treating batch were other knives that HAD to be finished before xmas including our own Hibrion's Bowie.

The HT'd blades were really oxidized so I will be sending them out for beadblasting just after xmas then it's a matter of assembly and handle polishing. everything else is done.

Davy

Happy Christmas Lads
    Davy just for info, what does beadblasting do?. Clean/shine up the blade?
    Happy Christmas to you and yours..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

Mauser 308 wrote: »
    Davy just for info, what does beadblasting do?. Clean/shine up the blade?
    Happy Christmas to you and yours..

Takes of crud.
    I used a bead blaster in my last 2 jobs to remove rust from Silicone moulds.
    I look forward to seen that bowie knife cleaned up.

Dear Santa 2012.........