If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Pimp My Knife

1141516171820»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 .220 swift

[/QUOTE]Was it Ok?[/QUOTE]
    100 per cent davy,chuffed to say the least and cant wait to use it,congratulations moby,i have to say i thought you're knife was the best looking
    overall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 563 ✭✭✭davymoore

Just to keep ye up to date payments received and if your knives have been shipped yet

#|USER NAME|DEP|L/R|Handle|Liners|Sheath|Fittings|Lanyard|Stitching|Lanyard Knot
    1|moby30|Paid|Right|J - Buckeye Maple|Red/Black|Black|Loveless|Leather|Red|Overhand Knot
    2|customrifle|Paid|Right|E - Quilted Maple|White|Brown|Corbys-SS|PC-D-Camo|White|Cobra Knot
    3|skippey|Paid|Right|C - Walnut|Red|Brown|Corbys-CP|PC-Red|Red|Square Knot
    4|EPointer=Birdss|Paid|Right|A - Spalted Teak|Green|Black|Loveless|PC-M-Camo|Green|Cobra Knot
    5|Mauser 308|Paid|Right|Q - BogOak|White/Green|Brown|Corbys-SS|PC-M-Camo|Brown|Cobra Knot
    6|dwighet|Paid|Right|B - BogOak|Black|Black|Corbys-B|Leather|Brown|Overhand Knot
    7|belowaverageiq|Paid|Left|M - Box Elder Burl|Green/Black|Black|Corbys-SS|PC-M-Camo|Green|Barrel Knot
    8|Bibio|Paid|Right|L - Spalted Teak|Red/Black|Brown|Corbys-B|PC-M-Camo|Red|Square Knot
    9|riflehunter77|Paid|Right|D - Black Pauya|Brick|Brown|Corbys-B|PC-D-Camo|Black|Cobra Knot
    10|Dupont|Paid|Right|G - Cocobola|Blue|Brown|Corbys-Al|PC-Black|Brown|Cobra Knot
    11|.220 Swift|Paid|Right|F - Box Elder Burl|White/Red|Brown|Corbys-SS|PC-Red|White|Cobra Knot
    12|underthethumb|Paid|Right|R - Striped Ebony|Grey/Black|Black|Corbys-SS|PC-Black|Black|Overhand Knot
    13|650gs|Paid|Right|N - Jarah Burl|White|Brown|Corbys-Al|PC-D-Camo|Brown|Turks Head Knot
    14|garveyjg|Paid|Right|I - Ambonya|Green|Brown|Corbys-SS|None|Green|None
    15|baldyshane|Paid|Right|T - Black Walnut|Brick|Brown|Corbys-Al|PC-H-Orange|Brown|Cobra Knot

#|USER NAME|Complete|Photo|Balance|Shipped|Received

1|moby30|Yes|Yes|Yes|Yes|Yes
    2|customrifle|Yes|Yes|Yes|Yes|Yes
    3|skippey|Yes|Yes|Yes|Yes|Yes
    4|EPointer=Birdss|Yes|Yes|Yes|Yes|Yes
    5|Mauser 308|Yes|Yes|Yes|Yes|Yes
    6|dwighet|Yes|Yes|Yes|Yes|Yes
    7|belowaverageiq|Yes|Yes|Yes|Yes|Yes
    8|Bibio|Yes|Yes|Yes|Yes|Yes
    9|riflehunter77|Yes|Yes|Yes|Yes|Yes
    10|Dupont|Yes|Yes|Yes|Yes|Yes
    11|.220 Swift|Yes|Yes|Yes|Yes|Yes
    12|underthethumb|Yes|Yes|Yes|Yes|Yes
    13|650gs|Yes|Yes|Yes|Yes|Yes
    14|garveyjg|Yes|Yes|Yes|Yes|Yes
    15|baldyshane|Yes|Yes|Yes|Yes|Yes

Thanks Lads

Davy

Any that have been shipped, If ye'd post on the board when they arrive I'd appreciate it

That's the last of the knives in the post lads.

Davy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 506 ✭✭✭moby30

Well Davy, Im not the best at coming up with names and have thrown a few suggestions out there but most people just laugh at them:D I was thinking it had to be something "Irish". The one so far that people dont laugh at and seem to like best is "Wolfhound" - What do you reacon?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭lb1981

moby30 wrote: »
    Well Davy, Im not the best at coming up with names and have thrown a few suggestions out there but most people just laugh at them:D I was thinking it had to be something "Irish". The one so far that people dont laugh at and seem to like best is "Wolfhound" - What do you reacon?

cú faoil ;)

Wolfhound it is

Well done I like that a lot............ good traditional, strong, name

Regards

Davy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Spunk84

I like it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 951 ✭✭✭Dupont

got mine today davy. top class knife really chuffed with it,thanks.

p.s what about cleaning,warm soapy water all right,then just dry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭underthetumb

Got mine too, love it. The stook of a postman left it at the front door cos no one was at home, he is a new lad.

Dupont wrote: »
    p.s what about cleaning,warm soapy water all right,then just dry

CPM154 is a stainless steel so cleaning it in warm soapy water will be fine. So long as it's cleaned regularly after use the knife will last a long time. There is a certain percentage of carbon in the steel which of course is prone to corrosion so I would also reccomend a drop of oil, wd40, vaseline every 3 months or so just to prolong the life. Don't store your knife in it's sheath for long periods of time. And NEVER put it in a dishwasher. The severe heat of a dishwasher will destroy the handle material.

So we're done folks , Project over.

Everyone has gotten their knife now and everyone seems happy with the result.

I want to say thanks and well done to all of ye. Thanks for taking part. Thanks for your paitience when things went wrong, Thanks for the business. And most of all thanks for the spirit in which it all went off so well. It was a credit to ye.Thanks especially to the lads who couldn't make it to the first 15 places but stuck with the competition anyway, fair play

The idea of the project was to give each of you an insight into the process of having a custom knife made and hopefully that worked out well. There are a vast array of materials and choices out there when it comes to getting a good knife and taking a bit of time and weighing up those choices can have very different results for different people. There is no accounting for peoples varied tastes and one man's meat is another man's poison. That being said there were some lovely pieces produced in the competition and I thought the winner deserved it so well done Moby. Also what a cracking name the "Wolfhound" it's a strong name and I look forward to marketing the model under that name.

There are a couple of people without whom the project could never have happened and they deserve a special mention. First and foremost my son Stephen he was immense he did all the leather work for ye and he also was a great help in the knife manufacture itself. In fact it's fair to say that he is turning into a fine knifemaker and will no doubt pass me out one of these days. I can recommend him as a knifemaker in his own right already, and if any of you are looking for a good knife maker who isn't quite as busy a I am give him a bell. Then there was the Bould Clive who stepped in with the inverter to save the day when the S**T hit the fan. Thanks Clive you are a star. Then there are the Mods (Sparks) and of course Dav for their patience for letting me do another project in the first place. It's fine when these projects go well but the potential for chaos is ever looming :eek:

Finally I guess it's only fair to apologize for the over run on time. We should have had the project wrapped up before the new year, but between the inverter problem and then having to have the additional sandblasting operaton plus trying to achieve this during the xmas holiday period things got delayed. It's still not right though and I do apologize to ye for that.

As a way of saying thanks to Clive we made this.

Knife Owner: clivej

Blade: Scandi Ground Satin Finish CPM154
    Handle: Bocote
    Fittings: Brass Corby Rivets and Lanyard loop
    Liners: Red Micarta Liners
    Lanyard: Red Paracord / Barrell knot
    Sheath: Brown Hand sewn leather with Brown stitching

16a.jpg

16b.jpg

So that's it, Thanks very much lads, hopefully we can generate a few more orders out of this. If you ever decide to have a knife made and if we can be of help to you , don't hesitate to contact us.

Hopefully we'll see some of you again in the next project

Long Live "The WolfHound"

Regards

Davy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 381 ✭✭sikastag

Was away when all this kicked off so didnt get within an ass's roar of being in the lucky or 'speedy' fifteen.

Have to say I followed it from start to finish (quietly) and thoroughly enjoyed it all.

Well done to moby30 and to all involved.
    Great name btw.

I'll be poised and ready for the next project........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭Hibrion

Fair play Clive, that's a nice gift right there!

Well done, Davy. I would have wanted in on this too if I wasn't getting a knife made with you at the time already.

Glad to see the knife going to Moby. He came up with a great name and it couldn't go to a nicer fella.

Well wear to all of you lads. I can see these knives getting great use!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,211 ✭✭✭clivej

Well Davy your gift was a delight and truely unexpected. I was realy touched when it arrived.
    As others have said the photos do not do the knifes justice. Perfect weight and balance.

I'll be out on Sunday to try it out in the field.

Again many thanks for my Wolfhound :)

Clive J

ps. changed my sig

16a.jpg

Well lads anyone get to use your knife yet?
    I'd like to know how ye get on and how they perform in the field.

Anyone fancy writing a review/ posting a few pics etc.

Davy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 506 ✭✭✭moby30

I got to use mine last night for the first time Davy but just to cut the tail off a fox and not the nice Hind I was hoping to use it on if thats any use - stuck a pic up on the Photo Thread

moby30 wrote: »
    I got to use mine last night for the first time Davy but just to cut the tail off a fox and not the nice Hind I was hoping to use it on if thats any use - stuck a pic up on the Photo Thread

Ah Yeah ....this one

192687.JPG

Nice one

Davy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 stuckintexas

Hi lads this is Stephen Moore davys son. Not sure if this el get noticed or even if its aloud at this point so ill get straight to the point.

I have recently imagrated to the states and like my username states im stuck in Texas. I am wondering if any of you who were lucky enough to get one of my fathers knives would be willing to part with it. my father has closed up shop and I would like to have one of our knives at my side as I trust them above all others.
    Even if your knife is damaged I could repair it for myself and you could get some money back for it.
    If anyone would like to discuss this matter further please feel free to pm me.
    Thank you for your time